(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

jaclyn

yeah... haha... it's just that i am a little concern how to go a longer way with my nipples being short...

jo_lyn

yes, will do that. am not going to cry over the fact that i cant latch but will b happy to give hime ebm too if i find some suggestions how to get that going for like a good 6mths!

my boi nid 2 sucklet4 comfort each time n i nid 2 latch him every hr..only nap time n midnite i gif fm. Wori abt my milksupply..

Serene,

I use cetaphil to wash bb's head and body. Recommended by dermotologist for sensitive skin when my #1 came down with bad flare. U may wanna try on ur girl to see if it helps in controlling heat rash. My mum used a traditional method on my nephew. She used tapioca flour. It works on my nephew.

Jelly,

u can de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you! Pump pump and start storing in milk bags. I intend to start freezing 2 months b4 going back. Target is still 1 yr this time. Hope can achieve.

just wanna ask, my boy has not pooed close to 30 h le... Normal? I gave him 1fm a day and rest of time direct latching or ebm, hoping to bring down his jaundice level further coz he still looks yellowish... He hardly poo wor. Unlike my #1 who had to change many diapers a day, this one I only use 2 or 3 diapers a day!

Serene,

forgot to mention for moisturiser, am using Avene Emollient cream on Baby. Also recommended by dermotologist.

Babycoco,

think u rented the phototherapy machine right? Can I have the contact? Thinking of renting one home coz it has been raining so can't sun baby at all... TIA

Phy, I rented the phototherapy machine from The Baby Specialist. You can contact their customer service : 65626015.

Jaclyn, my bb also, after change diaper, breastfeed, swaddle, still can't sleep. End up must carry her till she falls asleep.

re: wind in baby's tummy

if baby is fussing/wants to nurse more than usual and not finishing milk feeds can check for gas in tummy. if baby is gassy, stomach will be bloated and hard, if you apply some pressure (particularly at the area below belly button) baby will feel discomfort and cry. baby may also draw his/her legs up towards tummy and cry, or squirm and stretch while feeding.

besides giving colic drops/gripe water and apply ru yi oil, can massage baby's tummy (clockwise direction only) using some pressure. baby will be uncomfortable but later will feel relief when fart or poop so gotta bear with it a bit. another trick to help is to move baby's legs in a 'cycling' motion, and press his legs towards tummy and then stretch out again. these exercise help to 'move' the gut and expel gas.

learnt a lot on how to deal with gassy baby (#1 is a super hardcore colic baby), so this time when #2 has gas it's very easy to recognise and give her some relief.

colic drops like ridwind, infantcol, detinox can get off the shelves from pharmacy. when applying ru yi oil remember not to apply directly on baby's tummy. apply on our palms and warm it up by rubbing our hands together then press onto baby's tummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just to share my experience dealing with gas..

Any idea what free samples can we get? Today quite bored so go online find free samples. Went huggies & drypers website for diaper sample.

hi mummies..

went for my 39weeks +1 day checkup yesterday..my edd 27th July..... still nothing yet.. 1cm so far...water is good, bb heart beat is good.. Dr Woo gave him a deadline to come out.. 30th July. If not will have to induce.. hope he will get the message..hahhaha.. :p

bid on ebay last night and got a really almost brand new Fisherprice Infant to Toddler rocker.. hehe... just went and collect... so happy.. only got it for $48.. hehhe

FREE SAMPLE: can go to dumex, friso site to sign up and get milk powder samples...

ML: started my ML from yesterday liao.. hope this little boy dun make me wait too long..hahah...watched Despicable me yesterday after checkup... hahha. so funny.. :p

morning mommies..

wow wheee.. wat a night I had. Baby didn't sleep till 6am..!! My hubby still knocked out and zzzing away.

babycoco: My hubby also had to carry my son till he falls asleep... then we don't dare to put him down so fast so we wait for at least 10-15 mins till he gets into deeper sleep. Once we felt its OK, we put him down to the cot.. he starts crying. Rinse n repeaT! Sooooo tiring. End up we kept having to carry him (which everyone around us keeps saying we shouldnt). I just can't bear to see him cry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

confinement food: I am suffering from a bad sore throat. i bet its due to the heatyness of the food im taking. Also doesnt help that the red date tea is also heaty and I havent had a decent glass of water for 2 weeks already =(

HELP!!! I still have 2 weeks more but i can't wait for it to be over faster...

jaclyn, i know how you feel. i'm also like that. even though i know cannot carry everytime bb cries, but i also can't bear to hear her crying away. we carry her for 25mins at least, cos that's what we read from this website, bb will fall into deep sleep after 25mins. but you know what? also doesn't work leh. she'll cry the minute we put her down. my hubby said it's like she got sensor, haha

Sleeping

Ya boy, my BB also like that some times... I gotta activate my Hubby to carry him coz if I carry, he sure roots... very hard to stay awake in the wee hours... previous night got tortured by him from 1130pm to 4am...got up yesterday and totally zombified... Last night was good though, he slept from 11pm to 4am then woke me up for milk...then 430am till 7am... at least I get some rest...head been throbbing...

Heaty,

Ya boy, kinda heaty.. suffering from constipation and gotta take off the counter relief...

Jaclyn, like u, I haven't drunk water for 12 days already...all I take is red dates drink, milo, holic and soup... crave for carbonated drinks, my beloved coffee, HL milk, water, fruit juices etc etc.... Must REN!

babycoco,

Thanks for the contact..how's ur gal's jaundice? Still undergoing treatment at home?

I let my boy cry for a while. Like now, he's complaining in his cot..eee ahaa shouting for me..I just let him be, switch on his musical mobile and let him yak yak away... Unless he's crying at the top of his voice that needs my immediate attention, I just let him be first and check on him regulary.

night time harder not to give in coz I WANT TO SLEEP! haha, so always activate hubby to carry.

Cool: I also bought a rocker fisher one infant -toodler at robinson but is 150+ lor.. Zzzz

Urs really a gd deal.

Will also go frisco & dumex webby for samples!

So bored, later going for lunch then pedi & mani and dessert at MOF. Going with my sis cause MOF at WCP got 30% off for student from 230pm - 530pm. Yummy!

shann yang: yeah.lucky lucky.. :p went to see at kiddy palace yesterday which cost $149..hubby think too ex..... really a good deal on ebay.. think ebay have more postings for this item then the WTS tread here in SMH...

I suspect my maid has not been burping my baby well. Now my poor baby has lots of gas in the stomach thus so cranky and spitting milk so much n so often!

Basically my baby needs to be carried the whole day... Put her down, then eyes open wide wide and cries for ppl to carry her again. Like that very tired leh... How to set up a gd routine?

cheerymum : your maid been with you for a long time? I dun trust my new maid with my new born leh.. so everything I have to do myself once nanny leaves. I keep telling my gal "mummy is learning..plsbe patient with me".. Maybe u try watching yr maid to make sure she burp your bb well.

coolqoo, yea i went to check, but all used b4 and got minor stain for some, then i will think, aiya, top up a bit more then can have tne new one already, so maybe will go for brand new one in the end.

Thought Kiddy palace is selling at 129 eh.. member can have discount too!

I just had laksa in the morning, hoping to get some labour sign after eating spicy food haha! until now still so comfy.. aih! bb is sleeping soundly T_T Just chatted with my mum too, if cervix doesn't open even after induce, just caesarean lo, as long as bb is healthy. Cannot be overdue for too long is really not good for bb as our placenta is aging, bb won't be getting enough nutrients and oxygen in the womb, then their weight will drop, with less fat under thier skin, will look like old ppl.. wrinkled!

shann,

wah power, Laksa for breakfast? But if you are a chilly person, ie normally eat very spicy, i think by eating spicy food wont help cos tummy alr season. Like for me, for sure no effect.

Cheery: I nv trust maid. Most maid always try to do less & only do best when u see her doing it. Maybe better to handle BB urself & ask her do other stuff like washing etc.

Cool: Heh. Sorry! Think u r still doing confinement, cannot eat dessert. Jia you k. BB needs you. Me just trying to enjoy before BB pops.

By the way is it 2nd hand rocker chair?

Shann: Maybe u can go eBay!

phy -- thanks! where did you get the items from?

actually bfed bbs can dun poo up to 12 days even cause our bm is easily digested. but ur bb have jaundice, its better for bb to poo and pee.. bb got pee a lot?

latch bb for comfort

i latch my bb for comfort but she also take in milk while she suckle.. end up she drank too much and spit out.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so mommies, do let ur bb take a break, burp her or something instead of letting her latch continuously

cranky bb

my bb also suka suka will like tat.. i will leave her on her cot, talk to her and wait for 15 mins before i carry her. try to listen to bb cries. my bb got diff cries.. one for milk, one for diapers and one for carry.. lol..

suntan, yah lor, both hubby and I love spicy food, cook vege also MUST put a bit of chili padi kind hahaha! How's your new place? unpack everything already? it's a good feeling to be able to stay just you, hubby and baby right! I am so grateful that we managed to get a hdb through balloting before our wedding, if not gotta stay with PIl eh, that time, my MIL was already busy searching for those executive apartment (so that can accommodate more ppl), wah lucky we got a place before she found one hahha! Everytime she comes to our place, will ask, why do we like this place so much? and will say.. 你们很舍不得这里hor? 你不会觉得地方很小meh?

I will be very frank to her, of cuz she bu de! and the space is still fine for us for now, we won't be moving too soon, probably stay for 10 years first. I think her plan is to stay together lor..arrrghhh i will be so stressed if that ever happen. We are staying right beside Commonwealth mrt station eh, downstairs is coffee shop and sheng siong supermarket, love the location so much who will want to sell?!

Shann: Wah lao! u really trying to 'ka jiao" chloe to come out ar? Haha..

I also eat spicy one so maybe need very spicy food to 'ka jiao' my BB but i scared.. Cause that time i eat le stomache lor.. stupid food i think my digestive system changed abit after pregnant..

Wah if that rocker chair is the one i bought and selling $129 i really chest pain! I buy $130.90 after discount at Robinson it is called "FP Asian newborn rocker" in the receipt.

Suntan: U doing anything to try make BB come out?

maid: im very lucky I got a very very good maid. Even though she is new (1 mth with us), her experience with newborn is there.. really can see by the way she handle my son. Maid really is heng/suay thing.. i had my experiences with very lousy ones too.

cheerymum: I also wanna know.. i scared my son soon will be like this.. whole day wan ppl to carry only. Now everyone wants to carry him la.. but come months later, i doubt ppl want to help carry!!

Shann: I see. For me now me & HB living with my mom so is more of my HB dun like. Hah. But we applied for flat alrdy not so soon get. Actually if talk abt nagging my mom is worse that his mom but i think i'm used to my mom's nagging cause I always see what she did for me. If someone new nag at me and i nv really see what she did for me i think i will be irritated lor. Lucky i dun live with my MIL. Actually for my HB case, i think i will be angry with his sister rather than her mother who is WORSE! lol.

Anyway... I am blessed that my HB is willing to accomodate to live with my mom! PEACE!

CoolQoo, it's interesting how your gynae gives a deadline for bb to be out. I'm also due on 26-27 Jul and when I went for my check on Mon, around beginning 39th week, my gynae didn't say much, except everything ok. I read that bb can remain in mummies' tummies till 42nd week.

shann,

Most things unpack le except for mine and hubby's clothes. Still in plastic bags lying ard in the room. Haa also bb's room a bit messy cos got lots of hand me down clothes and some sizes are even for toddlers age. Only unpacked those newborn size and 0-3 mths size clothes. We will only officially shift in after i have given birth and discharge from hospital cos for now, my inlaws dun allow us to shift the bed.

ceres,

No leh. I everyday stress only..hahah. Hubby asked me dun be kan cheong. He say bb will come out when he is ready.

Shann,

Hee, I got this fisher-price rocker for free! Wrote in last year to young parents and my letter got published and I got this rocker! My #2 is already using it! To think that I actually posted on WTS trying to sell it. In the end decided to keep for #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Serene,

U can get cetaphil from Watsons or Guardian. Avene I think only Guardian. Actually if u do drop by TMC, can ask for samples at the pharmarcy opposite POSB ATM machine.

Don't over clean ur BB's face. Apparently water is a dehydrant..meaning it dries up BB's skin.

ceres: mine is the 2nd hand de... but the seller didn;t really use it after she buy.. so it's like brand new...!!.. hahah... i still waiting to pop lei..hahah.. 39th weeks +2 days today..keke.. waiting waiting

Shann: no lei.. i see the price is $149.90..then my kiddy palace card also expired liao..hhahah...so in the end didn;t buy ...:p

Spicy Food: really can help to get him out of my tummy ma?? hahahhah....i can;'t take spicy food.. hmmm.. maybe should try.. kekek

Julie,

Like you, i went for my checkup on mon. Gynae also didnt say anything. My edd is on 25th. Yup, can stay till 42nd week, but that is if the placenta and others are still healthy.

jellypurin, dun lose hope. keep your spirits high! pump then if latch difficult

by the way, its jus day 1 or 2, bb hungry already ?

Shann: Yah! that's the rocker! Alamak... i got it the most exp. Lol..

Cool: So nice! condition gd can le somemore so cheap worth it.

Silly: Wah! u the best, free and 1st hand..

Suntan: Spend time tidy room but do things u can handle hor.. dun over do.

By the way lotion really needed for BB? I haven't buy bath tub for BB leh. Lol!

Phy: aiyo so good! maybe i put it down on wishlist, i keep telling my friends don't need to buy anything, cuz feel very paiseh lor.. i like to give gifts to friends, but don't like friends to 破费 to spend on bb.. cuz hubby and I don't want to hold any buffet for full month celebration ma.. so nothing to give them back.. but friends insist must give sth i also have no choice, better tell them what i need right?

So i think i just need 2 things now,

(1) the Rocker n Toddler chair

(2) A CD player to put in bb's room, for some music.. hehe..

Both 100-200 eh.. must shared btw 2 big groups of friends haha!

coolqoo,

But hor, BB's head still wobbly so will slide to one side..u need to place a head support to keep BB's head in place [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I put my aprica head support on the rocker to keep BB's head there. Also let him nap there while we watch TV or when his gor gor is playing. Good to let BB differential day naps and night sleep early.

Day nap = bright, noisy area is ok

Night sleep = Soft, conducive, quiet

Shann,

Depends on toddler's size wor. My #1 is 2.5yrs old but on the big side...he climbed in and then got stuck and shouted,"Help Help, mummy help!"

AK: Sounds like Ridwind is too strong lei. Hehe!! Now I will burp him 3 times instead of twice nia. Hoping it will help more.

I also understand how you feel staying home alone with maid and CL cause me the same. CL and maid will sit in BB's room to chit chat. But CL still pays attention to BB alot so I dun mind them doing so.

By the way, how come you dun like maid to hold BB? Actually I also dun really like. Not sure why. But then BB will be taken care by her and my FIL when I go back to work. So doesn't make sense if she doesn't hold BB at all. My FIL scared to hold BB.

Cotton Favor: Oh.. I will try tummy time then. For gripe water, my CL will mixed into water and give it to BB when he hiccups. Do you think that's ok?

Serene: I using California BB for bathing. Not using any lotion except bottom balm. By the way, I had asked gynae before when I went back for my first appt with him abt peeling of BB skin. He looked at my boy and say it is very normal. No need to put lotion or worry abt it.

Jaclyn: Your BB same as mine. Had to make sure he sleep deeply then can place in the cot. Sometime also becos he not full enough.

Jellypurin: Ya.. you like me.. got short nipples.. my nipples was real sore when I was in hospital doing latching. Now I expressed my milk out for my BB since I have inverted nipple too.

Shann and coolqoo,

Here's how mine looks like [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4267355.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4267356.jpg]

afternoon mummies. super excited today cos my girl turns one month! ^_^ we can finally go out without having to sneak out :p as for confinement food, i'll probably stick to the diet until her 6th week. i notice that by this weekend, lotsa babies turn/wouldve turned one month old. congratulations mummies!