(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

hi july moms-to-be!

had a question about when the working moms are gonna start their leave...will you guys start ML a couple of weeks before EDD or clear your own personal leave before that and start ML on day of child's birth? Is it possible to get hospitalisation leave from gynea before starting EDD?

sweetkiss - me too havent packed my bag [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] havent even get e pyjamas ready as TMC dont provide Hospital gown..dnt knw where to get those silk button type..and cheap wan...

January - as far as i know they dont give the hospitalisation leave but got to double confirm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've busted my weight gain quota for the whole pregnancy already..sniff. Went for gynae check up last Wednesday. At 32 weeks, sonny boy is 1.7kg and mommie has put on a total of 13.7kg. Blame it on my cake cravings.

january

there was a discussion on this the last round. u can take up to two weeks of ur paid ML from ur coy if you want to start early. HL depends on doc but i dun think u can take more than 2 weeks as well. if u want to clear ur personal leave earlier to prepare for delivery,it can be done too.

hi january, i will start my ML about 1-2 weeks before my EDD. i will not clear my personal leave cos i would like to save it for future use, eg. if i want to resign, use to offset notice period. not sure about hospitalisation leave cos dunno can get or not since we dun have any pregnancy complications?

anyway i prefer to start my leave as late as possible cos i dun want to be idling at home, each day worrying when i will pop.. nth to do at home anyway since hubby is working. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone knows whether Mount A provide hospital gown or patient clothing for u to wear? I am lazy to pack my own pyjamas there lei. Trying to keep my bag small if possible.

pris

how about looking at it this way. ur total weight gain minus bb's weight, u put on exactly 12kg! u will lose the weight thru bfing. dun worry. when i first saw u, i think u were a v slim lady before [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pris: The weight gain quota is u set for yourself one or gynae set for you? Dun be too upset. It will go away after birth.

pris... its okay lar. My bb 1.5kg and i've put on 12.5kg so around there also haha.

dont know why nowadays the "limit" to putting on weight is so little. Back in our parents days... putting on 20kg is acceptable.

LT: Silk one will it be hot? i find that in non air-conditioned room, silk pyjamas quite warm.. if sweating the cloth will stick to the body.. the cotton pyjamas i saw cost like $20+ each for long sleeved ones lor. design also not nice..

re: pjs

i have a few and i dun wear them for during or after my hospital stay. confinement i will get nursing tops... make it sleevless nursing tops, so much more convenient...

jaclyn

reason being, our diet is v rich these days. our parents time, i dun think they had such gd nutrition as us so weight control during pregnancy is an indicator if we had overfed ourselves...

sweetkiss - oh dub..i thought silk will be liang liang one...ha ha mis concept..ya i also prefer dresses kind but scare if need BF bb..den troublesome for dress..i oso saw e cotton type same as ur thts design erm abit cant make it...

ann: For MAH, we need to bring our own clothings. After you confirmed your booking with MAH, they will send you information on what to bring. BTW, saw during the antenatal class that MAH will give bathtub, a pack of diapers, baby wipe and a nice goodie bag for mummy (not too sure what is inside thou).

Pris: don't worry so much, actually total weight gain up to 16kg is still normal. so just need to take more care of your weight from now. don't be too stress, most important is baby is well and healthy!

3rd Tri symptoms: Anyone experience stretch marks, backache, swelling legs, leg cramp etc already? If yes, when did you start experiencing the symptoms?

LT >> I bought 2 pcs of those cotton dress pyjamas with button front from a pasar malam 2-3 mths ago, in prep for my hospital stay @ TMC.

$7 each...wear once or twice only also won't feel wasted, hehee.

i think those "silk" pyjamas will be hot coz most are synthetic material..only real silk is cooling but will cost a bomb...

i bought 2 pcs of those cotton button front pyjamas from Sorella..$10 each [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jaclyn: I also just ordered KFC. Haha!! Felt like eating that too.

Irene: Oh.. so must bring my own clothings ah.. So sian. I think they give us a diaper bag with nothing inside. It's an empty one for us to store all the diapers when we go home. Ya.. they do give us BB tub. I think I will use that for my dogs. Had bought one for BB le.

Pubic Bone pain: I do get more frequent pubic bone pain now. Sometime so painful that when i stand up, i got to limp and walk slowly. I think BB is pressing down.

Hey ladies.. dunno why.. i keep having the feeling that i have a lot of things undone.. start to panic a bit liao.. haha... 7 more weeks!!!

haha Ann, i just had KFC yesterday, so yummy!!

I am going to make oreo cheesecake later, super cheesy and fattening one.. put the weight gain aside for a day haha!

Think i will go Sorella to check out their front button pyjamas too!

Serene: Don't panic, we still have time. Moreover, hubby is there to help if things needs to be done after our delivery.

Question: I know we are ready to delivery anytime, 3 weeks before our EDD. But usually (I know we really cannot compare), for 1st time mama, when do they normally deliver? Week 36? Week 37? Week 38?

From what I know is 38 weeks onwards.

But for my friend, she delivered both babies 1-2 days before EDD.

How many mummies have already decided to take epidural?

change of gynae -- at this point, i dun encourage a change of gynae cause ur current gynae would have a record of ur pregnancy progress and reports..

im with dr ang now.. indeed, his prices are very affordable.. i would advice that u meet up with the gynaes u have in mind and check with them if its ok for the switch..

jus my thoughts...

minmin:

for my 1st child, i deliever 2 wks ealier. Edd was 21-09-08, but she came report to the world at 09-09-08.

But i got friends, edd due already, but bb still don't feel like coming out.

Ann: yummy! =D

Irene: for me, i have my first few stretch marks already.. notice it last week! So it only pop out during my 30 weeks.

I had stretch marks previously which turned white near my side of the waist (where love handles are). Then now the stretch marks continue from the previous ones so i have white lines with red tips now.. who knows how long they will grow. Also saw 1 mark at my under belly..... i have been applying cream religiously since my 12th week but I guess no choice lar.. i will just think of them as my battle scars for my babyboy!

mrslong-my side dnt hv pasar malem at e moment [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hmm...will go down sorella to check on the button down dress too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sweetkiss u gona take epidural? i also cant make up my mind if shd go for that in case in can opt for natural birth.

i think when the bb wan to come out they will juz come..my frd also 1st time mummy - bb come out 1mth ahead tat pretty early and another come out week 38..so i juz hope my gal come out nt earlier then 38wks just right timing will do..tat y everyday tell her tat she must be good gal..dont be too anxious to come out.lol..

Aiyo, u ladies causing me to have panic attacks!! Haha, kan chiong liao!!!

Taking leave

I'm lucky that I'll get to rest 2 weeks in June.. Still thinking if I should continue to work after that till I pop. Already checked with gynae, she can issue me Medical Leave. My big boss is ok with that too.

PJs,

If Robinson is really having the sale this week, then the Karmy PJs quite a steal at about $17 after 20% and 5% rebate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Soft and comfy, but ugly.

Stretch marks

Touch wood, I have no stretch marks on tummy area... just on buttocks.. been religiously applying clarins oil to prevent them from appearing on tummy.

Weight gain

I hope to keep weight gain to 12kg for this pregnancy!!! Die die must!!!! Still brought over 10kg from 1st pregnancy.Told hubby I'm going to go slimming centres/acupunture/weight management this time coz I'm closing shop after #2!!!

So far for this pregnancy already gained 7kg at 29 weeks.

This week marks the start of my 31st week... getting real excited to see my #2..how he looks like, smell like... oh my, carrying the little bundle in my arms....

Serene me too! i also have the same feeling like there're lots of things i've not done yet. i've 10 more wks to go to my EDD. oh, Happy Belated Birthday!!. how was the celebration?

Shann yummy!! suddenly have craving for sweet stuff...so cham!

irene only leg cramps. started since 2nd tri. so far, less than 10 times.

stretch marks all pregnant women will get them. so putting on cream will help to lighten them, won't reduce. also depends on our own mommies. if their were bad, then ours will most likely be as bad

minmin you can check out the MTB May 2010 thread. lots of mommies deliver way before their EDDs, some as early as 1 month. hope mine will be full term.

just a thought - do we follow our own mothers? coz i was a full term baby but my dad was a 7-mth baby and it was during WW2 - no NICU! so my mom was initially quite worried that mine would be a premie

shann yheng

i just had kfc buddy meal just e other day - so shiok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] enjoy! bec confinement month many rules and more strict so i also let go these days a few times a wk liao ..

minmin

i gave birth on wk 40 on e dot for my number 1 BUT i just visited a gd fren in hospital with her number 1 and it came on wk 36! Two days after her wk36 checkup with gynae! Her doc even told her "see u next wk"! but in e middle of the night her waterbag broke .. so maybe it deps

serene

lol .. i also have that "undone" feeling. like still many loose ends! but for me prob bec i hve been taking it more easy bec #2

sweetkiss

where did u find those cotton pajamas front button ones? i have some from last time but i think i really need to get new ones. my previous ones were bought by my mum when she went Thai last time so now i hve no idea where to get 'em

pris

i also have cake cravings. just did a BOOBOO cake (choco cake) last sat .. have not weighed myslf yet tho' [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] lol my appt not with doc till end of tis wk

on confinement -

how much u all giving confinement ladies for angpao? i gave $200 last time but thinking back it may have been too much.

ann

u shld ask doc abt public bone pain leh. having to limp sounds bad. i have sourish type feeling but nothing that would cause me to limp or anything.

this is my baby, at Week 29. could only get the side profile - she just refused to turn. after 2 hrs, i gave up. the thing that looks like a ring on her left eye is the umbilical cord. showed my mom the pic and she said today's technology is so advanced. but she asked why were we so kan cheong. hahaha!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3965802.jpg]

Tek koh, i will give $100 on top of the $1900 =)

And my confinement lady is actually my nanny when i was young! She was my neighbour, she fed me and showered me and put me to nap everyday when my parents were working.. wow now she is going to take care of my baby too! Time flies......

Hi Serene, thanks for your advice. I think i will call Doc Ang if really wanna to switch gynae.

Btw, heard that there is an auto-upgrade from 4 bedded room to double bedded room if your gynae is doctor of women's clinic? Is it true?

Hee.. i love looking at the 4D pics! went to see mine again, i posted it on FB before but juz sharing with u mummies too.. she was stretching her mouth...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3966006.jpg]

LT: Yes i will take epidural... i am scared...

tek_koh: i havent found my pyjamas yet. will go look around soon. previously i only bought 1 set of long sleeved PJs from TW, material good and design also very nice, less than S$10. Shld have bought a few more sets that time!

Better eat what we want to eat now else have to abstain during the one long month of confinement!

Jellypurin >> U r rite, rem reading somewhere that baby and waterbag, placenta and stuff will weigh around 13kg already...hmmm wun be much weight gain after minus all these yea ( keeping fingers crossed n trying to kid myself! ) hee hee...

just came back from seeing my precious. she's 1.6kg at 32 weeks.

still having low blood count - so my gynae injected concentrated iron into my bloodstream. was not as bad as expected. dunno what to eat ley. people told me to eat anchovies after the last blood test and i ate like A WHOLE LOT but today still same result. in fact, it dropped.

cherry.sue eat liver but gotta check with your gynae if that's ok. did your gynae say anything? iron by injection? your blood count must be really low leh

ica, tek_koh -- thanks thanks.. didnt celebrate much.. cause i was bz preparing for niece exams.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

carol -- dr ang's clinic is usually very pack. i suggest u make an appt for a visit then ask him face to face.. as for the rooms.. its not a SOP that it will "auto upgrade".. but normally they will do so.. actually most of the hospital provide this "service" de.. the "Decision" falls on hospital, not gynae..

Now I finally experience heatburn...

Thoart hv the burning sensation...

the feeling getting stronger and stronger then aft tat tummy very bloated and I start to vomit..

aft lunch dont feel like eating and vomit again... decide to take MC and rest till now..

undone feeling -- self kan cheonging myself... haizz.. then i went to the drawer, and try and find something to wash.. and i realise i got a few pieces of newly bought rompers havent wash...!! haha.. that got me even more panic.. haha..

i got this temptation to lay the bed sheet on the cot bed.. but hubby say later dusty.. haha.. but its looking like a "undone" thing if i dun do it!!

my heart now.. in cantonese is like.. la ju la ju.. faint..

yvonne -- take care ya.. try to lie at 45 degrees and rest more... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Serene - I'm also dun noe when we should set up the baby cot/play pen. The items that we bought still in the cupboard and in boxes. Out of sight, out of mind!

Serene at least your cot is assembled oredi. mine is a hand-me-down, so the 4 sides + base are all propped up against the wall, waiting to be assembled. and mattress is in the store room, waiting to be unwrapped..and the list goes on..there still some small items i haven't bought yet...sigh

i think you're very prepared oredi, so dun worry too much hor