(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Shin, Zuen, Xin,

Am sure u will see yr darling veri soon! They are just waiting for the right date to make their appearance!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple,

Rest when you can, like you I'm extremely touched and grateful with my hb's assistance and encouragement! It makes confinement bearable and survivable! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess Dia,

Am sure u will be able to succeed! Perserve!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry,

Baby has suffice reserves for 3 days and can go w/o or little milk.

Dun worry, am sure she will start 'hunting' for her milk veri soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tinggy,

Me! Me! My baby doesn't want to latch just like her bro..so she's on total EBM.

I dun let pple's comment get to me, my hb keep telling me just do my best, dun get too stressed about it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Although she doesn't latch but I guess I'm doing fine just expressing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm a 'confinement rule' breaker tis round! wahahaha ;p~

And I bathe twice a day!! keke

Congrats to Cin Cin & Yichen!

Jac, it is advisable to wake bb up for feeding but bb usually very sleeply in the early days. Can try out what Princess Diamond's method. As long pee & poo enuff will b ok like what dr say. So don't fret, jus try yr best.

Last nite, was bad. Caelan kept crying even aft feed, change of diaper, burp. We resort to giving him pacifier, try to latch, spoon feed he oso didn't want. CL suggest bttl feed ebm. Not sure why but he calm down aft feed and doze off. Was a relieve. This am he woke up, CL fed ebm using bttle as I was hving my massage. He doze off without fuss aft feed. Next feed i latch him, he suckle for 5 to 10 mins and doze off can't be woken up. Tried tickling him, un-swaddle, change breast, all didn't work. So I place him down express and feed him the ebm. He poo, change and slept.

Shin, zuen, enjoy while u can now and I'm sure it will be soon.

LilBluey

I suspect when Feb comes, I will be breaking confinement rules too. I had such a tough time the first time around. My mum made my confinement last more than a month lor. X___X lol. My MIL is older than my mum by a decade and more liberal about confinement than she is... so hopefully i can use my hubby and MIL to "shield" me from one of those strict confinements.

have not had the time to read tru the posts, but congrats to all mummies who have popped recently!

CinCin,

congrats! 10/10/10 baby! =)

starry,

how's the wound? everything ok?

Tinggy,

wow, i understand y your hub tell u not to run around. you not doing confinement?? have to take care.

Tinggy, I am feeding EBM most of the time too due to my back problem. When baby latches on, she will feed for at least 45mins which makes my back pain worse. So now, I express whenever she demands for a feed and so far so good!

I am also not sticking with confinement rules, bathing everyday and drinking plain water... :p

Suwaiwai:

If she comes off the breast and cries, do see if she shows any sign of choking. If yes, lean back after she latch to slow the flow (coz your flow may be too fast for her) or pump out abit before latching if your breasts are full. If she show signs of frustration, lean forward abit as your flow may be too slow. You can also compress your breast to help increase flow. Otherwise, she may be fussy. Try to wait abit more till she is abit more hungry before you feed her. You may also want to vary positions, etc to see whether it helps.

Apple:

Yes if you are expressing, you shld really get a better pump. It realy makes a difference as I have "seen" in friends. If you are latching, then have to be abit more daring to use abit of "force" with your girl. Jiayou.

nycmum:

If you face problems with your MIL, can start your sentences with "the PD say..." May help.

xin2:

Early stage, its good to have some privacy when BF coz it can help the baby not get confused. Too much sounds may scare them.

Congrats to those who have pop[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone know which enfalac is for newborn bb? Coz there is 3 type of enfalac in the market. I'm blur on this. Wanted to change night feed to enfalac cos my boy seem hard to poo when feed him NAN during night feed

xin2,

My hb telling me the same thing, that baby wants to choose a good date. To me, so long as he is willing to come out, any date is a good date liao. Haha. Wonder what is he thinking about. I even asked dd to tell him to quickly come out and that jie jie wants to play with him but he sit stubbornly stay inside leh. -.o"

Princess,

That is what I am worried about, that I cannot control after bub comes out and I continue to eat and eat lah. Must lose all the weight gain PLUS the 2kgs that stayed with me from no. 1. Hoho.

Geri,

Ya, weight will go down, it is a matter of go down by how much! Lol!

Tinggy,

I did think that my ss wasnt able to meet DD's dd bcos I also expressed out. Thus, I hope to latch more and do tbf this time. I was only able to give her full bm for the 1st 3 months and that was bcos I got alot of stock initially when she drank so little in NICU.

Re; Confinement rules

In this weather, how not to break confinement rules huh? I just got my hb to buy me a new and powerful fan to put in the living room lor. Otherwise, I think I will scream in agony or hide in the aircon room 24/7.

Lilbluey, thks for e link! Will check it out.

Princess_d ya im jus going to be persistent wif bf. I googled and found out that i haf Forceful let-down. My milk come spurting out like waterfall, too much for baby to handle dats y she keep sucking n spitting out my nipple coz she need to swallow a lot. Im giving it a few more days. If she still crying so much, must go look for LC already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Any mommies here bf during e day and give ebm at nite? Do u bottle feed yr ebm? I want to try but scared baby will refuse my breast..

hello mummies, congrats 2 all who popped. Been very tiring 4 the past few days, bb kept waking up in the nite to poo and feed. hardly had enuff rest at all. My supply is in, but the funny thing is, when i pump, nothing come out. My ML also find it funny, coz i'm very engorged and think maybe the pump is not suitable 4 me. I'm using the medela PIS, if really nt suitable, so heartpain. I bought it 4 nearly $700. Now dunno shld buy another pump a nt.

princess d/lilbluey

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Doc say to stop ventolin pills Liao and just let it contract.. Have stopped taking since wed...

I don't mind if he finds the best timing to be out... I'm frustrated only cos it's affecting my sleep!!! Hahahaha and I wanna sleep before I'm deprived of it!!! Hahaha

Haven't slept the entire night so I've to try nap now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Marissa,

i also have forceful let down, i only let her latch the slower one. the forceful one i pump out let her drink at night. if she exceeds 15mins on the slower one, i'll try let her have the forceful one but after 5mins she wails and chokes, releases the nipple, the milk just spray all over her face!!! i used to have the fear after botle feeding she will reject bf, but for me it was ok =) i ebm at night, bf on demand in day.

my dd had breastmilk jaundice, i had to feed her FM for 3 days, during which my breasts were pretty much very swollen every 2 hours, i pump and throw. i need to pump every 2-3 hours if not will engorged. but right after doc gave go ahead to bf, even after 4 hrs my breasts were A OK! bb is the best pump.

marrissa

Do u wanna try to express some milk out b4 u latch her? Same thing happened to Meghan where she can't catch up w the milk flow n when I saw she was gadpi g for air n milk all overflow , she is released my nipples! And shen she released I saw milk still spurting out very quickly[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I tried to express those foremilk out n till when the hindsmilk kicks in which is thicker, she drinks better[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

Oic!! So any time for you oso la??

Sigh I know it can be frustrating for you when you can't get enuf sleep ! Really can't help ... Talk to your bb ... Ask him to give u a sign so u can pack n go lor...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope u can get a better sleep tonight

Ade

Why not get ameda n try it out? Keep your meddle n put it on sale in eBay ??

Me too got a sane problem when I had jade! I started using meddle dual pump but just no milk!!!! Less thsn a teaspoon but ml squeezed , got lots of it flows out! J gave up on tt pump n bought ameda!

hi all! How's everyone's Sunday going? I'm still feeling groggy from yesterday's GA or maybe it's just lack of sleep especially in the middle of the night 'cos need to prepare for bf.

Tinggy,

My girl will also struggle a bit when I try to latch her. Maybe it is the way I hold her or don't know how to latch properly. Did you try taking sacred tea or fenugreek to increase supply?

Re: latch on

Feel that baby is sucking quite hard on the nipples and will have a bit of abrasion feel ard the nipple area. Not painful though. Does this mean I am not latching correctly?

starry

Hello? How's your stay ??

Hmmm.. Not supposed to feel abrasions kinda feeling .. Did y try to released n re latch jadelyn again ?

Try to keep you nipple moist with ur cream or colutrum or else if this cont u might get sore nipples ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Make sure her mouth cover up the aerola too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Marissa,

No problem [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am using NUK teats/bottles [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin,

Just take small naps if you can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry,

when bb first latch on, i pain until have to bite my own fingers. first sensation will pain, after ten sucks shd be ok, if not, yes latch wrongly. also nipple first few days will abit sore, after a week will ok liao. as long as no bleed bb can still suck on that nipple. did u get to consultt the lactation pro?

princessd,

cos i moving house in 2 weeks! =) freezer will off for one day. i scared my bm will spoil. end this month i will prepare my milk bank liao!

Ade,

i also use PISA. did u hold the suction funnel properly? cos if u dont push it firmly against your breast, air can enter & the suction not good. Also, try give breast circular massage as u pump. hot towel before u pump. also, if your bb latch on u, u still feel engorged? do u find your breasts go soft after every feed?

mommies,

can share the cost of your baby's 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 vaccination? mine at RH is $900 plus, includes 3 PD's consultation, panadols etc.

princess d,

Really? U had the same problem too? I gt this problem too when i had ethan, bur it never occurs to me tt the problem lies with the pump. Stupid me! In the end i gave up after 3mths of bf. How much is the ameda pump? Can get frm any major shopping centres? Hb was asking me, if buy another pump, how would u know if it suits u? What if the same problem?haiz...now my breast very engorged, got to keep letting bb latch. he is so sleepy tt even i strip him also cannot wake him up.

Ade,

U can get the pump from Robinsons, KP and major shopping centres [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's about $399 bundled with some other stuff.

Did u try to manually squeeze the milk out instead for the time being?

gsm,

I tried all ways on the pump, but also no use. Milk only come out a few drops. But when bb latch, can hear him swallow the milk. He even vomit out quite a lot after he burp. So no reason tt i got no milk. My breast did feel softer after he latch, but no matter how much i pump, my breast can never go soft.

Wow congrats to all mummies who have pop!!! Me still in the waiting game. Went to see Gynae yest did a VE, wa piang super painful. Super traumatized... Am 3cm dilated but no signs of delivery yet. No contractions, no waterbag burst too... Still at home waiting for natural labour. Tick tock tick tock...

Hi Novakido, I had a checked yesterday too. Super painful n uncomfortable. My edd suppose to be today, doctor said only 1 cm open..still waiting. Bb going to enter 41week soon.

ade

Yes! It didn't occur to me too till my ml asked HB to changed pump... He bought it n I try.. At least still got 20ml better than the pathetic teaspoonful I got !

Quite true oso wat your HB said but to me then I didn't think tt much but to buy n try to get the engorged breasts soothe!!

Ameda think can get from isetan if not wrong ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmmm ... I was thinking if there are any pump rental service around ?

novakido,

very soon liao, maybe tonight! =) i went in without contractions too, got bloody show...

Ade,

how about send the pump back? ask them y like that? could be the motor faulty, who knows... since u paid so much for it.

Congrats to Cin Cin and Starry!!! who else popped?

Marrissa,

Me me... using NUK. Rhea take it very well so far.

Daytime I try to latch her ard 2 times a day coz I found out that it sort of increase my supply. Rest of the daytime, I pumped and feed EBM using bottle. Dream feed (after 12am), at first we gave EBM but these few days we decided to give FM scared that she is still yellowish due to bm and dun want to waste the half tin of milk powder. hee... Jia you...

Vivian, lilbluey, thanks! i tried e NUK nipple at 4pm feed jus now. she seems so calm. Next feed will bf. Hopefully she still takes my nipple. Coz tomorrow we have to go out see PD.. need to bottle feed her. I dun c how im going to bf her in public if she's fussing n crying her head off. And i'm alone with baby tonite, hubby's working.. bohooo. sure need to bottlefeed her so she can fast2 go sleep

Novakido, Lingo.. soon, soon. jiayo!!!

gsm, princess_d.. same- same! She's like gasping for air, then release nipple and then confused y nipple not there n start wailing! but will this forceful letdown eventually go away?

btw, do u mommies sterilise e teats, bottles, pump at EVERY ebm feed'?

marrissa

Yes, it will go away once she is older n able to yoke more ! Right now is very normal tat she get sprayed with fresh milk! Free facial ! Hyiak hyiak !

I pumped out the foremilk n feed only the hindsmilk to her[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hindsmilk comes out slower than the foremilk therefore thru drink better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d

Yah lor.. It's also anytime now! Hehe

Wed seeing gynae again so will wait for her verdict!!!

Lilbluey

Yep! Just woke up from nap...

Damn weird that I can sleep if nap but at night struggle!!!!

Maybe I'm just thinking too much abt baby.. Hahaha

Anw didn't know that spend money on BP also might not suit us!!! Then later the pump can't work cos not suited!! Aiyoo!! It's really the art of breastfeeding man! Latching also not easy, wanna pump also will have probs!! All mummies jia you jia you!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Guess quite a lot of mummies are also in the waiting game. Me also 38weeks going 39. But still no signs yet. Wonder wen baby wants to come out. Wait until neck long long. Feelng more n more clumsy n heavier. Also more pressure at the pelvic area.

Is this a sign?

princess d,

I'm just taking 1 day at a time in the hospital. Still not able to get out of bed. Will only do so tmr. I'm also feeling very groggy at times. Can fall asleep anytime, even when baby jadelyn latches on.

Now nipples feeling a bit tender. hopefully get seasoned soon. When nurses checked the latch, they say it is correct so I just trust them and apply some nipple cream first. Btw, I seem to be producing more and more colostrum. Can i assumre this means I'm doing things right?

thanks princess_d! now that i know i try to follow her cue. when she forced away my nipple i just follow and then quickly push it back in b4 she became confused and start wailing

jac, rest well! i went thru c-sest also and could only walk with assistance on 2nd day afternoon. was extremely groggy! i actually dozed off in betwn a conversation :p.. But i was desperate to go home so i endured the pain and nausea and started walk bit by bit. by 3rd day morning gynae saw me walk n say my face looks so much healtier ( i took tonics) and was discharged. if not c-sect normally its a 4d3n stay

Novokido,

3cm dilated Liao still in e waiting game ah. Jia you.

Lingo,

Sob, gg 41 weeks! I m so hoping that hub comes out soon n I am only 38 weeks gg 39.

Xin,

Lol! Everything will soon b a possible sign. Just like I go toilet n wipe 2x to see whether got show or not! E freaking weather is so hot even in e night! I m wondering if we will feel better after we delivered.

Wow... Seem like alot of ppl is breaking the confinement rule. actually, it is very boring when expressing milk. I m using meddle freestyle, I didn't use the handsfree set because take time to assemble n take out to massage. I Gv

Been taking fenugreek. What is the dosage? I taking 1-2 pill 3 time a day. I think I eat alot Liao. Still milk supply pathetic. Really admire those has waterfall milk flow.

Marrissa,

Yes, i do sterilize them.

Princess D,

Yup, i was also thinking about it. I wonder if parentscraft @ TMC rent them a not.

gsm,

mine not under warranty liao. I bought it 2 yrs ago, remember the motor was the same back then. Dun think its the motor problem. I guess i got the same problem as Princess D.

Thanks LilBluey. Will go check them out. In the meantime, looking to see if anywhere rent them. Din squeeze them out manually, just tried to latch bb on regularly, but can be very tired, esp at night.

All mummies in the waiting game, rest more for the time being. It will soon be your turn, jia you!

Mummies can add me in fb [email protected]

Hi mummies, if bb cry n cry, they may develop colic huh? I rem someone talks abt gripe water right? Is this so? At wat circumstance give them this? This will help to rid wind? If bb is taking rid wind drop, can still give gripe water???

Ade:

Google "Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group". They have pumps for you to try. So that you know whether it suits you or not before you buy. But whatever you pump you have to throw as the pumps are not sterilised and also many people have tried. Just need to call them and make an appointment.

Xin ya lor 38 weeks is anytime hor! 3 main signs, bloody show, contractions or water bag broke lo and I have none! Just 3cm dilated!!!

Zuen u are just like me lo 38 weeks GG 39... Really neck long hor... The last few wks like so hard to get through....

Btw, I put on a total of 18.5kg so far leh. Is dat a lot? Dun remember how much I put on for my last pregnancy... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] feel so clumsy and so much cellulite!