(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Serene: Actually I am very afraid of dentist too cos last time when young, the school dentist nurses very fierce and rough. So got phobia. I dun wan my kid to follow my step too. In the article which I read, a mummy say she would choose a child dentist for her kid when they are young becos child dentist is good with kids and ease their fear. Then slowly she would switch to the normal dentist when the kids are older. In this way, they would not develop fear of dentist.

I sort of agree with that. But still expensive lei. Haha!! If can find a normal dentist who is good with kids, then very good.

supergal

yup, i agree w watching what we eat. i think where i am getting at is that there is no need to cut ur meals down just to have a nice size bb for natural delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann -- try gg to the paragon one.. its not that ex and the whole clinic is "children" theme.. toys and deco.. they blow up gloves as balloons and stuff when u visit the dentist.. keke..

Serene: Wah.. sound like very fun lei.. do they take adult too? Haha!! Actually I like handsome gentle dentist. Still had yet to find one. Currently my dentist is old and fierce too. Pay money to get scolded like that. Wanna go see him I also sian at times.

Thanks for the recommendation. Maybe drop by to see see this Saturday when I go see gynae. Hehe!! You know what address or not ah?

keer13,

I will be gg for the nude shots too if my stretch marks doesnt show up :p hopefully..i am still clear of them now.

nude shots means we have to go totally naked? as in baring the whole boobs to the camera? i tot we will be covered with the sash or something? so is like "can see, yet cannot see" feeling... do we bring pre-pregnancy clothes?

suntan >> Stretchmarks can always ask Allison to "photo edit". My poor thighs & buttock now also cellulite ridden.

May need to ask Allison to touch up! heehe.

ann -- i lost the webby link.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but hor, i try to find it and let u know.. keke..

talking about dentists, i hate visiting the dental clinic! Everytime I go, i will get scolded bcos i always neglect my teeth... i only go visit my dentist when i'm in pain haha!

I also have this fear from the school dentist nurses. Somemore they DRILL DRILL without any anesthesia.. so painful.

BB heartbeat: Its a thump thump sensation but i dont feel it all the time. Thats why i'm not sure if its bb's heartbeat anot

Serene: Thanks. Is it Smileworks? I was just googling ard and then saw this dental clinic also at paragon and seems highly recommended by some mummies.

Jaclyn: Ya lo.. those stupid school dentist nurses... only create fear in us nia. See what it left us with? Phobia to go dentist. Even when they pull out our teeth ah.. they also never wait till the anesthesia kick in.. they just pull.. wah lao.. so painful lei and then the strength they use when sometime tooth difficult to pull out, like pulling out our own head like that. So angry.

ann, you can try my dentist, he's very nice, very gentle, always apologize if he hurts me when cleaning my teeth or when drilling. seems like we all have bad experience with school dentist nurses.

rmummy, charges about $100 for consultation & cleaning (i think). can't remember cos haven't gone since i got pregnant. but i think that's about market rate right? will pm you the details shortly, must search for my card first.

Dentist - Haha Hubby and I just visited dentist last friday... suppose to do annual polishing and scaling. in the end, both of us spent about $400 plus...this dentist was our 2nd choice cuz 1st choice got waiting list till Sept....

Is it safe to go dentist during 7th month of preg? I actually wantedto go for dental check up but the nurse asked me to go during 2nd trimester unless i got bleeding gums.

If for cleaning of teeth and small works like filling.. no problem. The only concern is if you have difficulty lying down on your back.

THey do not do major works like root canal, extraction of teeth etc. Also they can't take X-ray of your teeth when you're pregnant [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haven't been dropping by.. hope that everyone's well. My edd suppose to be on 2nd July but will be brought forward for a c-sec on 25th June.

Jaclyn:

I visit dentist when i'm in my 1st tri, my molar tooth is giving problem.

I check with the gynae at KKH, she say ok, no problem, as long as when taking x-ray, i got the shield protecting my tummy. anyway the x-ray i took, just focus on my cheek. But anyway, i decide to do the root cancal treatment after i give birth. at the mean time, no chewing on my right side. hahaha

pillow

ya, US set no warranty... if u service at Medela SG, service price starts $100 instead of $50... it's a risk... i assessed it as well. but it's cheap lah when u buy from Leng Leng...

yup yup. just considering.... as i do have a medela PIS (the backpack) at home from my SIL which i have to repurchase the spareparts. so thinking whether to just buy a new set instead as i actualy also need to travel soemtime October....

Shann Yheng: Glad that you are free from infection le! I was also given two pills to insert on 2 consecutive nights. Glad that the discharge n itch has stop as well. I ve stop using lactycd n am using sebamed instead. Its so much better. Hope I wont kana again coz throughout this pregnancy.. i kana many times liao!

supergal & keer13 : I also stop buying things for myself le! And I'm happy w/o complaints. Told my husband that handbags n shoes no longer interest me liao and he said that he hope it will be so even after childbirth... hee hee

But i didnt dare to have a spreadsheet to keep track of expenses leh. juz my yoga class alone already cost almost $500..then there are still antenatal class, aqua fitness class, antenatal packacge with gynea, stretch marks products... and tonics? Then soon there will be a confinement lady expenses not forgetting new maid.. If I add all these misc items to baby items.. think my hubby will complain non-stop..

so i think i better dun work out a spreadsheet:p hee

Sweetkiss: My mum till now still think that I might be carrying a boy leh. She's juz not convinced that I'm expecting a gal lor. And she kept asking me to stop buying pink colour stuff just in case...

Ann : where can u find handsome n gentle dentist? If u know... share leh :p hehee

Pillow: I saw that there is a trade-in/upgade for PIS to the freestyle at Spring Maternity. You might wanna go take a look coz i think u only need to top up a couple of hundreds. If its about only $400+ tt you need to top up then i think it makes more sense coz it comes with warranty for the same price you wanna pay.

I hope to breast feed for as long as i can, how many milk bottles do you think i need to prepare? And does anyone know if i can buy any bottles or must i use the medela one since i am going to buy the freestyle? There are also milk bags and Avent has this brest milk storage bottles. Was wondering if i should explore these? I will be going back to work after maternity. Thanks in advance!

sweetkiss,

Ya, nude shots means totally naked infront of the photographer. But when posing, depending on your comfort level, most ppl will cover the breast and private parts using their hands. But i have also seen those totally nude maternity shoot. Its shot from the side way in a slightly darker environment and it shows the outline of the breast and the tummy. Very nice! But of cos such photos cannot show other ppl and can only be shared with hubby..ahah so a bit wasted.

mrslong,

Hopefully can. Remember previously when we took our wedding shoot, we requested the PG to take away our dark eye circle, then he say if take away then not natural le...so hopefully Allison is able to do it naturally..lol

hi ladies, for storage of milk, apart from milk bags (when you have excess usually at a later stage, say after 2-3 wks?), you can store in glass bottles.

what i did was ask from TMC after i deliver to give me glass bottles. they are v nice to pack a bag for me. those are used glass bottles (of coz they have washed them clean) which contains the FM that they feed babies with. then i bot those plastic caps, available at TMC shop downstairs, at only $1.50 to use with the glass bottles. the glass bottles are really great for the first few wks. able to contain approx 90-100ml of milk.

good morning mummies, didn't sleep well again last night. seems like it's getting harder & harder to find a comfy position to sleep.

by the way, what size milk bottle do we need to get? i intend to bf but in case not possible, will have to give fm. so want to standby some bottles.

For 1st few weeks we need small bottles. After that than big bottles.

Some mummies BF will not be fully out till 3 to 4 days later small quantity of milk only be able to pump out (Never give up cause constant feeding will somehow increase the milk flow),so no harm trying the FM milk in between feeding.

My 1st son dont want to latch, pump pump pump but i am proud cause he managed to drink Pump Breast Milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] for almost 3 months.

2nd son very lucky i little milk produced but he is latching well and drinking every 10 minutes so the supply starts to stock up and for 6 months i BF him.

The trick, for 1st few days of BF when at home I warm up the breast with warm towel and massage it before BF, press the milk out a bit in a towel to prevent baby choking due to sudden gush of milk and also it help to clear the milk blockage. Than I BF the bb directly. The other side of breast will leak while feeding so we can put a dry towel to standby to clean up the leakage. After 2 weeks our supply will eventually meet the demand so we dont need warm towel anymore. BB cry just feed as and when needed.

The key of Success Breast feeding is never give up, even small quantity pump up is a success so continue to pump if baby dont want to latch direct. Unless medical reasons we cannot breast feed than dont put tooo much pressure on ourself.

AtomicKitten: Haha! All my relatives are saying from the look of it, I look like I am expecting a boy.

Pointed tummy, protruding navel… tried explaining that this is old wives’ tale but they keep saying normally is very accurate one.

My mum even asked me to confirm with my gynae!

Sun_tan: those nude shots sound really artistic but actually I am quite shy also… haha.

I bet I cannot smile or pose naturally cos I will feel uneasy. Dunno want to put nipple tape or not..

Cos like not nice to go naked and walk around the studio. At least with nipple tape I feel more secure lor.

Good morning ladies.

Had very disturbed sleep last night. Could not find a comfy position to sleep. I look like a racoon with the dark rings around my eyes.

Also - I have lost track of who was keeping a list of mums who were intending to sign up for the phototaking session with Sean Lau Photography.

Is this still on? Please let me know. Thanks

Hi Eliss, please help me update the table. Mine is a girl - confirmed.

RE: Partial BF & FM

If wanna feed BB with partial BF & FM, how to know how many scoops of FM to how much water or BF? :p

CT, small bottles is only for the first few weeks. so no need to buy too many right? do you think it's better to right away buy bigger bottles? otherwise the small bottles will be wasted right?

Hmm do pple do that? Will be confusing rite?

Normally 1 feed BM, another feed FM (as per the FM instructions, how many spoon to water).

babycoco, big bottles straightaway might result in a lot of air intake so not a good idea.

4 i think is just nice of small bottles. not forgetting bb feed every 2.5 hrly so your washing & sterilising must be able to catch up ? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hey mummies... just an off-topic question.

for those who bake (cakes/cookies) without using built-in ovens, can u intro what ovens i can buy?

i am looking for an oven to do occasional light baking, so i dun wan to splurge on a built-in one. today hubby and i are going shopping, just wanna look around.

thanks!!!

Small bottles is very useful also cause once baby big than can used it to drink plain water or juices.

So it is still ok to buy small ones first.

Thanks for all e info on e bottles n bfeeding! I wanna bfeed but am very worried tt I won't have any milk.

Seems like reCently our thread moving slower, guess everyone getting busier ya.