(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

vernie: haha! so it was you? just joking..the sales person told me on Wed there were lots of mommies buying the avent stuff. she had 6 sets of the breast pump i bought and 5 were sold on Wed.

A close colleague of mine, who's a mother of 3, advised me that we have to be strong mentally as well if we want to 100% BF. Cos really, all these 'senior people' will surely pressurize us by saying that our milk is not enough. In fact, the first few days it's only colostrum. If we persevere, the milk supply will come in somewhere on the 4th or 5th day, where our breasts will be like 'bricks'. BB will have their reserves initially also. I also hope I am strong enough to face up to the challenge.

By the way mummies, does anyone know where i can get ideas on decorating baby's room? I looked through parenting and renovation magazines this month, but no articles on them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Eliss: Yes, staying with my Step MIL. My own house only ready after June.

I can't go back to my mum's place. My grandma will not allow. She said married woman cannot go back niang-jia to do confinement.

Sweetkiss - your grandma dun allow? She stays with your mum? erm more importantly what did your mum say about it...?

ica>> i think maybe only hospitals have colostrum sold in bottles cuz as you said, it's as close as to a mother's colostrum.

hihi fazzy.. maybe you wanna try wall sticker? I bought from a push cart at square 2... think is call ezy decor or something.. can't rember the exact name.. really cute designs...cheap too think is $29 dollars... the wall stickers they have are from korea

Eliss: Yup grandma stays with my parents. My mum dun dare to say anything leh cos grandma very fierce. Hahaha.

fazzy: Usually i google for baby's nursery rooms then sometimes will get to those websites with lots of pics, can look at them for ideas.

I'm intending to purchase some wall decals/stickers from the SMH Bulk Purchase, which some would organised.

These are from Korea too & cost from $14 to $20+.

Ann: I buy the bottle detergents (2brands) cos i want to try out and see which i prefer. Heehee.. Plus i need to put at my place and my mum place.

Ceres: The gap sales is at the Spree section.

Hi all Mummies,

I'm just back from my Hong Kong trip.. It was a good culinary trip, ate lotsa food.. Bought 1 whole luggage of things for baby.. Things were really cheap in Shenzhen.. Bought baby clothes at $3-$4 for s set, baby bag at $12, baby lookalike "Bjorn" carrier at $35 and lotsa bibs, as cheap as $0.40 each.. :p

Now, I feel more mummy like.. Surrounded by so many baby stuff... Hee.. Since last week, I can feel baby kick everyday.. It's indeed a happy experience..

Updates of my baby status: EDD: 23/7/2010. Boy. Name: Brayden..

Good afternoon ladies.

I am so tired because of flu. So busy whole morning and now lunchtime, can spare some time to come in and chit chat. My throat always dry up easily. If I talk abit, my throat will become so dry that I choke and cough. Hai..

Gals, Poppletots Lee is set up by my friend. Do give her your support if possible and help her spread. She just started the kids clothing business online. She will fly overseas to select the clothings on her own. So the clothings she sell quite unique. Thank you very much. ^_^

SweetKiss: I will be putting the baby in the Master bedroom together with hubby and me.. CL will be sleeping in another room. Hubby prefer it that way. So I go along with him lo.

My hubby like the idea of breastfeeding alot cos it's FREE.. haha!!! Am I trying to make my hubby sound like a cheapo? Hehe!! But frankly speaking, can save alot of money and good for BB, so why not? When I say alot of money, I mean by a few hundreds per yr lei.

AtomicKitten: Woah.. what did u eat? Must be really alot lei. Haha!! Envious, now I flu, not much appetite.. how I wish I can eat lots too. Hehe!!

Luckily I will be doing confinement at my own house and my in laws and my mum are working. So no one to pressurize me. But my MIL and mum very modernised one so they know the benefits of breast feeding. Even my hubby is a breastfed baby and thus he always say he is smarter than me cos I am a FM baby. My mum dunno why cannot produce enough milk.

My grandparents also can't do anything to me cos they know I am very stubborn and have a terrible temper if I flare up. So they will let me do what I wan. Hehe!!

mrslong: I also wish to take leave on Monday but then I got things which need to be submitted on Monday and a meeting too. Maybe I try to squeeze a day next week to rest at home. I think I need the rest to get well. Hai...

Looking forward to baby fair at expo this evening. Mummies who have went, do let us know got what good lobang to look out for. So excited. I even brought out my baby list to buy. Haha!!

im not getting any CL... gonna do everything myself with my hubby and our helper. For food wise, we will have my grandmom + my mom to help me.. they are not staying with me but the hubby has volunteered to fetch the food from them everyday.

Im also going to the expo this evening...! Yay I love baby shopping [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sorry to interrupt.

will you be travelling by tigerairway anytime from now till end oct 2010? I've credits with them and can offer to help you buy tickets at 10% discount off the online promotional fare. Please let me know by 22 march if you are interested. Pm me in case I miss your posts. Thanks.

I'm not getting Cl also. same as my 1st gal, I will stay at my parents' house, my mum will prepare the drink n food for my breakfast n lunch before she go work. then i will take care my bb on my own. Hb will help out also.

Hey girls, I am intending to buy those Toyoga storage box for putting BB things. My friend ask me to go to the company directly cos cheaper.

If anyone of you interesred, the address is as follows:

Toyogo Singapore

Blk 11 #01-1207

Toa Payoh Industrial Park Lor 8

Showroom open from 10am to 7pm everyday

Tel: 62518747

i think its really good that so many of us here want to do 100% BF for our child - it is supposed to be the best thing for them. But personally, i also think that its impt to stand by a tin of FM also. For my first baby, i had very little BF and my baby was crying all the time! i nearly went mad! but the worse thing was, because she didn't have enough to drink, she developed severe jaundice as she cldn't process the bilirubin in her system which all babies hve. As a result, i had to suffer the heart pain of seeing my new born baby being hospitalised for 4 days, not allowed to wear any clothes or be cuddled as she had to have the UV light on her all the time; sleep in a hard plastic tub, her eyes blindfolded and a drip in her tiny arm! so terrible thing to go thru. So, while it is good to want to BF 100%, do try to be open to FM if necessary....i wished i have been more open to FM earlier and spare my poor bb the pain....

Rmummy, thanks for sharing...while i want to BF as much as possible...will standby one small tin of FM just in case...

It's pouring now on the east side.

I hope the rain will stop when i am heading to expo.

Just had my lunch, i think becos of my flu, the food is tasteless. Hai..

how many of you girls heading off to the expo later?

hehe.

oh! ecym if you're updating again, kindly change the name of my hospital to PEH (i guess, since it's Parkway East Hospital now).

Dunno why but i'm excited by the news even though it's like just name change.

cherry.sue: I will be heading down later.

Wonder how much cash to bring along. Hopefully they take NETS.

Mummies going down pls share those nice deals here tonite k. I will be heading down on Sunday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rmummy

I am a silent reader of this thread, also expecting my baby in July. Thanks for sharing your take on BF. I totally agree with you. I am also a 2nd time mum. And based on my 1st baby experience, I do think that standing by a tin of FM is very impt. Yes, BF is good for baby, we all know that but I really think we have to be realistic. Everyone's body is different, there are mums who will have plenty of BM for baby, and there are some who will not be able to produce enough for total BF. When I had my first baby, I also tried to BF, but my milk is just not enough and I gave in to FM. I never think that FM is not good. I ask myself, should I stubbornly insist on total BF and ignore the cryings of my hungry baby OR should I give my poor crying baby the food he needs. So in the end, my baby had a mix of FM and BM, I pump whenever I can, if have BM good, if don't have enough, I won't pressurize myself either. I believe motherhood is not all about BF, no BM doesn't mean we are depriving our baby our love. We can always select the best FM for our baby and later cook nutritious meal when they are ready for solids. I don't want to get into post-natal depression by concentrating so much on BF that I ignore the other aspects of caring for my baby. FYI, my baby's been healthy and growing well even he is not on total BF whereas I have frends' babies falling sick and ganna Hand Food Mouth when they are actually breastfed babies. My two cents worth on Breast feeding [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Sorry for being long winded.

Tks for sharing srumpee & i agree with you totally.

Motherhood is not solely based on your capacity whether u can BF or not, it encompasss other aspects as well.

So for me, even tho' am a 1st time mummy, I tell myself if can BF, good, if cannot, nvm, let BB drink FM. That doesn't mean I am a bad mummy cuz we have to think of the "big" picture [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

srumpee, rmummy, thanks for sharing. for 1st time moms like myself, we sometimes have no idea what to expect after we've given birth. of course, all of us would love to have ample supply of BM. i will also listen to your advise and have some FM on standby.

my HB is @ Expo BB Care Fest now & just SMSed me say ALOT of pple, hehee.

We're going tmrw to buy the Combi stroller. He said Combi has 10% discount.

Saw a post from another thread on today's bb expo sales.. it says..

"Overall no. of booths are lesser this year. Huggies, Nestle, Combi, BabySafe, Pampers, Drypers, Avent, Konfidence are there. cordblood banking there too.. bot the huggies diapers there, ultra or pullup pants selling at $12.50 each if you buy 4 packs. "

hi Scrumpee, i wish i had known u earlier!!! You know, even though i gave my bb FM in the end and she did and grew v well with that....i took me a long long time to get over the guilt that i was not able to give her "the best" and it really made me v stressed out!

So, i am hoping with that hard-earned experience, i will be able to relieve that burden if 100% Bm is gg to be issue with no #2 again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks for sharing your story!

Hi Scrumpee,

I had almost the same thing as u.

I made a mistake by not direct latching, cos my nipple was so sore, n I never tot of nipple shield, plus i pumped out the milk when i felt

engorement, plus i place cold cabbage when i went to sleep.

also the most i pump out only 90ml. It was so discourage. end up after 2 wks, supply of BM was total cut off.

Hb was quite supporting. ask me not to think too much, so as long as we tried our best, n we did try BF, it good enough.

So this time round, i hope i will success in BF too.

Frankly I never think that FM fed baby are not as good as BM fed baby. Me is a FM fed baby, i also grew up big and strong. And I dun think I am dumper than my hubby even though he always say he is smarter. Haha!!

But I remember some mummies say must see what milk the hospital is giving your BB, then buy the same brand. Cannot change the brand so suddenly or else the stomach of BB cannot adjust.

Dunno if I remember wrongly or not.

Jasmine

I tried direct latching and pumping, but it did not help with the supply. But to be frank, I pump more than I latch cos my nipple was so sore and was bleeding. I tried nipple shield, no use cos the baby can't suck with the shield. Latching is too much a painful experience. The most I pump was also about 80 to 90ml after pumping for 1hour. I admire mummies who can pump like 120ml within 20mins.I just accept the fact that I am not one of those mummies who are blessed with BM.

In terms of support, my mum was supportive by making me lots of papaya soup, milo etc. My hubby also bought fenugreek for me. But the milk just did not increase. So I was not offended or upset when my mum remarked that I don't have enough milk for my baby and should give my baby FM. She already helped me so much in my confinement and I am really grateful to her. I also don't want to make things difficult for her as she is helping me to take care of the baby.

Ann, you right. Better to stick with the milk that the hospital gives. U change it only if you realise your baby is not adjusting well to the milk. Some symptoms that you should change the FM includes:

- regurgitate (vomit almost all that you fed him, if a little bit is still fine cos that's normal)

- diarrhoea (pass watery stools or pass motion more than 4 times a day)

And if you are to change FM, you have to mix the current FM and new FM eg. 2 scoops of current FM and 1 scoop of new FM for the first two days then slowly increase the scoop of new FM. This is the same step if you change from stage 1 to stage 2 FM.

Rmummy

We jiayou together for the 2nd bb. But don't stress yourself too much since you already know what to expect based on your 1st baby experience

Understand…. Me also go through the same phase. When you have sore bleeding nipples, I don't think the idea of "bonding" is that attractive when every latch is a pain.

But luckily, I had quite a useful pump (ameda) that I was able to pump on days when nipples are too painful. So in between latching and a good pump, I manage to stabilise the milk supply after 2 wks and my bb can be on 90% BM. But at the initial stage, I supplement with FM and do not feel anything wrong with it. These days I find pple make FM sound like poison…

For this time round #2, I am gonna be more relax and focus more on enjoying my time with the bb and my #1 then to stress over BM. Shortage of supply, I will just supplement with FM. mummies should not feel guilty or bad doing that.

my mum never make any comment la, since she don know how much i pump out. normally i fed my gal BM 1st b4 I give FM.

My HB even pick green payaya from his work place home, for my mum to cook soup for me to drink.

wonder is it true, big breast = no milk... hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasmine: Really ah? Then cham liao.. my breasts consider quite big lei.. haha!! But I also big size too la.

Jasmine

I am also wondering if is really big breast no milk cos my friends who have smaller breasts than me can produce more milk. I suspect the excess fats in our breasts blocked the milk ducts haha.

Pillow

Yah lor, don't know why now adays pple keep stressing new mums about breastmilk and make FM sounds like poison. I think such comments really stress out new mums to be.

hi mummies, I'm on leave tdy... so many posts.

die ar... bigger boobies haf lesser milk? sigh... unfair leh...

anyways, I went to the expo fair tdy.

reached there abt 1050am, already long q. but managed to get a goodie bag.

bot quite a lot of big items I need. I bot a bb cot(5 in 1 convertible kind) for 299.

I also got my maclaren techno xt 2009 with comfort pack @ 439. I tink this is v cheap cuz the Chinatown shop quoted me 500 for the exact same model.

I also bot the sarong sling from moms in mind for 40. quite a few pieces of nursing bras for 10 each. spent abv 100 @ the booth will haf add 20% disc.

lastly wld b the small items like rattle, toys, maternity wear, nuk pdts etc...

I haven buy the essentials such as diapers, wet wipes, sterilizer etc.... plan to stk them up along the way.

I can't imagine I spent 6 hours at the BB fair.. crazy..

I spent a bomb there... bought Cot, playpen (bought both so I can put one in e living room.. car seat, maernity clothes, mustela bathing stuff, diapers (both pampers n drypers), sling, nursing wear, thermometer..

Oh.. for those who have not sign up for the MAH card.. they dun have the pre launch price already.. They cost $98 now.

Noknok,

wow power shopping haha.. Which brand car seat did u buy? Is it cheaper at the fair as compared to outside?