(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Mummies, anymore boots milk bag supplier? my playtex use finish liao and my friend give me her storage milkbags oso finish liao. luckily that i will be pump and throw for these few days, so i wont need a milk bag cos im letting her to drink finish all the chill bm.

but the boots milkbag is it pvc material instead of plastic?

i prefer those pvc material.

Ah beee,

wat is your facebook acc huh? Oso ah bee? Think u din add me leh. Me oso working at tuas oh. Working hour fr 8am-5.30pm. Take co transport to joo koon mrt after work.

Xuanx,

cool down. U need rest. U r too stress liao. How abt just close your eye n ear n lock yourself in room for few hours, just throw all 3 kids to your hb. Your kid will b alright 1. Cos oso his kid, if really no1 (u) to depend on, he will b forced to take k of them. Mayb here cock up a bit there cock up a bit, but definitely no big problem 1 lah. Pat pat.

xpink,

massage ur breast....inwards to clear

Ida taught mi 1....she massage once oni n the lumps all cleared but it's v painful lor....'ren' once oni n all cleared....

Lumps

For me, last time my mum ask me to use super hot towel to apply on breasts during bath. Must really endure the hotness, kept applying and applying. After a while , the milk all start to ooz out on their own. And is Alot lor.. Then kept massaging and pump out. For me I massage damn hard , but damn painful. Once pump out, lump cleared immediately.

Ng

Ya me also the kiasu one .. Insist no fm lor.. I threw away 2/3 of the tin which I failed to consume within 1 mth since confinement although hb kept asking to feed him one fm per day.

QQ

Actually my boy recently also can't finish the milk . Kept using his hands to push away. Still can shake his head to remove the teat in his mouth. I think shld be common at this age since most of us encounter the same thing

RE: hot egg massage

for the hot egg massage to clear lumps. need to peel the hard boil egg or not ah? then need to wrap with a cloth or directly massage on breast?

Sunflower,

My boy too keep pushing the breast away and I realize that he'd drinking lesser and lesser now. Can drag to 4hr feeding and drink for only like 5mins. He's getting very nosey and will turn his head to kaypoh whenever there's noise.

Ah bee,

Can I hv the breastpads? Just realized tat we r not frens in fb. Just added u.

QQ,

pai sek. hardly come to forum. about FBM, hardly go woodlands so it's hard to collect from you.

Talking about milk strike,

my girl had been doing it for past 2 weeks. i thought my girl was just choosy. she will use her tongue to push the teats, use her hands to push the bottle, bend her head to the back or other patterns. she is really drinking less per day. sometime she only drank 20-30ml and she will scream. she can drag her feeding up to 4 hours or more. really dunno what to do with her.

By the way, does anyone encounter your baby sleeping more these days? my girl seem to be easy to sleep on her own which really surprise me. normally when i put her on bed, she wake up but this time, she play on her own when i put her on bed and then sleep on her own within 10 minutes... this is really odd of her.

Monkie,

Yes, you need to peel the shell of the hard boil egg.

Better to wrap with a cloth, as when u massage, the egg will start to crumble under the pressure, so it is cleaner.

Cheekrene,

A good ger U have!! She knows tat mommy is going back to work soon and doesn't want mommy to get worry hehe....

Cheekrene, my gal is opposite yrs leh..

I m going crazy soon.. Recently every nite I need abt 4-5hrs to get her to sleep soundly.. Btw I m still swing her now in sarong.. Hope she can sleep for at least 3 hrs...

From 9pm, after wipe n massage (follow Shay's advise) play for 30mins, then coax 20mins, sleep 30-45mins, wake up crying.. Latch awhile abt 5 mins, want me carry her upright n walk.. Then coax 20mins in sarong, sleep 10-15mins wake up again!!! This repeats several times lor.. Give her gripewater ard 12am sleep after coaxing, then15mins ago cry again!!!

Is she having colic?! I thought by 3 months, colic should have gone away?? Or this is her sleeping pattern? Any help or suggestion? Having backache swinging her for a few hrs n walking Liao.. Really running out of ideas.. Sob sob..

MVH,

maybe u try giving her fm for her last feed? now, i gave my boy fm as his last feed n he can sleep thru till morning without waking for night feeds but sometimes, he will cries abit around 12+, so i will dream feed by latching him n he will fall back to sleep when he finished latching but i will still cradle n swing him awhile before putting him back to his cot to sleep..

MVH,

If u can bear it and for sanity sake, just let her cry it out and soothe herself to sleep if you are sure she is well-fed, clean diaper and has no reason for her crankiness other than trying to be difficult. My hb does that for my boy during those times when it is simply impossible to get him to sleep. It works wonders for my boy.

ann,

hahaha..my hb also did that to my boy but failed big time cuz he will keep crying until cough or 'lost' of voice plus its middle of wee hours when he cried, so i dont dare to let him cry too long, scare kena complain.. kekeke...

susan,

My hb can sleep beside my boy when he's wailing at the top of his voice lor....My hb is like immune to the crying sounds cos now is #2, he not so easily soft-hearted. For me, I just go sleep with my #1 in her room so I don't need to tahan the crying.... :D

ann,

ahhhh... hahaha..but we both cannot tahan leh.. beside heartpain to see him cry, ear also pain cuz he's like crying out loud from his lungs.. ;p

sunflower, so it is normal huh! or i should say it is common cause many babies are like that now. scary! and i tot he would wake up many times in the night, he din. he wake up for milk oni at 12 plus, then 4 plus each time drinking 30ml? jialat la.

but he likes to sleep...

cheekrene, it is ok. i just contine giving himmilk bath lor. if u come u let me know. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

your ah gal already upgraded to shen2 xian1. 30ml per 4 hour? haha! girl nevermind, smaller size is jiao1 xiao3 ling2 long2. that's how we consolde ourselves cause last time my #1 also like that.

shay, precisely. then how ah? i cannot latch him at all. if it is outside, worst, he wont want to drink at all woh. keep pushing me away and eyes big big nia. then if too hungry liao cranky and cry so loud. if ppl talk then he geypoh and turn here turn there.

mvh, perhaps u need to monitor if she drinks well. if she drinks well, then u can check ur diet. cut down dairy etc etc that causes winds or discomfort. sometimes it could be just a habit.

general rule, she should be tired around 2 hours after the last wake up time. so grab the timing and make her sleep before she gets overtired?

n_g : thanks, i msg tat mummy liao. hopefully still have.

MVH: Colic can last for quite sometime. my #1 have colic till 9months. #2 have it for nearly 6months. now #3 coming 3months, still having it.

cheekrene : my girl same as yours!!! 20-30ml can last her 4-6hrs. She refuse to wake up.

Nowadays my girl keep crying when drinking milk. She struggle by kicking and stretch herself straight and crying when i insert milk bottle in her mouth. Yet, she's v v hungry but seems like she doesnt like certain position. Sometimes put her on the bed and i feed her milk, it works. But only sometimes!!! Sometimes it doesnt works.

Im going crazy when comes to feed her milk.

Hungry yet dont know wat position she wants.

Any mummies bb also like tat? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Xuanx,

these few day my baby oso like tat. Keep struggle when put teat in her mouth. Or suck few times then push away with tongue, head shake shake shake or cry. My mil comment shr got phlegm n ask us bring her to c doctor but I dun care lah. She always act like she know everything 1, I simply ignore her.

Milk strike: I remember few doctor told me b4 baby refuse to drink = they r not hungry, nothing to worry. N when baby or kids refuse to eat, there's no way to coax or force them 1, so just leave them.

Morning mummy.. My menses came n my milk ss drop alot! Last time can pump 100ml now lesser, feel like giving up Liao.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

If this go on ss less then 100ml not even enuff for her one feed, v v sian..

Susan, I think she is not hungry leh.. Coz I latch her, she push me away.. Got once, I insisted n latch everytime she fuss.. In e end, she vomit big time..

Ann, I got #1 sleeping wif us.. She also light sleeper, so cannot let her cry out loud.. N same as Susan, cry until cough cough n wanna vomit type lor..

Xpink, I think it is colic leh.. Coz everytime that kinda timing.. After drinking gripewater will fart everytime she wakes for milk.. Sianz.. I tried giving her gripewater at 8+pm before, still doesn't work.. Though she is super sleepy..

QQ, diary product? I din drink milk leh.. No cheese too.. Maybe those veg tat causes wind.. My mil likes to cook onion, cabbage, broccoli etc.. But these 2 days din go her place makan wor..

Xuanx, ng

Hi I am a silent reader to this forum and would like to share about milk bags. I agreed Boots milk bags is cheap and very good but don't go for Autumnz milk bags though is cheap. Without prejudice, I bought because I was enticed by the promotion 3 plus 1, and I live to regret it. It became white elephant now. The milk bags is very plastic, double-ziplocks are not user-friendly and what I dislike most about the bags are the space reserve to write the date of ebm is on the bag itself. You never know whether the marker ink will seep into the milk or not. Also, though it said can filled up to 210ml, there is very little room left for expansion and contraction. And the flap or allowance to open up the milk bags for storage is so narrow and you have to exert some strength to open up the milk bags.

The above is just my experience....

ng, u add me in fb? wats ur nick in fb? mine still ah bee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shila, juz add u.. where u stay?

gurls, hws d xmas gg on? where d final venue?

how long do u all store EBM in the fridge ah?

is it 48 hrs or 3 days... i see websites. diff websites like saying different things

Mvh,

normally i wipe my girl at 7.30pm. Then i quickly start to make her sleep at 8pm. Normally she took 1 and a half hour to rock her sleep. This time within half an hour, shr cried until she slept on our arms without much rocking. I will feed her 60ml at 9+pm and then drink 100ml at 11+pm. She really last till 5am now. I think its the routine she had got used to it.

QQ,

next time if i go north, i let you know.

QQ,

i also feel that she want to be "sheng xian". It depend on how much she want to drink. Most of the times she just want to sleep

xpink_xuanx,

my girl also do the same as yours. she also struggle by kicking and stretch herself straight and crying when i gave her milk. i thought my girl was very naughty... i realise many of you are encountering the same as me. my hb was worried that she did not drink enough

Seems like most of our babies got same patent with refusing milk now... so do my boy!! he also keep pushing away the bottle with turning his head, use his hands etc.. hehe, i notti mummy la, i tight him up with using cloth nappy or sometime put his hand in his pant so that he can not use his hands to push away & lay still... & guess what? he got no choice but drink le... kekeke! may b u all can try to...my hb see liao also said, wah, like that also can...lolx!

monkie, the EBM in fridge is best to let bb to consume within 24 hr. is more than 24 hrs, can keep into freezer which can last for 3 mth.

MVH, did u turn on ur light during the night time? if so, u may try to turn off ALL light and let the room totally dark...i rem last time my niece also refuse to sleep at night, and my sil use this method & it seems works le...

MVH :

Common foods that have been found to cause a fussy or colicky reaction in breastfed babies

Beans

Broccoli

Brussel sprouts

Cabbage

Caffeine

Cauliflower

Citrus fruits

Corn

Dairy products

Eggs

Hot peppers

Iron supplements

Medicines

Onions

Peanuts

Shellfish

Soy and tofu

Spicy food

Tomato

Wheat

coco : Thanks for your feedback. Then i think i don wanna get autumnz milkbag liao. Other than boots, is there any other cheap alternative milkbag u can recommend? Thanks.

cheekrene : i am the one who worried tat my girl may not have enough. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] thinking if i should bring her to PD. but hubby keep complaining becos of MONEY! Am so angry....

ducklingeshop : i did tried doing tat leh. but she end up choking and merlion all over. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Storage of ebm ... Actually I also dunno leh , but I always let bb consume within 12hrs, different website says different thing de, saw before 12 , 24 , and even up to 48hrs.

And if from chiller transfer to freezer, must nt be more den 6 hrs. So confusing, so I always take the shortest time.

normally i takes 48hrs to let my girl finish. cos too many inside the fridge, 24hrs cannot finish it.

Hi all..

cheekrene & xpink_xuanx,

few weeks back my gal oso like tt whenever i giv her milk.. keep crying, stretching & kicking even though she is hungry.. her milk intake oso drop half & can last her 4-5 hrs..

then worried, i bought her see pd & realised tt her nose was v congested.. tt's y she will be difficult whenever wan to drink milk..

pd giv nasal spray which really v effective... she no longer throw temper during feeds & can finish her milk most of the time now.... the time taken oso become 15-30 mins instead of the usual 1 - 1/1/2 hrs...

so mayb u wanna consider bringing ur bb to pd?

Actually pink xuan, I would suggest u stop bfding. Not that I don't support, but I think yr bfding is giving u additional stress n trouble. Further more u have 3 children, most of us here only one or two so we can cope. Unless u really have a very supportive Hb and maid willing to help u mind yr kids else u may not able to take this for long without a mental breakdown. To add on, to breastfeed or not is yr decision. Your Hb shd respect that.

Ah beee,

just add tis am. I m tan sin liu. U add me too liao.

Monkie,

me will keep max 48 hour then freeze. But usually I will freeze within the same day 1 pump unless there is xtra.

Coco,

thanks for sharing.

coco, thanks for sharing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

duckling, i cannot la. io tried to restrain his arms, still cannot de. he v fierce. he saw my breast then scream. saw bottle then push.

then kept smiling at me if i hide my breast and remove bottle. he is a shen2 xian1 now.

mvh, probably the food bah. anyway she will outgrow de. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] dun worry.

hi all... super long nv come in....

paisey i just wana rant abit here... just now my hubby spill 75 ml of my milk!! damn angry lor! pump until so xin ku, he so not careful!... still can say next time dun ask him to help... hello, bb u dun have share ar... not even proactive in helping to take care, only when ask him to do then will do... haiz! damn sian lor...

MVH,

where's her sleeping area?? Is it she don't like her sleeping area?? I suggest u and #2 move to another room temp, in order not to disturb hb and #1.. another suggestion will be moving your routine earlier, from 7pm instead of 9pm, hopefully by 12am she's asleep... lastly, reduce your latching, how abt try pacifier?? I cannot tahan my boy always need latching so i give in to pacifier already... btw for colic, there's another aid other than gripewater, right?? forgot the name, my gal used to use it and it's to drip in milk type.

crescent,

sorry to hear that, for me i'll get very angry too...

but i think he didn't do it on purpose, forgive him la and made him pay for it, like get u a present for your pumping effort??

eeyore,

ridwind?

crescent, if my hb ever tell me tht, he will kena big time from me. no words, just black face will do. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ifind it tough and it is a tough task to pump milk and feed. they should understand.

maybe he was pekchek with the baby? or wat. stress at work? then we da4 fang1 a bit, forgive him. hee

Shay,

which part of jurong you work at? I also at jurong area.

Crescent,

its really hard pain to spill so much. I think your hb hardly help you, that is why he can be gan cheong.

Hi Xuanx & N-g [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I would go for either Lansinoh or Nanny Breastmilk Storage Bags, both equally good and reliable. But Nanny is cheaper, value for money. Just google Nanny Breastmilk storage bags, you can find their website.

Monkie & Mamyvelle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Guidelines for ebm can stay in the fridge for up 8 days before freezing. But I don't normally practice to ensure freshness of my ebm and also that as I have surplus, so all my ebm go straight to freezer. Maybe the following info may help you as I was also very 'luan' when started breastfeeding heehee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.kellymom.com/store/freehandouts/milkstorage01.pdf

cresent.. I empathise.. even though my HB never spills my milk, he thinks nothing of throwing them away without asking me first.... he thinks since I have supply, then can afford to throw.. like machiam I'm really a milk machine with unlimited supply one >(

actually now im on antibiotics so i pump and throw since saturday. most of my BM in fridge are consider 2-3days now. I din keep in freezer cos since now i pump and throw there wont be anymore 'stock' inside the fridge. so i guess i will still be keeping it till all the supply in fridge went no more. and that will be more than 48hrs. i will smell first before giving la, so more than 48hrs still can consume actually.

madamyip : Yes, i tot of stop breastfeeding and had a big quarrel with him ytd. becos he can never understand the pain i went through and thinking that im just plain lazy to breastfeed only.

ber-mi : thanks. am bringing my girl go see pd tml.

coco : thanks for your recommendation but i feel that both nanny and lansinoh is abit expensive too. i havent told my hubby that i need to buy milkbags, think he will start giving black face and say no $$ if i ask him for $$. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]