(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

ann , take good care! "flu shoo shoo!~"

That time me is gastric flu.. baby got it, then i got it then my MIL!So strong one lorz!!!

Btw, Javion cough not getting better lei.. why eat the chinese medicine seems to "trigger" more phelgmn?

haiz.. i just tell myself gotta be patient till he finish his 9days of medicine...

even teacher say he sleep now (afternoon) also cough...

Maybe you can try Justina method... rub vicks baby rub under the feet and then wear socks. it helps Kayden.

SK: today i stayed in C's IFC for 2hrs in the morning. Was chatting with the teachers there, I saw a new teacher then asked, then i realised, the IFC hired a part timed music teach in for their music session each time(twice a week).

And teachers there also told me C actually was eating alot more then the other kids in sch.

Mainly instructions from parents.

12mths old (in 1 weeks time) only takes milk and cereals n porridge. No bread no cake nothing.

17 mths old only take 1 btl of milk (6oz) a day in sch. no other cereals and stuffs.

and some bb only shower once a day in the sch (go hm no more shower)

i was so shocked from what I heard.

As my bb smelled the best in the school compared to the other 4 bb that comes to me this morning.

But amazingly, the sch principal n vice principal will rotatingly visit the class (IFC & toddler class) every 30mins to make sure everything is doing fine. And will help out to carry and play with the bb.

so I am even more rest assured how well my C is taken care in sch.

**I didn't notify the IFC i will be in the IFC today for 2 hrs. As I late for work so applied half day leave thats why stayed in the IFC to pass time. (HAHAHA!)

xbeanniex - U nv know where where many funny parent de!

haa.. But for 17mth old bb just take 6oz of milk and nth else? Wont he be cranky???

My boy always smell very nice! But his bib always so dirty.. dun noe how he eat one lei..

Teacher commented that my boy eat alot! can eat anything! LOL, i know they give him bao too.

So good.. i nv get to have to peek my boy for so long at my IFC...

Ann, I tried that but doenst work... maybe I should try again..

Cheese: same ... C's bib always very dirty ... even HB also say so...

Ya... 2 hrs i stayed in the IFC, no noise from that BB, but kinda rough when comes to playing toys thus teachers only put that bb to play on his own or watching him play.

Y ur IFC so secretive... I understands there are IFC (exp ones lar) got CCTV for parents to watch instead since doesnt allows parents to view bb inside the sch.

Vivi : I read in that link already but just theory, want to hear from other mummies real life experience ;o)

SK : Tks for sharing, shall go buy this wkend for my son to try.

xbeanniex

Ya, the IFC is very small one..

only been to take a look before we enroll him there...

A bit Kerlian one ehz they are all being strapped on the bouncer with blanket wrapped over him.

Those heavy bb now sleep at cot, my boy still able to sleep in bouncer.

But Bo bian, location is very good even if my hubby nv help to fetch him,

I still can manage... but they got take photos, his happy expression.

Seems like its also fun cos got many babies, teachers singing songs to them.

He's in ifc since he is like 2mth+ old till date.

My nephew is very happy over there though.

cheese, wan to tell u eu ren shen not good. I went there a few weeks ago for my cough. The doc nvr ask any questions. Not professional at all. So my cough nvr recover too.

My Aug 10 forum friend, MVH intro me to one sinseh at chong pang. She say very good, cheaper and always long q (2 to 3hrs wait). I haven't got the time to go try. U might wan to try it out.

Casual Playdate at the WEST on 21 May Sat (Irene's house)

wish i could join in... but abit far for me... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jas, but the one I went ask me a lot of qn eh..

they prescibe according to his condition.. I wanna try and see how... if not good i will go and have another follow up to see how..

Chinese med will take some time to recover de.. but at least Tiao yang his body.

I met a popo that brought her grandchildren to see the doc there. she mention she as and when will bring to here when she is heaty..to "tiao yang" her body and eat the medicine and will recover eh...

I no choice liao cos the cough came back as and when.. poor boy and been to see western doc 4times...

xbeanniex, no leh. Its Thoo Chee. I know there is another one in chong pang also v good. Not sure what name. I will go chong pang to try when I'm free. I need to tiao yang. Have been very weak after given birth. Keep having cough and running nose.

Cheese, I went to one sinseh at tampines one very good leh. I recover 90% after I finished all her med. But the cough comes back again cos I eat good food. On and off. Sian. I can understand how Javion feel leh. Same here, cough on and off. He nvr eat those very good food like durian rite. Maybe different doc. Different day different doc at eu ran sheng.

Pine Garden

I also emailed PG for the Design cake catalogue for birthday, but the lady only gave me pictures of cakes all shaped "number 1". Is this the catalogue? I asked again for more designs, but no reply already. The designs not nice one leh, as compared to SK's.

ya jas, maybe javion airway is not as good

just like daddy.. i see already also heartpain.. just see if this works.. my colleague told me

his son see 6mths then can see improvement! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] It depends on individual liaoz..

I will seek other opinion if few visit still not recover... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Birthday Cake: Think I will be getting this for Kayden's birthday cake from PG. Hubby say simpler looking and nicer.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5429341.jpg]

cheese, maybe. I know my airway is weak since birth thats y once I got cough, take super long time to recover. Hope Javion will recover soon.

ann: yeah this design is cute. How many pple are u inviting? I am still undecided bet Winne and Elmo. Hubby n bb no comments, so I have to decide! haha!

charliebrown: We might have at least 70pax.. but not sure of exact number yet. Have not ask pple to block out the dates. Haha!!

Justina: I ordered a 4kg cake. Now waiting for quotation from PG. Let you know once they revert.

mummies, feeling very down now.

My boy is down with cough for a month already.

Seen 4 western doc and 1 physician.Yest. IFC teacher mention he is down with flu! (probably some babies is having flu..),cough from bad to worse!

Im on CC leave today to take good care of him..

He cant sleep yesterday and cough till vomit out his milk at 10pm (usual he wont take milk,last feed is always 7+)

I might be wrong for going so many doctors and even had him neuberlize which makes him actually better (but lost his voice due to crying), then 2 days later cough is back again! But i only want him to recover! Western med is always the same medicine even i seek few doctors.. he eventually going to finish the medicine but still haven recover yet.

Am trying chinese medicine and if still doesnt work, I will stick to one doctor,perhaps to Mount A and seek their opinion..

Does bb have 100days cough too? I dun tink he is teething, no drooling etc..

hi cheese, sorry to hear that. hope he recovers soon. those docs u went to, are they PDs or GPs? If u r considering going to another doc, maybe you can see Dr Keoy S.S from Novena Children's Clinic (in Novena Medical Centre). my gal had bad cough & flu when she was just one month old, and i been to her regular PD but she didn't recover, so i went to Dr Keoy (he was her appointed PD when i delivered) and his meds helped alot. i've intro-ed my friend there and her son also recovered from his on-off cough. he is a gd doc just that i stay in jurong, otherwise i will go to him for all my gal's checkups..

morning

cheese

hugs... must hv been v v tough on u

side note: no i don't believe bbs hv 100 days cough

jus an observer (after hvg 2 kids), i think bb j has sensitive airways. it all seemed like he had been hvg problems w upp respiratory.

if you had been to various doctors, likely, your docs cannot diagnose your son's condition properly

also, u may wish to make a list of his symptoms because we tend to forget

i live at bishan area and visit dr adeline wong. i heard a lot of good reviews abt dr terrence tan (i think) at mt a but he is always long queue...

Sk, i been to GP, PD.. he's even on anti-botic once which is like going to recover but still coughing occasionally..

Physician mention that he got a Sensitive airway (just like daddy) and that is why cough cant go away that fast.. but already one month + liao and he not been sleeping well so long already..

Think doc Keoy is the PD for TMC bb? Javion appointed PD is also him.. But thk god that he is still drinking and eating well, still as active as before.

His med is till wednesday and I hope he will get better...

mrspung.Thks.. I really need plenty of hugs! Esp when my hubby says why do I change doct again and again?!like wanna start a quarrel with me at this point of time.. I dun wish to.. but I just wish for another opinion.. now I seek chinese doctor.. which might take sometime to recover also..

Somemore I've been absent for work for many days on and off.. time off etc.. really dun look good in workwise..

Yes!The last doc says he have sensitive airways, just like daddy (but daddy frequent cough is only this few years, not since young)

But what should I list down? The medicine he had before?

Ica-ya. coughing for long is cfm no good.. same to adult.. that is why when his cough dun go away,i will bring him to see doc to check if his lung is ok..

PD nv mention is Bronchiolitis but he asked if we have asthma background which we dun have, or anyone have airway problem (daddy have), might be inherit.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

argh.. my heartache once when he cough one time!

he is now sleeping and so far cough and sneese once from 8.30am till now.

cheese

yes, list medicine he took before, his symptoms like cough w phlegm, no phlegm, worse part of the day, his breathing is it shallow and quick, does he choke or cough when he is aslp, etc.

also, bcos bb j wheezed before, u need to make sure your home as well as IFC is "clean" enough for him.

perhaps, at home, u may wish to remove all stuff toys, blankets, pillows and live just the bed sheets on... wash ur bed sheets every 3 days

keep ur hse clean but i suspect... IFC is the issue...

Cheese: if J is not having difficulty breathing, or wheezing, then lungs are good. hee...i'm asthmatic

does J sleep with the aircond on at night? at IFC?

Cheese: adding on to JP's post - then you must make sure your house is as dust-free as possible, no carpets

Jonas: When Javion sleep, did you on the fan or air con? I tried with Kayden again last night, apply vicks baby rub on his back, chest and feet and then wear socks for him, he sleeps from 9.45pm to 5am and then carry him to our bed, he slept till 6.30am. No coughing through the night at all. Our ceiling fan just on to the lowest so that there is still air circulation in the room. Though warm (not hot) but it will make us cough lesser. Same for me. When I am warm, I cough lesser at night.

i dun dare to on aircon and we always on the fan only. IFC seldom on aircon liao.Ya. I suspect is IFC leh.. till now he is sleeping soundly.. while teacher say he cough every few mins!!! I always clean his toys, yao lan cloth and my bedsheet, I try to make a clean environment for him already..

Annie, I tried putting on socks, rub his chest, feed but 4get abt the back, he is still coughing away! and he sweat a lot yesterday! maybe cos i put pillow so that his head is not totally flat in yaolan amd can breathe better since he is now having flu too.

then yesterday He as and when will make a fuss in yaolan and i shifted him to sleep with us and he slept for quite a while w/o any noise.. then later he fuss again...

so i shift him back to yaolan again.. till morning he is awake and smile widely to me

Rgd teething,

S is teething now but he dun drool. So i guess not all bb r the same.

Cheese,

Jiayou n take care.

ok, this is what i learnt from my housemates late time - when you have cough with phlegm, cover your throat when sleeping at night. better still the whole day. yes, must keep throat warm all the time. and dun sleep directly under the fan

i thot of using the Baby Vicks last time but didn't. instead i bought CB massage oil for cough & flu and its bath oil for building up resistance. it's good. my mom doesn't believe in such stuff, even she says they are good. i also bought it's calming massage oil, hoping it will calm down H when going to sleep at night but it doesn't seem to work. maybe i should bought the one for cranky babies at night. hahaha!

Cheese, jus to share Dr Keoy is the appointed PD by TMC. My bb also went to him when he is born but his clinic is always very crowded.

Shld consider get the PD to really check if ur bb is having respiratory problems...my GP did told me previously that for asthmatic (sensitive airway) prob like myself, no amount of cough suppressant can stop the cough as the root of prob is not the cough but the airway. In fact, the cough/phlegm triggered the airway & in turn the airway becomes inflamed & sensitive. So the whole cycle keeps repeating...normal cough will take very long to clear...(not to frighten u or make u even more worried)

Need different type of medicine as normal cough syrup will not work.

Hope ur bb gets better fast & do try keep ur house clean too ;)

cheese

i can also share with you bb s' medical list when he was wheezing:

1 x singulair granules (manage airways - this one $3/pk but damn effective)

3 x nebuliser (wheezing)

3 x prospan (cough)

2 x ketotifen (lung booster)

3 x ventolin (if not neb)

3 x rhinaramine (nose)

actually singulair is v v good. u shd talk to ur pd to see if he thinks it can be prescribed to bb j. ketotifen is a lung booster... good for kids recovering from cough or wheezing

JP: gasp! so much for a little baby...ketotifen is a steroid, no? ventolin? perhaps you want to look at long-term management & prevention, rather than cure. just a thought lah

speaking of 1st birthdays - the other day i told my grandma in law that im celebrating K's at a chalet, with buffet. she then told me that most of hubby's cousins (of pri sch age) are having birthdays in July as well & suggested that all their mummies chip in to the cost and the kids all celebrate together.

am i selfish to even be against this idea? i mean.. my gal will only have her 1st bd once & i wish it to belong to her only. not w other kids blowing candles on her cake or inviting lots of other ppl who i dunno into the chalet. if it's K's 2nd bd and so on i wouldn't mind. but sigh.. i dunno wad to say cos dun dare to refuse the grandma, no one dares.

Cheese:

Just to ask, is there anyone smoking at hm? If Yes, maybe ask the person not go near ur bb even after his smoke.

During the stay at KKH when my bb is admitted, overhear the nurse telling the other bed paitent, cos the bb is having sensitive airway. Although the smoker don smoke in front of the bb, there is still smell of cig, n this will trigger the problem.

These r the med i took frm PD (think most PD give the same med)

singulair granules

nebuliser (do it at the clinic)

prospan (cough)

ventolin (Blue)(puffing not to be taken)Those with asthma using one (Puff either every 4hr or 6hr)

Another in orange (can't remeber the name)(twice a day morning & night)

Yes, bb will also have 100 days cough.

When my son was 2mth plus, he admitted due to cough. They suspect it 100days cough cos he will cough till his face change colour. and we r put into a isloate rm.

When my son was admitted in hosiptal when he was 1mth +, caught the flu virus frm my sis n it become boncatis. since then he was on n off on nebuliser, puff etc... In out hosital... finally now he back on track a healthy bb. (touch wood) :p

Sk: is this a suggestion?

anyway will u invite them to the party?

will the parents agree to it? I mean they might not want to spend money n celebrate the kids birthday?

if really no choice, then can have 2 different cake?

SK: then have it a separate one and celebrates with whoever u want lor... but i understands lar... the cost incurred... haiz ...

jasmine: yup, i have to invite them to the party coz they are hus' cousins & their parents are his aunts. and about 3 other kids birthday in july so i dun think they want to get separate cakes. (that wld mean 3 cakes le). so the grandma was suggesting the aunts chip it to get bigger cake and increase the pax for the buffet. im sure the aunts dun mind cos they seldom do stuff like chalets etc, sure will wanna ride along .

ica

bb s no longer takes them. he took them when he was wheezing... now no more, thank God!

ketotifen is not steriod. i think it works pretty similar to singulair as a booster and preventer...

Jonas: Ya, try to keep the throat warm if coughing with phlegm.

Sweetkiss: Maybe you can tell the grandma, it is a good idea. Maybe next year can do that then can save money. This yr, you plan almost all the things le.. so abit tough to change plan now. Actually, if they are pri school kids, they would wan a birthday of their own. They would not wanna share with other kids one. Only adults dun mind celebrating together.

Justina: PG came back with the quotation. They charged me $169 for the cake.