(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

scent,

dun worry too much....my #1 oso failed his hearing test last time...doc says sometimes they juz refuses to react, let the doc test again then see how....

alibaba,

BF will make us hungry n thirty 1....u dun take too much rice, eat more vegs etc then wun put on too much weight

my 3rd yr old no#1 was bf till 28mths, then i fell pregnant, so we were v v attached, he can only sleep in my arms. But Eversince i went for delivery of my no#2, i ve stop sleeping with him. It was really difficult for my poor boy. Awhile ago i went to my no#1 rm to apply medi on his ulcers while he's asleep, he woke up n hug me n pull my arms ard him so tightly, refusing to let go like he's afraid mummy leaving him. I tried to stay on for abt 1hr hoping he'll fall asleep quickly so i can go back to d other rm to b wif no#2 in case he need to b fed. But he couldn't sleep so i ve to tell him mummy has to go, while daddy will sleep with him. He look at me leave d rm with sad eyes n cried for mummy after i closed d door. It really break my heart. But at d same time i dun want to b unfair to my #2. I latch on n sleep with my #2 full time like how i used to do for my #1. Has anyone feel guilty for ur #1? It makes me feel like giving up bf n let my maid take care of my #2 but i'm afraid he'll grow up thinking i'm not fair to him for throwing him to d maid while i ve been taking care of korkor full time since birth. I tot of either askin my maid to feed fm or ebm to #2 but which mean i can't sleep with #2 if i am to sleep with korkor. They can't sleep together bcos my #1 may jump on d bed while i feed #2, which is dangerous n also when #2 cry my #1 got frighten n will also cry!

MVH

I couldn't accept it either about the sedation. But we hv decided to do it because we are also keen to find out what's wrong with her ear.

Suika

Thanks. I know I shd trust doctors but I also wonder if it is really necessary for so many tests.

Scent and mvh: check the nerves but will it cure the hearing? Im guilty leh didnt want to bring my boy for hearing test. Yes i also feel my boy sleeps longer in the nite for past few days. Today i did not let them carry now he wake up eyes big big[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] maybe i should let them carry in the evenings?

Cyn: i feel that ur no1 should learn to be independent le.. Very touching leh when u say he hugged u so tight.. But he must learn le..

last night i let my hb take over.. My boy kept crying n he stuff pacifier for him.. Feel so heartpain a baby not being carried but left on the bed like nobody's child.. But how, will infant care carry him to zzz everyday..

Cyn, I also breastfeed for 22 months then kanna pregnant.. I latch my #1 to sleep n cosleep somemore.. So when gynae asked me to stop bf, it was a terrible time for #1. She took 3weeks of crying out loud then go to sleep method.. In e middle or e nite, she will also look for breast but also cry out loud then go to sleep.. After that I trained her to sleep on her own in e sense not latching to sleep.. I sing songs to her n wait till she is tired then fall asleep by herself.. This process can take up to 1hr or so depending on how tired she is..

After meimei is born, she has been seeking attention n being naughty.. Kanna caning fr me every day in order to sleep.. Wan me to carry her when I carry meimei to sleep.. Sometimes I put meimei down le, she quickly come n hug me n dun wan to sleep.. Sigh.. I felt she is also very pitiful coz seems like I dump her aside when meimei comes.. But I going to fully latch for meimei coz I felt that e bond is super strong when latch on as can see fr my elder gal she is super attached to me..

ng & ann,

B'coz eating peanuts during pregnancy, breastfeeding or early childhood can increase the chances of a child developing a peanut allergy. I searched the net and it's only applicable to history of allergy in the child’s immediate family (such as asthma, eczema, hayfever, food allergy or other types of allergy).

But my mil hope that I can avoid peanuts for a period of time (maybe 3 mths). Sianz.

Scenty, I don't know whether you feed on schedule or not but I was forced to bottle feed my boy because I had problems latching him the first few weeks, but now can after consulting an LC.

I don't know if it helps but my boy takes to anything - nipple, bottle, even finger when he is very hungry (because I feed on demand, not on schedule), so I don't know if it will work for your baby too. So I gather when babies are very very hungry, anything goes? Now I latch him in the day and bottle feed him at night without much fuss.

Some baby prefer nuk bottles, and some avent. Some say its because nuk's teats are shaped more like mother's nipples. (but my nipples look nothing like the nuk teat leh LOL)

penguin, don't feel too guilty about carrying baby.. For me I don't pick up my boy straight away but will try to comfort him by patting him first in the crib. If he keep crying after a short while i will investigate why loh. Sometimes after coddling and carrying he will also go to sleep.

I know we are advise not to carry babies all the time, but I think it depends on the situation.. anyway when baby is older, one day they will stop wanting us to carry le.. that time we want to carry also difficult le.

As for ifc, don't worry about them. They are supposed to be professionals and have to accept all sorts of babies entrusted into their care; colicky ones, fussy ones, difficult ones, our babies become their headache and not ours when we hand over to them, thats what we are paying them good $$ for. At the end of the day, important thing is your baby is alright when they handover to you, is all you need to be concern about. So don't fret about the ifc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Penguin/mvh - my no#1 was latch on till he fall into sleep last time (so we cosleep since his birth together wif me n daddy), but when i stop bf him, he was v obedient n caring to me bcos i told him 'mummy pain pain (which was an excuse), cannot give nan-nan (ie bf)' n so he actually kept kissing n sayang my face (thinking tat'll take my pain away which is wat i do to him whenever he hurt himself) n he didn't make a fuss n slept after 3 bottles of fm but provided i hug him to sleep. We share a v close bond. He go whereever i go. So when i went for delivery, he cried n cried. When i came home with baby, he welcome baby with kiss n hugs but can tell he miss me alot, keep hugging me all d time n want my attention. N seeing how he behave last nite makes me miss d gd old times. Life will never b d same again with didi now, i feel guilty for both of them. I still want to latch on for didi bcos i know bonding is impt. Jus dunno how to overcome this guilt.

Mvh - wa, u ve to cane ur #1 to sleep like v 'heng xin' lei.

Penguin - i think i can only let my son sleep on his own when he's bigger. I feel boys r our 'mummy's little boy' not for long, after a few more yrs, they ve their own friends, they won't want to b with mummy liao unlike gals who will accompany mummies even after they get married. So i want to treasure this early yrs.

Cyn, i cane her I also heart pain.. But I simply can't take care of 2 at e same time.. Daddy not doing anything to help.. If jiejie dun sleep, meimei can't sleep well coz jiejie will talk sometimes, sing, roll on e bed n arms n legs hitting e bed loudly.. So jie jie must sleep first..

Madam Yip, can share what the LC told u? I'm having problem latching my boy too. He prefer bottle teats then my nipple. I tried the breast shield mthod that KKH LC tot me. It does not work ay all. He will suck the shield like sucking pacifier instead of sucking for milk.

I will be bringing my boy to KKH tis evening to the emergency. Cos his cough is getting worst and I'm worried abt what Bakaholic mentioned abt her Bb boy. So heart pain seeing my boy breath loud and cough. He only 3wks old leh.

jascmy - it is better if she sees you personally. Reason being, every woman have breasts and nipples of different shapes and sizes, and every baby have a different mouth. When Doris told me that a professional LC should be there when a mother do her first latch on, I agree absolutely.

For me, my nipples are short and fat, so instead of squeezing my breast forming a C with my hand, I have to do a U instead so my nipple become oval shape, easier to stuff into my boy's mouth. You will see in many breast feeding videos that mothers typically do a C, instead of U.

And my boy have a thin upper lip, so the lip tends not to flip out during latch, i had to flip it for him to get a more comfortable latch.

Your issues could be a totally different problem from mine, thats why it is important that she sees you personally to see what could be the problem.

During my session with her, she examine my boy's mouth and observe the shape of my breasts and nipples - she will probably do the same for you.

Don't worry too much about your baby being 3 weeks.. i saw her when my boy is about 3 weeks too and on bottle feeding.

Xuan,

thanks for sharing. I bought 3 boxes fr a mummy here to try out. The quality is really gd n cheap. Now my new problem is running out of storage area. Lolx~

Madam Yip, sorry i can't find the details abt the LC.

how much she charge? Is it home visit? My girl is 30days old, since birth till now, i only latch her 3 times. Cos i very scare pain, i dunno how to latch correctly also. So i only pump out. I scare just pump out only, won't increase my supply and may stop supply suddenly. So i wanna learn to latch on in correct position.

Anyway here is a link if anyone wants to read more about her:

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/about/mab/

pink xuan, I just posted [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she doesn't do home visits, but irc, she works at NUH, so those staying west, I dunno if you can see her there instead.

if you are pumping, your supply shd be constant, but probably will not drop unless you decrease the frequency of your pumping sessions.

But frequent latching is supposed to up your supply. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Halo everyone, long time no log in liao. Have been reading the posts though. Everyone has different issue with their bb. Think I find myself very lucky as my bb only fuss between 7pm to 11pm. The rest of the time, she can be very independent.

I had wanted to stop BF cos my supply was extremely low... only 50ml 2 days ago. Thought the milk will stop itself, but this morning, can suddenly pump 150ml. Think it's due to the fish I had during dinner last night. I finished almost the entire grouper myself as I'm a fish lover. So I believe that fish does help in boosting the supply.

Vaccination: I read the we can use medisave for pneumoccocal vaccination. But my PD doesnt accept. Anyone has recommendation on places that accept medisave as mode of payment?

http://sgcgo.com/medisave-pneumococcal-vaccination-children/

madam yip, so i have to go her hse is it? i want to latch on cos i oso wan to have bonding with her which i did not had with my #1 and #2.

Penguin,

same here...my gal also want people to carry!!actually, when i am doing confinement at my mum's place she still ok..but after 1 week, i moved back to inlaw's place was terrible!!I told my sis in law dun carry my bb too often and she just carry!!and said to my bb "your mummy dun carry u, I carry u!!"faint!!now my gal also cries for nothing...after milk also cry,after change pampers also cry...and when she cries, my sis in law and mother in law always said i never feed her enough!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pink xuan, I think better call her to ask her where is the best place to meet her. As she stay near to me I don't mind meeting her at her place back then.

mvh - better get flu medi fr Gp n remember to remind them u r breastfeeding n baby is still v young. Safer. Last time i even double-confirm with my son pd to check d medi is safe for me, bcos his pd scare me tat some gp not v attentive to patients n may end up giving strong medi unsuitable for bf mothers.

dear all, BIG thanks[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] really love to come in here though always for venting. guess have to let my hb teach them how to take care of my boy this wkend[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

really envy u all, i have given up bf already and now quite regret. want to bf my no2 but that will have to wait.. im tryin to slim back still have 8 more kg to go..

yvonne: that's really bad leh even ur sil comes into the picture with mil to bully u! she herself don have kids mah? Nvm, whe she give birth u go carry her child everyday! this kind of ppl have nothin better to do so they poke their nose into everybody's business. if she so free ask her go give birth herself den carry her own child.

Mvh: must take care now weather so bad..

This sat going to polyclinic for hep jab. The injections all very confusing.. Lucky my hb understands or not im super blur mummy sure get all mixed up..

Thanks cyn n penguin,

I had sore throat then cough.. Better Liao then last nite stuffy nose.. Not very jialat till need to see doc but I scare when become serious, bb might get it too.. Dilemma..

penguin. n_g,

well..no choice lor...cos my sis in law helps me to bath my bb every morning...and i told her when i am at my own hse doing confinement i never carry bb much and she told me sometimes can carry awhile...tat day she also put my bb in sarong cos my bb cranky, i told her dun put cos i dun want bb to rely on sarong too much cos infant care dun have sarong for bb to sleep de..then she told me tat is up to the teacher to coax her to sleep!!faint!!

Actually dsqyvonne and penquin so worried for the teachers at ifc? LOL I'm quite sure the teachers there are not worried for you or your babies.

dsqvonne, your sil is quite right on the last part. like I said to penguin, ifc will have all kinds of babies, even babies that are used to sarong, since you have chosen to place your baby in ifc, then you have to trust the teachers there to take care of the babies. I'm sure they have the relevant expertise to deal with different babies, else the ifc can close business liaoz.

wow so many posts...

have updated the chart for some...

After few weeks, yest finally tried to latch on as previously during confinement, my son rejected to latch on... surprisingly, he's willing to latch and drinking, so i tried once again today, to my relief he drink again.

But wanna check usu I expressed out, so now if i let him latch on, do I still need to express out aft he finish drinking?? Last night I latched him on for 15 mins per side. Today I latch him on for 10 mins then he stick out his tongue, I presumed he had enough so I went to express out. Usu I express for abt 20 mins each side to get 100ml, so he only drink for 10 mins on each side, I went on to express out aft feeding him, got 50 ml, does it mean he never drink enough??

Xuan,

I've also eaten peanut butter since confinement.

alibaba,

I also feel hungry easily but not to the extend after finishing a full meal, hungry again...

maybe u are 嘴馋.

suika,

log time never see u log in, not even FB, u super busy huh??

cyn,

I only bf my #1 (now 4yo) for only 5 mths, she also super glue to me, and the extra extra strong type... now aft confinement I never sleep with her (usu she sleeps in bet hb and me), I sleep with #2 in another room, during her sleep time, she'll cry to look for me... no choice daddy has to wake me up and ask me to accompany her while he sleeps with #2. I bottle feed my #2, only yest I tried to latch on. I also feel guilty towards #1... she's super naughty nowadays... I'm also guilty about every evening when she came home from CC, due to her naughty acts, I scold and beat her.

re: baby bonus

can check if I can open a new acc and submit??

as the lady in Mt A registration counter told me must be existing acc??

but during my #1 time I open a kids acc for her and bb bonus goes in there.

MVH, no worry. cause when u are sick, your body has antibodies. if bb drinking from u, wont fall sick de.

eeyore,

pump and bb sucking is really two different things. so, dun think so much, he tell u if he is hungry again. no worry.

Eeyore, I open new account for cda, same as u coz #1 not entitled to bonus..

Latching on.. I din express out e remaining bm.. Coz yr body will auto adjust to bb demand when u fully latch on.. Somemore i personally believe e ratio of foremilk n hindmilk will auto adjust to bb need too..

MVH,

yah cda must open new acc either with OCBC or Standard chartered, this one can submit the form by posting.

But I'm talking abt the bb bonus.

eeyore,

if u want to increase supply, or maintain supply, after latching, u pump out the remaining. like that can increase supply a little. but u have to be quite goot lat. then, i suggest u can do this 1-2 weeks before u go back to work. now dun need bah unless u want to boost your supply immediately.

as for latching duration, depends on bb sucking force and also depends if the latching is good. plus, also got to know if your own let down is fast or slow

diff ppl diff pattern de.

i give u an example, i have left right inbalance breasts.

Left: 150ml(usually fast letdown),

right: 50ml (usually slow)

for left: around 10-15 min, my boy is full. if he sucks for 25-30 min, can tahan 3.5 hr leh.

I think within 15 min, he can drink like 80-90ml.

right: 5-10 min, seems breasts softened liao, but if he still sucking, then also continue. but after 30 min, still less than a full feed. then need to suck my left side for 5 min then full.

he takes a full feed of 90-110ml every 2-3 hrly (if it is bottle).

for your case, i think 10min, 10 min, probably not a full feed bah, unless continuous vigorous sucking for baby, plus if u have a fast milk flow. then it is possible.

if ur boy 60ml can satisfy his hunger, i think 10/10 min, sounds ok too.

very subjective de.

Eeyore/mvh - My #1 was v naughty when I was pregnant, I kept beating n scolding when my maid went for homeleave when I was 7mths pregnant, I was so stressed out but I felt guilty after tAt like I'm abusing him till he has marks everywhere, so heartache. Luckily now he isn't as uncontrollable as that time. But we still having a hard time understanding wAt he want bcos he still dunno how to say verbally wat he want, he still learning to talk although he can count numbers up to 100, say colors, shapes etc but not saying wat he want, so he get frustrated easily n will throw tantrum when nobody understand wAt he want.

Mvh- for blocked nose, I find iliadin nasal spray or clarinase or decold v gd n for sore throat take danzen tablets for anti-inflamm n difflam throat spray if v painful. Can get fr guardian or Watson pharmacy n r safe for bf.

Eeyore- As for latch on, i ask pd b4 whether any guideline on how long to latch, bcos mine sometimes only drink for 5-10min, so pd say as long as baby can last for abt 2-3hrs means he had enuf but also make sure he has sufficient poo n wet diapers. As for expressing after he's done latching, my massage lady told me ve to express to clear the remaining to ve more milk supply n also to prevent lumps for developing which may lead to infection if left untreated.

mdm Yip

I feed my girl every 2 hours but usually she is the one with the built-in alarm clock in the body n wake me up every 2 hours. But there are times whereby she over nap and ask for milk in 3 hours, occasionally she demand to be fed just slightly over an hour... So although I want a schedule but sometimes I am flexible depending on the situation. At night is solely on demand feeding. I let her wake me up, there r times where she can sleep up to 4 hours...

QQ

My 5 week old just suck for 5-10 min on one breast and full liaoz.. Has been so for last 3 weeks... So I still hv to offer the same breast for her next feeding in order for her to take hindmilk...I think my girl is small eater.

Eeyore

I fully latch on my girl, and I only pump 1-2 min to relieve the fullness of my breast when she skips a feeding cos she overslept...

Penguin

I'm not sure what is audiology all about.. It's the PD who mentioned abt checking the nerves.. I'll update with her progress .

MVH,

yah cda must open new acc either with OCBC or Standard chartered, this one can submit the form by posting.

But I'm talking abt the bb bonus.

scent,

be patient. soon she needs to drink both your breasts. my boy started to take my two breasts only after wk 6-7. i was still with high supply then.

now my supply dropped, to fit his demand, so he can take both liao.

maybe it is not a good idea, cause i need to pump more when i go back to work.

but he is super bui bui, so i guess, he has enough.

wait for u to update us your gal's hearing test.

i need to go orh orh liao. nite!

madam yip, thanks! hopefully hubby allows me to see the LC. cos im sure he will say NO, don wan me to spend the $$. But i really wish to latch on and bond with my #3. >.<

any mummies here also fully on EBM only and not latching on?

Sianz... My gal merlion again.. Somemore it is 1hr ago feed which is beancurb type.. My whole front shirt n her shirt n pants.. Wonder when this will end..