(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Hi mommies!

Been some time since I logged in.. Haf been just lazing at home.. Started my maternity leave this mon to continue the waiting game. ~_~

Haf had 3 visits to dr since I was discharged for the earlier scare.. Latest visit to dr being this morning.. Oredi crossed 37th wk on tuesday, this morning I asked dr if bb is engaged. He said yup..anytime soon.. The last time he did VE was last mon & I was 2cm dilated oredi. (someone asked how it was done? - dr insert his fingers into ur vagina & use his fingers to feel lor! Hate it! Pain pain, still haf to pay him for the check too. Haha!)

Thankfully last two visits never check.. Only did CTG scans.. Cos bb is pressing on my v-area & it makes walking painful sometimes esp if she happens to press on the nerves which make my butt/leg ache madly. I haf to walk w a limp.

I take min 4 showers a day now! Oso worry abt the discomfort & stinkiness during confinement..

pearlyn,

woah! min 4 showers a day?? that's a lot. i tried to minimize to go out under blazing hot day.. cos it makes me sticky all over. but staying under the fan also don't help much =P air con is the BEST.

bibilibran,

feeling hot is good! my ML said that means your blood circulation is working as it should and very healthy. feeling cold and chilly is no good. must do massage, rest more, eat healthily.

bibizai,

how long you should latch your baby really depends on the baby himself. if you ask an LC, surely she'll recommend 10-15 minutes each breast. however, my own children are one-breast feeders and they latch for less than 10 minutes, sometimes only 5 minutes. there could be several reasons; either your milk flow is fast and they're efficient swallowers, they're just comfort nursing or they had enough. don't fret if you baby doesn't latch for 15 minutes or latched for too long. if latched for too long means your milk flow could be slow or he's just comfort nursing. babies have a strong urge to suckle. this is normal. my boy does this all the time. but i won't let him suckle for more than 30 mins though, if that happens, i will detach him by poking my little finger into his gums and pull the nipple away. most of the time, he'll settle to sleep by himself.

bblin,

sometimes looking at the skin is not a good indication. look at the whites of his eyes or his tongue. best way to gauge is to bring him to PD where he'll do a blood test. he will be able to advice you if the jaundice level is high or low. if high, don't take the risk. have him admitted for phototherapy. my boy was also admitted for 2 days due to high jaundice. glad we did. b'cos he didn't look jaundiced at all. only the blood test told us it's very high and very risky.

on newborn and water, no need to drink water actually. water has empty calories. your BM consists mainly of water. if the concern is about breastfeeding jaundice, then it's better to give FM than water. if you're in confinement, isn't it better to take red dates longan tea vs water?

i found this very useful link about learning baby's cues and behavior when he's breastfeeding. this is especially related to bibizai's issues. a MUST READ for all mommies attempting to BF. i am learning from this website as well as each baby is different. my problem is fast milk flow b'cos bub goes breathless and sometimes detaches himself too soon.

http://www.mobimotherhood.org/MM/article-milkflow.aspx

ok! that's good to hear!!!! feeling hot = healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for the useful BM link, Melissa.

Melissa,

Tht goes to show yr hb is a family man! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Guess when the kids come by, priorities all change [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jadefeet,

I've a planned schedule to ensure nap/feeding time thru'out the day is 'consistent' it takes some trial and error before bb sleeps thru the night [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh ya, I made reference to the Gina Ford's method [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just went for check up at 37weeks. Baby weighs 3.1-3.2kg now. Doc was so surprised he checked 4 times to make sure there;s no mistake. I think the 2 weeks of lying in bed, doing nothing but eating and sleeping really pumps her up. She is now biger than average, doc says if continue to put on so much weight might need to induce. He can still happily tell me that no need to worry, if baby gets too big den just go C-sec lor.

Browsed through the posts and saw you ladies talking about KTV!!! Very gian...was bugging hubby to bring me for KTV but he's so busy...

Pearlyn,

The hot weather in SG is dreadful!! Even under aircon, I still sweat like mad!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

The confinement food will make u sweat even more!! -_-""

Ya.. 4 showers! I take one when i wake up. 1 b4 lunch, 1 b4 dinner & 1 b4 I slp! Hahaha.. Really buay tahan... My nap time & bed time I slp in air con.. Rest of the time use fan only..

Sometimes if I don't cool off fast enuf I even feel bit faint! And to think I used to one who had difficulty perspiring..

Nycmum: my bb gal oso weighs an approx 3.15kg at 37wk2days! But my dr has never mentioned much abt my weight or bb's.. Actually my weight has remained the same for last mth..even dropped slightly. But this one week it has increased by 1kg (must be the durian pomelo dessert hubby got for me in an attempt to fatten us up since my weight gain was none) and bb's weight increased by abt 200g in one week. Hee hee..

LilBluey ...

I am v sure he will start to show love and concern for his little sister soon!! Just be more sensitive to him and tell your frens to also shower him with attention when they come to visit. Dun just give all the attention to the newest addition =)

Btw saw the photos you posted on FB ... v nicely taken!! Like pro!!

Pearlyn

personally I'm happy with her weight gain (plus this time round she gained weight but I didn't..hehe)cos when she comes out she'll be chubby chubby. Haha.

But I think we need to cut down on sweet stuffs, dun wan the labour to be difficult in case baby too big.

Yeah! We've finally reached 37weeks. Now it's just waiting and waiting...=)

Btw, doc did mentioned that one of the causes for pre-term contractions is baby being bigger than average.

Seabreeze,

Hv been giving him 101% attention when he's at home but seems like he's feeling insecure I guess, hope things get better soon, thanks for the encouragement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thxs for yr compliments, one of those precious moments that we as parents hope to document for our kids in future [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bblin & zebra,

I hv added u in fb.

My initials is JG. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seabreeze/Mel,

His last visit to PD was 1 wk after he's born and slight jaundice is common with newborn so he thinks is ok.

I realised that his eye white really abit yellowish. Can't really tell. Guess i need to bring him to get a PD to check on him. Anyone has got PD recommendation in Yishun/Semb/Woodlands area??

Mel, the water consumption i'm talking about is for bb not me. Sighz...my parents keep saying give little bit water for baby..told them BM is water le...they just don't seems to believe... haiz....

Thanks for the BF link. Will go read it! (halfway thr)

Sorry to disturb again, I have recently added more brand-new and preloved baby and maternity items. Please refer to this link http://picasaweb.google.com/116194716505027587843/ItemsForSale?authkey=Gv1sRgCOf1kYbm-8Ta1gE#

for related pics and descriptions.

If keen, please PM or email me at [email protected] Thanks!

SOLD items will be deleted in the album, so it won’t be confusing.

PS: just to add, for every purchase for $15 and above, you get 4pcs of Mamy Poko S for free. so for $30, u get 8pcs and so on. while stocks last!

Princess,

Haiz, I prefer not to have heart attack lor. Now spending time with dd. She had so much attention from us now. Winder how she will handle when e baby comes n attention kena snatched! Trying to toilet train her. Started after her nap this afternoon. Within 1 hr, already wet 2 pants n e sofa. -.o"

Zuen

Hey,DOn't worry la....toilet trained is like dat la...sure wet pants..why din you buy hear those toilet trained pants so that she wont soiled all the sofas!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MAn man lai....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]U can wan...LOL

Hiya ladies! How r u? Oh i miss chatting with u all.. so many posts to read.. sorry if i missed out anything interesting.

Btw, thanks for the support n well-wishes! Baby Sofea was safely delivered on tuesday 5/10/10 after 12 hrs in labor which unfortunately ended up in an emergency c-sect. however gynae did tell us during checkup on Mon the possibility of c-sect due to baby's position. Well at least i 've experienced reaL contractions.

Baby Sofea weighed 3.2kg which is v close to her est weight. Is 49cm tall and looks nothing like daddy.. muahaha! her 3D scan at 7th month looked so much like daddy, skali come out look like mommy.

Anyway she's a healthy and smart kid. I was in pain due to c-sect so din bf the 1st day. Only started 2nd day but she could latch well. My only prob now is that my left breast has so little milk and short nipple. She cried out in frustration trying to suck milk out.. so sad. right now i can only latch her on left side for 30 mins each feeding. i tried pumping also coz the stupid nurse at tmc feed her fm till she so full then sleep n refused to wake up for 5 hrs, so i pumped while waiting. only managed to get ard 1 tbsp of colustrum.. should be enuf hor? today only 3rd day.. and its better rite if i cup feed the colustrum later?

Marrissa ...

Congrats!! Glad that bb Sofea is healthy and safe =)

If you do not wan them to feed FM then you let the TMC nurses know that you wan bb to be on TBF but should be v tiring and painful for you esp when yours is a c-section. So might want to get the LC to teach you the recommended position such that the bb do not add pressure to your wound.

Post up photos when you free =)

Thanks seabreeze!

I was still groggy after c-sect. I only managed to bf her on 2nd day in the afternoon. but she latched well la. so from 1st day she was on FM but i told nurse to cup feed her.

the LC there is some rude aunty, she teach me v briefly and talked v fast n like can't be bothered. but the ward nurses were v patient with me and helped me a lot wif bf

Congrats Marrissa!

Tell the TMC nurses you want your bb to be cup feed while you wait for your wound to get better, you wanna BF her.

Sorry Marrissa, my post came after you posted on cup feeding.

Hmm.. i kena a LC very fierce one @ TMC. But she quite detailed...think different one from yours. I agreed ward nurses r very good....

Rest well ya!

BBlin> I've added you in my facebook.

My massage lady said if eyes a bit yellow, the baby might truly have jaundice.. you better check..

I heard from her, there's a Woodlands Polyclinic, can check Jaundice there and definitely is cheaper than check in the hospital..

Too bad I've gone to hospital already to check. She said there only $8, hospital in MAH I paid $15, some more need to take taxi there, and pediatrician fee is $100!!

But I don't know if you check in polyclinic, how's the follow up will be.. :$.

My mum and MIL also said need to give water to baby. But I insist not too! Becoz I've asked the lactation consultant, she said if give water baby will feel full and don't want to drink milk anymore.

I found out in this website actually if give formula milk, later need to give water, but BF no need.

http://www.breastfeedingbasics.com/

bblin,

yeah me talking about your baby niaa.. the last sentence is just an example with regards to yourself. analogy lah hahaa.. BM is already water + immunity + hormones + nutrients. compare with water with zero calories.. that's a no-brainer.

marissa,

wow 12 hours labour is very long. but it's expected for the first child. anyway i dun think you need to pump on 2nd day. you only need to pump after actual milk comes in (anytime on 3rd to a week on average). you can keep the colostrum in your boobs. it will still be there. if you're in pain due to c-sect you can try the football hold like princess d suggested a few days ago. i have never pumped before my milk comes in throughout all my deliveries and all my kids are on TBM for at least six months. be confident. the way your body works has a lot to do with your confidence level. try to keep in touch with Mdm Wong Boh Boi (spelling maybe a bit wrong). She's a great LC but can be a bit naggy like aunty.

groovy

if send to polyclinic, i think they will write referral letter to KKH. KKH as subsidized patient is cheap but the waiting time.. i buay tahan..

Groovy: So worrying now. My mum keep asking me if bb got jaundice a not... Now I see his eyes white really is yellowish a not also not sure le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] juz hoping he's not serious.

Going polyclinic need wait very long a not? I thot juz bring him to PD clinic in neighborhood...

Added you in fb!

Mel..

Got it! Juz only talk to my mum only... She still asked me give him some water first b4 BF.. I duno explain hw many times dun give him water now.. Boohoo....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

if I cont to BF him, means no nid give water too?

Ya.. I scare go polyclinic see doc. But I heard infant queue faster??

Melissa, colustrum will still be there huh? Coz baby slept too long 5hrs, was afraid it would disrupt bf schedule. Coz while in hosp, i try bf every 2-3 hrs. and ya one nurse taught me the football cradle.. works well!

bblin,

actually some babies kena breastfeeding jaundice where BM itself actually prolonged jaundice. it could take months to cure without treatment. ok lah if ur mom insist on giving water, give him a teeny weeny bit? then BF him lor.. hahaha.. :p

but i have also heard that giving FM occasionally could help, just in case it's BF jaundice. my son got 2 feeds of FM when he was admitted for phototerapy b'cos i was unprepared and was only able to pump at night, which is used for the night after. i guess FM helped to clear his system. once he got home, i put him back in TBF mode till his poo turned yellow once more.

ya i also heard that infant queue is faster but if there are 50 infants there how to be fast? hahaha.. ok i was being corny. actually infant has a special clinic that's why it's "faster". they dun mix with adult clinics. try it first, since it's cheap. if my PD, his doctor's fee alone is 160 bucks! so ex!

princess Diamond, Hebe cried at different timing n guess might not br colic or maybe the gripe water super effective. Me tired everyday n feel like giving everything. Seeing her is our motivation.

SeaBreeze:

Yah really need to learn the method and not worry about using some force de. Our first instinct is to be gentle coz they look so fragile. But if to gentle, both will suffer.

Melissa:

Yah learn from the pain. I wanted to get those nipple shield too but LC say dun. Will cause more problems so din get. Anyway, once learn how to latch properly, the nipple heal very fast. Am more scared of blocks. Throughout the 15 mths that I BF my #1, I also learn a lot of other ways to solve my BF problems coz you name the problem (except mastitis), I think I had it all - engorgement, blocks, sore nipples, blisters.

Jadefeet:

I think your BB's mouth not open enough. Abit of "pain" due to tenderness for the first few sucks is normal but if you feel pain throughout, something is wrong. You try after latching on, pull open his lower jaw wider and push more of your breast in.

bibizai:

Check if your baby is latching properly and whether there is swallowing or is he just comfort latching.

No water for newborns. BM is already majority water and giving water puts baby at risk of some toxidity (not sure abt this but there was some study done some time back). Furthermore, the more water baby drinks, the less milk he will drink.

marissa

congrats!Im sure that 12hours of labour is worth it till u see lil Sofea!!She has good weight!

u can cup feed your bb!Those colostrum are gold!!!

Have a good rest babe..

LEt her have sufficient rest and then starts your routine!DOn't worry k..

Tell tha LC aunty to go home and rest TOO!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy

NO water for a bf bb as well as for fm bb...if you ask a od point of view regarding fm fed bb..he will ask you..wat do you fix together with the milk powder?WATER!

So...that's their water intake!Anyway,i did not feed my girl a single drip of water until she started solid![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Meghan will be the same too!

YOUr first few mins of BM is the foremilk and served as water..then tr hindsmilk which is maincourse..let your MIL know..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa

you mean Dr GONG charged Sgd160 per visit or consultation?

YOur confinement ended???

Apple

if its on different timing and durations it might not be colic...

Maybe jsut wind in the tummy..if the grip water is working well then that's great!

Se will be good and you have to be strong and healthy too!EAt and rest well!Take 5 mins break when she is napping..try to rest as much..it will be very difficult for you n your HB cos you got no help over there!....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Take care k[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fifi,

haaa!! i've had breast abscess! have you had that? i had to be on non-bf-friendly antibiotics. heart pain had to pump and throw. the rest, is normal lah. think everyone will get it once in their lifetime of breastfeeding.

latching,

make sure baby's lips are curled out and visible yeah. if not, latching technique is wrong.

princess d

his doctor's fee is 160 think only for hospital. but consultation at clinic cheaper lah. can't remember how much, 80 i think? u more recently see him how much is his consultation?

uh i dread tonight. hopefully my boy won't wake up every hour at night. was like this since a few nights ago!

BBlin

Baby Denzel looks like u! handsome boy leh! Yes newborn got priority queue for visit at poly clinic, the fee for jaundice test is $15, the nurse will need to do blood test and u can get result instantly, after the blood test the doctor will see u and baby on the test report. If the jaundice level is on the high side, usually the doctor would want to see u for a few days till confirmed the jaundice level dropped to normal.

Congrats Marrissa! Post your darling pix soon! hope u have a good rest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d

haha u damn funny leh! i wanna laugh when u told marrissa to tell the LC to go home and rest!!! wahahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa

Im dread too! but at least not so siong my bb dont wake up every hour but still feel damn tired! u r really a super mommy with 3 kids!

Oh yes BBlin

PD ever mentioned to me that mild jaundice is normal for newborn especially for the first 2 weeks, but if it starts after 2 weeks or lasts longer than 14 days then should bring babyto see doctor.

Melissa:

Wah found another problem that I din have before. Good Good. Makes me feel better. When pump and throw, I always treat it as stimulating more supply. So after a while, I din bother about supply and ended up being more relaxed so more supply.

My most common problem is milk blister. And quite bad kind coz LC have to use needle to break the blister de. Eeek!

Melissa

He sees me he will kick me out! Wahaaa ... I'm a nuisance .. Recent case didn't take note on the charges la.. Chucked everything into the folder ! HB signed ler...

Irish

Yah ler... How can LC be rude n impatient le?? They have yo be very patience!! Bfg us all about patience n disciplined !! Sigh!! Wahaaaaahaaaaa.... Maybe she is just too tired la... Too many oct bb to handle !

just went to see gynae. Baby confirmed still breech and confirmed csect this Sat at 1pm. Will have to go under GA. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] feeling upset about this. Tried to talk to gynae to request for epi but he kept assuring me that GA is better and more comfortable for me. I just don't like the thought of not knowing what will happen to me and being separated from baby then wake up feeling tired and groggy... Cried when I told hubby just now, but now ok le. Just needed to talk abt it and let the realization sink in. Also very worried that going under GA will make bfing efforts more difficult. Gynae said I'll only get to see baby a few hours later, which makes me even more anxious lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jac

Don't worry so much abt it k? Everything is gonna be ok for you as well as baby... Jia you!! We will all be rooting for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fifi

What's milk blister?!?

It sounds really painful and disgusting!!! Ugghhh

Right now it seems all these probs are scaring me more than bfg itself. Hhahahaha

Isit as long as we learn proper latching and clearing the milk in time, these probs can be prevented??

marrissa,

I was so 'busy' ranting I missed your post! Congrats!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 12 hrs labour really long! And you had to go thru emergency c-sect some more. But all these forgotten the moment you saw baby Sofea right? Hope you recover soon and feel no more pain quickly!

Just now I accidentally bump my tummy against the counter. Not sharp edge though. Think I could have harmed baby?? She really jumped lor. Felt so scared for her 'cos she's breech and I think I may have bumped her head leh.. So angry at myself for being careless!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jac

Think should be ok but better monitor if u feel pain or bleeding or maybe baby moving lesser.. Den better consult a doctor...

Otw rest well these 2 days!!!! And prepare for the big day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin:

Milk blister is like skin covering an opening on the nipple causing the milk not being able to flow/spray out. If not serious, just massaging the nipples can open it.

No worries about problems. Many pple don't have much problems. Unlucky ones like me have problems but there are always professionals (LCs!) to solve them for us. Anyway, I always feel the benefits for bb and the convenience outways all problems.