(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

whitelady,

SBI is subsequent born incentives, meaning for #2 & abv. u alr cfm ur gynae is not in the program??

purelyz,

I agree that u should go too, otherwise when #2 comes out, the more u got no chance to go...

b4 i got #1, i used to travel at least 2x every year with my hb but after i got #1 we waited she's 2 yo then we travel again...

but #1 got anyone taking care??

During my 1st pregnancy I also travel to Japan, very relaxing trip... missed it...

suika,

u in 2nd trimester liao??

yup, japan is nice.

i used to visit japan once a yr since 2000 as its one of my fave country but stopped since 2006. so sad & i missed japan too.

i've friends there, hope can still visit japan in the near future, especially during cherry blossoms lah.

angel ,

i not sure if he is in the programme , maybe shall call up and ask . i m selecting C section , so his charges is $1600 , mean -$80 off if he is in programme right . then as for the P6 package , got how much discount ?

whitelady,

yes, ur gynae charged the same as mine (so discounts is $80). who's ur gynae btw? the FBI discounts for P6 is $40.90! so u'll have almost break even here.

Ednique, I also have lots of strange dreams. I ever dream if me trying to kill a rat and it cried loughy. Scary! I wake up because of the dream then feel the urge to go toilet.

hehe.. my next gynae appt is on the 18 feb..still got long way to go...

tmr i will be start taking my mulitvitamin and caluimn pills liao...

i'm gg to KKH do a test on 1st feb..was wondering wat test is that..hahaha... then after 2 wks visit gynae..

gan chiong to know gender... but my currently is having #1. so no preference...

winnie,

how many wks are u in now? could the test be oscar or NT scan??

suika,

i also very headache whether to go a not. My co wan to cut cost. Wan me to share rm with a married couple. I find very odd le. So decide not to go.

peeyore,

my job need to me to travel a lot. Last yr, he have accompany me to several countries i go (Brisbane, Tokyo, Bangkok). Then we jus went for a 2.5 wks trip in oct (Casablanca, Marrakesh, Rome, Munich, Egypt, Dubai). Spend a lot. During the trip i miss my boy so much and almost wan to change flight to come back earlier! Aft the trip, i fulfill my travel dreams, so start planning 2nd bb. So lucky, Nov i got it le. So my hubby this time say, it's not abt 2 of us, it's abt family of 4. So money must be save!

Angel,

how to know if the gynae in the program a not?

purelyz,

ya, so odd, like that like intruding onto the married couple like that. think they will be very uncomfortable with the arrangement too.

haha, me also just came back fr my honeymoon last oct. initially, my hb still say want to postpone to this yr. luckily i insist on travelling 1st, if not, the honeymoon also gone case liao. then as soon as we came back to sg, i was looking at planning another trip this may/june but too bad, have to give them a miss now. hopefully can go next yr, with the baby bonus! lol.

u'll need to call TMC & tell them ur gynae's name & they will chk if he is in the program or not.

I have lots of difficulty sleeping at nite too! And when I do fall asleep, I dream too! Seems like it is a common occurrence for preggies. Can't stand it tho cos I dun feel well rested at all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

just had my lunch...

japanese curry rice with karaage chicken & miso soup. yummy cos its been a long while since i can stomache rice & noodles liao.

peeyore,

supposed to b in 2nd trimester now liao but bb growing slow ba so i think now still 11wks oni

purelyz,

but no go like very wasted wor....if ur hb goes then u 2 can hv 1 rm liao wor

winnie, my next checkup also on 1 feb at KKH. What time is your appt, mine is early in the morning, maybe we will see each other on that day. hahaa...

purelyz, me too, went 2 weeks Europe for my honeymoon in mid Nov 09 and got bb immediately after I came back. Ppl tot mine bb is made in Europe. Hahaa... but not possible cos I'm having my mensers when I'm there in the 1st week, then 2nd week not ovalution, so confirmed not made in europe. Actually my wedding in mid Oct 09, then immediately planning for one and we are so lucky to got it in end Nov 09.

suika,

strange my lmp is earlier than u (but only few days la...) I'm only 11th weeks, not equalify for 2nd trimester yet...

TGIF ladies!!!

Speaking of dreams, I wanted to share something really beautiful with all of you. Last night just before we went to bed my hubby stroked my tummy and said "you know what, I feel so disconncted from this pregnancy - all the changes are happening to you but I feel so distant" so I assured him that at this point even I feel 'distant' cos besides the MS I feel no kicking nothing and I promised to include him the moment all that starts....and then the most beautiful thing happened.

I had a dream of my baby - not sure if it's just my imagination but I saw her in my dream through my tummy so she was tiny in my tummy but I saw her face and she was beautiful and I knew at that point that everything was going to be beautiful. I stroked her through my tummy in my dream and she looked at me!!

The funny thing is till now I thought it was a boy but after that dream I am convicned it's a girl - not sure how true this is but I had been having so much fear the last few weeks about healthy baby and all that and somehow that dream put me at ease. I hope it's true - strangely the baby looked just like my sis when she was young!

Just wanted to share with you guys

peeyore

dun bother so much on lmp...even our edd is not 100% confirm now....normally we take edd stated during DS

Update...

All is well yest, baby is 22mm long, and so active, waving his hands and legs at the screen. MS is back with a veganance... vomit air, and stomach juices.. haiz!

FBI/SBI

yest when i went for my gynae check-up, saw TMA has an offer for Std Chart card holders. I found out this is valid for nx 6 mths. You can get 15% off if you use the card to pay for the membership. I calculated, like dat very worth it if you are giving birth in TMA e.g. $100 off one-bedded. You only pay 85% of usual $128 (SBI) = $108.80, not sure for FBI. You can get discount for Oscar, prenatal classes so the discount all totals up plus the freebies!

dreamz,

the course is for per couple. Not sure of the costs, can call and find out.

winnie,

everyone's timing is diff... you are aso v fortunate to get preggie after 1 yr, tat's not too bad! a lot of my frens are stl waiting for their first kid after being married; some for as long as 8-10 yrs. we r juz thankful we hv a 2nd kid just after almost 2 yrs.

Fumiko,

Can you help me revise my EDD to 19 Aug 2010? Thanks!

dreymin ,

Sign up for SBI , stay 1 bedded can get $100 off daily ? actually online possible to view the benefit anot , cos i dont seem to find the link from TMC website

winnie, mine is 9am. No gyane yet, still looking for good gyane in KKH. I intend to stay in KKH but not sure which gynae to go for. So I will be seeing any gyane thats available on that day.

suika,

ya lo. I try to talk and talk to my hubby. He say " I tell u i dun wan to go le, u keep saying" so i keep quiet le...

jascmy,

at least u got go honeymoon. My colleague struck before she go honeymoon. Her house still not ready. For mine, i like to do family planning. I plan for this bb cos i like to have leo or virgo bb. Haha...

angel,

such a beautiful dream. how i wish i can have similar dream as u. I also find not much connection with my bb now, maybe tummy still small. i remem for my last one, i only feel connection when i feel his little kicks!

dreymin,

oh... that's gd. Std char got disount. I'll go to ask when i go for my 2nd appt next mth.

purelyz,

guessed ur hb after calculation finds it tight to go for a 1.5k holiday ba....then nvm lor juz felt wasted a good chance to go.....japan's my HM destination lor n till now i've yet to go...haizzzzz

jascmy,

lol. most of our frens also thought our bb was made in europe. haha. like u, i had my last menses approx. 1 wk while on the honeymoon before our return back to sg. bb was also conceived in sg. it would have been nicer to conceive the bb during the honeymoon though. lol.

winnie,

if u r at 12wks, think quite likely, it could be either the full oscar test (NT scan + blood test) or just the NT scan. both are to chk for DS but oscar has a 90% accuracy rate. NT is nuchal translucency - measuring thickness of bb's neck. i cant really think of any other tests they would make u take at 12wks lah.

angeleyes,

wow, such a lovely dream. i wish ur dream will come true for u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks ladies, for your sweet words.

Yeah dreymin that's pretty cool that you saw your baby waving!

I have a question - I notice that most of you seem to know what to what not to do, what to eat etc - I'm quite hopeless. I thought drinking barley is good cos I feel so heaty all the time but the cleaning aunty at my office who knows Im preggie said no? Please advise!

angel , i think barley is " liang " , cooling ? but if not drink alot is ok one lah , most impt is dont eat pineapple , raw n uncook stuff lor ... ham also avoid lor ...

angel,

for me, i super dun care. i drink barley cos i like. but jus not drink in litres la. one can is ok (i think).

white lady,

i dun take pineapple cos i hate. i take watermelon, which is liang too. but one slice twice a week. i eat raw and uncooked, include ham. i like sandwich with ham and cheese. So for me, i jus dunno and jus eat and enjoy! Haha!

Thanks white_lady - perhaps nothing in excess I guess. I'm reading the book "what to expect when you're expecting" it's not bad quite informative but our asians we're much more careful than the westerners which is why I'm also a little confused cos my in laws live in canada and my mom is always travelling so I have nobody who is in town to guide me. Thank god for you guys!

had a good sleep this morning, woke up only at 11.30am hehe. today was on leave, so can rest well this wkend.

jascmy,angel,

bb also made in sg, cos honeymoon in europe was in Sep haha, dates too far away liao.

wedding was in June, so think when news can be announced next mth, guess most frens will be surprised too.

purelyz,

huh u like leo huh... i got poor planning if this one also leo then i got 3 leos at home... hubby, #1 and #2...

angel,

i also drink barley & water chestnut from those herbal shops leh, cos body always quite heaty and get sore throat easily.

but i dun drink too much chry tea now, scare too liang lor.

angel_sim,

you know ah, i read about your dream and started tearing. hormones making me very emotional ... both my mum dreamt of me having a girl. i dreamt that my girl had curly hair, which my son also has.

i went for my OSCAR at TMC this morning. i got a long-haired radiographer who was nice enough. my baby was very unco-operative! the radiographer had to use the scanner-head to jiggle my tummy so many times, the fella refused to move coz s/he was too comfortable lying on my uterus wall. after many tries, she finally managed to get an acceptable measurement. then when she called my hb in, s/he waved at him!!! and started kicking the legs in the air. and for a while, i forgot that i have terrible MS.

oh ya for those going for scan at TMC, remember to bring a jacket. i found it very cold esp since it was raining this morning.

Whitelady,

I think the $100 off is per stay, not per day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Here is the link and info on FBI & SBI.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#firstborn

Celebrating Parenthood

a baby is an exciting and joyous experience. To make it extra delightful and rewarding, Thomson Medical Centre (TMC) has a specially designed programme just for you

Discover the Rewards

TMC's First Born Incentive (FBI) and Subsequent Born Incentive (SBI) programmes, are fully integrated obstetrics programmes to provide you one-stop convenience and exciting member privileges.

You can obtain preferred rates for TMC services such as professional fees, hospital bills, outpatient visits and ultrasound services. You will also enjoy member privileges from our partners, carefully handpicked to complement your medical benefits.

Furthermore, after your baby is born, you and your baby will continue to enjoy the privileges of quality healthcare at TMC at preferred rates.

Save with FBI and SBI

15% Savings on Health Screening Packages for parents and grandparents*

* Terms and conditions apply

Save on Total Hospital Bill Upon Delivery

Save on Hospital Services

• Fetal Assessment

• 24-Hr Clinic

• ParentCraft Services

• Retail Pharmacy etc

Preferred Rates on Specialist Services

(Obstetrics & Gynaecology and Paediatrics)

20% Savings on Post-Natal Home Visits

Free 6 months insurance coverage* by AXA Life Singapore for your newborn

* Terms and conditions apply

Full access to Thomsonbaby.com

Your interactive and personalised parenting website

Download the FBI or SBI application form now!

Click here for more exciting member privileges by some of our selected partners.

For detailed information, please call the FBI and SBI Member Hotline at 6358 0055 or email us at [email protected]

angel> actually taking barley can curb nausea, but of cos bcos it is liang cannot take too much.

Good for you Saffy! I also want to see my baby kicking and waving! I've been thinking that someone (maybe us?) should set up this prenancy sanctuary kind of wellness clinic - maybe in a shopping mall or something where pregnant women can become members for like $20 - $40 per month go chit chat, attend pre natal classes, yoga, hang out and more importantly FREE scans for members. It seems so duh to wait FOREVER for the next gynae appt just to see your own baby!! I think this business could do really well I tell you. Imagine if we have like 1000 members paying between $20 - $40 per month - plus have a cafe running and some merchandise to earn more money to keep the business running....hmmm...anyone with deep pockets? I will work for you!

white_lady,

i wasn't told my bb's size. prob because it took such a long time to get a proper measurement, the radiographer wanted to chopchop chase us out and get the next patient in. hopefully when my gynae calls later with the results there will be more details!

btw i am 12w2d now

hihi all, TGIF!!

Had a bz day today & just managed to log in now...

I tot only I had weird dreams recently, but seems like many of u also the same... I got the nightmare few days ago... very stupid but funny dream... I dream that want to bring my girl to Singapore Flyer, but dunno why when we stepped on the Flyer itself, it suddenly become a roller coaster!! Somemore it was without safety belt!! I was so regret why I want to take myself in this kind of risk, somemore with my girl & unborn bb... I wake up with full hand sweat in the midnite then... Heng ya... it was just a dream :p

AngelSim, I also drinking barley quite frequent (warm without ice)... i know that barley water consider a type of cooling-effect drinks and it is good for diuretic. My mum told me that barley is more suitable to be drink during the last semester as average body temperature is quite high. But due to too cold, it is not advisable to drink too much during the 1st tri.

angel sim--> hey your idea is superb sia..!

saffy--> me same as u, 12 wks 2 days. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] me going for my oscar test on next Monday..cant wait to see hw my baby is doing! but abit nervous about the blood test too..i hope i'm as lucky as u, to get to see my bb waving at us!

angel_sim,

i think an ultrasound costs about half a million... pockets must be REALLY deep! lol. i used to work in a poly and we had an ultrasound machine there. my colleague, who is a trained radiographer, volunteered to scan me for my next pregnancy anytime i wanted. why did i ever leave that job? *cry*

ednique,

you must be pretty excited! i also hope your baby will be more co-operative than mine, then you have more time to ask questions and get the radiographer to point out the details to you. don't worry about the blood test. i am frightfully anaemic already and i had 3 tubes taken from me but i didn't feel faint or anything. no pain also.

saffy--> wow 3 tubes is quite alot sia..but i guess i'll be ok lah hor.. *trying to assure myself*

i hope the radiographer will be friendly enough to answer my queries though.. i'll update all after my oscar test on Monday ya! have a gd wkend all mummies!

Half a million? Wow that's d*** expensive - maybe we can lease the machine? Or better still, find one of those mcys pro family grants to sponsor!

Duckingeshop, I also drink the one at ya kun - the warm one with the tau kwa pieces in it about once or twice a week - but maybe you're right, third trimester is safer for now I will stick to once or twice a week cos it makes me feel so much better!

for Oscar test , i think not asking my hubby to go ... .no need to waste leave , will bring other man go ... hahah , my small man =) let him see how baby is doing , but i wonder , can kids go in ?

i think we can eat pineapple, watermelon and drink barley...just that must be in moderation.

i have a colleague who eat a piece of pineapple daily during her pregnancy , she has a healthy baby girl now.

i think just dont over consume these cooling stuff, should be ok.

my mil told me we cant be not eating any of the cooling stuff also..later our kids very heaty, next time always constipate..

pineapple last time my granny time , she dont want kids , also eat alot of pineapple , but still the kids born out ! hahah ... but if can , i think try not to eat lor ... worst is , i pregnant #1 also CNY time .. then cant eat pineapple tarts , somemore i will bake alot , and last time , bake n eat , bake n eat ! hahaha ... now i only eat the crust i think ... haha

but i still feel , if can , dont eat lor ... somemore we at 1st trimster now ...

peeyore,

wow... so many leos.

whitelady,

last time in sch, also a lot leos and virgo frens. I tink pp usually "free" during yr end to do baby planning. Haha! i love to eat pineapple tart. I tink i'll still eat "a bit" jus for craving. Hee..

dreymin,

thanks for the link.

sunflower,

i agree with u. All food in moderate is ok.