(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

CSY,

my baby is same, i wl talk to her and keep putting her to the breasts, hv to be persistent if not she wl reject the breasts then i am in trouble!

i aso tickle her chin so she wl suckle; it is frustrating, every baby is different i suppose. my #1 drinks like a fish, this one is a small eater so far.

CSY, guess you are facing the same problem as my first few nights with the bb. I can't latch her at all and by the fourth day, I know that she was getting hungry as her body stock up is running low. I was crying in the middle of the night with her. That's when I decided to bring out my pump.

Now she feeds happily on bottle. She is 11 days old and drinking like 90ml per feed! But still I will try to latch her when she is not very hungry. Say after I bottle fed her 80ml, I will latch her for the next 15 mins, just to bond with her.

This might not be the perfect solution for you, but for me I really am very relived, esp when I dont have to wake up to latch her, my CL can do the job with EBM.

Otherwise, call TMC and ask for Wong Boi Boi, TMC has very good support when it comes to such issue.

Dreymin.. Yah.. I tried to put him but the process can be as long as 30min but only take less than 20 sucks n it's not continuous sucks somemore . Then he start wailing n I heartpain he hungry Liao so I quickly use alternatives

wl: haha, yeah true... wonder who will deliver at stroke of midnight tonight for National Day baby!

QQ: I thot somebody's PD said its due to liver not matured that's why got jaundice? So I don't think food makes a difference bah... Your boy still got jaundice? Already 3 wks old rite cos our babies are same birthday.

CSY: Yes, my bb suckle a few times and then start to fidget and 'complain' and then he will unlatch and latch, scream, unlatch, latch again etc. This happens for the first 5 minutes. After the first few minutes, he will guai guai suckle liao... I think maybe bb is impatient for milk to come... You have to keep latching your baby .. and like what dreymin said, keep pressing (gently) his chin down or tickling his chin... so he know he gotta move his chin up and down to suckle. It takes some practice.

my birth story ... V short.. nothing interesting..

had gynae appt on the same day i popped.. (same as #1)

Dr checked me & dilated 2cm dilated. & put me on CTG. & realised that bb is not moving much. & he worried. so asked me to go walk around & come back after 10 mins. 2nd time CTG seem ok. But he still asked me if i wan to deliver the same day anot.. that time i already start feeling sng sng on the back & mild contraction.. Hence, he asked me to monitor til 7pm (which is 1.5 hr apart) & yes. i still feel sng sng & contraction.. so decided to admit by 8pm.. when i'm on the way to hospital... the contraction is as near as 5mins apart but not as intense.. still bearable..

8.10-8.30pm > do admission at counter

8.30pm > see dr & he break my water bag & he rush for his lunch & dinner... 3cm dilated

8.35-8.55pm > get prepared.. clear bowel...

9.05pm > go to delivery ward... put me on drip..

9.15 - 9.20pm > pain start to feel unbearable. dilated 4cm.. nurse ask if i want laughing gas..but i didnt ask for it..

9.35-10pm > 6cm unbearable.. used laughing gas.. strong urge to push!!! v pain.. nurse checked me already 8cm.. asked me to stop pushing. 2cm to go.. laughing gas on me all the way. til i delivered... thru out.. this time i admit laughing gas helped me alot... although i cant see a thing.. but i heard the nurses instruction... when the pain at high peak.. they ask me breathe in.. & it's amazing.. i listened & it stop me from pushing.. And i tink i had a dream.... that i have delivered my bb.. & the next moment.. my mind is clearer abit.. i saw the gynae & ohhhh no... it's not over... he asked me to push & with two pushes. bb is out.. at 2205hrs..

very short.. lucky this time become smart.. admit earlier.. if not duno wat will happen... That time outside TMC 's jam etc...

alibaba,

it is like that de. just ENDURE.

and do the following.

1. if u wanna to have oversupply of bm, u HOT TOWEL (hospital will not ask u to use hot towel cause it will cause more serious engorgement temporarily, but my experience told me after that engorgement period is over, then the milk is like a waterfall)

2. if u know that u have ample supply, then u can use cold cabbage or cold can drink(wrap with towel of course) to roll on your breasts, for relief oni. however, i tried this method, and what happened was i got serious block duct. after that i have to diligently clear my blocked ducts one by one, also painful.

so i will choose #1, if i ever get #3 next time and have engorgement again.

very painful, but after 1-2 days it will be over! even when i use pump, hardly can pump out anytime, just a little bit nia but it is normal. just do it every 1-1.5 hr, to relief yourself.

another method.

i use this to relief my breast too.

it is called Marmett technique. my fren taught me one. please google and try out. it helps to relieve a bit too.

Ann, yes.. he is still looking yellow, but drinking well, sleeping well, poo-pee ok. it should go away only after 1 month bah. my girl also like that last time, full month still looked a bit yellow.

CSy, maybe u need to wait till she is super hungry then pop the nipple into her mouth? sometimes maybe not hungry then they are not interested to suck so much de.

anyway, fyi. my ah boy also like that la. playing with nipples sometimes. igive up.

Wl: yah.. Tats what we thinking to do cos ultimately my main aim is for him to get the nutrients of breastmilk.but I scared he will totally dun wan direct breasts then next time when go out will b v problematic as I need to bring along my pump everywhere..

A lot of other ppl shared with me tat their bb can auto suck so well since few days old n tats what make me even more stressed abt my bb natural sucking ability sia. Make me wonder what's wrong with him..

Mebbe I will do like u say, feed with bottle then latch for bonding. What bottles u using? Cos I use pigeon but he doesn't seem to suck anything out. I just asked my hubby go buy avent n nuk bottle try.. See later he prefer which one

Ann,

my boy hor, when he latches on, the suckling is not OPEN PAUSE close, that type. it is just SHORT suckling, rapid and not so much pause in between.

i dunno if he drinks much from my breasts, but he gets choke v v easily probably flow is too fast for him.

how to make him get the open, pause close type of suckling? u know?

CYS, my #1, was also like your bb last time.

she suckle suckle also cannot suck anything out de. then she latched liao also equal to not latching cause my breasts stil full. her suckling power was super weak. this was like that until after she turns 6 months old. anyway, i intro bottle to her during 1 wk cause buey tahan her suckling part. i used avent bottle.

i also still let her suckle FOR FUN (breasts) until she was 3 months old then she totally rejectmy breasts.

anyway i was back to office then so there was no issue.

CSY: I"m also using Pigeon bottles! And I also find he doesn't suck so well..... he give me confused face... I dunno why this is so cos my #1 preferred to use Pigeon bottles leh. Guess its really true that every baby is different. Let me know how's the NUK bottles.... I'm thinking of going to buy NUK bottle next week to let my bb try.

QQ: I tend to think that rapid short sucking is due to wrong latch leh... ie nibbling on nipple. Do you have sore nipples still? If yes, then likely its wrong latch. Anyway, you got oversupply so he still gets the milk..... My boy also does this nibbling ..... quite sian.... that's why I do the compression plus try to stuff more of my areola into his mouth when he opens to force him to open more...

Qq: mine is a super sleepy boy.. He can sleep whole day one whole stretch for almost 5 hrs without crying for milk so I tend to worry if I shd wake him for feeding.. In case he dun get enough milk n hence too tired n Kip sleeping ?

Ann: thanks .. I I'll try this compression as well.. Hopefully will make him suck more.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

QQ: How long does yr boy latch on now ah? Mine only latch on for 10-15 mins each side... Then he zzzzzzzzz liao. Since I got limited time, I gotta compress like mad when he's sucking so as to empty my breasts.... Can't imagine if I gotta bf outside.... Pple will see a siao woman keep pressing her boobs while carrying bb ...

Ann, really?

i also think the latching could be wrong.

i wonder if we should come out and yan1 jiu4 yan1 jiu4 how to latch properly. or we all should just bring bb go lactation consultation.

my nipples not sore , but i dunno that it could be seasoned liao so wrong latch also can.

yes yes, one side (with more milk side) of my breast will spray the bm on bb's face when he pulled off from my nipple. he has the tendency to pull my nipple off to stop the flow sometimes.

i just feed lor, dun care.

i feed during day time, nigt time givce ebm now.

or i should say, i oni latch him 2-3 times a day, other times all give bottle. no energy to battle with him.

CSY, of course wake him up for milk ba. 5 hours is a long stretch especially during the day time.

if night time? then i will just leave him.

i am going to try the compression later. looks good.

CSY, think my gal is a "tam chak" wahahaha. I have bottles from different brands like pigeon, avent and medela. She drinks whatever that is being pushed into her mouth!

Hence, I'm lucky that I dont have any issue with the different bottles. But don't worry, my friends told me that some bb do prefer certain brand over another. It's normal and you gotta trial and error... Sorry cant help you on this.

Oh... one more thing, if you still want to 100% latch on, it might help to get a lactation consultant for help.

Yea yea. Think diff babies gt different preference on teats.. My hubby on way back home from the teats shopping liao.. He bot 2 avent n 2 nuk.. Now bb still sleeping so I will try latch him on first then later nuk bottle see how

Ann,

when he is hungry (he usually does), one side he drinks 5 + 5 + 5 min. 15 min but broken into 3 times cause he kept pulling away from nipples.

then the other side oni 5 min then bao bao and sleep 3 hours.

sometimes 2 hours wake up then suck again 5+5, and sleep again.

so it is never over 15 min each side.

CSY, I brought bb to Dr Ang Ai Tin on Firday, and she mentioned that if bb sleeps for more that 4 hours than gotta wake him up. According to her, newborn shouldn't be sleeping for more than a 4hours strech.

QQ, Yan jiu yan jiu?? We are not professional LCs leh. :p

I also got wrong latch technique lor..... Still debating whether should bring him to see LC.... cos I dun wanna pay $$. Mine still a bit sore even tho seasoned... Despite wrong latch, my baby can still poo like 6 times a day...... so I think he's drinking enough milk from me.... Can't imagine when CL leaves, I gotta change so many diapers all by myself....

Ann, we are not pro that's y need to yan1 jiu4 yan1 jiu4. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i think my boy's mouth too small, cannot latch well.

he is making noise, i go do the compression.

Ann, your bb only poo 6 times? That's good. My gal poo after every feed and sometimes in between feeds. So that is like more than 10 diapers lor!!!

thx for the advise..

i tink my ss is not yet enough.. still little.. duno if i have block.. cos i find bb suckle like nv clear my boobs de.. so in the end we still supplement him with FM.

my #1 i did full time pumping. also cant latch him well.. hence, find pumping is the best solution.. this time i wanna try to latch #2.. but dont seem to work well as well.. probably i have to go back to pump exclusively.. 3hrly to improve the SS...

btw how much shld bb drink? how to know if need to increase?

wl, oh... 6 times is really poop type lor....I never include those 'fart and poop' type..... I think if include those fart and some poop come out type.... it will also be > 10 times... VERY expensive to maintain 'poo poo machine' hor?

alibaba, for the 1st week, u try 30-40ml of milk first... if he finish fast fast and suck the bottle dry and still wide awake, then u add on 10ml to see if he can finish and so on.

Ann, i am back.

i tried the compression, it did help to extend the suckling part a bit longer. i will try again later. cause he zzzz le. sigh! about 14 min on one breast, with 2 intervals.

alibaba, i also find it hard to pump out during engorgement for this #2. probably we need much stronger suction to do it? but i ended up using the cold compression method to relief.

u wanna try hot towel? u pump with hot towel, or heat pads.

bb milk intake.

bb wt (kg) x 150 ml = whole day supply. (upper limite is 200ml instead of 150 ml)

say if bb 3kg, then whole day should be about 450 ml. if 5 feeds, then 90ml.

my bb drinking 90-100ml 3 hourly. if latch? we lost track. every 1-2-3 hour(unfixed) then latch 15-30 min. (also unfixed). lots of uncertainty.

anyone encounter swollen feet after delivery?During pregnancy,i don't have any swollen feet at all but right after my delivery the 2nd day..i realise my feet get swollen?Isit a concern?Thanks!

Ann : yea I tried compressing and it did help to continue the sucking a little longer.. But I duno issit due to short nipple or bb tongue a little short or mouth a little small.. It can't really continue for long.

Shall continue observe

wanna ask .. i just discharge today , give birth on the 6th, cannot latch on also. tried pumping if no milk should keep pumping for every 3-4hrs???

Csy,

probably your baby like avent bottle. Lolx~

Latch on: try to make your baby mouth big enuff to stuffwhole aerola into their mouth. Carry your baby in a way tat their face close to your breast as close as possible, but b careful not to block their nose. If flow too slow, can try massage or apply hot towel on your breast before latch on. Latch on really need a lot of patient. Jiayiu mummy!

Block duct or engorgement: can apply cold cabbage. But I heard before cold cabbage can reduce milk supply. Another way is to massage n apply hot tower on your breast to soften your breast, then empty your breast via pumping. Alternately can ask for help fr your hb. Get your hb to suck out BM fr your breast if pump or baby cannot do proper job. It did help n very efficient. =)

Mamyvelle,

drink more soup n red dates tea, massage your breast, let your baby latch on no matter how much milk u hav n keep pumping in regular interval. Jia yiu.

CSY, same here.. My gal doesn't like my right nipple, coz it is short n fat, unlike my left side which is longer n slim.. Everytime I feed her on my right, she will struggle, push me away, cry, both hands panicking in e air etc.. I felt sad initially but now I force her to drink by squeezing e nipple a bit, force into her mouth, squeeze harder so that some milk will leak n when she tastes e milk, she is more confident to suckle.. That's my way la. Something hard to position her also, need to use pillow to support her head n both hands to open her mouth n do e forcing.. Bo pian..

hellokitty: The water retention is not a concern. It will go away after a few days. I had that sudden swelling of feet too after giving birth. Wear socks at night and keep your feet elevated when u sleep.

fumiko: Thanks! I was looking at the brochures fr Neo Garden too...

mamyvelle: Yes, gotta keep pumping for 20-30mins every 3 hrly. The milk will come in soon.....

QQ

i tried hot towel massage than pump lor.. stil little bit nia.. i really mus be really hard working... hope to see result soon.

btw ur go back to baby doc ? i duno if i wanna go back to the baby doc for the 1 week later appt next week? i heard there's one good pd at woodlands tot of trying there... no need to travel all the way to novena..

MVH/Ducklingeshop/QQ

ur go back to the appointed hospital PD?? if no, where ur go?

Alibaba,

no no no . i did not go back to the PD after 1 visit. i went polyclinic for jaundice chk. anyway, we still decide what to do when the level is high or medium or low. go polyclinic for blood test, if u need to go PD, there is a good Pd at bt timah plaza. can try.

usually we see the results liao then can dun need to go le.

continue to use hot towel and massage, pump every 1-1.5hr. 1-2 days will clear.

mamyvelle, continue pumping. pumping duration should not be too long, (< 10-15 min) each session cause if no milk then it is more for stimulation. nipples will crack if too dry. so be careful. frequency of pumping is more important ba.

CSY, so avent bottle is OK! good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

any mummies here supplementing bm w some formula milk? cos my supply not enuf to keep up bb's appetite...so i started on similac...

ya neo garden is nice lei..the other one that is not bad and my office uses for functions is Orange Clove Catering..

Csy,

my 1 side oso hav inverted nipple. But after BF my boy for a period of time, the nipple come out liao. Now no more inverted nipple. So just b patient n let baby do the sucking job. Usually I will giv my inverted nipple to my boy 1st cos when he is hungry, he will need to work harder. Eventhough he is fussy he still need to work to hav his milk milk. =p

Whaseh. After my bb drank fm the bottle jus now 3pm plus, now he hungry again and demand feed.. I latch him on my breast and he can suck v v well and abt 12min!!!! Of cos with compress as well ! And he now drinking another 70ml fm the bottle..

Will baby Noe when they r full?? Sekali they jus take wadever given to them.. And wait we overfeed.. They will reject once they r full rite?

Cheekrene,

So your EDD is next wk? yah, i also agree the anticipation is agonizing...me now hoping bb will stay inside till my scheduled date but somehow every cramp i get, i will start to wonder.

Maybe you can distract yourself by planning your bb full month party.

Pekkle,

Neo garden and orange clove is the from same company but orange clove is halal.

QQ

so u still went to the 1st appt after discharge? Dr kaoi oso? i wondering shld i still go back there? or go to another PD or just go to polyclinic. i rem i brought my #1 to this pd 1st appt.. spent 190 bucks plus.. super exp... after tat we go to GP at my area for vacination.

i rem one mummy recommend a pd at woodlands.. babybear clinic or someting like tat..

ya. like u say. if latch on, also duno how to keep track.. & bb will jus keep asking for milk..

latching on

bb mouth mus cover the aerola oso ah.. so far he keep suckle on my nipple .. my nipple sore already kinda big for his little mouth -_- 1st suck is painful. subsequently i feel ok.. duno it's correct anot..

pekkle

me supplement bb with FM. latch him & supple him with FM.. sometime he latch too long & i oso duno if he drink enough anot.. so far if i latch, i supple another 1 oz. if no latch. will give 2oz approximately 3hrly.

Ann, I m doin e same thing as u leh, compressing my breasts.. E problem is my gal din finish one side then go sleep Liao.. Yrs still drinks both sides, very good le... My #1 bf very smooth-sailing leh.. This time so troublesome.. I think my gal's mouth also too small to suck e whole nipple..

alibaba, i went 1st time, and regret big time cause also expensive la. haha!!

nevermind, now i go poly for vaccination and etc etc small matters. unless bb sick (choy choy choy) then go PD bah. so my feel is, dun need to go back PD. if u wanna make sure, go to your PD (your 1st ah boy's pd?) for 1st visit then subsequent on dun need le.

there is one at woodlands, BAbybear. block 800 plus. the dr is quite ok, careful, but then i still prefer Dr ong at bt timah plaza. when dr ong is not working, then i go babybear. or i also go GP de. usually go GP la, unless specific kids problems like UTI then i go PD.

CSY, bb wont get overfed so easily de. unless your bb is SUCKY bb who suckles nonstop. for those babies, latching on sure no problem de cause they just keep sucking and sucking. i guess your baby isnot bah. : ) no worry, initial stage shouldnot be a big problem.

MVH, same here. most of the tme ah boy drink 1 side then zz le. now he is already 3 wks old, he finally can suck 2nd breast for 5 min then sleep. so, things will get better one, dun worry.

just now really drama, i pump half way my pump spoilt, pass down by my sis, has been used for around 5 or 6 years liao... so coincidentally... hb at home (gal fell sick so he has been driving her around or stay at my mum's place for refuge)

anyway just now i broke down too, due to the separation from my gal and little milk being pump out, that's why he's at home... so just down broke one of the rules, went out taka sale to buy medela swing pump, damage $419...

after hours breast terribly engorge, but cannot really clear out... now still engorge...

oh yah i got problem latching on too... either it's too short or he get use to the bottle already...

suika,

insert pills fast or slow also individual... i'm consider fast also...