(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

fazzy, wah didn't know doppler so expensive. my hb said we can rent. maybe that's better.

jellypurin, ya, my hb also told me to trust my own instincts. but i feel like my instincts are upside down. sometimes i think i can feel bb move, then start to question myself if it's actually gas.

I guess we'll be able to feel the BB's movement more distinctively when we're into our 3rd trim ba.. dun worry so much...

My collegue's gynae actually asked her to count and record the number of movement when she was in her 3rd trimester close to delivery date. And she told me if there are less then dunno how many movement in an hour, then have to go down to ER immediately. Another collegue of ours also goes to the same gynae and their BB's life was saved through this method. Apparently he was entangled by e umbilical cord and was rushed to hospital just in time.

I feel that for now, dun need to worry so much.. Money saved can use to buy more things for BB too.

Babycoco, where do we rent it from?

Siti: You review for us the product k? Well, at least it can also benefit baby!

Ya, best is to trust that our baby is growing well, but sometimes our mind just goes wild!

noknok : meaning during 3rd trimester, within an hour we lost count of movement move how many times or moving lesser then usual, got to go ER ?

yah yah... that's wat the couple did... rush to ER straight away.. then they'll monitor BB with special machine... according to my collegue.. feelings of movement are very distinct and very frequent.. so we should be concern if we dun feel anything.

But for now, I dun think we should worry too much.. worry also nothing can be done.. we can't hear them 24 hrs a day.. if something is fated to happen, it will.. that's how I feel..

xbeaniex

u shd feel about 8 movements per day at least at 3rd tri but do note that as bb grows, less space to move so may not move as frequent after 36 weeks

I dunno e exact number.. I see her having the clicker (those silver one usually seen in amusement park where they count e number) and a book to record the movements. I see her clicking pretty often leh..

Think we can ask Gynae closer to delivery date ba.

went for my checkup today but sadly Dr was rushing for time, so felt that everything was so rushed. I even forgot to ask Dr about the rashes on my tummy. Any mummies here having this problem? I use aloe vera gel on it and it feels better but I tend to scratch more at night.

Dr thinks my baby is a boy but he said better wait till detailed scan on 11 Mar to confirm. Hubby and I thought we saw a rounded something in between baby's legs. Baby was upside down so it was quite obvious to see the shape, but to play safe, better wait till detailed scan.

Baby is weighing at 172g, and i'm 17w4d. Didn't ask Dr abt the length coz he was rushing for time... felt a bit short-changed but no choice i guess!

kat, at my last gynae appt, gynae also didn't measure length of baby, she only measured the crown, chest circumference & femur length. was quite surprised she didn't measure crl this time. wonder why.

is your rashes due to dry skin? i find my skin extremely dry now.

Geri: I will be going to TMC for my detailed scan next week.. I did ask the nurse before.. she say cost about $150 like that. When you due for your scan? I update you again when I am back from scan next Thursday if you had not done yours yet.

Baby Movement: Ya.. hubby also told me that I should trust my own instinct that BB is doing fine and stop worrying so much. Worrying is never good for BB.

I agreed with what Noknok say.. if something is fated to happen, it will happen no matter what you do. Since we already came so far, we should trust ourselves and our babies too.

Kat, Babycoco,

From 18 weeks of pregnancy onwards, CRL becomes less accurate in determining growth of the baby. Measuring the weight will give a better idea of the baby's size. My gynae has also stopped taking CRL measurements.

thanks Ann, my detailed scan on 13mar. my baby keep sitting down and crossing legs during the last two doc visit. I asked the doc what if bb still like that during detailed scan and doc says then it is possible that I wont get to know the gender.....

ya my doc stop measuring the CRL too. she looks at the size of head, chest and length of femur bone and weight.

I am going for detailed scan next Fri. My Doc always measure CRL and size of head. But he did mentioned that the size of head is most accurate to determine the growth of the baby.

noknok,

opps.. hahhah.. my mistake. sorry ladies.

Bbliss,

i am doing the scan this coming wed with Dr kowa. But his detailed scan is a bit different from those who did at Thomson Medical.

My friends all had a report with regards to their detailed scan and it was really detailed almost listing all the major organs and there is also charts for comparision.

But for Dr kowa, i dun think he will give a report. And for me, he told me he will do the scan for me in two parts, the first one was already done on 1st feb to check the size of head, fumur length etc.. then he told me the scan this wed will check on the fingers and toes.. etc.

Bbbliss,

Have u signed on with the package? I know my package will start on my next visit.

Oh btw.. during the visiting for CNY, i realised Doc Kowa actually delivered a few of my cousins. So he is indeed very experienced as one of my cousin is already in uni!

munchies,

My package will start next Fri. I will be 21 week by then.

Wow...Dr Kowa works OT during CNY. My sis also told me that he is a very experience Doc. That's why I have also chosen him to be my gynae.

Hey Ann: I am also going TMC for the detail scan on thurs. What time is ur appointment? We may bump into each other. heehee..

For baby fair, I think for those main stuff such as steriliser, milk bottles, etc can start to buy if it is really cheap.

hi bbbliss,

sorry. Think I did not make myself clear, what i meant was during the visiting for CNY, i found out from my relatives that Dr Kowa actually delivered a few of my cousins. Not that he delivered them during CNY. :p Pls pardon the preggy.

One of my aunt was 39 yrs old when she found out she was preg again, hence she went to Dr Kowa as due to her age, her pregnancy cld be more complicated. Thankfully, it was a very smooth pregnancy.

Oh really! Thanks to his experience. Pray ours a smooth delivery too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jasline : i m 1st time MTB ... kekeke i oso dont know detailed scan will look at what but i suppose will be taking measurements of bb & seeing bb from head to toes, and more or less can cfm bb's gender.... hahaha... *i do hope bb can keep on flipping to the angle that cannot see gender or umbilical cord blocking.... so cannot see* whahahaha

Jasline : mine is on 10 mar at KKH (Cost $150)

Can't see yet but dont want to know too... as i dont like that kind word pressure by family ppl ... frds/colleagues i dont care at all. That's y i pray for bb to hide when there's a scan... so it's obvious cant see so my HB can go back say himself... lolx...

xbeanniex,

Thanks for the website.. Great at least know abit..

oh mine was on 13 Mar.. (Include in my package)

Lucky my in-laws nv stress me or wat.. Family too..

JUz said BB healthy can liao.. SO I do wish to know gender earlier.. =)

Jasline : hmm sometimes is want to avoid but listening to those "sourish" words but yet sound so comforting to others can be very harmful to some of us MTBs... so can avoid then avoid lor... better then facing those words with stress of nothing ... hahahaha

Jo_lyn: My scan is at 2.30pm. After that still got to rush back to Paragon to see my gynae with the scan photos. What time is yours?

cheese,

Did you gynae say anything? I believe every pregnancy is different.So if your gynae didnt say anything and isnt worried about your current condition, then you shouldn't worry too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nth eh.he say dun eat 2much if nt hard 2 lose wt..my appetite nw cant eat much le,nt like 1st tri.any1 did detail scan at tmc?hw long e procedure?after u gota rush dwn go c doc ang.my appt at 3pm 2ndwk march

The nurse at my gynae said it'll take about 1.5 hours. Cheese, think just listen to e doc's advice and take the rest of the comments as a pinch of salt. Dun feel down becos of what others say k... it's not worth it.. it's your body and you know best. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yeah!! IT'S FRIDAY!!! can't wait till the end of the day.. 9 hours to go..

yeah.... friday lo. if only all of us only work three days a week...

BTW way, the 20th detailed scan will take slightly longer than normal scan. Mine took around 40 mins. They will look at BB's heart valves, lungs, limbs, brain, kidneys. They also recorded BB's bloodflow and of cos the physical aspects like skull size, thigh bones, arm bones... then they will have all these figures entered into their system and generate a report for you gynae.

hello fellow MTBs,

been reading the thread & some is asking when is the BB Fair.

There's one called BabyCare Festival @ Expo organised by Mother & Baby.

It's from 19 - 21 Mar.

Pris: Sorry to miss you out earlier. Can send me your email so that I can forward the baby list to you? You can PM me if you not comfortable with leaving your email address here.

Taka Baby Fair: Yesterday I went to Taka to shop shop.. went to the maternity area and the promoter there told me that the taka baby fair will be early March.. but they never tell me the exact date. Just tell me to look out for it.

Cheese: Dun worry so much. My feet also get swollen easily especially if I walk too much. Some pple say I drink too much water, some say i drink not enough water. I also dunno which is which.. but then when I have water rentention in my feet, I will just rest and raise my feet up.. after awhile the swelling will go off. So need not worry.

Oh.. yesterday I went to orchard to shop shop.. I seriously feel pple there do look at how you dress and serve you accordingly. Dun really like that.

For example, previously when i went to Taka to the L'Occitane counter to buy foot cream during weekend, I dun dress up like when i go office, they dun even wanna serve me much. Yesterday when I went, the sales person so nice, let me try their product. After purchase, still give me some free samples of the mummy & baby body cream to use.

The same thing happen at Clarin counter at Isetan. Clarin counter gave me the some sample of the body scrubs, say use before using the oil and stretchmark cream, will allow the body to absorb better.

ann : is like that de lar ... my HB very "ai mei" type of man ma, so wherever he goes, even bra section, also got gals serve him de... asking him buying bra for gf or wife. I go to most area these days, wearing simple dress n sandals, bo lang bother abt me... -_-lll

so now whatever i want to buy, i ask my HB to help me get it...

come across a cute blog entry...

for your reading pleasure...

"Birth induction methods

It was exactly this time during my first pregnancy that I gave birth to Tru. 38 weeks on the dot. But that was a c-section so I could pick an auspicious date to give birth. Waiting for the contractions to kick in is totally different. I feel so powerless. I’ve got my baby bag and all the baby stuff all ready and packed and it’s like waiting for Santa Claus to appear on Christmas eve. The anticipation is killing me. It’s my control-freak nature kicking in and I just need to know exactly when it’s gonna happen.

Apparently for VBAC, a medical induction of labor increases the chance of womb rupture so it’s off limits. But I hear there are a few ways to induce birth and give the baby a little push as it were. It’s called ripening the cervix (it’s true!)

1. Acupuncture

It’s a tried and tested method by the Chinese and it’s supposed to be highly effective. Back when women used to bind their feet and slice off their pinkies, they realized that somehow jabbing a bunch of needles into various parts of the body triggers the contractions. It’s ingenious, don’t you think?

But seeing that pain avoidance is one of my life’s goals, acupuncture is in my list of Top 10 things NOT to do before I die (along with bungee jumping and eating fire).

2. Castor Oil

It’s a quick and painless method. Just take a few spoonfuls of it neat and wait a few minutes for it to take effect. It’s primarily a laxative, so there’s that nasty side effect where you lose all control of your bowels and start crapping involuntarily. It’s probably good if you hate the gynae/nurse and want to use it as a way to give them nightmares for days.

There’s no guarantee that it will work though, so you may just end up with a severe case of diarrhea.

3. Walking

This sounds pretty harmless. How it works is that it puts pressure on the cervix, causing it to dilate. Anyway it’s the kind of thing you can try without worrying about nasty side effects.

4. Nipple Stimulation

Touted as one of the most effective methods of natural induction, it’s definitely one of the most wildly popular. Mostly because no dude will turn down an invitation to engage in some nipple stimulation – “Boom-chica-wow-wow”.

But seriously, this causes a release of oxytocin, which causes contractions and lead to labor. (See, I’m not a total airhead, I actually know words like oxytocin)

5. Sexytime

As they say, what gets it in also gets it out. (who says that kind of thing anyway?) This is the next most popular method of birth induction, following closely behind the nipple stimulation.

The difference is, while most women are willing to tolerate some mild discomfort to the boobs, certain invasive methods at 38 weeks of pregnancy are too much of a hassle. There’s also the whole foreplay thing to contend with, and by the time there’s any action, you’re way too exhausted for the time to be the least bit sexy. And the focus is to get something out of there, not put something in, if you get what I mean.

I suppose the best thing to do is to sit around and wait till the baby is good and ready to come out. There’s a Chinese saying that goes something like “When the fruit is ready, it will fall off the vine”. Meaning that there’s no point rushing nature, cos all you’re going to end up with is an unripe fruit. Don’t ask me what that means. It’s too deep for my 38-week-pregnant brain."