(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

yah, peekaboo monday. i have a question about sippy cups. I just bought straw for mag mag sippy cup, and tested it myself. but it is so hard to suck up. anyone has recommendations for straw sippy cup?

Bubblesangel here. I would like to join this thread as my 2nd bb was born in Jul 2010.

Currently I am in the States & would like to extend my help if u gals would like to buy Carters, Oshkosh stuff for ur little ones.

No mark up on the selling price but only a handling charge (20% of the total amt) & if you r comfortable with it, u can go to the link (www.carters.com) n PM me the details.

Julie: my bb's drinking from a straw now, a magmag. 1st sip, she choked coz didnt know how to control the flow and speed. Then she rejected. A wk later she just took to it and has been happily drinking with it. Give G time to get used to it. You'll be amazed- 1 day she'll just drink from it without any coaxing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Julie! V happy for you and bb!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and is the long weekend!

Peekaboo:

I may drop by to say hello. Can I SMS Julie or sk if I am there, cos I think I only have their num..

Ann: red spots? You mean fake measles or? Is bb teething again?

Magmag sippy:

Must let bb try a few times, eventually bb will learn to suck from the straw. But my prob is that bb hates water, so he sucks n spits n he thinks is v funny.

babycoco: initially she chewed, too coz she was teething. then she took a sip, choked and totally refused it after that. every day, we just kept letting her play with it until one day, out of the blue, she kept wanting to drink with it. i think babies chew to assess, explore the straw - trying to figure it out, whether it's good enough, any harm, etc. keep on trying

or maybe A wants to drink from a cup instead?

Ica, tried feeding her from cup & she was so shocked, haha. right now, the only way to get her to drink is to spoon feed her. will try the mag mag again. thanks.

babycoco: the mag mag indeed is harder to drink from the straw... my C seems to hate it ... but i got her another "tomme tippe" this time she is drinking it very smoothly and enjoys alot more.

eliss

i can try to org a spree but i dunno if my kakis in the other thread is interested though i want to get some teaching aids for my #1..

julie

am v v happy for u!

julie: YAY!! So happy for you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann: OK, so reach there around 2pm lah. Can PM me your nbr..cuz I dun hv le. Tks!

I have the magmag and avent magic cup but both she refused to even chew on it. Even when I used the magmag with the teat, she refused just by the look of it cos she knows it’s not her usual avent bottle. If I manage to put it in her mouth, she will spit out immediately coz the teat feel is different. But I want to wean her from bottles by 18 mths, seems like diff to do so..

SK: Let K just play around with the mugs ... C started by playing with it too.. then saw her put into mouth then i put in water with the Grip water to attract her to drink. then slowly reduce to only plain water, now using straw to drink i also put in grip water. slowly will just remove it... hahaha!

CharlieBrown: yup I did ! I given C lots of food that usually mommies here dont give bb yet...

Give C Chicken slices (about 3-4mm width by 1cm) to C this week...

i dont understand why bakers prefer to liase via emails rather than telephone which might only take 1 or 2 minutes of their time???

so tiring keep explaining 1 cake design with so many ding dong via emailsssss....sigh....

yes, it's a nice feeling (nice is an understatement) to have her by my side. Next, I will probably apply for interim custody (so he will never take her away again) and maintenance. I hope to get some advice from mummies who know about how to calculate maintenance. My counsellor advised me to calculate all the amounts included in the maintenance, but i just kind of dunno where to start. i need to include diapers, solids (how much?!)...so many intangibles...

Julie - yes lots of intangibles... have you started working already? If yes, i think you can include the infant care fees/vaccines/fm/food...

Junie: I tot you wanted to order from Oven Creations? why do you want to change? I am considering Oven creations, but when I told my hubby the price, his eyes and mouth opened big. Do you know if the cake from oven creations taste good?

charliesbrown: I wanna check out others 1st to see the price. The lady from ovencreations is quite prompt in her reply.

But ex lah..ya, when I told my HB the proce, he also got a shock! haha.

Not too sure if the cake tastes good but I guess it's quite subjective.

My friend order from yummymumkins for her son's 2nd BD this yr. Tastes quite nic but I still prefer Ovencreations design.

Maybe you can also check out yummymumkins? Think the webbie is http://www.yummymumkins.net

Chelz: actually i prefer commnunicating thru emails [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sometimes over the phone is quite hard especially when you need to describe things. how about meeting the baker in person, sit down and sort things out once and for all? for me i've no choice coz all the service providers that i'm dealing with are in KL. anyway i've just settled my cake order, all through just 1 email. i tried to be as detailed as i could and give her pics as reference

Junie: thanks! Yea I like oven creations designs, they are really nice!

Beannie: haha! I remember the list of food you intro to C. Cos I am thinking if I can give my boy some juice just to tempt him to take some water.

Mrslong / Charliebrown: I ordered from Ovens Creation already for my boy’s birthday. Yeah, the lady is very prompt. Discuss design over phone and then all the details documented in the invoice which she send to me via email.

Another home based baker to consider:

http://aimummy.blogspot.com/

but I think ovencreations cake prices as compared to some others patisserie, etc), can be considered not as expensive liao.

but still ex lah, as compared to some, hehee.

julie

just a thought. maybe you want to calculated your alimony like you are budgeting for the month but must remember it must be increasing as bb g grows cos you need to factor in cost like education, etc.

good luck to you!

Vernie: thanks for the info!

Think I have better start deciding, n doing. Yest saw the chinese show on super dad or what, planning the bday parties for their kids, the parents even sort of dressed up according to the theme!

Mrslong: my 2-tier cake with hello kitty figurines is less than $140. I find it cheap given the design. It was cheaper than cupcake divinity which I was considering initially. But, I took cream cake instead of fondant cos I tried before, fondant cakes r nice but they dun taste gd.. The cream cakes look as nice as fondant though.

We liaise thru email. Anything not clear she will call me to clarify. Then I will email to confirm again in black and white.

Julie

Very happy for u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Yes you should get the interim custody definitely.. what happened was just totally horrible and uncalled for.

hershey, i order with Pine garden.. btw they dun do fondant cakes. i chose this, love at 1st sight! :

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5403452.jpg]

Grace: errr...so? lol. didn't know you're a fan. i'm more interested in the GE, though i can't vote. spore has its very own Sarah Palin ;)