(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Oh.. so around that price is ok?

I saw in the forum some mummy wrap big ang bao for 1st day of work.. something like $150 to $200.. I nearly fainted. That is alot of money lei.

CL - by the way, do we still need to register our CL with the Gov prior CL arrives? My CL contact person was telling me no need cuz Malaysians' entry to Singapore is valid for 28 days. But i read from somewhere we need to apply for some permit. So I am very confused now...

Alicia/Ann - oh i have this PM recommending PEM...for your reference.

"Helo..

I'm a Feb mom and currently doin g my confinement still..

I engaged y CL frm PEM Confinement Agency.. I would say they provide quite comprehensive services. Personally will encourage moms to engage CL via agents than calling those private ones.. Main reason is : u do not need to worry tat CL will MIA & if reali hav issue wif the CL, agent can do a replacement for u..

The current CL tat we hav is pretty good. She's very organized, clean, cook variety of dishes and reali takes care of my baby girl well. We can see tat she loves babies..

Even my in laws whom are not stayin wif us feel tat Aunty is good. Even thought if she can become our full time maid !!

Do visit PEM website and read thru their services.. They also hav herbal soup packages cater thru out the 28days of confinement for us to drink."

Ecym, thanks for sharing too! My MIL suddenly said she dun wanna do confinement for me cos she dunno how to bathe for the baby and she has her 5yo to take care of. So now have to start hunting my own. Those that my friends recommended charge at least 2K & some even need to apply work permit for them.

Ecym: For my case, I did apply the temp work permit for the nanny. But PEM is helping me to apply and collect the permit. There is actually a levy of $168 ($6 per day for Singapore babies) to be paid to govt. But I know freelance nannies dun apply any work permit at all.

I think the person who PM you, I saw her post in the forum. She recommended a CL named Siew Fong or something like that.

Wah i didnt know that we need to give AB for CL leh.

Ann, yup mine CL is freelance. No need to apply for permit.

Sun_tan: Ya.. it is a practice in the market to give AB to them.. something like good luck kind of thing.

It's not no need but then freelance tend to skip it. hehe!!

Ann,

oh...haha no wonder nv heard of it, cos all my frens get freelance one.

Rgd bbplus,

I also notice that my bb tends to kick the area where bbplus is placed. Its almost like he/she is kicking towards the sound.There was once when i lie flat on my back and place bbplus on the tip of my tummy, so its like balancing on my tummy, then bb gave a kick and the bbplus topple over..lol

i also engage PEM agency for my CL.

They have good comments. My AB will range the most i give is $68... a lot liao leh.. i feel tat.. lol

I think my baby kicks and punches.. Haha. Sometimes can feel both left and right side of my tummy throbbing at the same time. And she has been really active these few days. I slept at 2am, and she is still kicking. Sometimes i wonder if she understands.. I will place my hand on my tummy and tell her, go and rest ok? Mummy is going to sleep... and the kickings will stop. I expected her to be less active when i go work since she was so busy the nite before, but she is still kicking away until now! Hehe

Sun_tan: Mine didn't topple over cos I always attached it to my waist. Haha!! But they can really kick lei. So small yet so much strength.

Sweetkiss: My baby quite ok.. after nighttime BBplus session, he will quiet down and I always sleep through the night.. only woke up to pee that's all. He only start moving again when I play BB plus in the morning. Or maybe he did move in the middle of the night but I always sleep like a pig so dunno he move. Haha!!

Suntan - even freelance CL if not sgean need permit leh.. there are cases where MOM found out and fine the employer. Better do a check if she is permitted to work in sg.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3204442.html?1262053694

ica: the weather in japan was cold and it was raining almost every day that we were there.

ann: this is my second visit to japan and it is still a very interesting place to visit. I love the child friendly toilets where they hve the child seat in the cubicles so that mummies & daddies can do their business in peace.

Was just telling my husband, I dun know how to manage baby if i need to go to the toilet when I am out on my own with bb next time.

I dun think I can push the stroller all the way into the cubicle and is it safe to leave bb in stroller outside the cubicle?

Hi all...

I went to Tangs during lunch just now. For today & tomorrow (18 Mar), they are having 12% rebate for Citibank & Tangs members on top of the current discount. Saw the following:

1. Avent Electric Sterilizer - $149 original price ($119.20 after 20% off, $104.90 after 12% Citibank card rebate)

2. Avent Digital Sterilizer - $199 ($159.20 after 20% off, $140 after 12% Citibank rebate)

3. Avent Newborn Starter Set BPA Free (blue packaging - made from PP material - heard a mummy mentioned this is the one that does not leak). The set consist of 4 bottles - can't remember the size but will be 2 of each, think 2 small and 2 bigger ones. Selling at $49 ($39.20 after 20% off, $34.50 after 12% Citibank rebate)

So, if I choose to buy item #1 & #3, total is approx. $139.

Have not been to Taka BB fair yet, but one mummy mentioned that the bundle set for Avent is $169? What is included in that bundle? Dunno whether to get from Tangs or Taka now.

Back from lunch.. weather so hot. Now regretted that I stuffed myself with the crispy chicken chop. So full now. My colleague was saying I should finish my food cos children in Hati has nothing to eat.

Munchies: I just went Japan last yr for honeymoon. So I told hubby when BB is about 1 yr old like that, maybe we travel again to Hokkaido. Really miss that place.

I was following the tread abt CL.

What is the market rate these days? I have been quoted S$2K.

Anyone know a good CL for twins?

hi vernie,

thanks for sharing! i have tangs membership card, maybe should get it from there instead.

what else have you girls bought? i'm thinking of getting steriliser and breast pump only as of now.

my sister bought me a baby cot so that's done.

what else should i consider getting now?

oh...i found the post by AtomicKitten on Taka BB Fair Avent Bundle.

Quoting AtomicKitten:

Avent bundle at $189

- 24 h sterilizer with digital display

- bottle warmer

- 2 weaning spoons

- 1 teether

- silicon pacifiers x2

- 3 Airflex Feeding bottles with newborn flow teats 125ml/40z

- 1 bolster

Vernie>> The bundle at Taka is $189. Includes Digital Sterilizer, Food/bottle warmer, 3 non-BPA bottles, silicon feeding spoons, pacifiers, bolster..I think that's about it. It is worth it if you are looking to buy both the Digital Sterilizer and the Food Warmer.

Nikki: $2k is not a bad pricing for twin lei. Yesterday I ask the consultant from PEM.. so if twin then more expensive? He say another $800 which means $2.7k for twin. So for $2k, can consider.

Medela: Seems like Medela alot of sale. How come Ameda no sale?

Ann, i am thinking the same thing too...how come Ameda no sale? Been trying to search for good deal for Ameda...

As for Medela sale, after the discount its still very expensive..most prob will get from oversea spree..but no warranty thou.

vernie>> Yep, I mentioned b4 PP material BPA free Avent bottles don't leak (unlike the PES material, yellow packaging). I also bought the Avent Sterilizer @ $149 from Robinsons but there was a further rebate using Robinsons OCBC card.

So I think the Tangs promo seems like a good buy too.

I bought the Avent Newborn Starter Set at $49 at Taka bb fair.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Vernie: It's either Ameda is so good that they dun need any sale or their retail price is already very good liao.

But still I think I will get Ameda pump despite Medela having so many sale.

Hi mommies.

Am new to this forum, can add me in the July 2010 MTB. Thanks alot...

MTB: Lovelybun

EDD: 15th July 2010

Hospital: TMC

Gynae: Dr Caroline Khi

BB Gender: Gal

Child No: first BB

For those MTBs who gave a deposit to the CL,

do you ask for their passport no or i/c no?

My CL requested for a deposit of $300 , am a bit worried she will run off with the $.

munchies>> I also gave $300 deposit to the CL. Nvr ask for anything.

What my CL did was write on her notepad that she has received $300 from me & put my address, name & contact number.

But I also blur, did not write it own for my record to.

Anyhow, cuz I also hv her son-in-law's S'pore HP number & know where he stays (cuz when I pass the deposit to her, she asked to meet at her son-in-law's hse void deck), so shld be ok bah.

Vernie, Ann>> There was an Ameda booth at the Taka fair. it was right beside the Avent booth. When you go down the steps to the atrium hall, you would see it straightaway...it's more of just one shelf of Ameda pumps tho. Can't rem how much.

Mrslong,

I see. For my CL, she does not even have a sin hp , only a malaysian hp no for contact. I wont be meeting her as I wont be in sin during the time she wants to meet hence my mum is gg to meet her. Wondering if i need to collect any other information from her. I am worried.. if she cut off her hp .. i wont be able to find her at all.

munchies>> i think have to base on trust liao...cuz even if u take down her particulars, if she has the intention to "run road", you also can't do much, cuz she's in Malaysia and can just terminate her HP line.

I just hope she doesnt sabo me at the very last min, not only do i hve to look for replacement at the last min.. i also lose my $$.

Me worse, i paid the deposit via internet transfer. Nv meet her before. But since is recommended by my fren and her fren also use the same CL before, i guess should be ok bah.

I am like sun_tan, paid via internet transfer and nv meet before, but is recommended by my fren , agree with Mrs long, if she intend to run off, we cant do much even if we have contacts, unless there is a contract, black and white.keeping fingers crossed..

Pris: Oh.. is it? I must have been cock eye and missed it again. I only saw a big Medela counter there. Nevermind.. going to Taka fair again. hehe!!

I am planning to engage CL frm PEM confinement nanny agency since it is SG agency n first ministry of manpower licensed.

Anyone know what is the price range like for a CL engage in PEM?