(2010/09) September 2010 MTB

Sarah: glad to hear good news from you!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i ever bring my elder boy to the pd u went to at forum, she is really good and caring! Just abit pricy for me to afford.. Take care n cont to bf k!? Btw i saw u order PISA, have u received them?

any mummies taking fenugreek?? Does it really help in increasing milk supply?? So upset with the dip in my milk supply.. Now missing the feel of engorgement!!

Any idea where to buy?

rachoho - I am taking fenugreek. Think it helps to increase supply. U can buy it from GNC. If out of stock, can also buy from the pharmacy at TMC. Think Nature Way also sells. Personally I have taken the fenugreek from GNC and TMC. Have not tried the fenugreek from Nature Way. But think it should be the same as they are all fenugreek. Hope this helps.

thanks mama g will ask hubby to get for me

Btw may i know mummies here use which brand of FM?

Also how to see if the brand is suitable for our bb?

ilyena - Thanks. So far only tried letting my girl slp on her stomach once. But after 1.5 hrs or so, she will fuss again.

Discussed with hubby that we try to feed baby with one FM feed per night so that she can slp longer while we attend to the needs of my #1. Think with a #1, no choice but to depend on FM every now and then as she will tend to get jealous if she sees us tending to the baby.

Stored Milk-

how long can we keep the milk for once we warm up after taking out from fridge?

I warm up my expressed milk at 3am but when I wanna feed, Khloe fell asleep. And woke up again at 4 plus... Can I still feed her the milk?

During that 1 plus hr, I left the milk bottle in the lukewarm water.

Just wondering if still can use. I threw away and took new one. Cos not sure if safe anot

anyone know?

Pinkyluv, just realise my details not updated in the table-

my princess arrived on 23 Sept, weighing 2.74kg @ Mt Alvernia. Her name is Khloe Wee.

tigerlily

travis also got mucus stuck in the nose ,nose drop given by doc have used or 11 day n seems like no improvement

sarah

gd to hear that ,everything is falling into place.thanks for the info shared ,its really very useful

block nose

one more thing that we could do is put bb sleeping a bit inclined (i place a folded blanket below cot mattress at the head side, so the whole cot mattress is a little slope)

tinkerstars

me too got the share question but have yet to find the ans to it.i use within an hour then i discard away or pass to my elder gal to drink

Phyphy: so blocked nose is normal one?

Mine got mucus stuck too. When he breath, got those watery sound inside.

Also he seems to try to cough. Duno if he caught d flu n cough virus from us.. Sighz.

phyphy, regarding the milk shelf life,

i will be going mt alvernia later this afternoon. maybe i go up nursery room to ask the nurses there...

let u know tonight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yvonne

yes,blocked nose is normal for bbs and pd alway will tell u that they will outgrown from it.

if got cough ,best bring to c doc to chk.

sarahmay,

thanks for sharing the remedies. Probiotics need prescription? Or can get over the counter?

Good news about your baby. 'You are the God that heals me' Praise the Lord.

if we are taking the 6-in-1 at polyclinic, must we call to book appt or just walk in? My baby has taken hep B when born, so the next jab for the 6-in-1 is 1 mth from birth right?

Greetings from Fotographilia!

We are having a promotion for weekday studio sessions from Monday to Thursday, 10am to 8pm, at $180 for 20 soft copies edited and printable to S8R size!

Do call us soon for a booking soon!

Visit us at www.fotographilia.com

Promotion is valid till 15th of November!!!

Pinkyluv, i didn't rebond my hair... had that hairstyle since few months ago. actually, i just had it chopped off in the evening the same day after brielle had her head shaved.

Now VERY SHORT! to prepare for falling hair... haaa.

Gonna dye it jet black myself later.

When i had my #1, my hair drop ALOT...

tracey,

which polyclinic you going? check out the telephone no & give them a call. they will be able to schedule you on the date & timing.

Pinkyluv, thanks for the number! WIll call them and make appt. Btw, you choose the 6 or 5-in-1?

Tiger lily, I am gg to Hougang, nearest to my home. Hope dont have to wait too long, as I dont want to stay long in polyclinic carrying baby around. Find that polyclinic has a lot of germs, with all the coughing and sneezing.

Tracey

hehe, no idea yet ..forgot abt wat happen in 2008 for my 2nd one..tmr will check it out and let u noe..think will take the one with less jabs

Gloomybear

sigh* same here too for previous 2 pregnanies, lots of hair on floor..but i just can't bear to cut my hair..cos they will be hard to manage..will curl in all dif direction if above shoulder

if rebond them now, confirm will accelerate my loss

PROBIOTICS FOR BABIES

for mummies breastfeeding, good to invest in probiotics. I just went to check out GNC and Nature's Farm. Both have. But I got GNC one SOLARAY cos they have this 12 strain probiotic with 20 billion count. So super power la...hope can expel all the stupid yeast thrush and deal with his gassy tummy. Heheh. Was 59 bucks after 15% discount paying by nets.

GNC also sells probiotics for bb use. So guess no need to buy from PD. the one I got from my PD was really exp...but i think quality is v good.

LATCHING ON

i am trying to altch on again...after so long. he doesn't really suck leh. I feel v discouraged...feel like giving up. but also so frus with the pumping and sterlising man...Argh.

Anyone got good LC to recommend?

gloomybear / pinkyluv

me too having hair loss problem after giving birth to my no1 ,worst is that im sahm,everyday i c a lot of hair on the floor even if i vacumm the floor everyday.

Tracey

one less jab,but for polyclinic,they only offer 6 in one on the 3rd or 4th jab. Total 3 jab of 5 in one and 1 jab of 6 on one.

sarahmay,

breasting feeding - dun giv up sarah. i hav the same problem as u cos' after delivery i allow the nurses to bottle feed my bb thinking it will be easy for bb to switch from bottle to my nn. Who knows, i had a hard time after i rtn hm. I latch her everyday n make sure she is very hungry before i giv me my nn. After 1 wk +, she has learn to suck quite well esp she bites abit. Now at 3wks + 1day, she has learn to ask for my nn. The last feed she has only latch on, no topup - first time leh, usually got to topup between 30ml to 60ml.

If i can do it, surely you can do it too. So dun fred and jia you.

my bb also has phelgm, any remedies for it???

btw, what is the right dosage for rid wind drop if i were to give to my 3 weeks old bb. cos bb is very fussy at night.

tigerlily, i just spent 2 hours trying to latch n nurse!!!! n now 2.5 hrs later he is still on my boob. really wannay cry... but log on n see your encouragement, ok i shall persevere...now thinking if still shd buy medela pisa

i'm asking my mum to buy ridwind too.. baby is v fussy for past 3 nights! wan to be hugged to sleep.. going crazy soon..

Sarahmah: jia you! u can do it!! i am hesitating if i shd get a pisa too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sarah: wow u can tahan latch 2hrs. My gal latch 1 hr I wan die Liao cos she always fall asleep then I put her down she wan latch again n tis goes on. She does nt empty the breast n I still gotta pump after so v v tiring. Sometimes I just giv ebm n let helper feed her so I can rest or tend to #1. Watever it is let's all preserver in bf cos is the best gift for our bbs

Bb reflux: my gal coming 3 wkd just started to drink 80ml 3hrly. Is it too much? Sometimes tummy abit hard n she got reflux. Yday so bad until the pillow all soaked wife her milk when puked out. At nite she doesn't sleep well too keeps waking up and must carry her, if put dwn she will wake up. Is rid wind better or gripe water? Hw to giv is it just add to ebm?

Pat,

my girl is 3 weeks old and she's currently drinking ard 100ml every 2.5-3 hrs. No reflux for now. i think ridwind is better then gripe water if it's for colic..yes can just add to ebm.

pat: haha cos my friend who is super pro-breastfeeding was here to help me...and she's really insistent i don't give up.... so that was why i just 'tong'. reall was frustrated and felt like giving up at some point. but at the end of 2 hrs, he started really suckling and drinking v deeply. and i just nursed him on my own at 2.50pm. latching was easier. nuirsed 10 mins on Left and about 20 mins on right. he fell asleep. then i just pumped 105 mls of milk from both. not sure if he drank enough...but he's sleeping. so keeping fingers crossed tt he had enough. am going to persevere.

adelynn: jia you! i oso wonder if shd buy PISA if i am going to press on with latching. cos i already have a single avent electric pump. shdn't waste money if my latching is successful. and i pray it is lor. cos i nursed my firstborn for 23 mths....really want to do the same for my second.

DRINKING AMT

hmm...my 24day old son has strange appetite. sometimes only 50ml...then sometimes 120ml. so can be a little stressful trying to warm up the right ebm amount for him.

REFLUX:

oh! if u scroll up and read my earlier posts, mummies w bbs suffering from refllux can consider probiotics...and tummy massage for bb. i shd try to post a vid of bb massage soon cos i learnt v useful techniques before and i think they work!

GRIPE

i am using gripe water ...but i think i prefer ridwind cos got no sugar.

sarahmay,

I kanna big time training from my sis on day5 - my discharge date. She hide all the FM n ask me to latch and latch. I latch from 1am to 6am non-stop. Until my arms almost give way, neck almost broke, back unable to straighten and nipple sore. BB never slp, I oso never slp and my poor bb was hungry cos' Day 5 - no milk yet only colostrum. I was very tired b'cos the nite before I couldn't slp as bb got jaundice and I was crying away. Then with these traning, I almost die lor. I finally give in to FM which I found in my mum's room.

My sis didn't visit me at hospital cos' she went on a short trip wif her children on the day I deliver my bb. For 2wks she will travel from her CCK home to my mum's place at Kallang to check on my latching progress. Now I latching my bb is a breeze to me. I only need to built up my ss cos' at 3wks, my yeild is between 60ml to 90ml. I feed my gal EBM. I try to latch her either before I pump or after depend on whether she is awake anot. My gal is drinking 90ml each feeding - she finish in about 20mins time.

Hope my experience can be a encouragement to you and those mummies out there struggling to latch your baby. With pratise and detemination, all is possible. So don't don't give breast feeding - keep on latching, your baby will be able to latch just like mine.

Been a long time since I last logged in.

Latching

I've not had much success latching my boy on too. He always makes the suckling motion when I carry him but whenever I try to latch him on, he'll cry like hell. It's been like that from the time we discharged from the hospital. Heartpain to see him cry, so we've been bottle-feeding him ebm. I think it's cos' he's too used to the bottle as the easy source of milk. I have short nipples, so not so easy for him to get milk. Sigh..he's 4 weeks old today..dunno if there's still any hope of latching him or I should just be resigned to exclusively pumping...

Just brought Brielle to the polyclinic for her 1mth injection *2nd dose Hep B*....

She's 4.33kg @ 52cm now.. Nurse commented that she's growing VERY well. haaa her overall percentile is 97%.

tigerlily: eh... got colustrum is VERY good. I pumped like mad in hospital and squeeze boobs also never see.... think maybe my firstborn sucked up all lor. dunno if bb got any. plus, cos of my pathetic attmpets bb kena breastfeeding jaundice.

haiza: our bb are same age. if i m going to persevere w latching, i believe u can do it too! but u must get help. find LC. saras from Mt Alvernia is VERY good but u must go there cos she don't do house visit. Sis Kang is also v good...but must wait long. So i went to saras 2 wks ago

NURSING CHALLENGE

this is my breastfeeding 'fight' thus far...http://messangel.wordpress.com/2010/10/01/the-new-nursing-challenge/

Gloomybear, how much do u pay for the hep b jab? Do we have to sign up for the 6-in-1 package at polyclinic?

did u get to wait very long for the jab? Did doc see baby after jab or nurse just administer the jab and u leave clinic?

Sarah: yea i am considering PISA bcos i going back to work on 1st Nov.. and my medela mini electric dual is not helping much on the let down.. i realise i am taking 30-45mins to clear my breast.. it cannot go on like that.. my boss will kill me when i am back in office! =x

bb - Ridwind is a brand, u can get it in watsons/guardian pharmacy. my mum jus bought it today at guardian [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haiza: its not too late.. never too late to latch baby on. jus need alot of practice and patience.. keep it going don give up!

Tracey, yes... have to pay for the hep B 2nd dose. Can pay by Medisave. $22.

Nurse told us the 6-in-1 pacakge is $360, 5-in-1 is $320+$22. Can sign up at 3rd month assessment.

We didn't wait very long at the clinic. About 15mins? Nurse gave the jab and explained everything. Then ask if we have any concerns that we need to see doc. Else, see doc at 3rd month assessment. Thus, we didn't see the doc.

sarah, my bb appetite oso varies from 50ml - 100ml each time...u are right abt being stressful to heat up right amt of ebm....for simplity, we jus heat up 100ml during the day n 80-90 during nite (cos she drinks lesser @ nite)

2nd dose of hep b @ 1 month

my bb haven even taken 1st dose cos that time juandice then thrush n pd says wanna her to be cleared le then take...any mummies haven had 1st dose of hep b for their bb?

funny noises

my bb make a lot of noise when she stretch n she is v fond of that...anyone has exp the same thing? wondering if there is any discomfort in her...

locia

any mummies already stop bleeding below? after how mani weeks ah?

Dear Mums, good noon to you all!I am rather new to this forum and came in to seek help, upon my friend, Sophia's suggestion. She was an avid member here and has actually help me seek successful help from here before and thus, here i am myself!

Allow me to intro abt myself..

I am Yiping, a postgraduate student in NUS..I am currently doing a research looking for a particular type of cells in breast milk.

This is my thesis for my Ph D actually and I am trying to culture cells found in breast milk and identify this group of cells. If our hypothesis is proven true, it might open a potential use of

breastmilk and its benefits for the breastfed infant might thus be more than what is already known.

With that note, I would like to seek your help to participate in this study by donating about 30 to 50ml of breastmilk (an amount that you are

comfortable with, at a frequency that you are confortable with) and I can go collect from you at your place when you are convenient. As I am using the cellular component, I would actually require fresh breastmilk (of not more than half a day old) for study and as freezing is detrimental for the cells, the milk should be kept at room temperature or at best 4deg such that they arent frozen, upon which cells that I am interested in would most likely be lysed.

Please feel free to contact me at 93826595, or email me at [email protected] if u have any queries. Hope you would be willing to help and hope to hear from

you soon. I would appreciate to start milk collection as soon as possible, with immediate effect, actually.

Hope to hear from you all soon!

P/S: i have been doing this for the last 4 years and there are promising results presented in various symposiums/ conferences and also published in a peer-reviewed journal..Study has also been approved by a local hospital's ethical review board.. So, neednt worry tt its weird study or wat, k....

Really hope to hear from you especially if you are able to express more than your baby's demand!! And u aint committed or obliged to help me for very long... that is to say, you can stop anytime you want.. If you have questions, please drop a line too! I will try my best to help!