(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Congrats tigger. The pd say 1st 6 day normal for baby to lose weight, aft that for Hebe think she sleepy and then also not engh milk given to her. I on partial bf.

Jac, u went to which ktv? At jurong safra? anyway is less than 2days plus, u must be real excited. Waiting to see ur pics.

apple,

i went to clementi's partyworld. there is a new mall there, but a bit "chin-chong" type. can't believe today is already thursday lor. week flew by soooo quickly! another 2 days to go.

Apple ...

Yap my fren took abt 2 months then meet her daughter's demand so she supplement with FM at first. Can be done just that need alot of hard effort and patience =)

In the same SB for 10yrs liao ... time flies!!

Shin ...

3rd tri is the most tiring ... I can zzz super well these days too.

momotan ...

Yar bank is q generous for leave and not to mention ... BONUS too heehee the only thing I like being in a SB is that its q family-friendly and work life balanced (at least for my division)+ old bird liao so bosses' oso sort of leave me alone to do and manage my own work. But pay is not attractive ... but well with young kids ... have to give and take.

Jac ...

Wow ... v fast you will be hugging your little princess ... what time is your c-section?

Tigger,

Edd on 20 oct.

Jac,

Wah, last session b4 e big day. U can soon ktv at home for your baby.

Re: medical

Am at e clinic now. Waiting, waiting. I hope e gynea was tell me good news. I seriously dun mind popping today. Hoho.

Morning peeps! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jac,

I like ktv too!! Just went 2x the last 2 wks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nvm la. We can sing from scv chn 888 for the next 6 mths loh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Seabreeze,

Yes! SB really v pro family. I kinda miss it there smtimes!

& always got so many parties to attend.. Quite fun. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But oso got alot of boliao CCA to do hor. Hahahah.

Hi Zuen, my check up is tomorrow, same as you. hope I will have good news, my husband will go with me tomorrow. Gynae wants to talk about inducing if i still don't give birth at 40 weeks.

Princess_d, once u mentioned about shapes of tummy being hard on 2 sides and soft in the middle, may I know what is it about huh? cos I having that very often now, so just curious.

Oh congrats Tigger!

Jac ...

I used to frequent KTV too when I had #1 hahaha think the last time I went was like 1yr ago ... maybe shld ask my hubby wan to go next fri after my gynae appt or not.

Momotan ...

Yap ... pro-family. CCA is for younger officers lar hahaha me old liao so 'nominate' the younger officers for these CCA.

Tigger ...

Congrats!! Share with us your birth story when you are well rested =)

Lilbluey, Tiffy, Princess d, Starry, Apple & Snoppy

Thanks for all your well wishes :)

Btw, am i correct tat bm won't come so fast especially on 1st & 2nd days? So just get bb to sucker on it to stimulate?

Just seen gynae. No sign yet. Boohoo. Did ve n cervix no sign too, still tightly closed. Boohoo. Gynea says maybe one more week. My baby so nice to me, wants me to fully utilize my annual leave. -.o"

He said not ready n no need to induce now. Back to e waiting game + endless worrying when baby not moving. Sian.

ok, thanks for the replying my request. i gonna go grab the binder soon then hahaha!

starry, all the best for your c-sect this sat. counting down 2 more days. must be so exciting for you....

Starry & Mommies waiting to pop,

Right now, eat/drink/rest/sleep as much as you want before bb arrives and such privileges are taken away! hahaha :p

Starry,

First 2 days I wore their gown becos of all the tubes the nurses will put on the pads for you w/o any undies..I oni managed to change to my own clothes on Day 3 where the pain is more manageable for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am oso not too sure wat it is for but it certainly hurts when it's removed *ouch*!

Ytd was quite ok, hb was the one cooking my lunch/dinner and tending to his lil gal all night round while I rest becos it's taking me some time to get accustomed to getting up/down frm the bed..

My gal is like her bro, refused to latch from Day 1..so I try to pump it out instead...not stressing myself too much, will try to give watever I can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffy,

Tht's nice with an extra pair of hands to help out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me still not too bad, oni pity my hb has to shoulder so many things for now but the food he cooked is great!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hee hee..

Seabreeze,

I oso hope I can be like your fren build up sufficient supply hahaha ;p~ *dreamz*

Princess Dia,

U are doing gd! *envious* of mummies with gd ss of BM!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen,

Yr lil bb is reali comfy inside you keke [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

talking about cold drinks.. everyday i also feel like having it. the weather is not helping much. also wanna have all sorts of food before i pop. hahahaha

Zuen:

It's bk to the waiting game for u also? Haiz. At least ur gynae got do ve, mine nvr even check. Well, we both wait tog lor. My edd 1 day after u nia..

Think our babies too comfy inside tummy Liao. They still wan to play inside la.

Princess:

Really hope that I can be a good 1st time mama n give the best to my child lor. This baby did nt come easy.

Groovy:

Jiayou. You are doing well. Most mothers would only remember the times when they put the babies near the breast and they latch themselves but wont remember the fussy difficult beginnings. And twice to LC is quite good already. For my #1, I went 3 days in a row. Haha.

Diveera:

My advice is actually latch latch latch. Pumping is secondary for now if you can latch. But if oversupply causing you engorgement, then need to pump abit. When pumping, no need to pump totally. Can give pump a few mins to remove abit of milk making it not so engorged can already.

Apple:

Even though you are fully expressing, can also try the method of unwrapping her, etc so make her more awake during feeding. That will help her to drink more.

RE: Latching

For any who are not sure how to latch, do see an LC to learn. Dun be like me during my #1 coz the one who suffer is you. For my #1, I was discharged after 24 hrs. Latching in hospital was fine coz had nurses to help push the baby in the latch. Reach home, everything went haywire. My #1 screamed like mad coz the latch was not good and she only grasp the nipple - so dun really get the milk. It was super painful for me & she was getting so upset that she started rejecting my breast at times. In the end, 12midnight, sent my maid to the nearest shop and safe to buy FM.

After giving FM, things were abit better. I continue latching (though still wrongly) and then supplement FM after latching, thinking I dun have enuff milk. Survived another day or 2 but by then, my nipples were so sore and almost bleeding. Can see the wound on it. Breasts were getting more and more painful too coz I was getting engorged and hard. I tried expressing but could not even pump out anything. Not a drop.

Then when I finally could not tarhan the pain, hubs brought me to KK 24hrs. Found I was super engorged. They tried to help me remove some of milk using their hospital grade pump. Also not a drop. Hand express, managed to express abit after hot compress and cabbage. Next day returned to see the LC who saw that my latch was all wrong because I din use any force to bring baby in, letting her clamp only my nipple. So I started from basics, learn how to latch. She also help me massge out some blocks but coz too hard, need to use cabbage + make my baby suck out the milk. Repeat visits for the next 2 days + cabbage + suffering the pain of the massge by my husband (who seemed very happy to torture me) + latching my baby almost all day and night (no more supplementing), finally clear the engorgement.

So if you are not sure, do visit LCs to check and learn, rather than risk suffering the pain I went through.

COngrats to Tigger!

Saw gyane yesterday. Baby still head up so its scheduled c-sec. Will book a date by today likely to be on 11 Oct (as doc advise better to be before 12 Oct). After considering for 1 night I opt for 11 Oct - no special reason la just thot 11.10.10 look not bad - like bar code! ha ha ha

still in office working today. Will try up loose ends today - hopefully i can take leave tomorrow to prepare for baby arrival. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilbluey,

Ya lor. I listening to his heartbeat now. Makes Me sleepy.

Your hb can make confinement food ah. If my hb cooks, I m prob beta off with kopitiam food. Hoho. I m not beta too. Our kitchen is only to boil water n cook Maggie mee now. Hoho.

Xin,

Ya lor. I so sian when gynea told me e news. This is e first time tat he did ve for me leh. Can only wait lor.

today is my official start of wk37 so happy..saw gynae yest to check for water level..water level is ok but i lost 0.5kg of weight..gynae say should be ok maybe i shit too much..hahaa..nxt wk appt will do cervix check...how will it be done har?? sound scary like tat...mommies can advise...

Lilbluey,

For me no choice, I have to depend on CL cos hb can't take so much leave to help me out. Everyday he come back fr work look so tired n he still have to bath her girl n play with her. Wow.... Ur hb cook for u, so gd

Just finish my massage. Wow when she massage my tummy I can hear water sound inside leh n also have wind lor. Tomolo the ML will push my womb for me. Now aft massage feel so shiok

Xin,

No worries, am sure u will be a gd mother [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Meanwhile, just rest and relax! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ZuEn, Tiffy

We dun like to hv a stranger at home, so prefer to do things ourselves [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Of cos for more complex cooking, then my mum will come in the morning to help out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It's actually my hb first time cooking however, I'm proud that he managed to pull it off and they taste as good! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zebra,

It's normal to lose some weight twds the end stage of the pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LilBluey ...

Can be done just that alot of hard work is required for BF. I always say that once the milk supply is established ... things are MUCH MUCH easier.

Fifi ...

Yap agree that best to get the latching right before you discharge from the hospital. Cos for my #1 ... I didnt know what to do and only could latch on when the nurse comes and once he unlatch and cry ... I only can sit there and stare at him hahahaha

Luckily on the last day ... the LC came and she showed me the correct method - really need to push the nipple into their mouth with force!! and made me 'perform' a few times + I finally felt wat it was like to get a correct latch then I was discharged.

So dun leave the hospital without learning the correct method cos that would save both baby and yourself alot of heartache!!

Elle

Haha..it looks like the baby is sleeping horizontally lor..but only my assumption!is like her head one one side and the bottom on the other side..LOLi the middle seems to be like her body!...???????me too very curios..then the tummy looks squarish!LOL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You get that too??think Irish too had that moment!

Starry

No la,all of you also will be super momma..in fact it already started form the time we conceived!just that ive got 2 !!LOL...Etelle and melissa got 3 le....and Etelle is a SAHM!!THat one must salute her!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My intention is to settle Meghan's sleeping pattern first!ME and Lovey dovey time with HB must wait!hahaa....HB is supporting me on this!We had lots of laughter lately at night after Meghan and Jade is asleep,Short but well better than nothing![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I don't see myself leaving Meghan at anyone's care for time being ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Having said that,i will still find time with HB to fine dine at home!!Is the Quality time im looking into...so...movies,pak toh can wait![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Our main concern is to make sure the kiddos are well!Leaving them with the grandparents will be the last thing in my mind!!hahaha....Jus tlike leaving Jade with my MIL while im in the hospital!MIss her terribly and she was all messy when i saw her![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Told Hb i will be out the day b4 the full month party to groom myself la..he said he wanna follow..see how la..hahha..cos the CL still around then and have relatives nightstopping at our house...maybe will catch sometime together[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Your KTV session sounds good huh!I m very lousy...only knows oldies!wahahhaha...i grown up listening to BEE GEES!DON"T LAUGH OK!!hahha..My PArents idol le....so,Singing can be a challenged lor..but always enjoy listening to others singing esp chinese songs....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Last time when i went KTV at Taipei,My friends think im a DINOSAUR!!I asked,who is FIR,SHE, err...some taiwanese singers.my gf's gave me DUH look...i slowly find out la...LOLHOW THE HELL i know rite??????LOL

LILBLuey

HOw's the lil princess????How are you doing after your Opt??getting better?

Zuen!

Haha...back in the waiting game huh?Think the more you want him to come out the more he dun wan eh......[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Never mind la..let him tell you when...

Enjoy your moment with your DD first and get her prepare?

latley been buying stuffs from online for Jade!Then Put her name and registered post!SIgh..waste money!But it works!!!She happily receving parcels from postman at home and opening of presents daily!All the activities books....LOL!!

Tigger

Yes!BM wont kicks in till days later....first few days is colostrum,then there's another stage of milk producing (can't rememeber) and then the mature milk!FOr mature milk depends on individual!NOt many will come within that week.....last time when i had JAde,it only kicks in after 2 weeks...but this time it came rather early....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Slowly,latch your bb more often and don't be stress...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Im sure everyone of here can do it!

Im overwhelmed with the supports that each of us are getting here esp regarding of BFG!BRAVO mommies!

Seabreeze,

Indeed BF is reali a lot of hard work!! I will try give it my best shot..hb says dun over-stressed myself abt it, it's not the end of the world if I dun have suffice BM for baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess Dia,

Lil Princess is doing ok, drink, sleep, poo & pee haha ;p~ absolutely detest wearing mittens and always try all means and ways to remove them -_-""

Thxs for asking, me hope to get back my strength soon so I can be more mobile abit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My threshold for pain v v low, so it's a challenge for me!!

My boy refused to look much at his baby sis, think during my 'staycation' he refused to sleep at home ytd and went home to zz with his gramps, left me so sad and heartbroken :'( despite me spending time with him when I got home straight frm the hospital...

Haiz...haiz...gek sim ah...

LilBluey ...

Dun be sad cos your boy will always come back to you one! Maybe he just need some time to get used to the fact that he is now a gor gor and that he has a mei mei.

I am oso not sure how would my #2's reaction be when he sees #3 and #2 still too young to understand anything *sigh*

Princess Dia ...

I always 'throw' the kids to my mum when I need to spend some time with my hubby hahaha but only for weekdays cos my mum only 'work' 5-day week hahaha so we need to take leave type.

Metta

Thanks for yr well wishes.

Princess D

One more important topic - new born sleeping pattern! I made BIG mistake for my # 1, regretted not training him earlier so now I suffer as he still sleep in my room & wake up 1-2 times every night for milk!

When is a good time to let bb sleep in separate room & drop night feed?

Seabreeze,

I was so emo last night when my father came to fetch my mum back and all he wanted to do he run to his grandpa -_-"" and refused to come down bleah...*sighs*

Like you, when I need 'couple time' with hb, we always take leave during wkdays to go for a movie/ktv + meal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hahaha..

Tigger,

For me I've alrd started to let bb sleep in seperate room.

For my boy, I've trained him since he's born and by 1.5 mths he was sleeping thru the night alrd [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lilbluey,

i wish i can have couple time but it's always my hubby who keeps thinking and talking about the kids. always trying to cut short so that he can spend more times with the kids! haizz..

tigger,

if you said so, then the time is now lor.

fifi,

wow looks like you really learn your experience from #1 hard hor. i think i have no major latching problem with #1. when it got sore (first timer mah) i went to buy that avent mipple shield but found out i was clumsy with it so i latched her with my lesser pain boobs and went back to full latching once the other nipple is ok again. agree that one should get in touch with LC as soon as you find latching problematic. don't wait or it'll get frustrating for you and baby. glad you're around to share your experience for first time mommies.

metta,

lol your c-sect date looks like those binary numbers hor! so stylo. maybe your baby will be good at computers soon. who knows!

bblibran,

welcome. talk about cold drinks. i break the rule of confinement sometimes by taking cold milk. i mean fresh milk how can it not be cold. but i only dare to take it b'os i am feeling warm and i keep taking heaty food. i took a glass, felt ok and continue to take it at times. not everyday. it depends on your body immunity and if you're feeling hot all the time. if you're feeling chilly or cold, avoid cold drinks at all cost.

starry,

enjoy your upcoming ML! rest and rest!! or if you want an easy labor with no epidural, do all the manual house works like mad! lol...

rachocho,

actually a binder is good for getting your tummy in shape as well as back support. so how can it be painful for your back? it is supposed to help you with your posture as well. as pregnancy caused your body to curve more and put pressure to your back. maybe you bind it to hard? and you're not supposed to move much anyway. rest during confinement.

groovy,

so glad you managed to get the right advice from a friend. my boy is also fussy and would you believe me, he feeds every half and hour at night from 8pm onwards till 12midnight? sleeps for 3 hours and continue to feed every hour?? if i hadn't been an experienced mom, i would've gone crazy and think that i don't have enough milk. but this is nature's way of letting baby tell our body that he's needing more milk in future. fussing is normal. also, it could be that he has lots of wind, try to burp him too.

diveera,

when engorged, pumping is useless. the key is to keep latching the baby till your breast feel soft. their suction power is the most effective remedy. but if you get a sleepy baby, just endure ok kekee. fifi gave some useful pointers. good luck with your breastfeeding.

baby Huzz is now 1 month old and that also means that i have been breastfeeding and losing sleep for 1 month too! yay!!! (but my lochia is not cleared yet though *sigh*)

going for gynae's appt next week for checking and pap smear and baby's Hep B jab in polyclinic as well. FYI, Hep B jabs is Medisave-claimable hor, so that's why i opt for 5-in-1 jabs paid by baby bonus and Hep B separately paid by Medisave. most savings this way.

Gals

is it normal to feel pain when latch?

My bb latch very well according to the LC in hospital n the lips r at the aerora n sucking well... But I felt pain n was told pain is norm... Cos the nipples will take time to get used to sucking... I realise after bb unlatch my nipples will have a line across it like folded line... That's wrong right??

Somehow it's the tongue so how to undo the mistake?

and...

Axxxxxx Cxxx????sorry ladies,i dunno if you guys are from the forum onot so i jsut add first,,if its not,i l delete cos no indication..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]thanks!

Zoe Tay popped too! She should be delivering at TMC right? Staying in the best suite there....grats!

Irish, i've added you to FB! BB Lujayne so cute...so chubby lo!!

Groovy, finally see your posts! Hope you are coping well. add me to your fb! [email protected]

Hee..you are the only 1 i met in real person!

Re burping:

fifi/ann: Thank you for sharing the burping tip! It WORKS!!!!!!! =) So happy lor....

Hi Melissa, i m constantly feeling hot! my sweat is rolling down despite sitting under the fan. can't imagine what will happen during my confinement. haha..

gd day to all mummies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

it's been a while since i last login to the forum. so many have popped and much earlier than edd. mine too. too bz latching on bb and will try to catch up with the thread later.

experience mummies,

like to know how long should i latch on my baby? he seems to be suckling and swallowing well but after removing him from the breast, will show sign of hunger and cry.

been latching him abt 1hr at one breast each feeding and worst last night when he practically latches on the whole night.

Re Jaundice:

How to tell if bb has got jaundice? My mum keep saying my bb is slightly yellowish. I'm so scare lor. She everyday also bring her sunbathing but this few days no sun! Her comment is raising my concern on whether he has got jaundice a not. He's about 3 wks big le....Wat should i do?

Re drinking water:

Can newborn drink water? My mum keep wanna give him water but i heard don't give newborn water cos BM is also water for them le... Any one can advice?

bblin ...

If your PD never say anything when you go back for review should be fine.

TBM BB no need to drink water unless on FM.

LilBluey ...

It was the same for me too ... when my #2 was admitted to hospital due to flu @ 2 week old. My #1 refuse to come to the phone and talk to me when I call back home! Super sad and cried in the hospital lor!!

But now ok liao ... the 2 boys love each other alot hahaha