(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Mvh

yesteraday i went to see TCM for my sprain ankle. Hr advised not to bring bb out before all jabs are injected. So our plan id let bb stay at home for 1st 6 month.

CSY, I dyed my hair in my bb's 3rd month for my #1... I really buay tahan my messy and black hair at that time so badly need to colour my hair before returning to work.

MVH, I thought as long as baby is on breastmilk, they get a boost of immunity from us so its ok to bring baby out? For #1, I brought her out every weekend since her 2nd month. But I didn't bring her out for long hours, just short outings.

Mdm Yip, congrats!!

ahNah, u sprain yr ankle? alamak.. take care.. yr wife going to deliver soon.. so will be busy running ard.. yes, i also heard that we should avoid bring baby to crowded places.. tat's why in dilemma lor..

QQ.. so u bring yr little boy along as well? or just yr gal? i havent buy the tickets yet leh..

finally i have discharged and now managed to settle down after much help from my mum. now trying to steal time before bf.

i had met littlepiggy at TMC last night. she delivered on the same day. her baby was later than me by 2 and a half hour thru c-sect. her baby girl is 3.4kg.

ahnah,

jia you to you and your wife.

penguin and madam yip,

congrats.

xpink_xuan,

all the best.

bakaholic,

yup, you should cup-feed baby after c-sect. it's definitely very pain and tiring like what i had seen littlepiggy. i see her suffered, i feel pain for her.

talking about dyeing hair,

can i rebond hair after a month?

any mummies experience humming sound around the ears during the 3rd trimester and after delivery? i had this humming sound during the last pregnancy n even now after delivery.. =(

Hello all

finally managed to log in .. Did not really do confinement as we are fighting with mil she is complaining that my hb makes the whole place oily.. Had my first cry last night and second cry this noon.. Mil refused to give in when we washed baby clothes she commented no place to hang whatsoever. She likes clothes to be washed everyday and how does she expect us to wash clothes everyday when we are already so busy. All she does is to nag and nag and the most amazing thing is that she took e milk bottle cover and asked me if that is milk bottle. It is really quite shocking for a mother of 2 to actually raise this kind of question! I can also see that my hb is also very stressed and tired over this and feel that i have brought this suffering upon him[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i don know how to do everything and mil is not letting me off.. Given up on breastfeeding cuz it's really tiring.. Now trying to stop the supply.. Water retention have been at its peak nowadays. Baby has jaundice and there's no sun just feel that everything is not going smoothly[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] am praying for the best[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can't bring bb out ah , my #1 I bring him out after full month . Maybe try not to go place too pack lor . Think should be ok . I didn't wait till all jab done then bring out leh . Intact , I bring my bb out last week when she is only 5days old ... But only for short while ...

white lady,

me also brought my baby out when he was only 5 days old to see the PD for his jaundice and when he was 7 days old, again to see the PD, going to bring him out tmr to see PD again.. i think if it's just for a short while n not so crowded, should be ok ba.

winnie,

they very stingy..i bargined and managed to get 8 bottles. i also asked for bed liner in case my lochia stained my bed..

Congrats Mdm Yip!

Congrats Mdm Yip.

Susan,

I hope i will remember to tell my doc about cutting the umbilical cord. Hopefully, i am not overly excited. Haha..

Cheekrene,

Ok. I must remember to request to cupfeed. Think i better write down a list.

Btw, How's dr kee during delivery? Is he very serious or like his usual joking mood?

Penguin,

Hang in there. If worst case senario, just engage a CL to help you. Not good for you, bb and hubby if everyone gets upset.

bakaholic,

haha..write it down n bring along for your next gynae checkup lor.. i din wrote down during my last checkup, that's why forgot to tell my gynae.. sighz..

**hugz hugz penguin**

can u go back to your mum's place to do confinement?

i also din engage CL but glad that my mil did came over to help out n my hubby also take good care of me too... but when i see him so tired, i also feel heart pain for him..

Bakaholic,

not to worry. You will be in good hand under dr kee. He was very excited for us. He know i will not have strength to push, he recommend vacuum for me. Luckily he estimated i will exhaust in half hour and he came immediately to vacuum. His stitches was good. I dun feel much pain till now. On last day of discharge, he just checked my stitches and answered my questions before he left. Well, he gave me a look of confidence so i felt relieved.

penguin, u need to stay cool and rest well. these are just temporary ok?

MVH. alamakl. i never think so much . hb bought tickets le, so intend to bring ah boy in too! in case he makes noise then i go out with him lor.

going concert woh, should be pack bah. but then he s still v young..hm..... hope bm power can make it lo.r

last time after full month i everyday also bring my #1 out cause cannot stay at home too long la. but for few hours nia.

Penguin,

aiyo, ur mil is so bad..u must take care of urself leh..i noe its emotional at this point of time but u shldnt cry so much..they say cry alot during confinement is bad for eyes..u shld try to breastfeed, else pump out to feed ur baby because if ur baby is not breastfeeding jaundice, breast milk can help to cure jaundice faster..its easier to clear the bowel , so baby tend to pee and poo more frequently, removing the waste faster, therefore clearing jaundice faster.. jiayou ok!

suika,

i think also need to depend how many times the baby pee and poo leh..if baby pee and poo alot after each feed, usually the interval to the next feed is shorter..and also need to feed more leh.. 80ml for 4hrs , is it too long?

sunflower,

my ah will if we give 80ml, 1.5 hr -2 hr then make noise.

if 100ml, around 2.5-3 hr. so it depends. but we try to give 100ml, feed 80ml then stop. then if he cries again continue. if no cry then stop . v hard.

today he latched and clear my breast. very good. but then after that, he vomitted out a lot lot a lot of milk when i try to burp him. sigh!! dunno if the flow is too fast then he cannot catch it. and ended up got nei4 shang1.

QQ,

same same..mine 80ml cannot last leh..nowadays 100ml cant last 2.5hrs liao..sometimes 2hrs must feed again..he kept turning to my breast for milk..

vomitted alot ar? got overfeed or not? sometimes they just suck as pacifier, so keep sucking till overfed..

Thanks all ..

i just cried when my hb came back.. I am not sure how long i can hold on[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i think he is also sad to see me crying.. I really want to go back to my mum's place for confinement but baby's bed and stuffs are all here already.. Bcuz i know my mum will be able to help me but not my mil.. Both her child are handed over to their grandparents to look after and hence she had no experience at all.. Help! I cant stop crying[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sunflower,

since he vomitted liao, i dun think overfed him le. weighed him today, agak agak 4.3kg (roughly la) cause i minus off my weight using a digital scale at home. i dunno leh.. he vomited liao still smiled at me. notti la.

penguin, our hormones play a part too. ask your hb send clothes to laundry service then or use washing machine cannot? but then hor, u can just close your eyes? throw everything to your hb? dun feel bad, he can take it de. he will shoulder everything for you. u just stay in your room, and see baby can liao.

dun feel bad for you hb ok? cause it is his responsibility, now you have hormone swings, but he doesn't. so need him to protect u liao.

penguin,

i think u need alot support now leh..faster move back to your mum place..just bring all the stuff back..else u will suffer de.. ya, ur hb can shoulder everything for you , dont worry..u tired now, he also tired..its normal..

sunflower,

i tot everyday 30g. like that if 25 days, already 750g right?

he is with his pampers and such.. minus a bit, probably around 4kg?

agak agak la. got weight increase then i feel ok le.

pengui, if can, u move back to your mum there. if not, then just try to cool down.. dun think too much.

Congratulation mdm yip!

Pat pat penguin. Me too sad n tou tou cry today when in toilet. My stupid MIL come do nothing over wkend but treat my mom like maid. So sad n angry to c my mom busy like hell where as tis stupid women just giv instruction on tis cannot tat cannot, always the 1st 1 sit on dining table, wait for food yet comment y chicken no meat, y pig trottlet all bone only. Really piss off by tis women. Sometime really made me regret married into such family.

Pd,

really feel sad n heartpain to c my own mom suffer, being so busy only bcos I am their daughter n busy for free yet like kena bully by stupid MIL. She is truely gd for nothing. Only know how to talk talk talk. Sometimes when me truely upset I will wish she faster go die lah.

mamyvelle, mine is 11am. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aiseh!! otherwise can let ourbabies rub rub shoulders. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

n_g, at this point, u have to close eyes liao. dun need to bother too much, otherwise too xin1 ku3 and cannot enjoy the arrival of newborn.

but with that saying, i also cried for both confinement la. really useless for me. after a while, when i think back, small matter oni la..

so just see open.

Alibaba ... Mine 6aug , even earlier den u

Jia you to all mummies , think we must be too emotional stressful + tired . Cheer up!!! Ur baby wants a happy mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

n_g,

waaa..ur mil also one kind lor, never help out still arrow ur mum to do things.. u are the one doing confinement, not her leh.. who gives her the right to sit at the dining table n waiting to be served before the mummy????

♥Mamyvelle♥,

yeah, we really need each other's support.. thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pd0513, your name is susan? the japanese words means wat ah?

n_g, when #1, i fed up with mil, also cried.

this time, i learn and smart smart liao.i bchap her. ignore......... and if anything i just complain to hb. that's all. hope u stay happie and bochap her la. treat her as trnasparent..

Hi mummies, cheer up ok? Guess we're all very emo now. I'm doing my confinement now at my in laws and it's really not easy, I've been crying on and off over some insensitive remarks. Focus on ur babies... When my gal smiles at me, everything else doesn't matter [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mamyvelle

then y dun do one more week after?

Qq / Mvh

i thinking to bring my elder boy to the barney show. And since he's also below 2yr old and ticket for him is foc. Heh heh.

Outing

I tink hard to not to go out. Especially when u going out u Will have to bring the small one along. Try to avoid crowded at air con place.

Penguin, dun sob. Mummies must be strong for their babies.

Just dun think too much and move to ur mum place.

Me too can't cope at first so I din care too much and tell hubby straight that I want a CL instead of his mum coming. So I got my CL on day 6 after giving birth and feel more relaxed now.

Jia you.

susan, roger!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

alibaba, come la! join us at barney show. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i go pump and orh orh liao.

Thanks all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

feeling much better but my baby is not sleeping now.. Hb looks stressed[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] im falling sick already.. When we switch off light he cries! Haix yesterday also like this.. Not sure what to do.. Cannot shift back to my mum's place cuz nothing there.. How [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Penguin, wat abt asking yr mum to come n visit aka help u during morning or afternoon? At least u wont be alone wif mil when hubby goes to work.. Dump everything in e washing machine or let yr mil wash all the clothes since she wants them to be washed everyday? Don't cry too much.. Pat pat.. Take good care of yrself so that u can take care of ur bb.. Try to latch ur bb as much as possible coz bm is good for bb.. Don't give up so easily.. At least we r here to lend a listening ear n u have yr hubby at yr side..

QQ, just now told my hubby to bring bb along to watch Barney, he scold me.. Say wanna make bb deaf issit? Actually it is quite loud inside coz I went once before.. Sigh.. So either I m not going or leave bb with mil.. Then worried abt not able to pump on time if I go without bb.. Dun go then my elder gal might look for me.. Dilemma..

Penguin, I leave a small lamp on in baby's room. She is sleeping wif CL now.. Maybe u can try to do e same as well? Dun be stress.. Bb can sense mummy's mood n be likewise too.. Be happy n u will have a happy bb.. My bb also just slept.. She wakes up from 10+ till now.. Finally i can lie on my bed..

those bringing bb dwn for checks could help to check something??

the doc at the polyclinic told mi that feeding bb less then 1mth is abt 40-60ml like that oni....if 100ml is consider overfeeding...even if it's bottle feeding of EBM.... my girl not enuff if we feed 80ml or lesser....how har???

Penguin, cheer up. Must take care.

Confinement period is not easy. Had a quarrel with my parents last week when they were here. Sighs. All are OK now but damage oredi done to rship btw parents and hubby liao. Sighs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

RE: CL:

Read the CL stories. *Sighs. Can't help but feel like sharing my share of CL problems too... (Sorrie... Got really long-winded here...)

1. CL kept stressing me to use FM when my supply was low. Felt cheezed off whenever she says I do not have enuff milk, BB is soooo hungry... but I just "ren" cuz since BB in her care... especially since CL goes unsupervised wt BB at nite...

Since milk supply is OK now, I try to latch in the day n CL feeds EBM at night. CL still claims I m not feeding BB enuff coz BB cries for milk every 1 or 2 hours when she latch instead of 3 or 4 hours when fed EBM.

Recently CL kept increasing amt of milk for BB. My gal's feed was increased to >100ml yesterday. I told CL not to give too much cuz BB stomach small, cannot overfeed. CL claims BB needs more cuz still hungry. Last night after that big feed, BB did not even wake up aft 6 hours!!!

Now I worry about the amount of EBM to feed BB after reading the discussion abt the amt (60-80ml) for BBs below 1 month. This morning BB vomitted out milk after another 100ml feed. CL claims its "wind" in her tummy. Sighs.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

2. Breastfed BBs poo after almost every feed. It's normal, right? Our "experienced" CL got so scared and told us it's NOT normal. We brought BB to PD just to be told BB is 100% healthy... Altho it was reassuring that PD says BB is well, that came wt a PD consultation bill ler. :p

3. CL lazy to chg diapers at nite. Found BB's diapers heavily soaked a few of times. BB has bad rashes oredi. Went to see doc again. When we asked CL to temp use cloth diapers so that can "air" BB's bum bum, CL asked my hubby to buy those disposable protector sheets instead. She lets BB poo/pee on the sheet, so dat she just need to chg the sheets, no need to wash cloth diapers. So smart eh?

4. CL's cleanliness is really pissing me off. BB had diarrhea last week. Poo was like kaya instead of the yellow curdy poo. I had a bad feeling so I checked BB's stuff. Found fermented milk smell in the milk bottles. CL admited she did not use soup to wash. I immediately told her to wash and sterilise everything all over again. So far, no recurrence. But I'm getting really paranoid now.

5. The kitchen floor is sticky and the pots/ pans are stained. Got yellow stains on the cabinet doors after she cooked the tumeric chicken a few days back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Think will have a major heartattack cum spring cleaning (if i survive the heartattack) when she leaves! Nvm, just gotta "ren"...

6. The agent told us CL is supposed to mop the floors & wash bathrooms twice a week. It has been 2 weeks and she only cleaned the floor twice cuz I asked her. The bathrooms r so filthy dat Hubby beh tahan, just washed them today. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

After all the complaints... CL has one good point. She's a good cook. The food is good so far. Other than that, I really am looking fwd to the end of the confinement in 12 days' time.

P/S: I m trying to stay awake now to monitor how much CL is feeding BB tonight... plus whether she washes the bottles before putting back into the sterilizer... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

RE: Breastfeeding/Milk supply:

I had low milk supply initially. I am taking Fenugreek (can buy from pharmacy) to boost my BF supply now. Pumping every 3 or 4 hours. Getting average 4oz (120ml) each time now.

Oh dear. Tot my CL fed BB 100ml. Just realise 4oz is 120ml. Think CL totally overfed BB??? Sighs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Just got up to pump. Really hectic to continue like tat. I really wonder how i survived in the past to bf my elder one for 8 mth.

Pleiades

One word to describe ur cl is lazy. Why only clean the floor as told nia. U shld ask her to do it every day la. paying so much money and yet get this kind of services. Besides that the baby stuff shld be priority and she can yet nv use soap! As for feeding of milk i do realised that cl tends to increase the qty alot. I heard many life exp. Bb are all drinking so well under the care of cl. However i tink if bb want to drink tat much u also can't do anything. Cos they Will whine or can't slp also. not.a.solution mah.