(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

allison

just wondering if u would be able to waive the $10 additional person charge for us since we have so many July mommies getting yr package?

jaclyn

i ate during 2nd trimester but it was bec i got foc passdown fr my sis then like mrs long now stock no more then i decided stop. also kindda worried baby gets too big but like serene said its more zi1run4 than bu3.

serene

my java massage place is at shop. i wanted to do prenatal with home sessions at 1st but then my timing is quite erratic so prebooking is hard. when at shop, i can just rock up if resident massage lady is ard and when i had number 1 it was not even this cheap .. lol .. but for post natal i'll prob do home one bec not going anywhere also lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Mummies, cant sleep so wake up read forum... as usual by the time i reach the last post i forgot what i wanna reply and to who again. haha...

Insurance: the companies that provide Shield plans are Prudential, AIA, GE, NTUC and Aviva. And yes, you can only take up plans for your bb after delivery.

Sun_tan: Thanks for organizing the photo shoot. For the photoshoot + the group one, can you count me in? i have not contacted allison, will call her tomorrow. That's if she is working? Anyone have her contact no.?

Hmm so conclusion to continue the bird's nest or not huh? Many ppl say its good for bb's complexion.

Am quite keen to do prenatal massage but am always worried as pregnant not supposed to do massage? What are the benefits?

Keer13: Thanks for the Info on the Medala pumps, u know the contact of the person?

Sorry to bombard all of you with so many questions at the same time, recently only free to come in once a day.

Oh by the way the outing still on? My SIL is unable to book the function room. If we are going to restaurant then we might have to reserve early. So far how many ppl confirmed?

kepsis -- can do massage but must be catered for preggies... not all shop does the prenatal massage de.. its good to circulate blood and to relieve the stress on our body.. when i go massage, i dun allow them to rub my tummy and breast cause it will stimulate birth...

i jus went for my massage ytd and she didnt do my feet cause she say cannot.. palms also never.. pressure wise must be softer than the normal massage.. i ask her to go for my tail bone.. she say cannot too hard and too long on the tail bone.. she is quite pro actually.. she relieve my water retention on my legs and help me feel more relaxed on my shoulders..

i will be getting the insurance from NTUC cause my cousin is an agent and she got it for her own kids too.. its deductable by medisave so i dun need to fork out cash.. its good to get insurance when kids are young.. cheaper also.. i will also be getting another one for my kids edu de.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all MTBs:

Anyone can share where to go to get baby chinese name? Those fortune teller or what one. I dunno what chinese name to give for baby.

I dun dare to go any places even if got prenatal massage. Some places 'fake' one but that day i saw magazine (parenthood or baby one) got show afew places:

- Bella Luna

- Raffles Asthetics (need doc approval letter)

Still got afew but i think this 2 is the cheapest so i record. Bella luna is $180 per 1hr, $400 for 5 session.

Raffles is $130 per hr, $900 for 10 session.

Still quite expensive so didn't go for it.

atomickitten, i'm 28weeks today. i think that picture was the only one that showed her face clearly. must really thank the sonographer for her patience.

F8angels photoshoot (group shoot):

1)sun_tan

2)mrslong

3)eliss

4)kepsis

5)jellypurin(pending)

6)sweetkiss(pending)

7)Geri(pending)

Allison,

in case u missed tek koh's post: are u able to wavie off the $10 charge for hubby since there are so many July mommies taking up ur package?

Kepsis,

will pm u her contacts later.

Jacklyn,

yup, me still taking birdnest. I dun think it shld be a problem to take it all the way till birth, since my sis did take hers all the way n she thinks tat the birdnest did really help

with her pimples.

ceres,

For prenatal massage, maybe u can try those house call one (ie they come to your house to do your massage). Jo_lyn did recommended 2 massage ladies to me previous but so far i have only tried once. The one i tried was at $50 for one and a half hr and the other one which i have yet to try is at $70 for one and a half hrs.

Jaclyn>> I buy the concentrated bird's nest in a bottle. Got from Taka the Dragron brand one. Very concentrated. You take a big teaspoon full and mix with hot water first thing you wake up everyday. I'll go down and get a couple more bottles. They are having a promo now for the month of April. Thinks it's going for $46 a bottle instead of $56..something like tat..nowadays can't remember details so well = )

Jacklyn,

my mom boil for me those whole piece type using double boiler. As for massage, just get ready a big towel so tat u can lay on ur bed n the massage oil won't Kenna ur bed. If u scare too oily, can request the person to put lesser oil. N if u got ur own preference of oil, can ask her to use ur oil.

Dreamgal,

ok noted. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will update ur name in the list tonight cos now I am outside using iPhone to surf the forum :p

oh bird's nest is not "bu" ah, hehee.

Anyway, my gynae did suggest no need to take bird's nest cuz BB might be too big.

suntan >> Tks for organising...think have to get Allison to give us a date for the group shoot (so that we can "book" our diary too), since now we have at least a 5 confirmed.

Hi tek_koh, I'm afraid I can't waive the $10 charge. In appreciation of the july mummies, I have already given a complimentary group photo session worth $280. And I gave this even after a few mummies have already confirmed their slots. sun_tan is one of them. It's really my heartfelt token of appreciation to them.

sun_tan, you're out but still so actively following the thread! Ha!

Suntan: can give me the contact 50dollar for half an hr one? Tks. Do they charge transport fee? I live in west zone. Will the oil seep thru the towel? Is it naked when massaaging? Me also using iPhone. Hehe.

Now only headach wat name for my boy.. Chinese name the characters so many n dunno go where or which Chinese teller n the price.

I'm now outside doing Pedi. Later gonna do foot spa.. Hah.

Jaclyn>> i'm still taking bird's nest. i double boil it myself every week. not difficult leh

mrsong>> perhaps your gynae asked you to stop due to the sugar content in birdnest - may result in baby being on the big side if you consume too much sugar. so maybe you can take the sugarless ready-made ones or if you boil it yourself, you can control the amount of sugar

Mrs Wong from TMC commented that bird's nest has no nutritional value (her dad is/was a TCM physician woh) but she says mothers who take bird's nest when pregnant, their babies are very fair when born, even if the moms are dark skinned. so she also cannot figure out why. hehe

anyway, my cousin consumed bird's nest 2x a week all the way till she gave birth. no eczema and her baby is very, very fair with good complexion. my cousin is tanned and complexion so-so only

also, bird's nest is good for your lungs. it helps in my case as i'm asthmatic. but then need to consume it consistently to see results

oh ya. mommies, eat more fish in 3rd trimester ya. this is the time when baby's brain is developing. oily fish is the best i.e. salmon, co - safe to eat but make sure it's cooked thoroughly

suddenly have craving for black sesame paste

Hi Mummies, wow you all are in the forum so early? What you all doing? I'm in the office leh. Got a few interviews to conduct today... Wish i am in the foot spa just like cares!!!

Serene Tan, Cares and Sun_Tan: Thanks for the info! Can give me the contact for the $50 one too? How do they massage since we cant lie face down right???

Sun_tan: Whats PM ah? Oki i will email her. Thanks a lot for your help!

Ceres: Was discussing with my friend about my bb’s Chinese name and he was saying no need to go to those fortune teller coz a lot of them not very professional. Cos he got a friend who learned a bit of ‘ba zi’ fortune telling and he says its quite simple to come up with the Chinese name on our own, he follows a book. Basically it depends on the surname, see how many strokes, for e.g. my husband is tan, so the surname is 16 strokes. And for 16 strokes surname, the middle will have to be 9 strokes followed by 14 strokes, then from the list of Chinese words that represents the 5 elements, i will have to pick out 5 sets to standby, so when bb is born, have to see if bb is most lacking in which element then we will use the name. A bit tedious but i find it more meaningful to choose on my own, then next time can explain to bb why we choose this name for him.

ica: coz i have craving for cold drinks every day and a lot of people warn me that my bb might be asthamatic next time... so i should continue to drink bird's nest to cancel out the effect? Just trying to have a good reason to drink cold drinks. hee.. hee...

Kepis: I also.. No cold drink cannot. I also crave for orange juice which I usually mix with apple. Hehe. Wow.. So where to get this bk so I know how many strokes needed for 2nd n 3rd character. Bb surname is huang/Ng in chinese is the yellow charater 黄.

Dun envy me. Heh. U can go do also ma. I bored so wanna get out of hse. Later going mothercare at wcp walk walk.

I also dunno abt the massage.. Got to wait till suntan reply. I told my hubby got a post natal massager Ida, alrdy fully bk he shock. He feels think kind of thing not many ppl do or wan.

Today gonna go watch kick ass movie. Saw the trailer very funny. Nowadays dun dare see horror or bloody show.. Scare affect bb. Watch comedy or animations. U mtbs do the same?

Anyone bought drawer or cupboards to put baby stuffs like cloths etc. Mine no room for bb. My Frd say buy those plastic one with 3 drawer enuff. Like those sell in giant. Not sure also.. Any advise?

Good afternoon ladies.

Hot afternoon. I just finished my prenatal massage with Mdm Ida. I must say I feel so GOOD now. She is really good and pro. I am one who is always very afraid of pain so dun dare to do massage. But because of preggy, my back hurt alot (I am sure alot of you here share the same feeling as me). My left wrist also very painful to the extent that when I carry my dogs or try to spread my fingers wide, it hurts. After massage today, My waist doesn't hurt anymore and my wrist is not painful liao. Can spread my fingers wide open. Most imptly, her massage is not painful. Haha!!

She also told me that most likely I have to do pumping of breast milk cos I have one inverted nipple then the other normal one, the aerola not big enough to breast feed but can still try.

She is very friendly too. I am glad that I had booked with her for my post natal massage too. Will continue to do my pre natal massage with her till 8 months.

Oh.. she also commented that my stomach looks small for 7mths.. i was laughing and say i think it looks very big and she is the first person who say it's small.

Ceres: Ya.. Mdm Ida quite popular. She told me just now that she is even booked until November liao.

I bought those plastic one with drawers from Toyogo warehouse direct. I bought one with 4 drawers and got wheels so can push around. Cost me $45. If you interested can go there and buy. Quite cheap.

Ann: where is it? The toyogo direct warehse. By the way wat's here rate for pre natal massage? N her number? U all make me so want to bk her.. Hah.

kepsis and ceres: drinking cold drink is no problem, my mom + sis + aunts all drink and none of their kids have asthma and i dont have asthma too. I did ask mrs wong boiboi about it and she said our stomach will warm the liquid up for 30 mins before it even reaches the baby, so theres no proof whatsoever about babies getting anything bad from us drinking cold drinks =)

But do it at your own risk laH~ for me i will die if i cant drink cold drinks cos i just hate drinking hot drinks in this weather hehehe

wah! so many mommies staying at home today? weather is hot today...sian...some more feeling very sleepy

kepsis>> drinking cold drinks won't lead to baby having asthma. it's either hereditary or due to environment, usually where there's pollution, very dusty environment. so no worry la

mine is hereditary. sometimes when i laugh too much, i can feel the air passage becomes narrower...no fun when you're asthmatic. luckily mine is not the severe type, so can still consume those food "forbidden" to asthmatics i.e. sweet, sour, sticky even doc advised me not to. hahaha. now well-managed oredi

Ceres>> eh, my baby same surname as yours, also Ng / yellow (huang). Have decided on just 1 character for the baby

i also take cold drinks when the weather's really hot. how not to, if not body will overheat, especially when we're pregnant now and cannot drink cooling herbal tea

Ceres: The Toyogo showroom is at Blk 11 Toa Payoh Ind. Park Lor 8 #01-1207 Singapore 319063.

Mdm Ida charged $40 for pre natal massage for 1hr. Her number is 94249829. I heard post natal massage she is fully booked liao all the way till September. Maybe you can ask her to see if she can fit you for pre natal massage.

Wow Thanks for the support! hee i can finally enjoy the cold drinks without guilt! Am drinking Starbuck's rasberry blackcurrent ice blended right now. hee hee.

Ya now i also feel like booking mdm ida.

For the chinese name if you all want i email u the pages? give me your email. for the strokes it follows the 'fan ti zi'.

Kepsis>> make sure it's not raspberry tea leaves ok? Mrs Wong said drinking that in huge quantity will cause us to "bleed like a pig" when we give birth

kepsis dont worry lah, everything in moderation is fine. You can even eat pineapple which is like the most taboo food. Just dont overeat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can anyone help me? how do you say breastfeed in Chinese? Trying to tell my MIL hahaa.. thx in advance! Cant figure out how to tell her in chinese.

Kepis: my email is [email protected]. Will try figure it out. I haven't buy cot but most come with matters is having promo. Very exp n only willing to spend at most 300 on cot.

Ann: tks for the contact. Will try arrange a massage with her.

Ica: 1 word. Also gd.. For me will see how. 1 or 2 is ok just need to find the correct word.

F8angels photoshoot (group shoot):

1)sun_tan

2)mrslong

3)eliss

4)kepsis

5)jasline

6)Geri

7)jellypurin(pending)

8)sweetkiss(pending)

Allison,

Haa, cos was waiting for fren, then with iphone, its so easy to surf net nowadays.

f8agnels mommies (easier to refer than typing all the nicks out..lol),

since some of us are due in early jul and some in late jul, i suggest mid june? How is it? Looking at either 12(sat) or 13(sun)?

Ceres,

Name is zaiton, hp: 96324577. Nope she doesn’t charge transport. Its $50 flat rate. I stayed in the west too  For my previous time, the oil didn’t seep thru the towel. If you scare, maybe you can ask her to put lesser oil. Wah so shiok har..pedi..hehhe I was accompanying a fren to search for diamond for his proposal ring. Me also headache now, dunno wat to name my boy (English name). As for the Chinese name, we need to follow jia pu and the last character can only be chosen after giving birth, ie need the ba zhi to calculate. I will leave that part to hubby to headache. For drawer, like ann, we also planning to get from toyogo, which is like what you mention, those plastic, few levels type.

Kepsis,

You can see zaiton’s contact as stated above. For the back massage, its done sitting at the edge of the bed. Ie my legs would be over the bed and zaiton would be kneeling on the bed. Cannot lie flat on tummy wor..hahah..rgd cold drinks: I love cold drinks! Just put a bottle of ribbena into the fridge :p