(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

I read in the book cannot give egg white until 1 years old..

Egg yolk is OK though.

Also cannot give nuts, because afraid of choking. hehe..

My Josie has 2 teeth, can crawl, sit unsupported, sit herself, stand herself.

Same as Iris, she'll crawl towards us now, and try to stand, and pull up her hands (becoz she wants me to carry her).. She'll keep climbing us until we carry her. hahaha..

She crawl here and there, and if she saw something she can climb, she'll stand up there, and touch anything that's being put over there..

She's always sucking her left thumb to sleep. I think always left hand becoz we used to carry her with her head on our left side, so her "free" hand is her left hand..

She can't sleep by herself yet, still need us to carry/ hug her to sleep. Tried to train her but she will keep climbing her cot and stand there instead of sleeping.. Or play her musical mobile, or the baby monitor that I put in her cot etc. huhu..

She can drink from straw now. So cute, like adult. hehehe..

princess d,

she rejects those things now? maybe wanna be adventurous and try new stuffs lah! one day she's gonna point at your nespresso machine and go "mum-mum! mum-mum!" wahahhaa!! :p

starry> ya lor! Immediately after I go Taka Fair, I went this forum and saw u're talking about seeing Ameda there. Hahaha.. And I said never see them. LOL..

Breastpump shouldn't buy 2nd hand I heard. Because afraid of contamination. HEhehe.. The Avent pump, it's spoiled becoz milk keeps getting inside the pump!! It's not locked like Ameda..

The good thing about Avent pump is only becoz the bottle is clear, so we can see if still got milk comes out or not..

Now using Ameda can't see, only can hear the ticking sounds, meaning still got milk comes out.. Sometimes I lazy I'll stop pumping after certain timing instead of looking whether milk still comes out. That's why my supply decreases too after using Ameda.. Huhu..

iris, i m also small-built by nature but i m now still bui bui lo!!! still cannot shed off those UNNECESSARY weights. sigh!!

princessd.. finally i 'see' u le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you have been missed. enjoy your getaway trip too. thx for the egg tips. i will try it out on Nat soon. Her Ah Yi bought her some biscuits but have egg contents in it. being the kia-su mummy, i hv to politely reject the offer. =P at least now i know its safe to give just avoid egg white.

starry, good idea to start bit by bit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i m using the normal soya sauce for her porridge lei. just tiny wee bits. else very plain since she doesnt fancy marmite lei. jadelyn knows her stuffs ya ;) mai play play hor hahahahaha! wld really love to see her in real person. she is so cute!

Hi Late Sep/Oct Moms,

I am not new to this thread, have posted a few times but thought it would be nice to post to properly intro myself.

I am a FTWM living in the northern part of Singapore. My girl is called Melody and her birthday is 3 Oct born at GEH by Dr Chan K H. My daughter's current pd is Dr Steven Ng at GEH and Dr Heng at Toa Payoh Children's clinic.

I have benefitted a lot from all your advices and discussions so far (Thank you!) and hope to benefit further and also contribute my relatively "inexperienceness" in parenting. I have taken quite long to participate as I had have a high risk pregnancy after a few miscarriages. Athough Mel is my only child now, I have decided to close shop as am basically a very lazy person who needs plenty of sleep a day..heeee..

I do not have a facebook account (just plain lazy to maintain one) so would communicate with the moms here for now.

Princess D,

Have really benefitted a lot from your sharing. Thanks! I remember reading some time ago that you give Meghan beef broth. May I ask u how u cook it (which part of the beef, how long, do u add any spices such as garlic to mask the smell?) Many thanks again!

Hi hi babygalore

YOu are most welcome[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Usually i usually bought beef shank..it ha lesser fats but mostly lean too...i need the fats still!

I don't add garlic...

Just add a teaspoon of pearled barley,carrots,potatoes and wolberries/red dates w/o it seeds...

And once boiled,i will used the soup as base for Meghan's porridge and feed her the remaining soup too![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If you boiled it on a stove t will definitely have the beefy smells...but if u double boiled it using a slow cooker or those meant for soup/steamer..it wont have any smells...the wolfberries should be able to rid those taste n smell[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

booboobear

my girl is 8 months old, she is also a sep baby her birthday is 28th Sep, same birthday as princess d and groovy's bb, we delivered on the same day! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

u may wanna pm me your email address to add u in [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy

i remember i saw Ameda at taka fair too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bread

So many mommies have started giving bread to bb, can give bread if my girl still has no teeth yet?

Hi Iris!!!

Long long time no postings in here lor. Fwahhh!! I miss you gals too! Have been busy with active Athena and no time to posts la. Silently reading the thread while she plays alone in the playmat. Heehee.. How's everyone? I still can't believe that time flies so fast! It was just like yesterday that we are still chatting before giving birth to our princes and princesses. Blowing each other the baby dust!! Kinda feeling nostalgic la.

Aiyo.. I love your girl! Soo chubby and cute!!! Very fair skin too! I still remember your recommendations to drink the green lemons. Heehee. Conclusions : effective for me!

Yes yes, i agreed that we have very friendly mummies who are willing to share their experiences with us! Greats thanks for their tips too!!

Bread

I also would like to know,

How to give bread to baby? :$.. must mashed it with water/milk?

Want to try on Josie since she likes her biscuits so much. She might like bread too. hehehe.

If we give her Heinz biscuits, her mouth is always opened when the spoon is near.

If give her porridge sometimes 3 spoons already don't want..

princess d

enjoy your getaway! its time to pamper yourself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bblibran

pls la! u r not pui at all lo! my "swim float" is still there and the loose skin still hanging around not like before le.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

princess d

What is pearl barley?

Starry

if porridge cook with pork broth soup how come still need to put soya sauce huh? the sweetness in pork broth soup is good enough right? i dont mind to try will go get one, the brand of the soya sauce is it 'organic'?

Princess D,

Ur beef broth sounds very yummy even on the computer screen..hmmm..indeed, all these natural ingredients with their inherent sweetness should rid that beefy smell. I am hesitant to use garlic as its afterall to be eaten by a bb. k, I shall go ahead and cook it using ur recipe. Arigato lots [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]!

One more qus, do u think its fine too freeze the broth and use it within one week? I am thinking of using babycubes to freeze it.

Iris,

Bread: My mom feed my gal bites of bread impromptu. She dips it in some of her FM to soften it. My girl has no teeth yet and she still likes it somehow.

Thanks for the tip Iris but I dun like sour foods at all for this pregnancy. The most is green apple. Sour plums, preserved fruit all make me wana puke[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starry: my mil prob is still there and I decided not to get a maid coz we simply hv no space in their 3-Rm hdb flat... I'm intending to send Logan to childcare at 18 months. Now he is so attached to my mil that he cries for her to carry him. Me n hb he doesnt bother abt. Somemore she has cultivated so many bad habits for him that I just gave up talking to her abt it. He has to b carried ard to b fed n totally can't b patted to slp anymore. Needs to b carried in sarong sling to slp. Haiz... When I tell her she shdnt do that she starts getting defensive. Now I close both eyes coz my hb also too scared to talk to her coz always end up shouting at each other...

Mommies

We have a gathering tomorrow at Goodwood Park Hotel from 12 to 2pm, u may wanna join us if u can, all are welcome! meeting place is at the coffee lounge. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bread,

I give as it is, he will crumple it n stuff into his mouth. Not all will b bitten. My son will chew though it is not with his front teeth, but he will mk chewing action.

It will melt in mouth so shld b ok, just standby water to give incase they choke a bit.

feeling nostagic? hehehe.. plan for #2 again lor..=P well,friends have been asking me this question over & over again. but with one bb is already so tiring liao. eh, maybe later stage ba.

Iris, my 'swim float' also still there! can keep me floating hor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so sad! but from your pixs u look perfectly slim wor. especially after 2 kids lei. me one only already bui bui liao. cant imagine with #2.

Bblibran, nostagic on how time flies! it's like soooo fast! keke.. Putting #2 on hold la. I need some rest also, back aching la.

iris,

thanks for the invite but i won't be able to make it due to work. you ladies enjoy yourselves! about the porridge, we didn't add so much such that there is colour and taste, more for the probiotics present in the soy sauce. 'cos it's pretty mild. i cannot detect it once stirred with porridge. cannot remember the brand leh, later i go home take a pic and send you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stella,

ok, glad that at least you have a plan and not neither here nor there like few weeks ago. really have to close one (or both!) eyes with pils... same case for my mil and fil.. always give in to jadelyn but i cannot say much since they hardly get to see her and i always tell myself nvm, it's only for a short period of time. think when you send logan to childcare, he will be 'forced' to kick the old habits. cannot expect to be carried to sleep by then! too heavy lah. :p

Hi babygalore,

Thanks for the introduction! On that note, I think I should introduce myself properly too.

I'm a sahm in the east with a baby girl, Alyssa, born 14 Sep. I don't have a helper, maybe will consider getting one when #2 comes along. It gets kinda lonely when hubby's away on biz trips...

Iris,

PMed you. I haven't given my girl bread as well. Also noy sure what type of bread is suitable...

Porridge

I salute the mummies who cook broth for porridge, it's a lot of work! I just cook the porridge plain, then throw in steamed and pureed meat+veg.

teeong, i share the same sentiments as you. times really flies!! when i look at my gal, wow, so fast she is so grown up already. i love looking at her newborn pics. really must cherish every single moment.

Teoong!

Welcome back! Thanks! aiyo i think she is overweight leI my arms are aching from carrying her, my friends all commented that how petite mommy can produce a pui pui baby! i have no clue either -.-" :S

Yes yes we had so much fun chit chatting and daily report on how our tummy progress! Im feeling nostalgic too now while typing this but no no for #3!

Really! Glad that green lemon works for u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bblibran

mine is direct flight no stop over u see..continue to get pregnant within 2yrs and just need to lose weight at one go wahahaha!

booboobear,

broths are easy. i make the simple type - plain pork broth. just boil lean meat in water can le. actually smells very good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] provides great taste and iron too.

When give to bb egg yolk, is it you all cook hard boil egg type then once cook mix together with the porridge?

Hi starry,

You mean there's no need to put in all sorts of veg in the stock as well? I always thought the stock must have lots of stuff haha...

stella> Yup2 better close one eye on your MIL. Anyway sure she won't do any harm to Logan. Still better than any nanny or maid. Hehe..

I also already give up talking on things that I don't agree to my maid because she never listens anyway. *but sometimes I still say haha.. But I also asked hubby to help me talk to her since she never listen to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Looking forward for my mom to come and get a new maid. Hopefully we can get a better one.

Because it's my mom that say this maid cannot be trusted at the first place, that's why I'm being strict to her. My mom is the one supervising her for 2.5 weeks when my maternity leave end, and my mum is the person who can read other person that's why she said this maid is no good, can't be trusted. At first I thought my mom is just too worried, but in the end all the things that she said is the truth. Sigh.. My mom said this maid is a "ready maid" to take care of Josie, since she can learn fast. But she's too smart, need to be very careful on her.

This maid of mine actually is very good as long as have someone to supervise at home leh. She won't dare to do anything funny if someone is at home. When my hubby is at home, nothing happens. My hubby even said our maid loves Josie so much, take care of her well etc.. But things just come up when my hubby goes back to office.

My hubby can't make a good opinion on maid leh. Better go with mom to interview. Hubby also dunno what question to ask. My hubby is the blur type. Everytime go gynea or PD or GP also very blur dunno what to ask. I'm the one need to keep in my memory what to ask. Sometimes we brainstorm already what to ask but then in the end I'm the one asking most of the questions, and we forgot some questions. sigh..

Iris, pui pui baby is cute! everyone loves!! I love too! Tht's the power of BM!!

Sorry can't join you girls for the gathering tomorrow, need to work. But pls posts pics ok, I wana see!

Hihi mummies and Ian!

Very long time did not post! Welcome all new mummies!

Princess

Your 2 girls are so lovely! Love looking at their pictures! Thanks for the advice on the beef soup I will try it soon with Celeste!

Starry

Hope u are feeling terrific and having a good time with Jadelyn! I am sure Jazeree will be as lovely as Jadelyn!

Bread

sometimes I will feed Celeste with some pieces of bread. She likes it. Basically she is interested in anything that we are eating.

Just started feeding her the baby puffs and she cant seem to get enough of those! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also fed her white rice before. She likes too.

Now she not so much into her cereal. I got to mix in avacado or mango then she will eat that.

Groovy

How's your maid?

booboobear,

yeah, no need all sorts of veg. of course can add carrots, wolfberries if you like, but all these i will add into the porridge to cook. you can also grate fresh corn and squeeze juice out to add into the porridge. very very good flavor.

This maid I think wrong step already. When my hubby is at home, if she make mistake like lying down on Josie's playmat, hubby never scold her!!

That's why I think she thought hubby is ok with it! Sigh..

My hubby is very OK person type, doesn't like to scold anyone or get mad over anything..

My MIL also, when she's at home, just like hubby, becoz they are the same type. Got once my MIL is at home and my maid is wearing very short pants!! I told her not too when I go home and saw her, but I was wondering how come my MIL never told her!

I already told her never wear any pants that's too short when working with me. But then after 1 month working, she's wearing that pants. Just when my MIL is around.

Nowadays she never wear that anymore though.

Hello all~~

Been ages since I last came in.

Been so busy with the kids revisions and exams plus babygirl's down with runny nose and teething for the top tooth last week.

Booboobear, I'm a SAHM in the east (Bedok) too! Which part of the east are you in? My hubby's often away for work, coming back for 1-2 weeks every few months, but luckily I have the 2 elder kids to occupy me. So I can understand the "loneliness". Hehe~~

Iris,

I almost forgotten about the gathering! Been too busy these few days. Luckily I came into the forum in time to read your reminder. I've tried accepting the event in FB previously, but dunno why it just refuses to cooperate with me. Hope to see your chubby girl tmr!

Btw, a big HELLO to all the new mummies!

Accepted a few into my fb, but I dunno who's who yet.... paiseh~

Iris and booboobear,

Ya my boy is somewhat hypotonic, according to e neuro pd, but otherwise he is very active and happy most of the time so I shd focus more on dat. And silence e worry wart in me! Hopefully no more *episodes* from him to scare his mummy....

Bread, I oso just give small pieces, and biscuit too, baby likes it!!

welcome babygalore!

Im also a FTWM living in the north! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] there are few northern mommies here too.

booboobear

I cant add u to the group from iphone will do that tonite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] U can always find us here if u r feeling lonely! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Talk about tummy..starry and stella upload your big tum tum photo here, let us continue feeling nostalgic! ;p

Actually Josie so far is OK with this maid. This maid is good in taking care of kids since she has 3 kids that she took care by herself back then..

But then as I said, she can't be trusted. Told her lots and lots of times don't put salt, in the end still put salt.

Told her lots and lots of times not to lie down on Josie's playmat, and I bust her 3-5 times already when I'm in the office. Sigh..

Maybe Josie is OK until now because God still keep her safe and sound. Thank God for that..

Even when she fall down from a table miraculously she's fine, no bump at all. Really Thank God for that. My hubby goes to church for daily mass and pray everyday. Hehehe..

hi iris,

niko is mostly good n nv biteme, only when i fotce feed then he will bite. Ouch... hehe

rnjoy ur gatherin tmr. Thanks for the invite but i cld mk it tmr.

Yes Babydes! yes u!

hehehe u are at the back of my mind but i cant recall your nick leh i wanted to type LCC calling for u liao! hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I love to look at Celeste! she has such lovely eyes![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

you are welcome babaygalore!

I wont freeze it if there's wolfberries cos reboiled soup wolfberries somehow taste funny[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thank you babydes

your baby too!!Super duper cute!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

groovy,

God loves Josie, that's why. ask your hubby to pray for the maid daily too, that she will start obeying/listening to you?

iris,

haha! sure.. i have one pic which i uploaded on FB a couple of weeks back..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5578075.jpg]

Booboobear,

Hi hi! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yes, find that is a nice and cozy place to chat and the advice I get here is better than any childcare books.

Broth: I thought of cooking it once a week and freezing it to be consumed within that week to be more efficient. But of course its still freshly cooked ones that is the best!

Jamie,

Your understanding of how to prepare egg yolk porridge is correct, the same as I saw in one bb recipe before. Also, as an alternative, u can add in mashed soft tofu to make into tofu egg yolk porridge. I have not tried myself before but aiming to try. To add flavour, I want to add Princess D's beef broth or you can also consider Starry's pork broth. Can imagine that porridge will have protein+omega+iron. Yum yum!

Princess D,

Want to say that I am simply glad about just learning fr u that cooking over stove results in meaty smell vs cooking double boiled style. I still thought I might cook the beef broth over the stove! Luckily never or my girl will sure reject the porridge. Thanks for sharing that useful and important knowledge. Are u a cantonese?

Irish,

Thanks for the welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yes, if got chance in future, I look forward to meeting u gals + babies.

Princess D,

Ah..I see. K, since cannot freeze, I shall be diligent and get those circuit breaker plug to cook when sleeping to save time..Thanks for the pointer!

Bread

Thanks mommies for the tips. I will try it over the weekend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dovey55

Luckily i sent a reminder again! U must come and bring along your little babe, I wanna see and hug her! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] see u soon ~~

Groovy: Oh, ignore my post yesterday, i thought you were so pissed with your maid but now from what i see, you are actually quite pleased that she can take care of josie, then all the more you should just KEEP HER! God love josie, god will surely bless your family, get your hubby to pray more, god will surely look after josie for you.

Hihi iris, thanks for the warm welcome , muacks!

Thanks ladies for your well wishes on Eldrick's speedy recovery. Much appreciated [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Welcome back everyone. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

i have never seen baby pasta before, don't know how it look like[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

irish,

Jaren also bogey but still he loves eating bread.

re:egg yolk

hahaha Jaren also love egg yolk pork porridge[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Iris, can pm me your number for tomolo? Thanks. Do indicate in ur title for ur email, dunno why always go into the junk.

Hello all, active thread today!

Want to join tmr gathering but Lucas is recovering from cold and I see some of you are bringing babies, so better be more civic minded. Enjoy your gathering.

Starry, nice bump! How far along are you now?

Princess, your gals are super cute. Can just imagine Meghan whizzing around on the walker chasing Jade. I'm quite tempted to get one so that he doesn't scream when I go out of his sight but I worry for my furniture! Lol

Stella, gambate! Hang in there. MS not fun but just think positive. Healthy baby growth...

Re talking

Think he can say mama but usually only hear it as part of his cries for help/attention.

Tiffy

You can get bellamy's brand baby pasta..its at most supermarkets,however organics shops do carry other brands too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]^^