(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Can i check with those mummies who feed their babies with porridge..does your babies constipate after eating porridge??I think it sounds abit weird...

I seldom post here now adays.

Read there is discussion regd crawling.I am not sure about the relationship between crawling and speech development.

But I do know crawling is a great brain stimulating activity .This gets both sides of the body working together and reactivates the brain.You can even ask your preschool aged child to crawl for a couple of minutes to stimulate the brain.

Want to ask how many servings of solid food (puree and cereal) you give to your Bb a day?? Then how many time they drink milk in a day? And how much your Bb is drinking??

I'm still blur on starting solid food.

jascmy, i started giving abt 1 tablespoon of cereal abt 1 hr after milk in the evening for 2 days.. then increase to 1 full feed to replace the lunch milk feed... abt 2.5 spoonful of milk scoop + 50-60ml of BM/water + 30ml cube of puree...

she's taking 1 feed of cereal & abt 5-6 feeds of BM (140-150ml) per day

except for these few days cos she's sick..

jascmy,

my son is already 6 month plus but I haven't start him on solid due to his diarrhoea...

for starting of cereal, since is starting, don't need to replace any milk feed yet, just let bb taste few spoonful of cereal... then slowly replace noon milk feed to full cereal feed then subsequeently replace dinner feed as well, so if your bb is drinking 6 milk feeds, finally he'll have only 4 milk feed and 2 full solid feed, if u want can also give them snacks in future...

started to feed my gal with some fish n carrot porridge...but she don seem to like it and will cry or pretend to vomit....then my mom would stop feeding and give her cereal then she is all smiles again.....mummies here got such experience? i guess must just keep feeding her the porridge so that she is accustomed to it..

jascmy, I replaced the morning milk with 1 bowl of cereal (ard 6-7 milk scopes) mixed with warm water. Had wanted to replace the night feed as well, but she is sick so I stop feeding her cereal until she fully recovers.

pekkle, I read somewhere that if baby doesn't like certain food, you gotta stop feeding her and change to another type of food. then re-introduce it to her at a later stage. Otherwise, she might really grow to hate that particular food.

Thanks crescent and eeyore_03.

eeyore_03, I have started cereal (1.5 scoop)1 time in the evening since 3 wks ago. He is now abt 5mths 2wks old. The day b4 tried 2 spoon of broccoli plus cereal. Last nite, added more broccoli into 2.5 scoop (cos put too much water in broccoli puree)of cereal. He only eat abt 3/4 and don want liao. What shld I do next ah??

Think wkends will try avocado puree for noon feed and evening on cereal (can add avocado?).

Wondering should I stop cereal for my gal who still has phlegm though no more runny nose.. Due to phlegm she can't sleep well especially at nite, drink milk also struggle n give up easily.. I realize her diaper is dry the whole nite leh!! Scare she dyhrated.. Give water she also dun wan.. Argh...

This morning I just went to see Chinese physician.. Both my wrists swollen n painful.. Last nite can't sleep.. Keep using cold pad to minimize e pain.. Can't carry bb.. But have to ren dong to carry.. Went ard 11-12pm.. Doc said too late can't acupuncture in noon time scare will faint.. So he put a thumbnail like needle into each wrist.. And ask me to keep it till next day.. He also massage my neck so hard n painful that I can't hold back my tears.. But e massage is good man.. My neck is not tat stiff Liao.. But both wrists still a bit pain..

jascmy,

here's my boy's feeding schedule.

6am: 200ml FM

10am: 180ml FM

1pm: 70ml of puree + 150ml FM

4pm: 180ml FM

7pm: 160ml of cereal mixed with FM (6 scoops of FM plus 4-5 scoops of cereal) + 30ml of water

11pm: 200ml FM

sometime in-between feeds will let him eat bits of organix rice cake (biscuit).

MVH,

how come your wrist sound so bad?? somemore u don't have anyone to help u...

If u ren to carry your bb, will it caus worst effect fro your wrist???

sounds scary leh, put thumbnail like needle into each wrist and remove later...

mvh,

did you bring her to see pd? did the pd say she has phlegm because of cereal?

wah sound scary! keep the needle in your wrist for 1 day? gosh. guess your girl is getting more and more heavier.

alibaba, yes, i've become an internet shopaholic! I'm thinking of getting khaki, mixing grey and aqua blue, so limited choices for boys. Hope the quality is good.

after reading posts on introducing solids, i feel so guilty neglecting my boy. Haven't been feeding him semi-solid religiously. We have been out too often, only prepare milk for him when outside [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Have bought organic jap pumpkin and avocado, think today i must give him some avocado.

rachel,

when we're outside, i feed him with organic baby food jar. just bring a disposable spoon and feed directly from the jar, very convenient. but somehow the food jar i bought are tasteless, he didn't really like it but still finish more than half.

jasmine, wow ur bb drink alot of milk

after i intro cereal and porridge to my bb, she drink even lesser BM..

morning 9am mayb 90ml, then ard 12pm eat cereal (13 scoop of bb feeding spoon) mixed wit 100 ml BM

then afternoon 3pm mayb another 140ml, then 6pm porridge

then nite 9pm 200ml

fumiko,

sometime he will be on milk strike, and will take quite awhile to finish his milk. but when the previous meal was solid, this meal he will definitely finish his milk, maybe cos the solid not enough? he's a big eater but his weight is normal.. not those super chubby bb..

jasmine > ur son drinks alot of milk lei....my gal drinking 160ml and sometimes cant finish...i happy if she can hit 140ml for most feeds...

wl > okie, then we shall stop porridge for a few days...weekend i make puree for her...

mvh > i saw ur posting on ur wrist on FB....ouch....looks really painful...i think ur tissues there cld be inflamed...u can use ice pack to alleviate the pain...

Eeyore, my mil helps to take care of bb this morning while I go see doc.. Afternoon she needs to help to take care of my elder gal from 1/2 day cc.. No choice have to take care of my bb.. I try to carry her less lor..

Penile, I put ice pack on my wrists the whole of last nite. I got 2 and interchanges once not cold..

Jasmine, I din bring my gal see pd.. Juz went to normal gp.. Din mention abt solid food leh.. My gal is 9.1kg now.. Heavy n pressuring on my wrists...

Rachel thanks for yr concern.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MVH, seems like your wrist got worse... gotta take care. You are now carring a full packet of rice. Maybe use baby carrier instead, or put baby in her pram and push around? My wrist also started acting up, even since my gal got sick and keep wanting TLC and pampering.

Ahnah, thanks for e link.. Personally I think crawling help improve brain development coz bb has to coordinate all 4 limbs, right hand wif left leg movement plus watching out for things above n below..

Eeyore, if u happen to know which specialist yr colleague sis went to, can to share wif me? Thanks..

Wl, u also gonna take care.. After cny, my gal doesn't wanna sleep yaolan coz chu yi n er I sarong her when she wanna sleep now she rejects yaolan.. Sigh.. I thou it is e same mah..

MVH : no problem, dun classify me as that K*** L** can liao. I guess crawling is good, it train the baby muscle as well, so no harm teach the baby to crawl.

MVH,

AhNah, I also think crawling is good. it's just natural progress for human, learn to crawl before learning to walk and hopefully one day, we can start to fly... ahaahaahhh

Crescent , I've just change the pacifier..

Dsyvonne

My boy constipated after started cereal.. Then when converted to porridge is better.. So if constipate, will give pear or papaya puree, and he will poo very soon.. If give too much pear puree, he can poo 3 times a day even with porridge

Jascmy

When I first started solid , I give a few tablespoon of cereal , then top up milk so that he is full.. After trying this for a few weeks, now one feed is being replaced with porridge at lunch time. Then evening dinner give cereal or fruit puree. I alternate them as fruits can cause my boy to poo too much which I scare got diarrhea effect

My gal din urine much e whole of yesterday... Only 2 diapers n somemore not heavy type.. But she sweat buckets in e day time, my mil said becoz she took medicine that will sweat alot.. So day time din urine can understand.. But nite time she din sweat leh n yet she din urine.. But one thing is she drinks very little coz of stuffy nose.. Should I be concerned n bring her to see doc again?

Can I check for those mummy feeding Bb with those jar food , do u all warm the jar ? Cos Everytime when we go out , baby see we got food to eat n she don't , she look damn sad . So I was thinking of buying those jar food and feed her . So do we just open n feed ? If is in shopping centre , guess the jar will be a little cold ? And although I start my Bb on carrot purée , I did t replace as a meal . I only treat as snack . And I notice when I feed her with cereal , she will cough a little . Guess too Heaty ?

Those mummy who feed porridge , if cook with fish n carrot , do u all mash the fish n carrot n feed Bb also ? Or impugns porridge ?

And as for purée , I steam the carrot n use fork to mash only . Is it ok ? And what are other food then can be purée ?

Thanks Jasmine and sunflower. I think I will replace the lunch with porridge once he reach 6mths. For now, will be jus as snacks.

Whitelady, I bought the jars but not used yet. But I will warm it if possible. If can't I will jus open and feed him.

What are the food that we need to blend and what we can jus mash with fork??

Mvh

My boy also sick. Cough and runny nose.. But he drinks as usual, still Alot of milk. At nite slp air con also sweat .. But urine not as much too .. I gather is bcos of runny nose , that's why urine is lesser. For me, when I got runny nose, my toilet visits are less frequent .. So to me it's normal

White

My porridge is cooked with pork , and sometimes added ikan bilis (in teabag) . Then will steam fish separately .. Once porridge is ready, add the fish into the porridge , use spoon to mash and mix .. I wan my boy to taste the sweetness of the fish, that's why I do it this way. If add fish directly to cooking , all nutrients will go to the porridge , so fish no longer have much taste.

ahnah,

its up to individual..alot pple starts off with cereal and puree after 6mths..after a couple of mths then give porridge..or some pple blend their porridge so that its fine enough to give their babies.. but old pple dont care all these, they just feed congee.. they feel as long as bb can take in, then they do it..but the congee must be very mashy

sunflower, my just started cereal 2-3 weeks ago.. now my wife so fast want to give porridge or congee .. i scare him cannot take it.

Yesterday I gave my boy avocado. I blended the ripe avocado using a handheld blender then add abit of warm water to the thick paste. Surprisingly, my boy likes it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I fed him one third of the avocado. Seems like he still want more. How much can I feed him at one time? Is feeding him one whole avocado too much?

ahnah,

up to u .. intially i also scared my boy cannot take it..but can poo once a day, so shld be able to digest liao..so now i stick to porridge ..cereal dont give daily..maybe ask ur wife to blend the porridge if u scare?

Anyone fed ur baby with Japanese sweet potato? Yellow instead of orange flesh. I bought the wrong one, but shld be fine?

MVH,

no wonder my gal was sweating like crazy. my helper told me she changed her clothes like 3 times in the day. So it's normal when they are on medication. sigh... 6 days liao and she has not fully recover, gotta bring to doctor again. "$$$ fly fly"

AhNah, can give porridge lah. just make sure it's meshy enough.

SunFlower, I heard from a friend that she used to blend the uncooked rice into powdery form then cook into porridge. But she stopped doing that when she heard that by blending the rice, we are introducing more air. hence no very good. therefore she advised me not to do that. wat do you think?

wl,

oh is it..then blending the fruits also introduce air? hmm, i didnt blend my porridge, my mum and i just cooked it till very mashy..like cantonese congee..