(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

momotan,

what pump you use? i use freestyle but i pump one side first then the other side. timing varies, but now each side around 7-8mins can empty out le. so total pumping session is around 20mins. i prefer latching also, but want to monitor baby's milk intake so pump and give ebm in the day.

Engorge breast and Blocked ducts

Can I know what's the diff? Now I felt some lumps in my breast so I massage and pump.

My nipples really hurt alot and kept bleeding. Baby suckle for 5 mins and it bleed le. Very sore as well.I can't make my baby open her mouth bigger and take in more areola. Any mummies can advice?

Is it temporary? Cos now like the milk comes very slowly so baby suck hard. If SS comes already will the suckling be better?

Thinking of gg to see MAH LC on Thurs when bringing baby to see PD. Do I need to make appt or can just walk in?

Suwaiwai,

My baby also abt 3 weeks old. She also drinking 90-100ml per feed but it seldom last her more than 2 hr. She will ask for milk sometime in 1.5 hr time. I read up, 3 -4 weeks old baby should b drinking 90ml - 120 ml. I think as long as baby dun vomit should b ok. I also not very sure... Dun you have confinement lady helping you? If everything done by yourself, will b super xiong.

Xin2

You time the contractions and see if it gets more painful and regular. If the pain subsides as you move around, it could be BHC.

The night before I deliver I thought I have contractions. It was regular but did not get more painful. Lasted for 2 hours and went away. You monitor and see how.

Good luck! Hope you'll see your bb soon!

nycmum,

engorgement is swelling of the breasts due to new milk coming in and the veins in the breasts expanding. blocked ducts are caused by milk behind the ducts being unable to flow out from ducts properly due to the breast swelling and pressure on the ducts. just have to massage them away. is baby latching on properly? by right shouldn't bleed. now better let your nipples rest and don't latch anymore. pump instead so that they don't get worse. not sure if need to make appt or not for MAH LC. best call and check bah.

Cyn

Glad all ok now..

Just for your info about bb with jaundice..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Make sure they wet their diaper at least 4 x for the first few days

and not so much about their poo actually!

However,when they poo....the color must turn to mustard in color and not pale creamy color..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry,

Wah. 20mins can empty out??

I'm using medela pis. I oso pump 1 side 1st then the other.

Smtimes it tks me more than 30mins & yield so little.

V Pek chek. I just started routine pumping tdy.

Is that why it's taking so long?? Any tips?

I'm just starting to drink more liquid to hydrate myself.

Duno got use mah.

Claudia, i'm staying at my mum's plc in yishun this confinement period. My bb hasn't had any vaccination yet! The doc told us he's too tiny so asked us to bring him take the BCG & first hep B dose 1 mth later. Next wk after the jaundice follow up, will take those jabs.

I feel very sad as my boy having this nose blockage. He seems unable to sleep nicely the whole day. Feel very heartpain and feel like crying seeing him so xin ku.. sighz...

nycmum> Need to make appointment with the LC in MAH.. But perhaps can walk in too, as long as they are not too busy with client.. Becoz last time after I go to see PD, the PD arranged to make appointment with the LC on that day, but unfortunately all are fully booked already, so need to come back another day.

Jac,

whether can massage depds very much on ML confidence n also your well is your recovery.. My wound dried and seems ok.. ML keeps asking if it hurts when she press certain spots.. So far ok.. Do it's up to your comfort level

starry

Yati was assigned to me. Well the hot stone was used when she massage my boobs. I guess the heat helps to unblock any blocked milk ducts cos she had to keep wiping and wiping the milk off.. she also said I can do the same with a hot bot (can use the baby bot) and press myself. But the hot stone retains heat longer.

Mummies n Ian,

Hope all of u r fine. MIA for so long. Been catching up with rest n pumping milk. Aft Jaren's full mth party on saturday, my girl having high fever on Sunday early morning. Hb n me quickly bring her to KK. She also having cough n flu. Yest she lost her voice due to the cough but today her voice slightly better. Been taking care of her since Sunday night till today coz bh on reservist n outfield so cannot come back till tomolo. Affected my milk supply too cos seldom have chance to drink milo n stress too.

Cyn,

Glad that ur mil no longer at ur hse. Well, I think better to leave bb in hospital cos nurse will take care better than us. Don't worry cos alot of our bb here admitted back to hospital for jaundice.

emmie

Your MIL oso one of s kind huh??????

Yah latercshen the child fall sick then blame will be on the mother for not taking great care of them ... Tsk tsk

Cyn

Hope eldrick will recover soon...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Remember to rest when bb is sleeping or when your HB is taking the shift[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]!

oh Starry, I ebm most of the time. cos i have an ants problem here, I even found an ant on Grace!! and since when I latch her we both seem to have a milk bath.. I figured ebm via bot would be cleaner for us and less ant in the bedroom.

Tinggy,

No I dun have a CL, just me and my mom at home during the day. Mom helps with my meals and laundry and sometimes babysit Grace while I'm in the loo, otherwise I'm coping on my own. Very tiring! Hubby was on leave last 2 wks but now he is back at work. I think more tiring for him cos he also helps with the night feeds and esp getting Grace to go back to sleep when she is wide awake from 12-3am!!

Anyone else hving this problem of baby not going back to sleep at night?

Blin,

My boy can't sleep well too, can alway hear the sound coming out from his nose & when he drink milk, he had to stop in between to breathe very hard, kind of saddened me too .

cyn, glad ur MIL shut up after u told her off...but think it will be nice to explain to ur MIL when u and her in better mood[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jaundice can make u feel stress cos it is yoyoing period...hope ur bb wil lcealr the jaundice soon

Novakido, so if u need to bf, u will go to the other room and feed ur #2 boy ah? Maybe I shld try this too, dun want my gal feel abandon if we ask her sleep in other room, think she may feel sensitive, just now she try to beat my hb whe n he carried her, oh gosh!

Any pics of ur 2 boys? or if u hv fb mind adding me? hehe...

Princess d,

CL still with me but she handle Jaren while I handle my girl cos cannot let my girl go near Jaren but she always go n sayang him. U right, I'm v v tired[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

tiffy

hugz..Thank God your Cl still around to help!Yea,can't let Sherry to go near Jaren[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hang in there.....im sure she will be good in no time!

Just gotta make sure her fever subside first b4 anything!...Sigh...can feel your tiredness and heartache..

When the child fall sick..the parents will be super disheartened..Please take care[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh dear Tiffy, hope ur gal will recover soon, I am also worried abt this part where #1 fall sick n trying to get near the newborn...hiaz never ending worries for me even my #2 nt out yet[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

BTW I saw ur gynae under the birthchart is under Dr E Chua, me too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She encourage me to bring my gal for each appt esp nw dates are drawing near...so to prep her before her brother is out..

Zuen:

Currently the pain subsided Liao. So I also dunno wats wrg. Haiz. Make me kan cheong.

Now monitoring lor. See hw it goes. Hope to hv 20-10-2010 baby also. Haha..

Somehow today just feels weird. Backache seems persistent leh.

But dunno whether isit labour or not. Just sng sng feeling.

Starry, I started on my 3rd week after csect delivery. The ML will not exert too much force near the wound. For csect, normally tummy a bit hard to go off of too big. They can't bind as tight too. That's the disadvantage.

Re. Tear/episotomy stiches

I had the pain & discomfort even 2 wks after. Couldnt tahan anymore...went to see my gynae again. Stitches somehow didnt dissolve on its own so gynae had to remove it. It felt a lot less painful immediately and 2 days afer, almost no pain at all.

Suwaiwai,

I realized our gals are same "age" My gal also abt the same. Can stay awake at nite..

You very steady, can do everything yourself. I had a CL n maid helping me. At night, if baby dun sleep. They will help to make her sleep. You try feeding her 60ml of milk if she dun want to sleep. Most of the time, my gal just want ppl to carry or she is still not full... She will sleep with additional milk.

Your hubby very good, help you for so many days. My hubby only applied 3 days of leave only. Since then, i think he only feed her twice... Totally hand- off.

Hi mummies out there, need some help.

My boy is now 3 wks old and he is starting to have a new pattern...

He will stay awake for a couple of hours after a feeding session and cry. We have tried to clean him, carry him, sing to him...nothing works.

The only way is to BF him. But he will suck for a few min and fall asleep. We put him down and in less than 5 min, the same cycle will repeat itself. I was thinking it might be growth spurt, but he is not really drinking more. Its like he just wants to suck my nipples to sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mummies, does your baby spit milk milk out often? mine does... is it cos i nv burp him properly? sometimes after feed, he refused to be burp, wriggle here n there like a little worm!

Cyn: glad u spoke up and that helps keep ur MIL quiet. :p sometimes some comments are not warranted. hope your bb's jaundice will go away soon.

momotan: sometimes i pump more than 30mins oso yield v little BM. Today I had my 1st massage. The ML cleared my blocked ducts so I was able to pump a bit more. Even so that took me more than 30mins. BF / EBM is really tiring!

lilac,

spit/vomit out milk.. could it be reflux?? reflux may occur due to over feeding.

cyn,

hugs hugs, dont take it to heart on mil thingy.. shoo shoo bb jaundice goes away..stay positive n be a happy mummy

novakido,

so ur #2 is sleeping alone in e next room huh?? u only use the bb monitor?? in fact my #2 also sleep with me on my bed, thats y everytime bb cry for milk/fuss during the night, #2 will also go wailing away.. which makes me go maddness. then my poor hubby will try to coax #2 while i coax bb. *jus for laugh, there are times my hubby mistakenly pat the bolster to sleep rather than my #2....becoz he did it with his eyes shut*

tiffy,

hugs hugs, pls take care of urself too. jus leave jaren to cl and lets pray that sherry will be fine soon.

Cherry: oh reflux ah? Hmmm not sure leh. Cos bb like always hungry. He cry for milk so I feed. Sometimes gv him 30-40ml not enuff I will latch him for a while. Thn later he will spit milk out.

Jaundice:

My bb's jaundice level is 13.5. PD nv ask him go bk for follow up. Shld I b concerned? I was reading the archive n saw some of u mummies discussing on this. My bb drink sleep most of the time. Sleep too much no good for jaundice?

1st mth jab:

We were recommended a PD in glenE for bb. The other day we went to this PD for bb's first chk. We are thinking of not going bk to this PD for future jabs n chks. It shld be ok rite? Am thinking of finding onE nearer to home. Any good PD in Serangoon, AMK, bishan or Hougang to recommend?

momotan,

Give yourself and your boobs a couple more days to adjust to the pumping? Initially I could be pumping in the room for almost 45mins to an hr. Maybe not familiar with the pump or my breasts still got blocked ducts or both so spent a long time. Now no more blocks, much faster and less painful also. You'll know/feel the difference when it starts getting easier in a couple days' time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Snoopy,

Have a smooth and safe delivery! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jadefeet, suwaiwai,

From what both of you said, I really feel like starting massage earlier! The hot stones sound very shiok, although bm kinda wasted like that. :p

Wonder if xin has popped? Didn't see any post from her after last night.

may i ask if any mummies visit e PD Dr Yovnne from sunset way??? may i ask for some feedback??

church,

may i also ask does your church have bb care service, while mummies attend for church service?? which church you goes to??

bb monitor,

what brand is recommended??

thank you for sharing.

lilac,

overfeeding will results in reflux.. how about increase milk intake but drag feeding timing??

jaundice,

cant help with it, as mine was bless with none..

1st mth jab,

i am skiping 1st mth jab.. opting for 6 in 1, rotavirus n prenumcocal when bb is 2nd mth *sorry for spelling error*

Princess d, mangogal, cherry,

Thanks. Yah really no joke if she pass her virus to Jaren. Hope will not happen

Mangogal,

Kekeke from the start of every check up, I brought my girl along. Everytime Dr Eunice Chua will ask my girl which toys she want to play today before she proceed to check on me n do scanning. And she will also ask my girl to come n see didi thru the scan. She is a nice gynea.

Reporting from tmc observation ward. Strapped to ctg n monitoring now. 1cm dilated for now.

Baby really choose 20-10-2010 to come out. Hehe..

So far not much pain, just tightening only.

Will update again if I can

Xin,

Baby has picked a very nice date for you, finally! Keep us updated! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cherry, my church hv infant n nursery section so we can leave our babies there but i only bring my baby after 3 months old, u hv to chk wif ur church any such facilities

How old is ur elder kid? Been sleeping wif u all in bed ah? Maybe if u hv spare room ur newborn shld sleep in other rm n ya i am also looking for baby monitor

Tiffy, cos i always go on weekday during office hrs , u knw la her sat appt is so crazy pack :p then my gal is attending playgrp at childcare so only bring her twice, will be gng to see her this sat cos manage to bk the earliest slot,ya i am her old patient too very comfy wif her[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw u opt for 4 bedded upgrade to 2 or 1 bedded this time? Cos i opt for 4 bedded n hope for free upgrade to 2 bedded , i had natural birth wif epidural for my #1 so hope the same for #2 too

So need to find out how much cash to pay after medisave deduction,mind sharing or pm me?

xin, so happy finally ur bb is gng to be out soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mangogal,

Kekeke last time manage to get free upgrade fr 4 bedded to 2 bedded but this time don't get it. I don't mind cos 4 bedded ward have bigger space than 2 bedded ward. Oh from starting I always book saturday slot the earliest slot if not I am the 1st five patient in front. It's true that her Saturday slot is always pack.

My 1st child is induce with epidural n my hb told me aft all the deduction he still pay ard $600+. But this time round is natural n aft all deduction my hb still need to pay ard $1200+.

Xin2,

Finally! happy for u! Jia You! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BB insurance:

Wanna ask mommies opinions, wat insurance u all getting for ur bb?

i hv totally no clue which or wat to buy.

good morning mommies and daddies...

been sleeping lately and very recharged now!!!!

Hope Snoopy is resting well...Joel should be out by now..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilac

Is perfectly ok to switch Pd...If you have make an appt with your first PD for the next review or Jab,Just call and cancel it ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Spit out

Nothing to be alarmed...soemtimes they drink too much or they gulp in too fast,spits out can occur...just need to burp them after milk...some burp their babies b4 n after milk..

HOwever,in any case bb is vomiting lots of milk out,it could be reflux and just make sure his intake is not too much and get call your PD for advise[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry ,mangogal

Im using Philips baby monitor

I like it bcos it has soothing musics,night light and also talk back function..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Coverage quite far too....

We were discussing about this last month...

i don't know if the sales still on...

this model is selling about 290++ but Mothercare and Kiddy palace is selling 150+ only ..it was on sale!You guys might wanna go look for it![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MEghan is currently sleeping with the CL in one room but will transfer her to Jade's room when confinement is over[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Will let the sisters get use to sleeping together!Sounds crazy but will gotta try bcos i never like co sleeping![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

The monitor and camera comes very handy for me at the other room!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin

Finally!!!!no more complaint n wait!!Have a smooth and safe delivery!Update us on your delivery!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffy

Is sherry better today?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

momotan

bb insurance

Why not get a few to compare?That's wat we did...

apparently my HB bought Great Eastern for the girls apart of the insurance provided by his co that covered us!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin,

Delivered already? So happy n gan cheong for you. My tummy still big big. Hope to hear good news from gynea later. Boohoo.

Woohoo.. Today is my edd but no sound no sight leh. Hoho.

Lilac White ...

If the PD never say anything then should be fine. Sleep is good just that dun let it drag for over 3 hours and skip any milk feed =)

Xin2 ...

Wow!! Finally its your turn and your bb choose to come out on such a nice date ... I was secretly hoping that my gal will come out on this day too heehee but till now ... not even a single signal from her hahahaha

ZuEn ...

Since its EDD maybe your bb will surprise you heehee my EDD is still 10 days away ... so I was telling my colleague can start to count down liao!! Ten ... Nine ... Eight heehee

Xin, wishing you a smooth and easy delivery! Nice/easy date to remember bb’s birthday.

Tiffy, hope sherry recover soon. Take care of yourself too. Must be very tiring, good that your CL is still around to help out.

Cherry, can’t help on monitor, have only used Philips and it is not bad lah. These days there are monitor with screen also. Thought that is quite good can see from the screen if bb is just making noise or awake. Must be tough on you for the night feed. Hope it gets better soon. How old is your #2?

Claudia, is your boi better now? Hope his nose block get cleared.

Suwaiwai, really tiring for you without CL to help out. Caelan sleeps better in the day compared to nite as well. Almost every night he takes longer time to sleep after feed. Sometimes it takes 1 to 2 hrs and he will cry and cry too. Have tried keeping him awake more in the day but it didn’t help as well. Hoping this phrase will past soon.

Cyn, hope eldrick jaundice subside soon. Try to rest and think positively and ignore all the negative/unnecessary comments.

ZuEn, oh today your edd? Hope bb really come out today 

Princess, we were also thinking of moving the cot back to the jie jie’s room. Cos jie jie keep coming to our room to sleep in the middle of the night since Caelan is back….. but Caelan yet to settle down fully, still cries in the night thus worried that he will disturb the jie jie.