(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

QQ

the thought of spending another 200 bucks .. i heartpain.. ya. same pd for #1.. i tink maybe i shall go polyclinic. or the babybear clinic.. anyone has the contact no.? 1st appt do wat? check jaundice level? weight & height nia right..

btw ur take DOM (for the breastfeeding mummy)?

eeyore

tink many are experiencing the same ting.. hope after getting a new pump u can have ur engorgement cleared... my 1st night after discharge was disaster...middle of the night my #1 cried soo badly.. wanted to come over my room to slp with me... i tink he jealous.. but in the day, he seems to be coping quite well..

i also neve latch my bb gal, cuz she will get very pek chek.now i expess all the milk out and let her drink, i also can't meet her supply.. no choice during nightfed i need 2 gif her FM..

i trying to boast my breatmilk supply leh..but everytime i can only pump like 50ml or the most 70ml.. haiz.

WL: i alo v excited who is gg to pop tonight when the clock hit 12am...

Ann: neo garden cater is nice..

Alibaba, I m a ks mummy.. I always bring my gal to pd.. So this time will be doing e same as well.. Personal choice la.. Coz I can always bombard e pd with questions anytime.. Keke.. Still got 24/7 hotline to call mah..

Sian leh, after 2-3hrs, my breasts r still soft leh.. I scare my supply drops.. Sob sob.. I regretted not pumping when my breasts r hard as rock..

Do u all still swaddle yr bb? My CL stops swaddling my gal's hands these few days.. Then I observe that sometimes she will be a little startle n raise her both arms.. I tried to swaddle her at times but my CL said no need le, n unswaddle.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pekkle: I also supplement with FM during the 1st week or so.. Only after day 10 when he went on nursing strike then I latch on entirely.

CSY: Good that he can suck better now. Gotta keep latching him on so he can remember how to suck the right way.

MVH: My supply not fantastic mah... so after he drink 1 side, he will zzzzz but I know that drink 1 side is not enough for him so I will do lots of things to wake him up..... Spent like 10 mins waking him up and then let him continue drinking from 2nd side. If only drink 1 side, I think he will wake up every 1 hour...

I agree with QQ... as our babies grow bigger, their mouth gets bigger and they will be able to latch on better. In the meantime, we all have to persevere......

alibaba: My CL told me I can drink DOM but need to wait 4 hrs before can bf baby. I don't feel comfortable with that so I refuse to drink.....

MVH: My CL insists on swaddling my baby even tho he's 3 wks old liao........ so different from my #1 CL where she stopped swaddling in 2nd wk. I prefer not to swaddle but my CL kept doing it .. I boh pian... You can put the bean sprout pillow on her chest so that she won't get startled.

mvh,

for mi i like to swaddle my bb s long s possible but both my hb n godmum heartpain to swaddle her hands in...but then again i'll oni let her hand out oni after manyue....heheee

if u wan her to b swaddle then tell her....i feel it's good to swaddle bb esp mine is sleeping alone in her own room now

MVH, no worry, just continue... the supply will come back de, but it takes a little longer. what pump u using?

Baby Bear Children'S Clinic

849 Woodlands St 82 #01-209 Opp Woodlands North Plaza, 730849, Singapore

p: 62696928 f: 62696929

i suggest u go polyclinic and do the jaundice test before u go see dr. cause i dunno if they have the test there or not. u call and ask.

eeyore. i got the same problem as u but i did not send my girl to another place cause i have no place to quarantine her. so we all stay under one roof also. she also buey song and had nightmare for two days bah. after that ok le. i bochap. i grab her and read her story books while latching my boy. i get her involved in bringing things for me. i oni told her, cannot hug and kiss didi cause didi is still soft and weak. she ok. now she recovered le, she try to hug didi but no kissing yet. phew*

not easy sia... no worry.. things will get better after few days de. and now, my hb brings her to macdonald and playground to make sure she is happy EVERYDAY.

Ann, my CL swaddle bb when he sleeps at night cause she said can sleep longer. anyway, i bochap. day time i dun bao1 him anymore. sometimes i just remove his mittens. he is ok not to be swaddle.

DOM or alcohol:

i started taking alcohol at night since last night. but then i told CL that i will pump once and throw that batch. so i did.

i have enough supply at the moment, so i think it is better for me to do so now, rather than next time when my supply is low.

i was quite hesitated when taking alcohol ornot, but think think think, maybe this is my last bb le, probably i need to grab this chance to bu3 my body back, be it really effective or not.

alibaba,

actuall i feel that after 4 hours, maybe still got a bit of alcohol left in body, so i pump out and throw. i can still smell some alcohol after few hours. maybe xin1 li3 zuo4 yong4. i dunno leh. i took another type of liquor.

mao2 ji1 jiu3..

winnie, u are in your 2nd week? 50-70ml ok mah. can slowly increase de. jia you! u can pump every 2.5 hour instead, if u want. cause your breats might not be fully emptied after pumping.

what pump u using? some pumps dun clear the breasts well.

wow, many more mummies popped...

wonder if tonight got national day baby popping? hehe!

ann,

i will try my best to rest more. count down to 5 days to my ML.

bakaholic,

my EDD is 24th but Dr Kee said I might pop early.. So waiting is really agonising. I had already planned my full month party since few months back.. hehe! i and my husband even settle down what cake to give out =D

re: catering

Four Seasons catering is quite nice too. Neo garden used to be very nice but I realise their standard drop.

QQ,

Same, same! My hb also started bringing my gal to Macdonalds, Library and nearby shopping mall to ensure that she's happy and get some attention. BUT now my gal tell me "You are a bad mother. Papa is a good father." [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I think I really gotta try to find some time to spend with her....

cheekrene, u too advance liao le. full month celebration also planned le.i am still counting how many angku to order. haha!

Ann, yalor. my gal had fun with papa. but then when she is at home, i try (try la, but not fully 100%), try to spend time with her. read her books. so i oni latch boy day time, at night CL help to feed and i just pump and play with my gal. very xin1ku3 hor? and i promise her to bring her to mac after my confinement, cause she kept asking when can we bring didi out.

MVH, u can try using your pump to clear your breast after latching? or u pump out a little before latching, then can boost supply de.

u have this GINAFORD book? there is a method to increase milk supply.

May I ask those who are expressing milk, is it normal for 1 breast to produce more milk than the other? I'm expressing like 70ml on one and 100ml on the other...

QQ,

mine is very straightforward. I only give cakes to my company. As for my own parent, a few boxes will do as they contact very few relatives. For friends, i just invite a few to the party. My husband also give cakes to his company but then my MIL is the one who want to invite her "san gu liu po" to the party lor. So bo bian.

Wl: yes I also pumping diff amt on diff breasts..shd be normal bah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wl, yours consider quite balance liao. my breasts initially started with 30ml vs 150 ml.

then now i pump the low side more, get 90 vs 150ml. sigh! it is V V normal. if u have equal size and equzl volume, then a bit too ideal and uncommon. also normal!

cheekrene, i also give to coligs. count until head big big. cause our offices a bit luan4 and got big and small offices. chim. i need to recount again by friday.

neighbours we give cakes too. then that's it, quite simple.

Cheekrene n QQ,

my co very simple, all either order big cake for every floor (3 floor) office staff to share or just buy those cut cake to taste. My hb co giv bangawan solo cake card. Relative n other friends at sg oso cake card, my relative at Malaysia my mom will home made ang gu kuey n red egg (tradition) n cook some gluco rice to giv. N we hav simple home cook buffet at home (sg) last time during my boy full mth for my hb relative.

Thanks ann!

Btw..got another que..any mummies here not gng to have bf at all?I'm using FM for my bb..no bf so doc gave me pills to eat to stop the milk from coming,but my breast still feel like very hard?Anyone like me..why isit like that?What can i do?Thanks!

QQ, CSY, thanks for the assurance.

Ann, I bo bian... my gal is a sucking monster! I was feeding her only 60ml on Monday and has been increasing since then... today -> 90ml! Keeping my fingers crossed that I can keep up with her demand.

Hi all, can't catch up liao. But I know u all toking abt taking care of Bb and breastfeeding.

I'm still waiting. Not sure when Bb wan to come out.

ahNah's wife deliver liao?? No news leh.

jascmy,

same here. i can't seem to catch up with them. lost track liao... i am still waiting too.

n_g & QQ,

I wish to have simple buffet but my MIL want to make it big. some more my parent wouldn't want to join in the buffet as they are not in good term with my MIL. haiz.

QQ, I scare if I pump out the remaining, then my gal wakes up n then I have no excess for her to drink.. Somemore now cannot touch uncooked water, difficult for me to wash e pump leh.. Unless I bochap the water rule...

MVH, i am not sure about brown rice water, should be ok bah since it is WATER based. dun drink MALT (holicks) can liao.

take more oatmeal.

take it EASY ok? relax and milk will slowly come in.

Cheekrene, so tense the relationship? qing1 jia1 dun give face can meh??

your mil wanna SHOW off grandchild ah? it is just one day event, just hope that it passes by v quickly and then over le.

hi jascmy

dont worry. it's ur turn soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

am now pumping... haiz. tink gonna get up in the midddle of the night to pump again..

eeyore

oh poor gal.. she will recover soon.. my boy got viral fever before i delivered. worried when i stayed in hospital.. missed him terribly. but thx god he's fine when i discharged.

QQ

thx!! i tink will give the clinic a call & check it out.. or else go polyclinic.. long Q anot??

mvh

oh.. PD oh.. i tink if noting serious , i wont go PD. normal flu or vacination can just go GP.. save $$... hehe..

toking about full month,,

am sourcing for a buffet catering & cake for distributing too.. the last time for #1 i ordered chocolate four petites..this time round...tis time unsure... anyone can recommend? my mil suggest one with red eggs... errmm.. is sweetest moment good?? their cakes look pretty.. with our darling pics..

MVH, ek hem....

(i bochap the touch water rule liao).. ek hem.. but i dun wash my stuff la. i let CL wash them. i still make milk for my elder kid, and sometimes kena shit from ah boy, of course wash hands ma.

oh, in case your ah girl wake up for milk, then u continue feeding , then supply will slowly go up even more. right? just that she has to try harder to suck more. or u PUMP one side? then leave one side for her in case she wakes up?

alibaba,

1st time for bb at polyclinic, it takes a while for registration (open file).

but newborn hor, no Q de. got special Q (very fast one).

so it is worth going.

alibaba, hee..

i also brush teeth la. then i saw my basin dirty, i even go clean it. after that hor, i dry my hands quickly la.

my mum even more steady, she said cannot wash hair, etc etc. but can use water to wash lower body cause got wounds. so means can bath lower body nia? she was conflicting herself. haha! i just do whatever i like. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but i dun soak myself in a water for bath can le.

do ur have the cramp? i heard it's the uterus contracting tat result cramp... it's already few days liao... norm?

alibaba, my contraction of womb hor, i think last for 1 week. or at least 6 days bah.

it all depends de. some ppl can last till 2 weeks or so.

same here... i oso ... hahaha... wah lao.. i think my boy want to suckle for comfort.... just now my maid just feed 2 oz of milk.... eyes still big big when i carry him... then mouth turn one side open big big.. i tot drank too much...wanna puke... then offer him breast he want... . -_-

wah!! how did u girls pump so much? wad did u all eat? mi till now still pumping oni 100ml from both side

Alibaba,QQ

My CL cooks water for me to wash face, brush teeth or cleaning lower parts lor.. My mil said must use cooked water.. Sigh.. I think waste gas only..

I think I continue to bf her for another week n see how it goes.. Recently at this time, she keeps waking up every hr n need suckling.. Duno issit growth spurts or not.. I remember e 3,6 rule.. 3weeks, 6weeks, 3months, 6months growth spurt.. But my gal only 2 weeks old.. Strange..

MVH, yr gal wakes up every hour? U can tahan ah?

I just spent the past 5 hrs (10pm-3am) latching my boy on and off....Faint..... I think demand more than supply liao... Cham!!

I have delivered my girl, Elrica, via emergency c sect w epi on 8/8/10, 8.18pm. She weighs 3.095kg and length(didnt hear clearly).

Gestation period was 39w1d.

Birth story:

07 aug, 2.30pm

Admitted to Kkh for induction as planned due to waterbag low. Headed to delivery suite and did registration at the counter. Was brought to a room, strapped on to ctg and 1st prostin pill inserted.

5.30pm:

Was told to go normal ward to rest and go back ds at 10pm. Around 7 plus, backache came and i thought is the level of the bed not gd but it was actually the start of contractions. Lol.

10pm:

Went back delivery suite room & did ctg again. Was told contractions was at close intervals, 2nd prostin can't be inserted. Sent back to normal ward 2 hrs later and must be back for induction drip(think is oxytocin) at 6am.

8 aug, 6am

Went down to labour ward, put on two drips, 1 glucose 1 induction drip. Hb laid down on the couch beside my bed n slept, while i watched tv & waited.

7.15am, dr on duty came to do ve and burst waterbag, dilation 3cm.

10.30am, contractions getting a bit stronger, still can tahan. Nurse on duty came in to check on and off, said i had regular contractions, asked me want epi? Of course i declined, Haha, she gave me those smirk, said ok then walked out. I was like, lol! What expression?

11.10am, dr came & did ve, still 3cm, increased the dosage of drip.

2pm,

Contractions getting stronger and i had 1 in 2mins. 3plus pm, asked for laughing gas. Relief of pain on temp cos got the light headed feeling. Dr came in and checked, still 3cm.. Told me if by 5pm still 3cm most probably have to c sect.

A bit disheartening to hear that, i kept talking to bb and told her to be good so that mummy can deliver naturally.

4 plus pm, contractions were getting more intense, felt like poo-ing and backbones breaking! Told my sleeping hb and he got straight up, asked me 'u ok or not?! U ok or not?!' then i groan Abit. He Sayang me and drifted back to sleep! Felt like smacking him seriously! Lol but forgave him cos i knew he was tired as he didnt sleep well for 2 days. End up gave in to epi, lucky the morning nurse on duty went back already. Hehehe! Signed a form & after briefing by anesthetist, epi was administered. I can only say, epi was a life saver!

5.30pm, dr came in and did ve, 3cm once again. Was told to c sect cos cervix not dilating well. Felt so sad and told her to let me try 2 more hrs. She said ok but if still 3cm, must c sect already cos based on her experience, if really can dilate at the most is only 5-6cm, by then fetal heartbeat might drop too. She increased the dosage higher and went off.

Was praying and praying hard for a miracle to happen and finally 7.15pm came, she came in and checked cervix, 3-4cm again! I knew the answer and agreed to go ahead w c sect. After she left the room, i teared abit & felt sore. Hb was comforting me and kept saying it's ok, c sect doesn't mean u unable to give birth to bb safely ma. Rmb the 10 months, our aim is to bring bb safely to this world no matter what happens. Felt better after what he said plus got a peck from him, hee. Dr came in to brief abt c sect and signed the form.

Around 7.45pm, everything was prepared and was wheeled to OT. Hb was told to wait outside cos Kkh don't practise hubby's companion in emergency c sect.

7.45pm to 8.15pm:

Given higher dosage of epi and antibiotics. Had the side effects and shivering non stop(those type of teeth going grrr grrr grrr) plus vomiting. Then surgeon came to test on the level of numbness. After the op started, can feel some tugging & pushing. Around 8.15, was told that baby's head is out and they are going to do some pushing. Another surgeon kept stroking my forehead saying everything's gonna be fine & baby coming out soon. Very comforting as i was shivering thru out and felt nausea.

8.18pm, baby was out! Felt so happy and relieved when she cried! They showed bb's genital part & confirmed is gal. Lastly I was stitched up & sent to recovery ward to monitor.

-The End-

Sorry for the long winded post![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann

Me just got.up and pump.... Before tat also keep latching bb from 11-1am..

Mvh

at least proper Confinement. Mine sshould b cannot make it. Nv lie down. Wash hand v often. I only drink eat like confinement. Shower and sshampoo w herbs nia. Do start feeling backache liao. Tat s y mil asked me to drink DOM but bf.

Congrats mandy and take care. safety is most important no matter Wat type of delivery

QQ,

ya lor, my in-laws dun give face during my wedding and now come to full month party. She also wanna show off our house (i stay in condo) but our house is still empty without much renovation. So sian lor.

Mandy,

congrats. Thanks for sharing your story.

Alibaba,

i am getting sweetest moments as i like their packaging. I heard it's quite nice so i had already decide on them since the price is almost the same as i compared with other vendors.

Aiya i thought my water bag was leaking after my toilet visit. Wait for half an hour, it's already dry up and realise it was normal clear discharge. Baby is moving actively so now i can't get back to sleep. Grrr. Is it normal to have clear discharge instead of yellowish white discharge? It look so deceiving.

Ann, bb cranky from 10pm to 1am.. Feed every hr.. After that, she is ok.. Tired period coz #1 sleeping time also around this period, hence need to jagar both of them..

Alibaba, try to lie down as much as u can la. I got skip some rules, din wear long pants, long sleeves, din wear socks, sleep in air-con room, keke. So not consider full confinement..

Mandy, congrats! Indeed it is a long wait for u.. Nice to hear that got ppl an wei u during e c-sec.. Can't imagine hubby not ard n feeling not well alone... Have a good rest! Take care..

Alibaba, I don't like Dom, coz very super sweet.. Can't stand e taste.. But I will start on chicken essense, coz not much 'bu' taken yet..

Cheekrene, e discharge can be clear in color.. If lumpy type, might be mucus plug.. Monitor again ba..