(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Ann : have a small cup of ice cream... i have it last night when my nose was so blocked that i cant slp... so HB got me some ice cream to cheer me up then he tuck me off to slp... hahaha...

share with MTB here ... my HB damn free this morning to find this for me to read up... quite detailed n useful ...

http://pregnancyrx.com/

Hi Ann,

I also dunno y earlier lei.. Mayb i check see whether my next appt will be in 3 or 4 wk times..

I know how u feel.. Ya 1 wk to wait also very tough for me too.. Well look at the positive side.. Soon 1 wk aft will be ur turn.. =)

Hi Sweetkiss,

I think is change to the same location... I nv tot of changing to other location at that time wen I asked..

Btw, recently I have a collegue that told me that i can call in n tell customer svc the reason n they might wavied the charges for u to change to another person name.. Cos my collegue's friend juz did that..

However On dec wen i called customer svc n tell him that my reason y i cannot go, he only advice me to change date will be cheaper than change name... So I tot wait until like March Jetstar always have promotion celebrating their annivesary.. until then, I shall see how..

Alicia, the fee is really expensive ya...

Autumn, kkh told me the amino test will be carried out by prof, not the individual gynae.

xbeanniex: No la.. $10 voucher must finish using at one go or else also no refund. So when i feel better then ask hubby go eat together.

Jasline: No choice lo.. just got to wait. Ah!!! In agony while waiting.

ethan_mum, yeah, it's carried out by e prof/snr consultant lor..e one i saw yesterday was a snr consultant & he happened to be 1 of 8 permitted to do the amnio test in KKH

hello MTBs, i just came back from a one-week holiday in BKK with one bb in my stomach and a 14th month in my arms.

To those who are concerned abt medical emergencies, don't worry - there are many international-std, English-speaking hospitals in BKK. All you need to do is to google them for the one nearest to your hotel, print out the address, location map and phone no. So, if really need medical help, you will know where to go and how to go.

As for food and hygiene issues, i think just use simple caution will do - eat at reputable restuarants, don't eat semi-cooked food, don't drink water from tap or eat from food side stalls.

As for massage - just let the masseur know or just restrict yourself to a head & shoulder massage or hands massage like what i did. Still v shiok!

And dun worry too much, if your gynae gives you the go-ahead to go, just go! Once your baby comes, there really will be no time to holiday and even if you bring ur bb along, you will find that you spend your holiday taking care of ur bb and your shopping time definitely compromised by bb's sleeping and feeding schedule.

Just my 2 cents' worth! Enjoy ur weekend!

on travelling

with my #1 i didnt travel during last trimester but we went phuket to veg out for 1 wk when she was abt 3 months [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rmummy,

Wah..i also dying for a head, shoulder and arm massage now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Autrumn,

oic, have u make appt with them? i called to kkh to locate my gynae, i haven seen her after my DS test and my next appt with her in 5 weeks time, which is too long..

i l msg to ask my gynae to call me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ethan_mum, KKH did ask me to make appt for the amnio test..but likely i will go to the gynae (at Mt E) recommended by my gynae to do the test lor..

following your test results, did KKH ask you to go for any amnio/CVS counselling? think u shd do that soon, so that can fix an appt to do either procedure should u decide to proceed?

autrumn,

after seeing the result, they straight away sent me for amino counseling, but the conselling is damn lousy, they just show me what is the purpose, what is the risk, how the procedure will be carry out, very simple abt 1-2 mins then finished!

i have yet to decide, high percentage will go since no choice unless we commit to raise if this is a DS child.

babycoco, my fren's mum also said the same thg...

dunno how true.. any idea, mummies?

but i cant imagine life w/o an ultra-sound machine! everytime must wait for so long before we see our BB again... long wait.

ethan_mum, don't worry too much..i think the procedure is relatively safe & i also think our babies will turn out ok one! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco: my mum also say that but she just say without knowing why she make the comment. Haha!!

D Queeen: I think our grandma's era no ultrasound.. they only see BB at birth.. Hehe!! Wonder how they pass through those agonising stage.

So far, no study shows that ultrasound is harmful.. but not sure if excessive use will have side effect or not.

ethan_mum & autrumn,

I think the amnio test is pretty safe. We shouldn't worry too much. I will be going for mine next week too. As I am a over age mum, my gynae straight away recommend me to do this test instead of doing the OSCAR.

After much consideration, I think it is worth to do it as we just want to make sure our bb is healthy.

Autrumn, thanks for the encouragement. no joke i cant have proper sleep and appetite after the DS test. i keep thinking what if what if...

Our babies will be fine... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbliss,

ya, i have 2 frens that categories in high risk group coz abv 35yo. gynae will recommend straight away to do amino test, coz no point struggle with the numbers.

bbbliss, autrumn, n ethan mum

I am sure ur bbs will be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Dun worry too much

bbbliss, let us know how your amnio goes k? mine is another 3 wks' time..

ethan_mum, take care & stay positive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

all the best to the mummies who are going for further tests.

im sure bb will be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jiayou!

babycoco & DQueen,

my hubby asked our gynae b4 if doing too many ultrasounds is no good, esp. during the 1st trimester? (cuz my hubby dunno read from where say no good).

then my gynae said no & said those usually angmohs say one. she said ultrasounds wave cannot be heard by humans, etc...so it is ok.

hope that answer your qn. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ethan mum,

We all hve our fears. Even though my OSCAR test is ok.. 1 to 2000 plus but sometimes, i just cant keep worrying abt how the bb is doing. I think I will never be able to stop worrying from now cos even when our bbs are out, there will be tons of things still for us to worry. I guess this is what parenthood is about. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So guess we shld just try our best to enjoy the pregnancy.

Bbliss, pls share with us with your test.

Autrumn, u in 3 wks, mine in 5 wks coz in 4 wks time is cny.

thanks all for the encouragement.

i agree with u munchies.

my friend who's a mummy said even when baby is normal, when she delivers she also worries if baby can hear, can talk or look ok or not.

then when baby is born, we also worry when they get sick, their developmental progress, etc.

neverending one lah.

munchies, how i wish my ratio got one more digit added behind.. ha

ya, tons of worries and also tons of joys later on [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xbeaniex, i'm in my 13.5 wk going into 14th week...but appetite still the same.

and still cannot stand the sight/thought/smell of fish and any kind of soup.

still feeling tired as ever too.

mrslong : i started to feel changes in my appetite as right now i am hungry... stomach growling anytime. fish i m fine is super fresh = those still swimming then fried it... steam on i dont like ... hee... i love soup!! i got no appetite then i take soup every meal... hee...

broken record this week too... reach home at 9pm after work cum dinner, 930pm slp like a log unknowingly...supposingly waiting for commercial to end n rtn back to my show. hahaha

xbeanniex, my appetite improved for a little while (around 12-14 weeks, now back to no appetite. i'll be 16 weeks tomorrow. i'm never hungry. so must force myself to eat.

xbeanniex & mrslong

My 13-14th week was very terrible, had to go to the hospital for drip and injection. I m now in my 15th week and my appetite is back. Though I still feel very bloated after each meal, I no longer hve the nausea feeling and I actually look forward to eating again. So hang in there, u will prob feel better in 2 weeks time.

beannie: im in my 14th wk.

my appetite is still the same.

anyways, im still throwing up in the evenings. sigh... morning time i throw up dull orange/ transparent liquid.

eat already also got expel out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bbliss, it's true, only the amnio can give you 99% accuracy. i'm also overage mum, but we decided not to do the amnio. crossing fingers our bb is ok.

DQueen: I threw that up during my 11-12th week. felt so terrible everytime, now still nausous when idoits still smoke near bus stops lar, atms lar... usually if the cig is the strong type or maybe wind direction is into me, i cfm puke the next few seconds, cant even have time to find a nice place to puke.

Munchies : my gynea did ask me to go back Hosp. for drip n the anti nausous jab but that was when i cant control anymore.

Babycoco: I m forcing myself to eat my meals if i cant find the usual stall having my choice of food i feels like having.

Eg. Morning - Beehoon with long beans & lots of green chilli.

Lunch - Soup, any soup with rice

Dinner - Any braised meat with rice

if dont have any of these can see me forcing myself to eat n worst grumble while eating... hahaha

i can't wait for the day to come when my appetite is back and have no more food aversion.

now also get super bloated easily...then tummy feels weird, sometimes also dunno if i'm hungry or not. haha.

nowdays, 9pm+ i already knocked out in my bed liao. gets breathless easily too.

xbeanniex, me in my 13+wk too going to 14wk...appetite still very very poor, esp in evenings..feel bloated & nauseous..in fact, have been taking metoclopramide to curb my MS for the past few weeks...

mrslong: i frequent pubs restaurant as my aft work de stress place to hang out till 1-2am or later sometimes... now 9pm i am always ready to battle with my pillow (usually my dog is faster then me to slp on my pillow so battle to have it back). will be pretty glad to see me still awake at 10pm but most of the time looks more like zombie hanging ard ... hahahaha

xbeaniex: ya...now like the energy so drained, i miss my bed all the time, hahaa.

then worse is, on weekends mornings, usually i only wake up after 10am, but now before 8am wake up already cuz hungry. and every few hrs hv to wake up go toilet, cannot even hv a restful sleep. hehee.

i guess now the only thing i feel like a "queen" is cuz i don't hv to do the dishes...haha.

i'm in my 13 wks, still have appetite except that fish soup turns me off. Just yesterday, the fishball soup i had makes me feel yucky. I prefer to drink soup nowadays esp piping hot potato soup, veg soup. Have cravings for carbo stuff, like mashed potato, yam cake.

Still feel hungry every few hours. Breathless too.

Felt tired easily and i tried to sleep in office during lunch hr and felt bad when my boss said he dun want to disturb me to discuss appraisal as he saw me taking a rest.

Ling : fish soup turns me off too... hee... but ABC soup is great ! I also like to have the carrot cake from Old Chang Kee or anywhere sells it.

Hungry since 4pm.

OMG... bosses are so mean n smart to spot u during lunch resting to talk abt appraisal... lunch break is urs ... appraisal stuff can talk after lunch or before lunch... dont feels bad abt it...

My HR tells me to rest in the dark quiet corner of conference room during lunch if i needed to rest... and she will on the lights as a signal to wake me up when is abt time... at first i thought she was trying to sabo me or what de... but whole ofc knows that my boss actually ask my HR to tell me to rest during lunch hr if i didnt want to eat anything... n i have the freedom of short 15min to get something from coffeeshop if i m hungry ard this time ...

xbeanniex: u better eat some stuff, i stock up biscuits, oatmeal porridge & even Jagabee and chips in my office cos i get hungry during tea.

So nice of yr boss to arrange for u to rest. Tried to lunch in but feel uncomfortable sleeping in office but at least a nap is better than nothing.

noe wat? we were planning for leave plan for 2010 and he said during the mtg just in case i give birth 1 mth earlier than my edd in Jul (cos Jun lotsa pp taking leave, had to cover my collaegues and he's worried if i suddenly deliver). Of course i hope to carry my pregnancy to full term. I pray hard that i will be able to go full term and most impt bb is normal and healthy.

My GF who is organising events had this one to show me, those interested to sell can let me know I pass u contact to get the tables.

MTBs staying nearby may want to support this event or popby to take a look at the babyshow for the day.

Date: 7 March 2010, Sunday

Time: 10.00am - 2.00pm ( stalls can only set up and start business at 10.00am)

Price: $10 per stall ( with 2 square table and 2 chairs)

Venue: Tampines North CC Basketball Court ( under tentage and with fans)

There are limited stalls available and preferred sale items are baby products & clothings / adult clothings. Strictly no sales of food is allowed.

Wow xbeanniex, that’s very nice of your boss.

My company doesn’t seem like the pro-baby kind.

I am even thinking where I can pump milk after I return from maternity leave.

I suppose they won’t encourage that though I will consider breastfeeding till my bb is 1 yr if possible.

Sweetkiss : my boss n ppl here are nice but when comes to real work ... is bad... can be very frasrating at times as their working attitude is bad ... personal character as a colleague no problem... as long as no work involve. hahahhaa

Sweetkiss:

i was also thinking abt where to pump milk in the office. The meeting rooms are all shared by a few depts at the same floor and the thing is the mtg room that is near is required to be booked under another dept. Dunno whether they would mind if i use that.

Really hate to think of using the toilet to pump the milk cos it dun seem hygenic to do tat.