(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

for mummies who had gone thru epi c section, is it true that the jab to inject the epi is v painful? a colleague told me that ydae and it sent jitters down my spine wor...told me the needle is huge lor....thats why she opted for GA c section for all 3 pregnancies...

Pekkle,

I think last time I opt for epidural too late liao, so cannot feel the pain from the jab but feel only contraction pain. Heeheehee...

jascmy, okok... let wait for your turn to be ready by 2 weeks later.

pekkle, the jab is still bearable... not to worry so much..., when u are abt to given the jab... try to think about u r going to see the bb after half an hour... the pain will release too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pekkle,

i had epi c section for my #1 , i find the most scary part is the epidural part and stitching part =) but for 1st time mummies , not so scare cost u dont know what is going to be the next step , but now i #2 , really more scare lor ... cos that time , they say cant find the area to poke , then ask me curl up then manage to poke the epi needle . curl up as in my knees and my breast meet lor .... u just dont go see the needle lah , very fast over one ... once the epi needle done , hubby can come in liao , then u wont feel ur bottom body liao , then very fast see ur daring liao =) worth it ! haha

Pekkle: my bb weight is 2.535kg. U gvg birth in Mt E right? Pls choose the 1 bedded room if u can.... The double bedded is horrible.... Also I realized the hospital now provides a breastfeeding gown everyday so u no need to bring PJs. They even gave a new gift of receiving blanket n romper for bb. So I realized I shouldn't have packed so many things....

QQ: congrats!!! So the machine over estimated yr bb weight initially hor....

Seems like all of us on Ventolin (haitang, QQ, me) have given birth early...

duckling and white lady > thanks for the sharing and assurance! i m usually not too afraid to taking injections and being poked....sounds like it shld be manageable!

eeyore_03,

wahhh...u steady leh!!! can remember all the mummies' EDD... thanks for the list!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning everyone, thanks for the well wishes! Here is my birth story:

11am: Routine gynae check-up at 37wks + 5 days. Discovered I was already 4cm dilated, even though there were no painful contractions. Baby head was also low. Immediately admitted into Mt A.

2pm: Epidural administered.

2.30pm: Still only 4cm dilated.

4pm: Started to feel some contractions. Epidural dosage increased (not a gd idea). My blood pressure started to drop to dangerously low levels and I was having difficulty breathing. Given oxygen mask, but it didn't help much. I seriously thought I was going to die lor ... hubby held my hand and prayed. Felt some peace and nurse lowered the epi dosage back. Could breathe normally after that.

4.45pm: 6cm dilated. Gynae came to break my water-bag and add medication to my drip to hasten the dilation.

6pm: Very strong contractions felt and could feel baby lowered. Nurse confirmed I was 10cm dilated and called gynae. Contractions became very painful but due to afternoon's experience, decided to tahan the pain instead of relying on epidural.

6.55pm: 2 pushes and baby Alice was out! 2.85kg

Hey mummies, are yr littles ones getting super active? Im almost at week 37 and my gal has been poking here and there.. be it sitting or standing!

My hubby say its because its a sign the little one wants to come out soon.. and i have not pack hospital bag yet.

Pekkle: the double bed room was super cramped and dunno why the air conditioning wasn't too good. I kept sweating non stop. There is only space for 1 visitor chair and my hubby felt quite cramped too. Our luggage n bags all put on floor so gotta bend down every time to take something.... Not so comfy to bend down up after giving birth. After we shifted to 1 bedded room, hb and I were cheering... Just felt so much more relaxed and comfortable, plus I didn't need to keep walking past a stranger on the way to toilet esp when my bleeding was so bad, it kept trickling down my legs....

Saffy: 2 pushes? Cool! I hope minw will be as quick as yours!

Re: Epidural

Anyone aiming NOT using epi for natural? Cos so far I see everyone uses epi for natural birth..

Nature Lover, Me! I aim not to use epi. But my pain tolerance very super low, praying hard that I will not request for epi on that very day. I have also ask my hubby to help me reject the offer for epi.

Morning all,

So long nevery log in and so many ppl have popped!

Nature Lover, my gal is also very active. And she can kick both legs together at the same time. So I can feel 2 movements, one to the left and one to the right...

My last check up was with Dr Benjamin Tham, cos my gynae was on leave. He is super nice! I love him straight away. Should have him as my gynae from the beginning.

At Wk37D2, BB is estimated to be a whopping 3.2kg! But Dr Benjamin said, if she decides to come out within the next 2 weeks, it's still "deliverable".... SO if later than that, it's NON-DELIVERABLE lah?!!?! I almost fainted!

Have been having nightmares about delivery! I don't even know what to expect.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

congrats QQ & Ann & other mummies~

so exited to hear mummies here popping one by one.. make me sooo nervous although am a 2nd time mummy.. hee

saffy

congrats! do take care.. the part of the epi dosage. i tot they will increase gradually.. but thank god u're fine!!

ann > wah, so cramped ah the double bedded room....wat's the price difference between the single and double bedded room? will discuss w hubby and see if shld upgrade...

nature lover > i m into 37 weeks...bb has been v active over the last few weeks! think thats v normal and a good sign....but sometimes just gotta bear w the small pain that comes with hard squirming and stretching...hee...

Ahnah: okies.. but she will be delivering later than me right.. =P

Jascmy: You will also be delivering later than me too...

Dun tell me Im the first one up that will be attempting natural w/o epi.. huh.. =P

WL, Pekkle: okies, that sounds better.. cos at least I know that are other more active bbs out there =P

WL: can deliver lah!! yr gynae pro c-sect is it?

nature lover

i tink i will also opt natural w/o epi if possible.. last appt, bb is head down but not yet engage.. hope he will remain head down all the way.

Alibaba: Gd for you!! But yr date also later then mine.. heehee.. =P Im also praying that bb will be engaged soon!!

Maybe WL can be the first one up? =P

Seriously though Im reall y wondering when's my turn? =P

wl,

coz w that weight now if drag another 2 more wks meaning by then it's almost 4kg liao lor....would b rather big for natural....or they'll not advice coz in case cannot tahan the pain dbl charges mah

Good morning everyone..

Congrats to Saffy and QQ!!

Naturelover,

Yah.. mine kicking alot.. hehe.. esp at nite when i sleep.

Re: Epidural

Me lor.. haha. i dun plan to use epi cos scared will cause more back prob to me. So my hubby tell me to keep in mind.. when pain keep thinking abt $500 to use for bb.. then will forget abt taking epi.. keke..

nature lover

my EDD 19 Aug. my #1 i popped 10 days earlier.. maybe expect tis time the same...& gynae comment bb is bigger than #1..

nature lover,

me me.. i aiming natural without epi.. hehe.. hopefully can tahan with just the painkiller jab at the thigh

alibaba, so ur #1 came out really fast. So envy!

I'm fine, ya still working. I will only start my Annual Leave (last yr b/f) on 23 Aug. Will save my ML for BB.

How abt u?? We still have not meet up leh. We stay so near yet so far. Maybe weekend see how bah.

I also hope my Bb will come out real fast so that I no need suffer the pain for so long and end up take epi.

nature, I'm not sure wat my gynae's preference is... she nv really talk to me about birth plan and all. She only asked me once if I have heard of epidural. Make sure I dont be a hero and wait for too long to ask it...

I'm still secretly hoping to go through it al-natural... but with a giant inside, I'm not so sure already!

NatureLover,

I'm NOT opting for epi...

alibaba,

last appt, gynae also say my bb very low but not engage yet...

now appt is once a week liao... gg to see him this friday again...

suika,

my colleague's classmate just delivered last nite n her baby is 4kg.. if delivered at nite, shd be natural, right? cuz c-sect only schedule during day or noon..