(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

cheekrene

if ur #2 is a boy still can let your mum take care, just give excuse that it is easier for u to pick up/drop off at one place ;)

Jasmine,

ya i choose not to stay with her right after wedding even when our house is not ready!

Rachel,

unfortunately i star nearer her house. This excuse is no good!

Jasmine

i dont stay with my in laws, they came over to my place 4 or 5 times a week during the day to "entertain" my son. From what I see, they are looking for entertainment by my son loh. Keep telling us, she coming to entertain my son, keep him company etc, im so scared she comes.

They always find my son amusing. Anything he does, be it safe or dangerous. To them, it's just funny. My hubby says they are not thinking anymore.

cheekrene

oops.. but she doesnt want to take care of your gal right? So if ur mum takes care of both, u can just go one place and pick up both? Then say ur gal used to ur mum le.. so dont want to bother her?

Angel

i rem you mentioned that too. At 4 mo, their head still so soft, fell on hard ground really very painful for them. My PD also scared of concussion. I also brought him to see chiropractor. His head and hip moved out of alignment a bit. So heartpain to see him do adjustments. PD/Chiro touched those soft spots he already crying.

rachel, still need to see chiro? i nv bring her to see PD.

luckily my bolster cushion her fall a bit..

and as she was able to eat and play after she stopped crying den i nv do anything much..

just monitor her for 2 days..

Angel

urs fell on parquet? mine is hard floor, no cushion.. i cant get the full picture of how he fell as my mil didnt give a consistent scenario. At first she said she placed him on this side then he flipped and fell, then later she changed her story. So to play safe, i brought him to chiropractor to check. PD does whole body assessment to look for fractures. Lucky body ok. Only head got two spots my boy cried when PD touched them. So he said just go home and monitor, like what you did (for concussion).

Chiro does more on measurements and balancing. He also found the same spots that PD did, but he also found more on the hips.

mine fell on the hard floor..

but i can see that she landed on the bolster as i was right in front of her..

just that her face slided down and hit the floor..

so her cheek was bruised..

i was quite sure that she was not hurt at other spots that's i nv do anything more..

rachel,

no point. my girl will go cc when she turn 18m (if she can get into the cc we want) and she will be staying with us instead. my hb want to do this way, meaning he can use an excuse to bring her to see my MIL in future. he even waitlist right opposite my MIL's house lor.

Baby snack

Mummies , what do u all feed baby ? Cos giving biscuit , I feel is too Heaty leh , so I feed her white bread only .... N she eat non stop ... Next mth bringing her to wedding dinner ! Wonder can she tahan sitting in Bb chair for 3 to 4 hours ... My #1 can , don't think mei mei can ....

Rachel, yr pil very 'on'..

My gal also fell fr bed twice.. Laminated flooring.. Once without cushion.. But she is ok after that so I din bring her see pd.. Juz monitor..

Cheekrene, oh dear.. Cc next to mil?? Then yr pil will have excuse to pick her up fr cc already lor.. Then u have to go their house every weekday?

Whitelady, I give organix rice cake coz can keep my gal occupy for quite some time.. She likes puff n melts too but too small. Can't entertain her..

I think dun feed too much bread at one go.. Coz if drink water, the bread will expand n tummy will be bloated.. My mil's fren take care of her grandson also feed alot of bread n pao at one go plus water after that, then the grandson got tummy pain every time.. Went to see pd, then comment dun give too much..

Whitelady I think bread is ok but not too much at one go.. Maybe 1 pc at one time.. The rice cake I only give one at a time.. Fr organix.. $6.10 per packet. I bot fr marketplace.. Other times I will have to give small amount of puffs/melts or spoon for my gal to play while I makan..

Angel,

you looking for pediped shoes? There's a BP that give discount on certain designs but limited sizes, mostly left with XS and S only. I just bought a pair from there.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5440681.html?1306886957

Fall from bed,

My ger fell from my bed onto the laminated flooring last week. She dived down with the bolster. Everything happened too fast. I was only reaching out for the storybooks on the floor 2m away and saw her falling when I turned ard. Her teeth cut into her upper lips and bleed. It scare the hell out of me.

Dragon bb,

Not for me. Wanna avoid the competition for everything when he/she grow up. So I will be aiming for 2013.

Xuan

my PD told me we have to leave one hand on the baby at all times when we put them on high ground. I'm trying to keep that in mind. My mil seems to have totally forgotten of her carelessness 5 months ago [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Try to put your baby to the ground level before you pick up things that require more than 1 sec. Unless your eyes are on your baby all the time,if not, better not leave them by themselves. Sometimes I leave my baby on my bed while i change, but i will keep talking to him so that he won't be crawling away.

xuan, thanks for the link..

will take a look later..

actually our babies move very fast..

its really hard to monitor them every sec..

mentally and physically tiring..

felling from bed:

i think my girl fell twice before. that is when she start crawling. first time, my hb left her on bed and walk away while i was using pc. the moment i turn around, my girl landed on her mattresses on the floor then slowly down to floor. luckily she did not hit her face. she was very scared only. second time, she went down on her own and i saw her standing next to her mattresses on the floor. i was shocked. thanks god, she never hit herself hardly on it. phew.

cheekrene

having mattresses around the bed is a very good precaution. I haven't got around doing it yet cos he seldom gets onto my bed. And my bed is very high, at least 80cm, can't see his head when he is on the ground. When he climbs down the bed (under my supervision of cos), he will drop down cos his leg can't reach the ground.

Angel

true that it is very hard to monitor, so best is to do what Cheekrene does, even if the baby falls, she also won't hurt badly. Precautions have to be made if can't be with them all the time, esp if you know they are on high grounds.

Morning. Thanks god that I'm ok after drinking the expired drink. Hope my boy is ok too cos I'm bf.

I'm worried abt of food in singapore. Tot our govt very strict on this. But yesterday when I made a report to NEA, that officer can simple say don kow when they will come down and no choice if they already bring down the expired food when they are there. What is the govt doing on food hygienic?? Its always a news broke out in other countries then our govt will start to check on those affected food. Are our food safe to consume? Esp those food for our Bb??

rachel,

mine is folded mattress and i got 2 so i stacked quite high. my girl landed there before going down to floor. so the impact is not that strong. she just like that mattress. dunno why. haha

My gal also landed on jiejie's mattress which is beside my bed.. But she also cries out loud.. Not sure is scared or hurt the neck.. Coz when diving down, head/neck kanna first.. So we have to keep an eye on bb at all times sia..

i dun have space ard my bed to put mattress.. cos alredy put her cot beside my bed.. the other side is just wide enough for us to walk..

MVH

that time my boy fell i wasn't at home, so didnt even know exactly where he landed on. My mil at first didn't even dare to tell me. I was with my fil that time, she called him and did not say anything to me. I asked my fil why she called, he said nothing. I think she probably is frightened, cos later i realised she called many people and told them. When I got back to my place, those people started calling her and ask her about our reactions, her phone rang non stop. Can't imagine how many people she had told, but not to me and my hubby. When I asked her to describe to me what happened, the things she said is inconsistent, duno what she is trying to hide. So I took my boy to chiro to check.

rachel, ur mil very scary.. tell everyone but dun wanna tell u and ur hb..

must ask ur help to help u watch what they do when they go over to ur place..

ya i had a close shave 2 weeks back also..my gal nearly fell off our bed too...i was in our master toilet wiping my face then she wanted to come to me and nearly fell of the bed....i really had to dash really fast lor to grab her! gave me a big fright...they really can move fast now..so now even if i m doing small things and need to get off the bed, will put her on the mattress...

Angel

my helper very useless one, my mil alw instruct her to do this, do that, make my helper stay away so that she can have her grandchild all to herself. That time even ask her to help her buy things and also get her to eat her lunch outside while my mil stayed at home with my baby.

My mil is a broadcaster, she will help anyone to broadcast to everyone even people who are overseas. My house got no phone, she complains everyday and wants us to install phone so that she can cook "porridge" when she is at my place also complains her hp bill very high. Her neighbour's grandchild has heat rash, the grandma scared it is hfmd and out of good will told her not to come to her place, my kpo mil call everyone to tell them the little girl got hfmd. Two days later, she called everyone that it is heat rash. No wonder she alw complains she is SO BUSY.

Rachel, ur mil very drama.. haha.. she really have nothing better to do..

if i'm her neighbour, i will stay far away from her..

Angel

if u r the neighbour, u probably wont know this thing about her haha... cos she is super friendly. She will cook alot of stuff and bring to ur house... then will talk alot to u..slowly u will become her good friend..kekeke . unless u also know some of her other good friends, if not you won't know she broadcasting for you.

She actually talks to my neighbours too... so now we also know about our neighbours, how many people stay in the house, what they do, where they work, the children how old, who taking care of them etc and my neighbours also got news about us without meeting us.. haiz.. and yes, she is a drama queen.

last time my boy duno what happen ... cry like die father die mother. and got running nose and cough.

any idea ?

I also suspect teething (3rd or 4th) but apply the teething gel also no use .. the effect only last a while (he keep inserting his finger into his mouth)

Maybe also sick like running nose, fever and etc .. but check temperature only 36.67 degree.

So we show him the Barney DVD for 50 mins.. and he finally clam down .. but still dun wan to sleep until 1 am++

ahNah, so late still watch Barney?

i think he must be feeling uncomfortable..

if he's still cranky and crying today, maybe can see doc for his running nose..

My boy now as and when will throw temper, putting his fingers here and there.cry for nothing .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cos of his 6teeth growing at their own sweet time... haiz.. have to bear with his temper now cos he is really

very uncomfortable. He doenst like teether.. teething gel cant be apply so many times lei.. how??

But heng is that he got his pacifer.. that can really "pacify"him.

He need to suck his pacifier now very much. His top middle 2 tooth is growing so so so S-L-O-W.... my poor bb.. fighting with his

many swollen gums...

Angel : I just called my mum and she say he is ok liao .. no more running nose and able to play happily.

We have 9mth appt with PD tomorrow nite.. so hopefully tonight he can sleep well.

Cheese : according to babycenter .. that is normal.

my boy will phew the pacifier and insert his finger in again.

Sigh ~

cheese, i tot the dentiol (forget e spelling) can apply every 20min?

i remb e PD say is a v mild medicine..so can apply often...

ahnah,

dentinox teething gel is $6++.. i just bought one although my boy is still toothless.. just to standby.. since expiry date is 2013..

I bot dentinox, i find it quite useful as of now,

I will apply when he is super cranky and then he feel better.. esp when milk time. Apply a while then give him milk.

I didnt know can apply how many times but I ready bb centre b4, do not apply over 6times per day? Just hope this phrase will pass faster...

Xuan

I went to mothercare to see pediped and see-Kai-run shoes, really gd!! But very exp leh.. But I like see-Kai-run, very soft and cute. Made of pig skin , gd material. Now 2 pairs for 20%, cheaper than BP leh . After disc only 39.90 per pair. But pediped no disc unless u are member

Dentinox is not useful for my boy. Dunno why. I let him chew on cold teether and hankie. Now he also chew on his straw (straw cup)

jasmine,

i had a look at both, feel them, and i think pediped seems to be better..

but then the sole quite thick and heavy, so i prefer see-kai-run since i think baby need softer ones when they are starting to learn walking.

both are nice and cute lor..especially gals' shoes, damn cute! boys one not many choices..

member is 10% , but the lady need to check if we buy one pediped and one see-kai-run, we may be able to get 15%

I can't remember who enquire about placing the child with Child Care Centre for a couple of hours. My friend sends his boy to CCC for two hours everyday. I think some CCC offers this service.