(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Morning Everyone.

Congrats Jac. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy, I think it is better to use Fresh EBM first because that is Fresh Milk is better than Frozen. Only when you dun have Fresh EBM than use Frozen? That is my thots la.

Good Morning Mummies ;o)

I've many tins of Mamil Gold Stage 2 (400g) to exchange for Similac Stage 2. Pls PM me if keen, I'm open to sell the Mamil Gold as well.

Preferred collection points : Orchard MRT during lunch hours, Jurong West & Bukit Batok

apple> The problem is if I keep using the frozen milk, very soon it will be finished (maybe next month or July).. Then I won't have anymore extra frozen milk..

If no more milk, I'll need to use formula milk or add more solid food.

That's why I'm wondering, is it better to still make her drinking so much milk, or try to change into more solid food. Huhu.. I'm confused..

Right now she's on 3 times solid food, breakfast cereal, lunch porridge with chicken, dinner fruits.

Wiselyn,

Tried but no use leh. In e initial stage, my bm sprayed all over him when I latch him but no apparent effect on his eczema. Hoho.

Groovy,

For a while, Isaac drinks more than ss n I tapped on fbm. Sometimes, I let him drink fbm too to clear stock. My ss of fbm is depleting and no milk to freeze cos he finished the daily ebm. But recently, his appetite for milk seems to go down maybe bcos of us introducing lunch. Anyway, I tell myself that if bm not enuff, then just top up with fm. No need to pull hair over it. We already feed them solely bm for 7 to 8 mths Liao.

cherry,

thanks! i'm really happy about having another little girl. wondering if she will be as feisty as jadelyn. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hopefully milder. haha!

updates: 17w2d, 80% confirmed baby girl

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5503270.jpg]

<adv>POPULAR FAIR Mbrs Closed Door Sale@S'pore EXPO Hall 6A, 26 May frm 10am! Max 3 guests. Get $25 POPULAR vouchers w $200 nett spend, T&C apply. Unsub,reply X ------ SMS sent to me by popular bookstore!

Claudia

My helper is from indo. I prefer indo as i dun feel comfortable giving off day to phlipino maid cos more or less they will get influence from their other peers. I just PM u the agent contact, wish u luck hopefully this will be your last search! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen,

Got it. will send to u soon. Btw i have added u to my FB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy

Milk is still the main source of food for bb while introducing solid. My girl is having 4 milk feeds inbetween with cereal for breakfast, porridge for lunch and dinner, she is drinking 180ml per feed so average abt 720ml per day.

mommies, just wanna share this article.. interesting read. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] should bring a smile to every mom here.

Parenting the Stone Age Way

Imagine what parenting must have been like during the dawn of civilization.

Women gave birth in their caves, surrounded by family members instead of nurses and doctors.

Their babies drank breast milk. There was no such thing as formula milk then. Nor were there milk bottles or pacifiers.

Mothers put their babies to sleep beside them. They didn't have prettily decorated nurseries.

During the day, mothers strapped their babies to their chest likely with a piece of pelt and held them close as they went about milking the goats or cooking dinner.

They cared for their babies without parenting manuals to tell them what to do. They followed their instincts, tried their best to read their baby's cues and respond to them accordingly.

Since Day 1, human beings have been programmed to care for their babies in this manner. That is until some time 100 years ago.

Something strange happened then, especially in the West.

Children who were breastfed for more than two years were deemed needy. Mothers who brought their babes into the family bed were chastised for spoiling them. Babies were expected to spend hours in baby cots and strollers instead of in their mother's arms.

I believe that was a tragic time for human babies, when parents abandoned their instincts and succumbed instead to unreasonable societal expectations.

Until today, many parents try to program their babies to function in a certain way: drink milk once every four hours, sleep alone in a baby cot and self-soothe.

It is done because such a regimen is convenient for the parents. But each baby has its own rhythm and cycle.

Diann Bustamante, director of Parentlink, which conducts natural childbirth classes and provides other related services, observed: 'Some parents are devastated when their babies do not fit into a prescribed cycle. They think there is something wrong with the baby.'

But for some years now, parents are discovering the wisdom of stone-age parenting.

Some call this trend natural parenting while others call it attachment parenting. But it is usually one and the same.

It basically recognizes that human beings are meant to rear their young in pretty much the same way as child-carrying animals such as kangaroos, koalas and most monkey species.

The young of these animals stay close to their mothers because they need continuous feeding and attention.

They cry to remind their mothers when they need to be fed, to be carried or to be cuddled to sleep. Even when they are bigger, they stay close to their mothers for some time before becoming truly independent.

I first learned about natural parenting when I was pregnant, and to me, it sounded just like the right thing to do.

When my baby was born, everything just fell into place. She was a high-needs baby and wanted to nurse all the time. So I kept her close to me in a sling during the day. At night, she slept beside me on my bed. When she cried, I held her close.

Some people find it strange that I sleep with my baby and carry her all the time. They say I am spoiling my baby.

But after you've had a baby inside you for nine months, it doesn't seem right to put her anywhere else but in your arms.

Of course, there is a lot more to natural parenting than breastfeeding, co-sleeping and babywearing.

Some parents, recognizing that disposable nappies contain chemicals, choose the gentler option of cloth nappies for their children.

Others prefer their babies to go nappy-less. Instead, they read their babies' cues and take them to the potty instead.

Some parents prefer to eat organic food only and spend as much time in the great outdoors as possible. Then there are those who go on to homeschool their children because they feel it is a natural progression.

But natural parenting is not a prescribed package, explained Rita Kusumadi, the owner of local cloth nappy boutique Bumwear.

'While parents who use cloth nappies tend to be the ones who also practice extended breastfeeding and babywearing, you don't have to do everything. You can pick and choose to suit your lifestyle and needs,' she said.

Two weeks ago, I mentioned in a column here that I was teaching my six-month-old how to signal when she needs the potty. For the next week or so after it was published, I was inundated by e-mail messages from excited mothers who asked me about this method of toilet training.

I explained that this practice, called Elimination Communication, is not about toilet training the baby. It is about training us, the adults, to read the baby's signals to use the potty and responding to them.

To me, that is how parenting should be, and not just when my baby needs the potty. It's about meeting your baby's needs and responding to them in the best way possible.

A baby, who knows that she is loved and her needs are met and responded to, will naturally be an easier child to handle.

Here in Singapore, I must admit that practicing natural parenting has its challenges.

I find there to be a lot of societal pressure to have the baby kept away from its parents, especially by the older generation.

When I carry my child often, I am told I am spoiling her. When I breastfeed her, I am told to wean her off soon or if not she will demand to be breastfed until age 12. When I co-sleep, I am told my baby will grow up needy and dependent. When I teach my baby sign language, I am told I will impede her speech development.

After a while, I got tired of explaining why I do things the way I do. Plus, I realized that explaining the concept of natural parenting often made me sound like a wannabe hippie.

So my answer to pragmatic Singaporeans is: I breastfeed because formula milk is expensive. I put my baby to sleep beside me because I am too lazy to walk out of bed at night to feed her. I put her on the potty from such a young age because my baby develops rashes when she wears disposable nappies. And I teach her sign language because it's fun.

I wish I could tell them I simply parent by my instincts, the way animals care for their young and the way humans cared for their young when there were no parenting manuals, strollers or milk bottles.

hiya mummies!

Congrats starry!!

Jadelyn gets a baby sister!! =)

what diaper? btw maeve developed nappy rash while using drypantz.. was a little disappointed cos the wee wee dry was so good for her.

Shin,

happy u feeling better now =)

Congratulations Starry! It'll be so sweet to see the two little sisters playing with each other. Little Jadelyn will be a good jie jie!

Groovy, think you should let JOsie take the lead when it comes to drinking milk. It's good that she's drinking so much as milk shld still be their main source of nutrition till one year old. I am so envious, have to try and try so hard just for Ethan to take 500 ml each day(including mixing into cereal), it's very stressful especially when he screams and refuses to drink milk.

thanks, gsm! what what diaper? maybe you gotta switch back to the wee wee dry? jadelyn is on mamy poko pull-ups and pampers active now. so far so good. just have to make sure we change her once she poos. i realize the poo can really affect her bum area making it red.

Good afternoon mommies and Ian

Starry

that's a good write up !![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen,starry

Hahah....i oso dunno why?JAde tried to entertained her with lots of toys but she still not very keen and often attack the SCV remote!!=.='''

Good la,i m not complaining .....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emma, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

better to attack remote control than some other toys that have lights and sounds and sooo expensive!

Princess,

Yes, the SCV remote controller. Isaac favours that one over the TV remote controller too. Once within control, he will attempt to lick, suck and bite it. The TV remote controller is only good for sweeping off the table and over and over again when mummy picks it up.

princessd,

hmm, i wanna make a fake remote control for maeve too, her saliva all over my remote!

starry

will try mamy poko pants!

groovy

it is about 800-900ml depending how much solids she take.

claudia,

i employed an indon maid 2 months ago, so far so good. she has no experience working in overseas, but has been a maid for 2 years in indon. handles chores very well and can take care of baby, one child of her own. i usually just need to teach/show her one time and she gets it. she cannot speak english well so i teach her slowly. i give her a book of english words/sentences with her dictionary so she will read up. what is your criteria when u get a maid?

gsm,

a note to add, mamy poko pants is softer than drypers drypants, but need to use more strength to tear open the sides. no complaints, i like it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy, paisei I dunno.

Jac, from that pic can see is boy or girl? Thanks for sharing the article, really a good read.

emma> All the while she drinks is dreamfeeding.. So need to put her to sleep before feed her.. That's why sometimes if she's in deep sleep, can't feed anymore, so not finished..

Thrown so many EBM already, because sometimes she drinks a lot, sometimes left a lot too..

Actually we still dream feed her at night & midnight that's why she drinks more.. 150 ml at 21.15, and 150 ml at midnight

Her current schedule is:

7.30 AM: cereal + 120 ml milk (usually she won't be able to finish the milk, maybe drink only 90)

11 AM: 160 ml (sometimes she can only finish 130 ml too)

1 PM: chicken porridge

2 PM: 120 ml

4.30 PM: 160 ml (sometimes finish only 120ml)

7 PM: fruits

9.15 PM: 150 ml

00.00 AM: 150 ml

But my maid usually put 150 ml inside her bottle even though I told her when she eat porridge and breakfast don't put so much milk :S. That's why wasted lots of EBM. Huhuhu..

For night time there are times where she can't finish 150 ml, only finish 100 ml each..

Strange thing is Josie can't get fat despite she drink quite a lot (all dream feeding). She's just too active :S..

Groovy ...

Why are you still dream feeding Josie? Its really no good for her in the long run, its a different story if she started drinking when she is awake and eventually drift off to zzz while drinking milk. Somehow to me you are just implementing a quick-fix solution and it just doesnt seem right now that they are so big.

Since she is already taking porridge, you may want to give her that for dinner too instead of just fruits.

Argh my aircon spoilt!!! Tis is one of those times where I miss working cos office got aircon!! Sigh aircon guy can only come Timor so tonight can die. Bb will suffer too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Groovy,

I'm using up my fbm too. Jus counted I only have 6 bags left. Think I use 1 fbm per day so just nice have enough to last till bb grace turns 8 mths. Maybe on her 8 mth I shld celebrate by introducing fm to her!! Haha so far she hasn't had fm so I hope she likes it. Pd told me to give her nan ha cos she gets edema easily

A bit sad that my bm days are coming to an end but been telling myself, already bf her for so long. More than my target of 6 mths. So I shld be happy la.

Oh I wanna ask, is that a preferred way of slowly introducing fm?? Cos I scare she reject la!

Oh and er how do you stop bm pdtn?? I alr cutting down to 3x per day. Shld I just continue to cut down and eventually stop? How

Suwaiwai:

Are u latching baby or already bottle feeding?

For me, I introduce FM and bottle feeding at the same time. I've been latching all the while.

Initially really difficult cos kayden refuse bottle. Furthermore it's unfamiliar FM.

But he has been drinking 1 feed of FM bottle feed since abt 2 mths back. He has gotten used to the bottle and FM.

Mb u can try introduce for 1 feed and then slowly increase?

I also nt sure hw to reduce BM leh. Mb slowly cut down feeding lor.

Groovy,

Like seabreeze said, i am not too keen on dreamfeeding as am worried that it will lead to feeding problems in the long run. The main concern for me is fluid intake as I can always find other ways to include proteins, calcium, iron, minerals through other solid foods, especially now he is going to be 7 months old, i can introduce tofu and maybe egg yolks in a few weeks time. However, if not enough fluids, constipation!! My boy does not like liquids. Porridge must cook till thick thick, then he will be very happy.

Actually if Josie is not hungry in the night and doesn't wake up to cry for milk you may not need to do the 9.15 and midnight feeds? She will then take more milk in the morning cos she will be very thirsty.

We'll try to use straw cup to feed her when she's 8 months old..

But if we don't dreamfeed, she won't cry for milk at all.. So we're very afraid if she's lacking of drinks..

Dunno why, she just doesn't want to drink milk.. Tried sippy cup also she won't drink..

But ya, 8 mths is old already :S.. Will try in the weekends to use the straw cup to feed her milk..

Groovy ...

You feed her according to the schedule and not wait for her to cry for milk. They only cry when they are really hungry but we feed when its about time for the feed.

If she is taking bottle during your dream feed sessions means she has no problem with bottle at all. The idea is to make sure she starts drinking when she is awake and not when she is in her la la land.

Hm.. We have tried, before dream feeding, every time we'll try to put bottle inside her mouth first.. But she almost always reject :S.. Only once in a while she wants, but she'll drink only 80 ml then don't want anymore..

But after a while if we put her to sleep, carry her until sleep, then she'll want to drink..

Same thing if she wakes up at night, she won't want to drink at all. But if she sleeps, then she'll want to drink :S..

Also, if we dream feed, she can't finish, then she wake up, she won't want to drink anymore, even though she only drinks 60 ml..

I'm just afraid if she lacks of fluid if we give up the dream feeding :S..

Groovy ...

How abt you just stop dreamfeeding her for 2 days? The reason why she is not drinking when she is awake is cos she dun feel thristy at all when she is awake aka well fed and well hydrated when sleeping.

Its a vicious cycle. Sorry if I seem to come down too hash and dun seem empathetic towards your situation cos I feel that its v bad feeding habit for your bb in the long run your method of dreamfeeding her is just making it worse esp they are now bigger and not to mention - smarter!

You might want to share this with your PD (note PD not GP) on her feeding habit and see if there are anyway of breaking this habit and start to train her to drink water/milk when she is awake.

emma> for your case, is he taking water well?

Josie loves water though, compares to milk.. If we put water inside sippy cup, then she'll drink quite a lot..

Can I know when should milk not be the main meal for them? Is it when they are 1 years old?

I went to PD already, when she has flu last time.. Mentioned the problem and he said try to use different bottle.. Which I think it's not solution because we've tried sippy cup but she still doesn't want.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

And he also said don't give up dream feeding at night.. Since she doesn't gain much weight..

Groovy, could it be the teat that you are using for the bottle?

Previously there was one period my boy was on milk strike. Most feeds were challenging. Sometimes he drinks sometimes he doesnt. Each feed is a struggle with him. We didnt know why and thought he hates milk cos with water he is fine.

Recently he sprouted his 1st tooth and when we were away for the weekend, he refused the bottle at all. My mum had to resort to using sippy cup b4 he would drink his milk. So my mum and sis reckon that maybe the teat was too hard and causing discomfort for his gums.

Now we switched to the latex teats from NUK and feeding has been such a breeze. At least we didnt have to struggle so much. Most of the time he finishes his milk n he drinks much faster too. Sometimes he even suck the latex teats refusing to let go even thou he has already finished his milk. LOL

Previously 150ml of milk feed took a long time. Now sometimes he can drink up to 210ml at one go in less than 10 mins.

Another reason could be the hole on the teat. If too small, they may find it frustrating to drink.

Groovy,

What Seabreeze said is right.u cannot dreamfeed in long run. N u shld feed according to schedule n not wait for her to almost fall asleep then feed her.

U mention u want to feed milk thru straw, I think u will waste even more milk cos for first few weeks they will sure to choke n leak.

Shin,

Glad to hear that u n hb are as close as ever despite small hicupps, maybe its a great way to help to understand each other and better the relationship going forward. If go chance, tell ur hb he is very lucky to have u to be willing to be SAHM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Starry,

Great article. Love it and makes me want to rethink about how to manage separation anxiety I am facing now. Congrats, I am more often a silent reader, but I have read about ur striking of No.2 princess. Coming from a family with elder sisters, its a major blessing to have sisters as a girl. Its not just a sibling but also a close friend and someone to confide in in times of happiness/troubles. Ur girls will be very lucky.

Suwaiwai,

http://www.meadjohnsonasia.com.sg/products-services/enfa/enfapro-a-plus.aspx

Click on the blue tab to find out how to switch over from BM to FM. This method by MJ is not just for enfapro but for switching of any milk (BM to FM or between diff brands of FM). Try not to mix or do abrupt switch as it could cause gas/stomach upset in sensitive bbs.

Irish, gsm

Thanks mummies! I'm okay ah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] heehee

Jac

Nice scan!!! So sweet to have 2 lil princesses :D so fun!!!

Thanks for sharing the article too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh yah, the mamy poko pull ups u using is which type? There are 2 isit?? U wear for her in the day? I've heard that pull ups is so much easier to wear now that they r so mobile. What's ur advice ah?

Re: teats

U know even till now I'm still using the 0-6mos one for Aedan. He can finish abt 160ml like that in record time... Whereas I tried changing the teats to 6-18mos one... He take so long to drink!!!!! So I gave up. Hhahahaha... There's actually no need to change it as long as he's drinking fine right?

babygalore

Thank u for ur kind words [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm willing to be Sahm cos I wanna tk care of Aedan personally... Kiasu lah! Hahaha

Xin2,

I'm exclusive Pumping so bb is fine with bottle. Actually I just upgrade her avent teats to #3 recently. It's supposedly fro 3 mths+. But when I tried to introduce it earlier, milk was leaking fro her mouth!! Hiyo so wasted. Now she can cope with the flow. Maybe she dun suck fast enough.

Babygalore,

Thanks for the website!! Will try 1x per day at 3rd feed as instructed by the website [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jac,

Congrats on yr lit gal! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tried to not dreamfeed Josie for her 9 pm meal.. Bottle, she took 30 ml, then scream.. Sippy cup another 20 ml then scream..

In the end I use straw, and she finishes them all (110ml) in less than 5 minutes.. No choking & not much spill!! So cute leh.. Maybe she wants to be like adult.. Never thought she's ready to use straw already..

I foumd she's very easy to caught wind in her stomach.. The reason for her to stop at 50 ml is becoz she wants to burp! But after burping, she usually doesn't want to continue... If using straw, she can sit upright, faced front.. Maybe not much discomfort if want to burp..

I laugh so hard when she finishes her meal using straw! Hahaha.. So cute leh! Drink like adult.. I let her drink until she drink together with some of the wind and sounds the slurp.. :$

Btw, how to wash the straw? Just soak in soapy water is it?

so busy these days - i thot life will be easier when baby grows up but its the opposite! Baby is getting more unpredictable and more active plus curious.

Shin - my hubby also dont agree to "lock" his son up. He dont even want to buy the foam to put on the floor to cushion baby's falls.

So i used my yoga mat and put pillows and mattress around places where baby will play. my house is a big mess now.

SAHM can still spend during GSS with the $ from govt. I intend to buy myself a nice present (not ex ones). hee

Any baby on similac? i started my baby on similac about 1 month ago and notice that his poo is really soft and most times watery. Is this normal? Sometimes he poo 2 times a day (usually 2nd time not so much). Some days 3 times. I got a bit worried if poo too much times

hi Groovy

My boy doesn't really like water, and if his cereal is too watery he gets angry too. Recently I have started letting him sip from small beaker, he is sometimes willing to take but can only feed about 30 - 50 ml this way. Perhaps he also wants to drink like adult, or maybe he is just bored with liquids and more interested in the texture of solids. WIll try straw if situation gets worse. Try and try all different ways and means!

Or, cook cantonese style porridge "chok" with the milk inside for hydration, the starch grains will hold liquid well provided you don't add in more liquid after cooking.

Morning!!

Side track a bit... Anyone knows where we can buy cheap bra balls? Those that u can put ur bras into and throw into washing machine?

I bought mine at NTUC Marine Parade before they converted to Finest, but now Finest don't sell it!

Tiffy> Thanks! I will try to find the brush.. What brand is it??

This morning also, my maid tried, so fast finished already. Using straw.. Huehehe.. Usually so difficult to feed her in the morning.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I should have tried using straw since last month.. Becoz I thought wait till she's almost 8 months which will be this Sat.. Hehe..

Hi morning mummies,

Any of your babies using pigeon large wide neck bottles and you are planning to get the new ones?

I bought 2 boxes of 2 pigeon large wide neck bottles recently but my boy has decided he doesnt like pigeon anymore. He is using NUK bottles now.

Its brand new and still in the box packaging.

Its selling at $16.90 / box. Willing to sell one box at $13 each. If you take both, it'll be $25.

Hope someone can take over else they'll become white elephant now that he doesnt like pigeon le.

Do email me at [email protected] in case as I do not check this thread often. ;)

Groovy ...

Glad that you found a long term solution for your gal! Yes feeding her wide awake is better then when she is sleeping no matter which feeding method you use.

Groovy,

What kinda/brand of straw did you use?? My girl for some reason dun like sippy cup. She will drink a bit of water from it but show yucky face! Was wondering if I shld just give her straw instead?

I understand that I'm not suppose to use milk bot for water and juices right? If she dun like the sippy cup how to intro juice??

Groovy,

The small thin brush I have is come together with the normal brush for washing milk bottle. Can't remember the brand but I bought at kiddy palace.