(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

anyone receive confirmation on CERELAC® Toddlers Party at The Polliwogs yet? I recv two emails. The first one confirm, the second one is unable to confirm. Siao!

My gal recently also got new pattern.. Toss n turn from 9+pm to abt 11pm.. Last time sleep latest 1030pm.. Now getting later n later.. N I need to be ard n awake, else she will crawl to find jiejie n disturb her then both start to play n dun sleep.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] need to hold her back n 'lock' her in her own area.. Tired to do this for 1+hr..

Seems like some of our pil biased against sexes.. My mil rejects to take care of my gal coz priority given to her precious grandson, who got a maid to take care of him.. She still comment that it is my pil biased against female, not her during my confinement.. Anyway, I already see open..

Rachel, my bro has gp6d. Does that means either my mum or dad is a carrier? Coz they r not gp6d. Also mean I might be a carrier? Do u know how to check whether a person is a carrier?

Hi MVH

What I can confirm is your mum is a carrier and possibly you r a carrier. A carrier has no impact on your life quality.

It only affects male offspring. In your brother's case, his son will not be affected but daughter may inherit the disorder and pass on to her son. This assume his wife is nt a carrier of cos Blood test shd be able to confirm if u r a carrier or not.

Oops just realized I didn't mention the most impt part. Basically g6pd deficiency is an inherited condition and is link to the X chromosome. Female got two X chromosome and male got one X and one Y. For a baby boy, his Y chromosome definitely come from the father so his X will be from the mother. Since G6pd is link to X chromosome that means the baby boy inherited the disorder from the mother. There is also possibility that the baby boy will not get the disorder if he gets the non g6pd carrier X chromosome. Hope this is clearer how g6pd is passed down the family tree.

Rachel, sounds a bit complicated.. But thanks! My mum's sis 's son (my cousin) has gp6d too! Which makes sense if my maternal grandma is a carrier n hence her daughters become carrier as well. I will ask my mum to check her other sisters' sons too n see if they r gp6d or not.. Sounds scary.. Means myself n my 2 gals r carriers!!!??!

MVH

If ur mum's brothers do not have g6pd deficiency, then high chance is your grandfather who is g6pd instead of your grandma being a carrier.

G6pd skips one generation for the male decendants and then start again by their daughters. carriers hv no effect on their life quality so don't worry. For male, just take note to avoid certain food then life is still the same. Blood bank will reject the blood of cos and public cord blood bank will also reject.

For my case, my gynae sent my boy for g6pd test to double confirm tho I thought it wasn't neccessary. Chinese meds hv to be careful cos some contain sulphur n not suitable for g6pd babies.

*calling for rachel, ur pediped shoes have arrived. I have asked my hubby to bring along the shoes tomorrow, wednesday 5 Oct for meetup at Buona Vista MRT. Do let me know if meetup is confirmed.

Bakaholic, I have emailed you regarding the collection of your pediped shoes tomorrow. pls check [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi rachel, havent received ur email [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

By the way, any mummies here interested in a pair of Pediped Grip n Go series Giselle Silver colour?

Size is EU21.

It is brand new. only taken out to try but then the cutting is not suited for my gal as her feet is too wide. Length wise still very spacious but my gal's feet is too wide.

Paid about $58 for it from another mummies' spree previously.

Willing to let go at only $49 for any Aug mummies that is interested. Pls pm me if interested. Thanks !

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/6116627.jpg]

hi rachel, replied ur email already. will tell hubby to meet you tomorrow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi i am an aug 2010 mummy. i am looking for mummies in rivervale to form a 'play group' as in arrange a time to meet to let our children of the same age group to play together. We can arrange to rotate houses or meet in nearby playgrounds. maybe in the evening weekday for an hr or so. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

omg !! 6kg at birth ! her mother when preggy that time must have suffered so much leh.. back must be so pain

Rachel

It's a girl leh.. Gigantic girl hehe. I wonder if the mummy has GD during pregnancy.. Bcos she is not big size, yet all her bb are borned big

Rach,

My boy gets that sometimes if he eats certain food. It's ok but i am concerned so i gave him probiotics and it does help.

About yogurt, i gave him normal full fat ones when he was about 9-10 mths cos the baby ones did not taste nice. But anyway, i didn't continue cos hard to find organic ones in small tubs.

Rachel,that's the an I wanna ask too.jl at time poo more than three times n my mil ask me nt to feed too much ESP milk.bt his milk intake nt much leh!

the baby's father is of samoan descent which explains the big size. Her siblings are also borned big but not as big.

that time someone commented about tiger food jar which can use like thermo cooker?

so, how long do i need to boil the porridge before pouring in and to keep in the jar so that it will be soft and mushy state?

bakaholic.

Last time i use tiger food jar.

When the grains are in boiling water, u just dump it inside and you will have the mushy porridge in like one hour time.

its good when u are in the hurry and would like to bring out the food for them to eat.

baka,

Yoplait baby yogurt for 1yr above taste wonderful..u can try..

rachel,

until now i still give baby yogurt leh..i scare adult one too 'harsh' for him..my boy nowadays poo twice a day, sometimes 3 times,.. i dont care as long as texture is ok.. my mum say eat more poo more..so i assume its ok..anyway not everyday , and texture is ok..

Sunflower, my MIL kept asking me dun give him so much milk (he drink 4times per day ranging from 120ml till 200ml) if not he will poo a lot...

Yesterday he poo 4 times but texture is ok and he seems happy also.

Not much what... in fact veri little..

N ask me not to feed so much... -_-""

Tot he wanna eat just let him eat.. when he very full he will start to play with the food instead of putting into his mouth..

Cheese,

My parents as the same thinking as your mil. They start to cut back on milk, porridge, meat and veg. And end up my boy just eat plain porridge cooked in meat stock. I got really frustrated loh..

As long no watery stools, it's ok. Some babies are like that. My pd said it's ok but they refused to believe.

cheese,

aiyooo.. i tot old folks like to feed alot to kids..how come urs opposite..my mum likes to feed and feed, and sometimes im the one stopping her..

end up she listens to me, and my boy slims down..so now i dont care, i let her feed.. she says if baby can eat, eat lor, why stop..eat more grow more, poo more..normal ma..

Yala, yesterday i say her..

I say it is not possible that I dun give him milk de. his intake for milk so lil liaoz...

and I make sure he finishes his food also, and at times I will give almost 2bowl if he can finish.

LOL. I will tell her that doc say so that is ok!

haa..

because my SIL last time.. she barely drink 120ml and she is very chubby till now also chubby.. so to her like eat more also not good...

Morning all, I'm super tired after looking after my boy since sun till yesterday. And he is super active yesterday. Running up and down picking up everything including toilet bowl water to play.

His appetite is very bad again. Further drop in weight leh. Can I give him egg everyday. He love it and can finish one egg even tot appetite very bad.

Jascmy,

You can give him egg if he likes it, but can you steam it with other things like tofu or meat/veg so that he gets more nutrients?

According to the googling results, it seems ok to eat everyday but do verify with other mummies here.

bakaholic, I try to steam. Most of the time he don wan to finish the egg if I steam. He love hard boil egg and chawanmushi. Will try to steam tmr and see if he wants. Thanks.

No mood to work.

jascmy, yes can give egg daily....and if ur bb is not that big, can also let him have the yolk....my gal likes egg but only the white, and we give her 2 whites daily....the PD says it is fine....so if he likes, u give him....egg white esp can help to boost weight....i notice my gal hands n thighs more fleshy after we started giving eggs daily...

jascmy..u can also try poach egg? easier for them to swallow compared to hard boiled egg...poach egg means cooking it the maggie mee style...u bring the water to boil in pot, then turn it down to small fire...pour the egg in....then let it cook on its own...my gal only eats the egg this way...i tried to steam but she don like...scramled egg sometimes receptive sometimes reject....hardboil she don like....

bakaholic, I jus realised I only have 2 days MC left. I have to save it for gynea appt. Don knw if anything will happened to me if I finish up all my MCs. Scary hor! Yup, my boy is back to sch today. Hoping for tmr to come faster. I'm on half day leave tmr cos ifc close for children day.

pekkle, thanks. I will start giving him eggs everyday. Will try to steam and boil, change pattern everyday. Hope he can gain back all the weight he lost soon.