(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Jus came back from lunch and leaving office to airport now. On a 1555hrs flight to Bangkok... Going to miss my big boy for a few days. I'll check forum when i get back to hotel after training, should have not much things to do at Bangkok...

dreymin: how ur maid? ok mah? i tot of hiring one..hehehehe.. indo fresh...

purelyz: take care!

dreamz81: the uncle so yuck!

my hubby friend pass down a pillow for breast feeding..anyone know how is the pillow use?

yah, my freckles gotten worse too... been using a bit of whitening cream and every day use sunblock... hopefully they would not worsen...

ednique,

mine belly button seems to have a horizontal line running across it... so it looks like a

cross with my belly button as the centre.. haha~

jascmy,

I'm having bb girl, still have the line. so i guess it's not true...

pd0513,

think maybe its a FB glitch, no prob uploading pics tdy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tikey,

actually i'm not really certain when's my EDD. my LMP is not accurate.

the earliest scan i had that is dated was at 8wks, EDD stated as 3aug. oscar & DS indicate 2aug though.

anyway, since only diff of 1 day, guess shd not be too much of an issue lah.

me having a c-sect with epidural as well. there's another type called c-sect spinal.

not sure what's the difference, will try to ask woody during next visit.

my hb wants to calculate an auspicious date for c-sect lah so i still dun know what date yet.

are u at TMC too? we may see each other in the hosp if our dates are near. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re. linea nigra,

i have a very faint line fr bust down to belly button but no more line thereafter.

i'm carrying a gal. and my belly button din protude out as well.

my bb's movements getting more & more obvious. previously could only feel her when i'm lying in a still position.

now, i basically feel her when i'm eating, standing, bathing & even doing big business in toilet. lol.

anyone starts to read bedtime stories to ur little one?? i know some mtbs talk to their bb all the time.

i'm a bad mama, i hardly talk to my bb leh. my hb talks to my belly more often actually.

just feels kinda weird talking to my belly. also feels funny reading out loud to myself.

the no. of times i actually speak to my gal todate, think can count on one hand (still have balance too).

btw, u know how bb are always snugly wrapped in blankets in the nursery rm?

my fren who just gave birth a wk ago told me its gd to keep bb wrapped in a blanket for the 1st 3mths? any idea why this is so??

i havent had a chance to talk to my fren yet as she's residing in HK now & she's totally busy with bb & breastfeeding etc.

if we do wrap bb in a blanket, any idea if the hands shd be placed at the chest or at the side?

i dun want to restrict bb's movements too much lah, scare bb uncomfy leh.

purelyz,

do take care when you at BKK...

winnie,

think there are different types of breastfeeding pillows. But it's usually to support your baby and arm when you breastfeed so you wun feel so tired... one sample link here for you. =)

http://www.babygeartoday.com/wp-content/2008/04/babygeartodaycom-cuddoozle.JPG

Angel,

at least ur hubby talks to your bb... my hubby only talks to her like once every 2 days and will be 1 sentence only lor... I've been talking to bb when i'm alone... telling her about my day, where we gng, ask her to grow up well and healthy... when go for DS scan, i even promise to buy her a set of nice clothes if she let sonographer take measurements without any difficulty... and she did lor... finished DS about 15mins... haha~

starz,

hmmm... my hb do talks to her but the bulk are complaints abt me lor.

like "mummy dun talk to u" or "mummy dun read stories to u" blahblahblah.

i been telling him not to talk crap with bb but he still continues to do so lor.

to be fair though, he will tell bb not to kick too hard becos its making mummy uncomfy etc and he will say gdnight etc to bb lah.

i did talk to my gal the night before DS asking her to be gd & co-operative.

she did too & i finished my DS within 30mins as well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but other than the DS, i cant rem when i last spoke to my bb lor.

i do sayang my tummy all the time lah. when she moves or kicks, i will rub my belly cos i read this is the time bb respond to ur touch etc. maybe i shd just try reading some stories to my gal during the day cos at night too much distraction fr TV & PC.

is it really neccesary to read aloud or is it ok to read it in ur heart??

lol~ i'm like ur hubby, will "complain" to bb that daddy dun want talk to her...

i think it is better to read aloud as she can hear your voice... i tried doing for a few nights but recently too tired to read le...

Angel, I heard Bb like to be wrap cos they want the feeling of security. They are used to staying in tight environment in our tummy so once they are out, they are not use to it so wraping will help then feel the back in Mum's tummy feeling. Its also good to wrap when Bb crying non-stop.

daintyaqua> haha my hubby is teaching our baby 1 new word every day according to the alphabet order. dunno is we too sensitive or what, but when it is time for his new word, he will start kicking a few times. anyway my hubby has been dilligently talking to my baby every morning and night after attending Mdm Wong's class last sat. Even last 2 days i not working and he is, he will talk to my baby while i sleeping.

i do "communicate" to our baby as often as I can. Things like ... give your mum a kick. GO and sleep and etc.

heheheeeee

starz,

haha, ok i took the 1st step out, read the princess & the pea (1page) & the frog prince (3pages) to my gal just now.

googled fr children's fairy tales collection online. also sang the song - do re mi to my gal twice.

haha, i'm fast! think that's a gd start. in btwn the story reading & the song singing, bb got kick now & then, not sure if she's reponding though.

jascmy,

oic, thx! at least now i know how come its gd to wrap bb in a blanket for the 1st 3 mths.

think must ask the nurse at tmc to teach the correct way of wrapping so u dun hurt the bb lah.

wonder where we can get the blanket?? cant seemed to find it at kiddy palace leh.

dreamz,

that's very sweet of ur hb. my hb not so onz lah. he'll be staring at his PC more than he stare at my belly lor.

starz--> wah yours still got horizontal line across belly button.. hehe so cute. .

Starz & Angel --> i thought i was doing quite ok by talking to my baby, reciting some prayers and reading aloud a few mins at night before i sleep.. but both of u wow even read fairy tales to your child! i must learn to be more hardworking like u both hehe..

Angel--> usually its called 'receiving blanket' and it's not really thick material. i bought a pack of 2 receiving blankets from kiddy palace recently.. cost abt $10. i heard from my mom that in olden days, they used a clean diaper cloth to wrap baby..

ahNah; Angel was referring to past few days ago that she can't upload photos to FB..but now okay le.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xpinkxuan,

i aso came back from routine check this morn; my gal is slightly smaller than kor kor who was ard 700g at week 25. My doc said her growth is on track; nothing to worry about.

ann and ahNah,

i juz got a body pillow from aussino a week ago to supoort my back. seems like a waste money coz it is too soft! my boy is using it to wrestle with his daddy like WWF tournament, haha!

purelyz,

take care and hv a gd trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

winnie,

my current maid considered quite gd can handle my 2yo, do hsework and cook. my luck with maids 50/50. first one v lazy, i chg her before i had my first kid. the second v street smart; she stayed for 2 yrs said she makes more money at home. the 3rd knows how to act blur; i tahan till my current one came. my 4th so far ok; but v emo so hv to manage expectations.

i aso used a breastfeeding pillow for DS; it helps a lot coz i had a CS and cannot carry him for long w/o pain. i got a Brestfren from Parentcraft TMC.

Angel,

yes jascmy is right, babies like to feel secure so the nurses wrap them like a mummy once they are out of our womb. havg said that, some babies like DS like to wiggle out all the time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angel/starz/dreamz/ednique,

i guess my hubby and i hv to learn from you gals; must speak to baby more.

dreamz,

u must have more faith in ur hb mah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ednqiue & dreymin,

aiyo, no lah. i just started reading to my gal fr tdy only. prior to that, hardly even talk to her. (bad mama) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hope i can persist too.

ednique,

oh this is called the receiving blanket huh? think TMC got give leh. anyway, u bought urs at kiddy palace??

we went to kiddy palace at compasspoint but cant seemed to find. maybe din look thoroughly lah.

FBI/SBI

For mummies giving birth in TMC, pls sign up coz there is a 15% discount for Std Chart card members and also a significant price levy once you passed the 28 weeks mark.

I always passed by the info counter but today decided to be KP and asked about the card offer. Just nice coz now i m wk 25; so signed up on the spot. Paid $108.80 after the discount which is a good deal coz I got a large can of milk for mummies to be plus $100 discount for the room charges.

FBI Normal $148/$188 (after week 28 preg)

After discount $125.80/$159.80

SBI Normal $128/$148 (1st born other hosp)/$188 (after week 28 preg)

After discount $108.80/$$125.80/$$159.80

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#firstborn

dreymin,

we are still looking for a maid. our current one leaving on 29may, alr booked air-tix for her.

actually our 1st 2 maids are pretty gd, can work w/o supervision, take initiatives too so u dun have to keep asking them do this & do that. but i know we are prob quite lucky so far.

nowadays, i heard is more like the maids choosing u i/o the other way round.

if u live in a big house, they dun want.

if u have too many ppl in ur house, they also dun want.

some maids u have to keep pushing them to do this & that. others, even u ask alr, either do so unwillingly or just act blur.

now that we need the maid to look after my nb bb as well, really worried how's the new maid is like lor.

all the fresh indo ones are so young like 23-25yrs old, no exp in taking care of infants too.

*STRESSED*

angel,

jia you! i hv to admit i speak to no.2 much less than DS; my hubby is guilty of the same.

we used to spend time speaking/singing/praying for baby b4 we both sleep.

now the energy is all focused on DS. time to do something!

angel,

i can totally understand ur situation. my 3rd maid who came in early feb; was just like how u described. she chose chores to do; hide in the kitchen; cant even feed my son properly.

i was super stressed during the transition period so it was a relief to let her go after waiting 1 mth for my current maid to arrive.

your observation is spot on. my agent complained that my 3rd maid rejected a job offer coz the house is too big; prospective employer stays in 2 or 3 storey house. the second time i went down to agency; she complained the maid's new boss cannot tahan her work attitude and returned her to agency. This speaks a lot coz the employer is a malay and usu they take care of indo maids v well; and is a relative of a staff at the agency to boot. So this maid really has attitude.

i know my current one is good so i wan to make sure she is happy working with me and hopefully stay beyond the 2 yrs mark! she is also young, 23 yo, no experience in SG but has taken care of baby/young child in Indo. So it is possible to find a maid who is young to take care of babies.

from my personal experience; you hv to read the profile v carefully. My hubby and I took time to scrutinise the profiles for my current one; i shortlist while he makes the final selection. we also looked back at the maid's profile who stayed 2 years with us; her profile says she loves kids; even though she has no exp handling babies in indo.

Pray you and hubby can find a good helper to look after the new addition.

Angel--> the receiving blankets usually abt 50x50 cm in size..u delivering at Tmc? gd lah since its provided..

Dreymin--> maybe what u can do to encourage ur hubby, u ask him listen to ur tummy for bb heartbeat..i asked my hubby to do that n bb kicked each time he plc his ear to my tummy to listen.. my hubby got excited n since then my hubby started to talk n get more involved with baby.

Angel

I'm delivering in Mt. A. Had my #1 there and I like the nurse. Hubby don't like TMC coz the parking is a problem. If I remember correctly is placed bb hand by their side. The nurse in the hospital will teach you how to wrap after you delivered. They really wrap it very thightly, I was worried that bb will be uncomfortable but bb doesn't seem so. Last time I attended the prenatal class by TMC and Mdm Wong sells bb swandle wrap cloth and towel towards end of the course. Which I find the quality is very good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Karenthk

Are you still keen to meet up tom at Compass POint.? Guess is only you and me.. haha

Tikey,

Sorry, busy at work these few days... still rushing report till now...sigh.

Well since only 2 of us, then no need lar, maybe will go for the meetup on 27th May.

Hope to see u then ;)

I had my check up last night. Currently baby is at 600 which she is on track at week 24. Look like my baby is the smallest among all of you. Now I still got 1 more month before I enter to 3rd trimester.

charmaine,

I just started my childbirth course from TMC. but I am not doing any prenatal yoga as i can do my own exercise like swimming.

dreamz,

I remember you told me that you were going for prenatal class at AMK. I could not remember your face as seen in FB but there were many couples attending the class last sat =)

daintyaqua,

Same here, my baby's movements are getting more obvious. She love moving inside my tummy when I am lying in a still position. Also I can feel her when I am eating or standing but not in bathing & doing big business in toilet la. Haha.

My husband also had been talking to my baby everyday. Even when he tried to listen to baby's movements through my tummy, she will give him a kick on his ear. Haha! But for me, I am lazy to find bedtime stories to read for my baby. Haha!

Ann,

I also experience bubbles in my tummy. Then I realise when I went for my check up last night, her head was already at my bottom part of my tummy. No wonder, she like playing with bubbles on me.

at home, my hubby dun talk to me much, so i talk to my bb girl lor... haha~

Charmaine,

I will be attending the antenatal classes from TMC in June. 1st time mummy, so at least get myself prepared a bit... =)

Thanks Starz! if not i was wondering wat the pillow for.. hehehe..

my hubby also never talk to bb..hahaha..am the one who talk to her..

but this few days, we busy choosing a helper.. haiz... stress..

must find those who can handle infant...

i having very bad backaches...

winnie,

same here. i already have very bad backaches although i go for exercise every week. maybe the position that we sleep can cause backache.

i tend to sleep on back lying position as my baby dont like me to sleep on my left side.

charmaine> me me. i gg for the childbirth education course under parent craft(TMC) & my aqua preg lesson is starting this sat.

cheekrene> where u were sitting? i was the one that left b4 12.30pm cos i got wedding lunch at 1pm that day.

ahnah,

try not to sleep on right side more often. baby will press our liver as what i heard from someone. left side is the best as our blood will flow smoothly and will have lesser cramp on our legs.

cheekrene,

my wife try to sleep on left .. but another need to turn to right .. and then it keep repeating this turn for the whole night.

And guess what happen this morning, she got a leg cramp and I woke up by her at 6 am. Zzzzz

cheekrene> i think Mdm wong mention abt the sleeping on right side thing in class which she will go in depth in later lessons.

ahNah> i also dunno leh. this sat i will be at kkh between 1-2pm and amk from 4.30 - 7pm. will you be ard these area? unless our gatherings are not on thursdays.

My Bb very active this few days. Moving whole day and nite. Maybe he miss Papa cos Papa overseas again.

Now even worst. I think my Bb kicking my bladder. Can feel the kick then my bladder immediately have the very full feeling and is going to spill out so have to go toilet immediately. I went toilet many times this morning liao. Jus now endured in the meeting, lucky its a short meeting. Nowadays I can't go for long meetings loh.

dreamz : Tomor we are on leave for regular check up at Gleneagle.

Sat 4:30 pm we got nothing .. maybe we go AMK hub shop and can meet up.

jascmy, i check with NUH when we went for Detail Scan, baby shld not be able to kick anyone bladder because they are inside the womb... not outside.

Hello Jascmy,

True enough, my frequent trips to the loo starts in month 5... can visit the toilet like about 3 times in half an hour time.. *stressed* and still cannot reduce water intake...

And I also seems to sweat more frequently .. not too sure if is due to weather or body temp...

my appetite also seems to improve during week 24.. .. and I can suddenly feel hungry in the middle of the night..

cheekrene,

dont slp on your back..

i was advised that we should be slping on our back starting from 2nd tri because we will have backaches..its better to slp on left because our heart is nearer, and blood circulation and breathing is better. but u can also slp on your right..