(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

dreamz, i just IM you. My colik and me were just on MSN.. she wans to conceive coz she is turing 38 this year. do you know if this lady doctor can help?

dreymin> that i not too sure, but it is worth a try. cos i read in alot of forums a few of them are trying TCM to help them conceive. PMed u the details.

I'm new here. May I know what is LMP?? I'm 7 weeks pregnant now. Will be going down KKH tmr to listen to my BB's heartbeat then Gynae will give me my EDD. Used one of the website to count on my own, my EDD should be in end Aug 2010.

Will upd here again once I got my EDD.

Hello beautiful ladies!

Feels awesome to back in sunny singapore after a gruelling 4 weeks in insanely negative temperatures! I finally scheduled my first gynae appt for this Friday - I think this is my 9th week. So far, manageable nausea - haven't physically puked even once but yes, certain smells feel strange. At the expense of sounding dumb, what is an oscar test? I'm 29 going on 30 this year and this is my number 1. Do I need it?

Thanks Angel Sim.

As for me, I don't have MS. But I do have HS (Hungry sickness). Once I feel a little hungry (after 2 hrs of full meal), I will feel like vomiting. Once I got my food, I will eat like 10 yrs never eat before (thats how my hubby descript me). I think my tummy will grow very fast not bcos of my BB but bcos I'm putting on lots of weight from eating.

I will feel super bloated after having my milk at night. Last night even wanted to puke out all my milk but I try to stand straight for it to go down instead of coming out.I hate to drink milk now. But no choice have to drink. 2 cups a day.

I'm also 29 and going on to 30 this year. And I'm having my 1st BB now.

Re : Oscar

What is an OSCAR screening?

OSCAR, or One-stop Clinic for Assessment of Risk for Fetal Anomalies is a combination test offered in the first trimester to screen for risk of fetal anomalies, in particular Down Syndrome (Trisomy 21). It involves a Nuchal translucency (NT) scan and a blood test.

An OSCAR screening will allow you to find out sooner if your baby has a high risk of chromosomal defects.

The results will be calculated and depending on whether you have a high risk or not, you can decide if you want further invasive testing such as CVS. OSCAR screenings are optional and you can discuss it with your doctor if you wish to have the test.

: )

Thanks Angela for the info re Oscar. I will ask my gynae and see what he recommends...

Jascmy, I have HS too - my brother in law calls my baby Yokozuna and insists that if it is a boy above 7 pounds he is calling him Yokozuna cos I'm eating all the time and no one understands where the food is going! haha

sunflower,

i always feel bloated after eating, then will *suddenly* turn hungry after about 2 hours. hence i have to ensure that i have a supply of 'safe' snacks with me all the time. some of the things which i cannot tahan are yakult, soy bean milk, cheese and anything oily/garlicky/onions. last nite my hb tabao macdonald's home, i nearly died!

i was also contemplating about the OSCAR test - whatever the results we will not change our decisions (unless something else more serious is detected, e.g. not viable). anyway the test includes a compulsory blood test for HIV, Hep A/B which is required by the government so we decided to go ahead with it anyway.

saffy,

i only prepared once, and its very miserable..i cover my nose with a cloth, but it doesnt work. So most of the time either my hb cooks or we eat out.

Angel, thats a nice name. hahaa.... I really hope its my BB putting on the weight instead of me. But hor, BB cannot put on too much weight too. I can;t really stop myself from eating leh, if I control myself and I feel hungry, my HS will come. I feel terrible when what to vomit but can't vomit it out.

Anyone can suggest on what are the safe snacks to keep with us esp at our workstation.

I have my wholemeal crackers at my workstation but I don't like the taste of it and its not filing at all. Maybe my appetite is too big.

saffy> i don't prepare dinner, my parents does it. I am currently still staying with my parents cos my place not ready yet. i just stay in my room with the door close until air is clear.

Yes I'm pretty lucky too - due to our crazy work constraints, we got a maid about 3 months ago so I don't really have to cook anymore.

Healthy snacks...Hmmm maybe cheese with the crackers Jascmy? But not brie or any of the soft cheeses as those have enzymes not healthy for preggies. Cheddar or Mozza (mozerella) is okay though. Also yoghurt is supposed to be really good.

Sunflower,

I also dunno good places for maternity clothes, only know that suntec city near spring got a number of maternity shops... i was lucky that previously, like to buy abit flare and baby doll tops so now need to worry about bottom only...

u know a japanese shop named "uniqlo", there's 1 in ion and 313 @ somerset, they're selling this bottom, they call it leggings but the material is pants and jeans, it's without zip but elastic band, with our long top that cover the waist it looks exactly like jeans or pants... now with my waistline increase, that suits just nice for me...

p_eeyore,

i duno leh..i very blur one, first time mummy everything also blur.. ok will go check out..i also intereted in baby doll dresses leh..

Oh ya, so have to go buy some cheese and yoghurt.

I'm ok with the smells, sometimes I will cook but most of the time we will eat outside or at my in-law's house. I'm too tired to cook after work. Somemore now with BB, I feel more tired then usual. I'm yawning since morning till now, eyes also want to close liao. Whole body no strength at all. Hope can knock off immediately.

Think BB is now using all our energy to build his/her bones, fresh, skin and organs now. Thats y so tired.

Maternity Exchange at Marina Square #03-108 but i tink quite exp..

eeyore..shiok..can go home so early...

i knock off at 6pm!!!

sianz

re: Maternity clothes

For my last pregnancy, I managed to get some nice pieces from this shop called "Perfect Mum", and also spree from websites like oldnavy.com. otherwise if you have relatively small built, you can get away with babydoll tops and loose-fitting dresses until about 6 mths before it starts to look obscene... hahaha

Not too sure about Maternity clothes. I picked up a pair of pants from Canada but still don't really need them as my dresses still fit me fine.

I am considering checking out http://www.maternityexchange.sg when the time comes though. Apparently you can rent clothes from them - I think it's better to rent than to buy cos I hate repeating clothes and this way my wardrobe can be new every couple of weeks rather than buy a few basic pieces and wear for 4 - 5 months cos of saving $$. More practical la.

i'm planning to go HK to see if there are any nice and cheap ones. anyone got any recommendation where in HK can get?

gg to knock off soon too... quite tired already. i borrowed clothes from a gf who gave birth 1 yr before me during the last pregnancy. think i wl stick to my current clothes and buy a few bottoms, tops r fine coz i wear roomy tops.

Fumiko, my knock off time is 5pm...

Saffy, previous pregnancy i got from my perfect mum too...

I think I might need some bottoms for work... got back my old maternity clothes from my sis... still wondering how can i survive with so few pieces of pants... old maternity tops, also boring liao...

I jus came back from HK on 2 Jan. Can't find any maternity clothings there. Maybe bcos my hubby don like to shop so I don have a chance to search for it.

I also need bottoms. I'm looking for ppl to borrow me the clothing.

dreymin,

i think she can go tcm...heard clementi got 1 tcm not bad

p_eeyore,

dun noe lor.....i was oso shocked when i got the news....juz lost the hb like that....she supposed to deliver few mths earlier then my 1st oni

angela,

yes, i think i rem u were in my fb previously. i noticed sometimes ppl on fren's list just 'dropped out' for no reason. anyhow, feel free to add me again. [email protected] (pls indicate ur nick here k) thx!

fumiko & other mtb,

do u think its necessary to have our LMP on the chart? cos i see that some of us may have the same EDD but different LMP. i also see that other threads are only using the EDD info and replaced the LMP colume with the gender of bb (which we will know in 1-2mths). so what do u all think??

Hihi everyone,

Added myself in the AUGMTB thread in facebook..

if you would like to add me, [email protected] [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i puke after my dinner today... don't feel like working. Actually, I feel very stress... I just change a new job. Probation will only over after 6Feb.now i’m very worry i will not get confirm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

think some one mention that the oscar test carries a possibility of miscarriage. ??? is it true ? cos i m still thinking whether to take triple test or Oscas test , hai ... today went to eat swensen n went home , puke all out ! felt so waste ! haha .. seem like me in my 9 week then start puking liao , 2 time liao ... hai

white_lady,

OSCAR test is not invasive at all and will not pose any risk to the bb or mother. it is amnio/CVS which carries the risk.

i wonder if it's common for ms to disappear a while then come back worse than ever ...

came back from woody there juz nw

edd shifted to 16aug...bb not growing alot

from 1.9cm to 2.5cm oni

gg for NTscan end of the mth....hopefully i can stuff more food in by then n bb can grow bigger by then

suika

i;ve the same problem..my baby likes to sleep on the bed with me and dont like to sleep in his cot..he will cry so often in teh cot...so tiring man!and esp hubby cant help much!

i think for maternity clothings,can just go cotton on or forever 21 etc to get some oversize tops la..cheaper..maternity clothins very ex leh..but i think must invest in gd bottoms la..i got my jeans n jean skirt from paragon..very d quality..after birth still can wear hee..

Morning ladies! Been a while since I check on this thread. Been so busy with work n too tired to surf at nite.

Sorry to hear about vivi. Hope she will b strong.

My next gynae visit is end jan, when I'm 10 weeks. A very long wait! Not sure whether the bb is doing ok. Making me a bit depressed.

I'll b doing the oscar test. Usually how much does it cost?

I feel so sian at work. How I wish I can just stay at home n nua. Boss keep pushing work to me, hardly had spare time to breath.

Anyway, for ms mummies, do eat regular small meals n eat heathily, even before u sleep.I read that taking vit b6 will help to relieve nausea but do check w gynae though.I've been following the eat small regulary n somewhat ease my nausea. Only vomitted twice last week. None for this week yet.

Oh, wat is post natal massage? How does it help mummies ar?

Jascmy, what brand of milk r u taking now? I also trying to take at least half cup of milk at nite. Can't drink too much or else will feel like vomitting.

I'm ok to meet up as well. Sounds very exciting. Hehe.

Off to work already. Talk to u ladies soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]