(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Starry, tks for the recommendation. Is actually the same site as the sacred tea. Will contact Rebecca again to check if she has any ready therapists. Cos her site states 2 mths in advance.

Morning everyone! Have not login for some time. Hope all mummies here are coping Well esp. those in solo now.

Destitonia, which model of medela u used at hospital to give u double? I'm also considering to get better pump.

Mummies using Ameda n medela freestyle, can share yr feedback?

Cl will b leaving soon n gonna b solo. now I'm pumping n latch at times. Cl will give ebm n feeding can stretch to 2hrs but if latch only 1hr! when cl leaves, do u tink it better to change to total latching? I wld like to start storing b4 bac to office. Mummies any tip to share?

starry, i also pray that this week 6 growth spurt doesn't last long too... today so far seems to be no napping or just catnaps again. But at least not crying so much like yesterday. Still, it's really exhausting... I have been giving him colic drops since 2 weeks ago. Daily massage as well. Guess his stomach is just not his strong point.

princess, wish i could forgo the weekend dinners at my inlaws too! but hubby will probably divorce me! :p

My friends tells me that after 3rd month, life will be better. Wish I can 'outsource' the baby to someone and get him trained. Will collect back after 3rd month... :p

Emmie gosh I share the same sentiments!! I also wanna outsource n collect bk after 3mths! I'm mostly solo at home w bb. Once in awhile when hb see she's being difficult or he free he will try to work fro home, but otherwise it's just me n bb. Some times no time to make lunch but I still try to eat something

Bb is also cranky these few days. Was wondering if need to bring to pd? But wat do I tell e doc?? Also dunno why cranky. Wanna sleep cry, after change diaper also cry. Sometimes after feed also cry! Sleeping also can cry. I give up Liao. Feeling like walking zombie.

For those moms who manage a routine, how do u do it?? Cos I think I need to start one soon. So far I only manage to settle her into showering in mornings n wipe in evenings. Timing also not fixed cos if I wake her to bathe, wah can scream bloody murder!!

emmie

so serious??but just for the first few months and he can't accommodate??But if its only over the weekend..then it is not that bad wat...weekday can try....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My IL also expect us to be back every MON n Tue if hb is around but lately when MIL found out that i m training the girls to sleep early,she wasn't pleased too and said most of the time they are only free at night for a visit...then i said it is too bad la..

Till when Meghan is older,we will try to bring her out at night and see how she cope!We just gotta try..otw late night babies can really drive me nuts!!I ve got my things to do too!hahahha....

suwaiwai, if you find such lobang, rem to tell me! hahaha... I'm also like a walking zombie... keep dozing off when latching or feeding while his eyes remain big big. How old is your baby? Maybe he's like mine, going through a growth spurt. Like you, I only settle the morning and evening routine... the rest of the day is dependent on how well and how often he naps/feed. But more or less by 8.30am in the morning, he's down for his morning nap and by 7pm in the evening he's down for the night.

Amber, muz both parent taking up Aviva Myshield ah to entitle for the child coverage? But after 20yrs, child no more entitled? The life insurance also from Aviva?

destitonia, my fren is comparing the policies among the companies & he find that prudential not too good. Hmm i dun hv any prudential policy so i duno...hmm.. I will need to look out see wat to get.

Stella, how much you are paying for AIA hosp policy?

Thanks all for the replies ya!

princess, kidding abt the divorce... but he wouldn't be pleased abt it... inlaws would certainly be unhappy lor. the other day, he thought we are having dinner at his sister's place on friday. I told him to go ahead with me and baby cos Lucas will definitely be screaming his head off before we even finish dinner there and his sister don't stay near us, unlike my inlaws. He wasn't too pleased but didn't say anything. So if I tell him that I skip weekend dinners, he will certainly not keep quiet. But at least now he will automatically say to go home when Lucas starts acting up after we finish dinner. Hehee...no need to hang around too long there.

I'm so evil. On Sunday at my inlaws place, MIL was helping to carry Lucas while we have dinner. He was expectedly screaming his head off cos he's hungry and tired. The moment I took over, he stopped cos he knows food coming. :p MIL didn't know and asked if it was because Lucas can now recognize people, that made him stop crying the moment I carry. Almost wanted to say yes, he will cry in strangers' arms. :p

Bblin: my bb hospital policy I took mid range $50/mth. All 4 together abt $100+/ mth. The rest i took basic coverage to get him covered first then slowly add on as time goes by.

Suwaiwai & Emmie: how do u even get into a morn n evenin routine??? My boy makes his own timetable n usually it involves lots of crying! So hard to time anything even expressing milk now being done 6 hourly. At this rate my milk supply gonna go down e drain... If I manage to pump at 3 hr intervals hardly any yield. Haiz. Gg abit nuts with lack of everything frm slp to food to toilet breaks! Any tips please??!

Bblin: yes both parents need to be insured under Aviva Myshield policy, this is hospitalisation plan.. either plan 1 or 2.. then the baby gets free up to 20 years old.. every year the plan costs $109.51 (below 30 years old) so savings of $2000++ per child lor

the whole life policy + critical illness is under Tokio Marine..

Thank you Amber & Stella to share tge policies with me! I'll go check out more and decide wat type to get.

Emmie,

Just now I thot my boy going wake up hv his milk & I warned up the ebm, he went back to slp for about 15min. I put the bottle back to the warmer to warm a while more b4 giving him. May I ask if ebm is warmed, can re warm again?

bblin, personally i'm ok to serve it like you did...since it's all within the hour.

thanks Stella, that's what I thought too... but sayang the 50ml! so wasteful! I'm following the EASY steps by Tracy Hogg (Baby Whisperer) very loosely whereby it breaks down the routine in 3/4 steps of approximately 3-4 hours. The only I got right is the morning and evening portion. Eg a 3 hr EASY routine:

7am feed (E)

7.45 activities (A) - i give him his morning bath and let him lie in cot during this time

8.30 sleep - 1 1/2 hours(S)

8.30 - 10 My time! Will eat, shower/change, chores etc and keeping my fingers crossed that he naps (Y)

and this goes on for the rest of the day til about evening time where I will definitely prep him for a wipe down or butt wash by abt 6.15pm, give him additional feed at abt 6.30pm then pat him to sleep by 7pm. Somehow it works most days. Still trying to figure out the middle portions and the night feeds. One at a time I guess...

mommies, i tink some of u facing this too.. baby wants to b cuddled all e time! cuddle till she falls asleep, put her down in her crib then 10mins later cry again want to b carried. i usually let her cry out a bit but its defeaning so i would carry her in e end. this can go on and on and on. sometimes i jus let her sleep on my chest. but will this phase go away? or any solutions?

Jadefeet,

how heavy is ur bb now? I also tot boys tend to eat more. He's 1 mth plus but still drinks every 2 hrs but sometimes 3 hrs, at night wake up twice. When I bring my boy out , most ppl ask if he's 3-4 mths old. He's wearing m size pampers.

I agree that drypers is lousy, alway leak, the urine & poo poo. Mummy poko is still the best though!

Marrissa,

my boy also likes to sleep on my chest & we put him to sleep on his chest, he seems to sleep better, I think he lack of security.

Marissa: I'm gg through the same thing. Ppl keep telling me it's a phase n I hope it will pass soon but I'm abit worried he's relying on being carried n cuddled to fall asleep. Wonder if it will become a habit... I try to let him cry awhile before I pick him up but like u I give in to the deafening cries...

Placing bb on tummy is fine if she is supervised.

Stella & Marrisa

My gal is going thru this phase as well. I'm going crazy soon. Have to carry her all e time. So there's no solution to this??

Bblin

I also jus got some insurance for my bb fr aviva. My Agt is v v good & she is not pushy. If U need her contact do let me know.

Syann: if there's a solution I'd really like to know too. For now I'm trying as little stimulation as possible. Talk in low calm tones, stay away from bright lights loud noises. He seems better today still hv to carry to slp but he is staying asleep. But I'm touching wood on this one.

One question for mummies feeding ebm at night, does ur bb scream e house down while u heat up e milk?? Mine screams so loud all e way til bottle reaches his mouth. I usually end up giving fm coz it's faster to make though I'd rather give ebm...

Seems Aviva insurance quite good hor. syann, if i need the contact will get from you. Thanks!

Stella, anyway you can get up earlier to prep the ebm if you know your bb routine? My boy also like that...tear down the whole house while warming up the milk. Keep coaxing him...but he cried so bitterly lor. For me, like detinonia, i also not enuff milk, hence giving fm for nite feeds. Last longer also.

Stella,

I'm still trying to get into a routine. It is hard.. SO hard esp when she sleeps and I have to wake her up.. can scream the house down! Its funny how they wake up when you want them to sleep and sleep when you want them to wake up! Sigh

Spoke to a fren of mine and she recommend using batt-operated bouncers.. maybe they work the same as yao lan (I'm not sure). Asked her if the bb will be reliant on them to sleep, she said not really cos she used it only when she wants to pump or use the loo or do some housework. It frees up her hands and the bb will be happily rocked to sleep in it. I am so tempted to buy one!! Cos I also find it hard to find time to pump!!

Marissa,

the past few days i hv been letting my boy sleep om his chest day n night. At night i wake up hourly to check on him. Sometimes cant sleep too n watch him.. He he he..

Risky but it keeps my sanity, else he cant sleep well and cry when put on back and get startled.

When put on back hr can even move his head from left to rught...

When can bby roll over? i also looking fwd for the neck to strengthen. Now a bit tiring for me to carry my boy... He is 5.4 kg aldry.... That is when he is naked without diaper okay!!! When he pees the diaper itself can be 300 gr..he has gained 2.2 kg and he is going to be 7 weeks this sat...

Claudia, wow, 6 kg!!

But i think weight depends on genes.. Coz my hubby is big size n i am heavy boned..

Stella,

Oh I also wake up earlier to warm up the ebm..which equal to less sleep cos you need to wake up earlier then wake up again to feed.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Marrissa

I'm gg thru the same thing too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re: pi sai

just now went to get hep B jab for myself and baby, also asked doctor about her pi sai issue. he just took out cotton bud, put into the nostril and gently dig out. her nose so much better now, can breathe more easily.

thanks ladies for e reassurance! i also confuse. ppl tell

me dun carry baby otherwise she grows up wanting to cuddle all e time. but i jus read on babycentre dat at this age babies jus realised dat they r a separate being from us mommies and they dun haf memory. the last thing they recall would be us putting em down in e cot so dats where the insecurities come in. they jus want to be held n feel safe, dats all. n i read the phase shd b over by 3-4 mths. by then they would b smarter n gets distracted by other things rqther than wanting to b cuddled all the time. n those mommies who had to go thru this all said their babies din become needy toddlers at all. jus sharing wat ive read wif u all. may god give us all e strength! hehe

anyway im feeling a bit vexed. ive brought baby to kkh over e wkend coz 3x during feeding she suddenly tighten her body n went crossed eyed! v scary but turned out not fits, shes having stomach reflux. but shes too small to b on medication so we jus haf to monitor her. while theres no more such episodes she still vomits milk.. like really a lot, shes growing so she has a big appetite but unfortunately her stomach cannot take it. it usually happens when we bottle feed her, rarely during bf. she vomitted on me jus now so im expecting her to wake up 3 hrly again tonite to feed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] oh gawd.. so tired. during e day must carry all e time.. at nite also no rest.

Hi gals and guy

I'm back. Sigh.. new formula dont work. I was trying Enfalac since Fri pm but by mon pm he is having diarrhoea after every feed. Last night he freak both me and my mom out when we found 1 or 2 hairline trends of blood in the stool.

This morning I brought him to PD and was told to put him on soymilk and collect stool sample for testing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] He could be allergy to cow's milk or got an infection. I also need to monitor his output of blood in stool.

Had a hard time trying to feed him medicine. He spilt it out immediately [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Tried to feed with milk and worst off he vomit out both milk plus the medicine

Before this I was on Nan but found his stools weird - sticky green lei. He also have to use a lot of strength to poo so decide to change brand.

Ann,

yup, he's 6 weeks old & weighing 6kg now! My husband & I not that heavy kind. That time when I went for my regular ultrasound, doc kept asking me if there's any big babies in my families? Doesn't seem to have.

I tried putting my bb to sleep on his tummy at night, he really sleeps longer as he's not easily startled. but I dared not put him to sleep on his tummy at night.

Princess,

initially wanted to get the calendula cream online via the website that u recommended but my niece happen to see the cream at watsons & got it for mr. So ex! $29.90 for 2 oz which online only sells $18! I intend to get their shampoo & cleanser the tea tree & lavender, not sure if it's good

so angry and upset now until I cried... just quarrelled with hb cos of MIL. Just now bb was drinking milk at 9+pm and was dozing off... then my MIL kept talking so loudly at the baby and keep telling the baby "DONT SLEEP DONT SLEEP" and then suddenly he became very awake after the commotion... and until 12midnight.. he dowan to sleep even though he is very sleepy...only after milk then sleep. I explain to my hb and say we trying so hard to set a routine so at night we try not to talk so loudly etc... how can make so much commotion and then disturb the baby and then after that, EXPECTS the baby to go back to sleep... HOW POSSIBLE??? I said he got to let his mum know we should keep our voices as low as possible so that baby will know its time to sleep... Then he said, "why dont u tell her yourself?"

there are some things so difficult for a DIL to tell a MIL... he say everytime ask him to tell, but i dont open my mouth.. I said if i start saying, the R/S between me and his mum will sooner or later become awkward or turn bad... he ask me what i wanna compromise... the son or the r/s with his mum. What kinda question is that?

I always trying so hard to make the baby go to sleep after his feed at 9+..but at this time my MIL/Hb comes back from work then they wanna "play" with the baby.... sometimes he is sleepy and abt to sleep... but everytime after all those carrying abt, he becomes awake and end up sleeping late.. so bad for the baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] of cos i will tell my hb to speak to MIL in the nicest way possible right? Or she will think i dowan her to "touch" my baby or what then things will turn ugly... or maybe she will think only when we (me and hb) wanna go out then ask her take care of baby.. like making use of her.. i dowan her to think like that...

i am so scared next time when I have to take care of baby at night.... MIL will come over from her room and interfere whenever baby cries... *sighs*

Claudia

think my bb is 6kg too.. Fm last 2-3 hr. Bm last 1.5hr..

Still on s size diapers but the thigh is getting tight..

Dun worry both my boys r same growth rate.

My ds1 was 8kg at 3 mth! Ignore those comments.. Different bb different size..

As long as healthy can Liao.. As they grow older the grow rate will slow down n with increased activity they may lose weight later...

Hi ladies, may I know how do you make Formula Milk?

1) do you use room temperature water or warm water?

2) do you stir with a spoon or shake the bottle as instructed?

Cuddling: My baby going to be first month tomorrow. He also wants to be cuddled more lately. What my mom and I did was to put him back every time he was dozing off, he would struggle a bit and my mom or myself would pat him and talk to him in low voice or hum a tune 世上只有妈妈好, we kept repeating til he too tired and fell asleep... need a lot of patience... sometimes I place my hands under his head and body while he is in the crib to assure him, after a while, I let go.

shin yr hubby shd go speak nicely n explain to his mom, cannot expect u to do it wat.. actually same thing happen wif me.. my baby was sound asleep at her usual bedtime then my hubbys sil go n carry her roughly n shout into her face to wake up. my poor baby woke up startled n was wide awake! from there on until now she hasnt gone back to her routine. really la these ppl got no common sense. can c baby trying to sleep wat

then yest e ILs invited us out for dinner, i said no. hubby can go but baby n i will be on house arrest coz i need to put her bqck into routine. until she hqs learn she cant go out. guess wat? they came over. so agqin my baby din sleep on time last nite. so frustrating!

thanks ladies,.. i tink i wanna try put sofea to sleep on her chest also.. erm maybe not nite time sleep.. during naps n supervised. so scared of SIDS

Thanks for the replies mummies. Nite feeds I think I stick to formula. Middle of e night wen Logan screams n wakes up hubby, hubby will make those fed up sounds. So irritating.

Elle: I use lukewarm water n shake for fm.

Last night was a really bad night. Bb vomited his milk because of the phlegm in his throat n stomach. N he poo at least 5 times aft not pooing the whole day n he seems in pain before he poos. N we couldn't soothe him at all. Somemore he farted alot because he has so much wind in his tummy frm breathing through his mouth. He fussed for 2 hrs before latching on n falling asleep. Pd meds dun seem to work. If this continues weekend I'm bringing him to kkh. He seems to be in so much discomfort...

morning mummies~!

ytd i bought the pigeon nose cleaner and the nose picker..works pretty effectively together and extracted 2 huge chunk of snot from xavier's nose~

Stella, if bb appetite drop or became pale or throw up or fever, must quickly bring him to PD/hospital. Cos for me, we also tot it was cough and phlegm, turn out to be quite serious. Becos the phlegm went into his chest, as seen in X-ray and tis cause bb not to breathe normally, which we can't tell at all. The experts will know. I now still in hospital with bb. He definitely becoming better. But for bb I have learnt, every small cough counts, esp when our bb are so young.

I was having engorgement for the first time yesterday. Not feeling well too. Does engorgement means my baby is drinking Less??

he has been spitting up a lot of phlegm yesterday n today, like last week!!! some come out with milk n when i put my hand on his chest cn feel it trembling when he is breathing....

Thinking of beinging him back to pd...

How can we tell when the phlegm has enter the lungs???

I wss wondering why there are quite number of babies here suffering from cough n having loy of phlegm..

Is it really normal for babies to have cough?

Or is it because of the weather these days, with the haze n all that..??

I was thinking to confine baby till 3 mnth old.. But not sure whether hubby agree or not.... He seems to think it is ok to expose baby to outside world (and all the viruses.. Arghh) even when bby is obviously still recovering...

Destitonia,

when u bring ur bby to pd the pd will know whether phlegm is in he lungs? or need to go for x ray?

Is iy sfe to expose bby to x ray??

Ian,

i never pump except when need to go out.. So far my supply is enough for baby. Now it seems to be over supply..

So wondering whether baby is drinking less n therefore im engorged?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

maybe ur supply now exceeds demand..so u might want to consider pumping out the excess in order to prevent engorgement?

Stella,

my baby tend to throw up the pglegm when held in uprigt position. Like u r going to burp him..

Maybe u can try wih ur bby n see whether will throw up any phlegm or not...