(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Cath, thanks for the code.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bliss, i thought CL shld pace their schedule to avoid tis type of cost? we are already paying so much for 28days.. i will discuss further with the other party. actually if auntie siew zhen takes me, she will face same issue oso? i m wondering..

daphne: u got do the fetal movement counts? my gynae say i can do it, but i too lazy, coz working.. and yeah like koaru say, we working, wont noticed the moves.

also been having tummy pains nowadays, till dunno the difference among these 3, bb moves, tummy pains and also Braxton Hicks(BH).

Two more weeks, i will go for c-section liao, cant wait the day came, nowadays feel so tiring and weather was so hot.Lazy to move.

Hospital bags packed half way only, where can find the pjamas in cotton material??

Coconut drinks, will start drink this week liao.

Koaru, I think u got another type of pj. I got mine at tiong bahru plaza level 1. Got sizes ones.. Saw at Tpy central outside ntuc but I did not check if is exactly the same..

Mine got no slit.. Maybe change design or something.. But I'm very petite so all pjs look big except this. Haha..

Sberry, yes CL should plan.. In fact some popular CL apply permit themselves.. Mine also got to apply permit but a few months ago she told mr no need as she will be able to

come over.. I feel permit is better cuz she is taking a job for April and may straight.. So she can't come out so soon after going back.. Since she say okay then I really hope she really can come out...

Bluberi, actually inverter or not makes not much difference.. Difference by abit only.. But if u are using 2 air con or more air con at the same time the cost is the same as normal aircon.

Elise, the mini box really works? My hb also very interested to get it.. But I'm quite skeptical... Since PUB bill is around 90-110 a month so won't have much savings too right?

Finally, baby kicks.....while i am asking for waiver of april late charges from citibank. haha.....

i remembered my gynae said come to week 35,36...if baby doesn't move for a long long time, must see him immediately. God Blessed.

anyone has got GAP or Old Navy discount codes to spare?

btw, any mummies know how to make cheap phone calls to USA? I bought some clothes from website, but got problem...sent them email, no reply....wanted to call them now.....

sberry,

thought CL can cm 30days w/o permit ba?? some will apply permit becos actually we hv to apply for them to come in as they r cming in to wrk bt tink many of us doesnt, except those agency...cos tat time i paid aso...bt since frogprincess is doing the txf, and since the edd bet. the both of u is so near...does she hv to pay for the work permit??

hv u met up with aunty siew zhen's fren?? hv to pay extra aso??

sberry,

try calling Feng Jie 8169 4743. She is a malaysian but she stays in spore. My colleague is gg to use her in end aug so nt sure abt her schedule...u can try calling her....no harm to hv another contact...

hello mummies! phew... havent read the thread for the longest time and I see that its really moving fast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyway, just want to check if any of you have gone for your brazilian wax already? how was the experience? i'm still toying with the idea and i really hope I'm not too late since my c-sect date is probably on 1st June. don't think i can wait any longer... i feel as big as a beach whale now.. so hard to turn when i sleep at night. in fact, gynae already put me on hospitalisation leave last mth so that the babies can grow more and be at least 2kg when I deliver them.

Kelly,

Thanks. Anyway, I will look out for bad habits.

Re: washing

completely have not started. Will have to do that soon.

Re: Coconut juice

Wow, so many of you discussing this issue. What is it for again?

Dot

From what I remember, coconot juice is so that the baby comes out clean... ie not with alot of vernix and all I guess..

Azureoct

Hi gal.. din see u in the thread for quite a while

Me tried the brazilian wax.. Did it at stripped- wheelock place.. The experience was fast and quick

Maybe just go for it when the date is nearer

Me too feel as big as a whale.. keke Cant wait to unload

Speaking of which.. As I am typing this, my sis-in-law is in NUH .. Got admitted for contraction.. She is due next week .. Hope that she will have a safe delivery.. Then I can go see my new niece soon.. kekeke..

So exciting all these things.. Me beginning to get the Jitters liao !!!

dianajs: hello hello... yes.. have either been resting or busy buying stuff online or arranging for deliveries of babies' stuff. maybe as a first time mum, the feeling only becomes more real when you wash the babies' clothes, clean their cots and assemble the stroller and all. abit like "wow... ok... babies will be here soon".

was it your first time doing brazilian wax? i'm so nervous cos it will be my first time and i'm in my 34th wk now. hopefully, it being my first time, i wouldn't jerk in pain and go into labour prematurely. sigh... or shld i just let the nurses shave me before the c-sect.

also been dealing with issues of confinement lady recently. the first one my mum booked didnt work out because i'd wanted to apply for a MOM permit for her but she refuses and I realised she has quite a bit of attitude problem so I don't really want to deal with her anyway. then, i booked a local CL through an agency and just last mon, her husband called to say that she injured herself while doing marketing at a confinement job so she can't do it for me. agent tried to get me a replacement last wk and all the ding-dong here and there. finally, decided yday that its prob better that my mum and MIL helped me with the confinement as opposed to having last min CL arrangements which might drive me up the wall.

bliss, actually i agreed for popular CL, they shld take up the cost of their own permit since they r going to take up so many jobs in a row..

kelly, thanks for ur contact. in fact, if they just take 2 jobs in a row, then shldn't be an issue.. i have not called siew zhen yet.. coz looking ard for alternatives before calling her. the May mummy still haven't pop as of today..

So envy my another mummy fren just popped her #2. Waterbag burst at 1.20 am and she delivered at 2.30 am!!! I wish my #2 will be as short as hers!!

Re: wax

wanted to ask u all abt it too.. I think i will do mine next week at wk 36 before my VE check which i think will be on wk 37. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So not so paiseh.. haha

tigerbaby: tks for updating the table [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my c-sect date is likely to be on 1st June.

bluberi: hello hello! how have you been? how many wks are you at now?

re: brazilian wax - does anyone know what's the re-growth like for a first-timer? if its not so bad, maybe i shld go this or next wk as opposed to end may. i'm worried that if i go too early, then the hair grows back and the nurse may so decide to shave me again just before the c-sect!!! then... it wld defeats the purpose, right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Evangelyn (skevt), u might 1 2 get from sorella, spring maternity or Moms'R'Us for the cotton pjs but for spring & Moms'R'Us they have only pants/blouse type [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hahahaha all my washing done now only left packing.... Very lazy zzzzzzzzz....

i juz bot button front pj gown type from Truimph shops (not those bra section in dept store)

i got it fm the Truimph shop in Thomson Plaza for $9.90

and Sorella is also selling under their Felancy brand for $10.. all floral designs

anyway i be only wearing them at hosp so no need to get nice designs since i am not expect lotsa visitor.. coz after experiencing whole clan of relatives fm both sides to visit my #1 baby that time..

i got phobia oredi.. coz you really cannot bf your baby in peace..

azureoct, u scheduling ur c-sect at 36wks+? is tat too early? if u going for c-sect, why do u need to go for wax? for first-timer, u may wan to reconsider doing it. it will be more painful and for some, there is a chance to get infected with UTI. of coz the decision is urs. if u decide to go ahead, i dun think it will grow back so fast, so next wk shd be okay

Today is insanely hot day..wish the rain will come..

Went for my dental appointment to fix up the chipped tooth..turned out that there were some infection..and dentist said the infection might have arose sometimes back as it is almost reaching the nerve. As I m now pregnant, he does not wish to do any tooth extraction/root canal treatment unless it is necessary. So, for now, he applied some antibiotic on the infected area and do up the tooth filling. If the antibiotic does not work, he will then consider tooth extraction/root canal treatment. He asked me when I am due..I told him in 2-4 weeks' time..I can see the surprise look on his face..cos he thought I was only at my 2nd trimester.

I hope antibiotic works, if not..I hope I can tahan the toothache and decide the treatment after delivery.

Irma,

I bought 4 packs of Huggies NB. Realise that it maybe too small cos bb outgrown it very fast.

I wish to get other diapers except NB size. May want to order and ask them to deliver if they have such service.

My frens say Nepia is good.. Pampers is the best = )

Nursing bras:

If you don't mind cheap ones: CK department store selling $3.90 and $4.90, cotton ones can wear at home. I bought 1 pc to try.. ok ok, save $, since confinement only stay at home. ;-)

$20-$30+:

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/bras.html

http://www.cheerfulmama.com/

http://moms-rus.com/estore/index.php?cPath=31

Bay b supply website

going to see gynae tmr.. 34w5d.. hope bb is at least 2.5kg +!! he's squeezing ard more and pushing. can feel circular 'thing' on tummy- like his heel/knuckle/fist.. dunno wat. haha

Had my scan this morning (36w1d based on Doc's calculation) and Strep B test (have the others taken this too? http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/groupbstrep/). And will have follow up visit for results next Friday. Hope will be in the clear.

a) fluid levels better this week (maybe the drinking lots really helped)

b) baby weighs 2.6kg

For cheap phone calls to the US:

a) If you are on Starhub, can use 018 prefix to dial (charged as local call)

b) If you are on Singtel, can use 019 prefix to dial (VOIP)

- not sure if there are other cheaper ones

For the jabs:

a) Think at NUH we have the option of arm or butt for the BCG

b) Not too sure which are the compulsory ones too, just know that of the 3 Hep B is not the compulsory one (so we were thinking of delaying this as it is transmitted via sex or sharing of food/utensils which baby will not be exposed to in the beginning)

c) The 3 we only know of which are given at birth are Vit K (http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/health/vitamink/), BCG (polio) and Hep B

Re coconut drink: I can't stop thinking about it now and wondering where in Raffles Place they sell it.

azureoct, there is no need for you to do wax.

You can just let the nurse shave you. They only shave the part where is near your wound if u are going csect.

At least regrowth part will not be so much cuz i can be really itchy and painful when is growing back..

Today will be going for my gynae visit. Not sure next appt will be next week for 2 weeks later. if is 2 weeks later meaning next visit will be the last and i'll deliver the following week.

That day i'm clearing my son toys and i start to get abit nervous and seems like i can't accept that is just another 3 weeks to go .. I'm so so so scared of the pain of csect as i have very bad experience last time. thinking of the needles, pain, urine bag is scaring me off [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bebe: tell me abt it. lucky today i tapau fr home, no need to walk outside.. burning my skin only. haha..

lin: oh.. yeah, heard too tat Nepia is good.. fr Japan hor..

Bliss,

think my dryer also shrinks the PJ a bit.. ha anyway will bring nursing top cos got quite a bit of hand me down.

Gitz,

i know wat u mean, so this time gonna restrict the visitors! Ask them to come to my place or meet after confinement..

SueLynn,

i am still thinking if i shld go for the StrepB test this wk too, cos previously not asked to do it.. but a bit paranoid if i dun since its quite a cheap test.

Diapers

I got quite a bit of S diapers size fr SIL - Huggies n Mamy poko, will get Pampers NB and S size later bah.. wardrobe already bursting with so many things! Nepia seems ok tho i never try since quite happy with Pampers.

koaru, haha! actually normal tee shirt also can [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i survive with those normal hang tang tee at hospital last time.

Re diapers

Nepia

Goo.n

Fitti premium

Huggies NB

Pampers NB

I realise that when size is getting bigger n bigger quality also not that good anymore. Even for pamper active which my boy is wearing.

Try to use NB as long as possible cuz S is more expensive and the size difference is not alot. For huggies cutting is smaller than other brands

I think I’m going to cry cos I found coconut! I found coconut!!! hahahhahahhahh

Walked around the whole world of Raffles Place from shop to shop asking for coconut and no one was selling them, and I was going to give up having walked for so long that I even started to slow down. Was going to give up but thought I should just try one last shop (the most unlikely place) since I've already walked this much and they had coconut!

So mummies looking for coconut, you can head to Mei Xin foodcourt at Market Street. The fruit stall sells Thai coconut for $2.50. I'm a happy camper with lots of ice cubes in my coconut in the office now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Back to more sane topics:

Doc didn't seem to give me an option with regards to the Strep B test, not sure why, so I thought it was compulsory. It is around $30+ for the test, so not too expensive.

more diaper sample.. but must call them

drypantz/drypers: 1800-466-3002

mamy poko: 6265-1648

suelynn

StrepB test is compulsory.. so that baby won't get bacteria when they go down our birth canal.

if one is StrepB +ve.. both mother and child will be treated with medication

Gitz,

StrepB is also known as vaginal swap also?? My gyane did it during my last visit bt i am too shag to ask him what was tat for ...

azureoct,

you can go for ur wax 1 or 2 wks before ur birth. for first timer, the re-growth of hair will be faster. i would suggest u to wax then having the nurse to shave for u. by shaving, your hair will be more thicker/rough and u will feel pain as the hair studs is poking onto ur fresh.wax will be more smoother.

for me i have been doing wax for awhile. i did my last wax on 30 apr. till now is still hairless. hahahaha...

thanks Bliss... think NB diaper is smaller size than others brand especially Huggies. My mum was telling me that the Huggies NB diaper can fit small toy, if bb is big then it may not be able to fit

koaru,

my sis left 1 big pack of XXL for me.. whahaa.. think I will not be using that so fast

Re : strepB test..

can share how is the process like?? will b doin it nxt monday..

Re : Diaper

Do we need to buy? i thot i c some mummy say b4 tat the hospital will let u brin the left over diaper home after discharge?

strepB test:

gynae never say anything lei. he relax one. heh~ oh well, if its needed, i believe he'll inform us.

piglet: i think buy la, maybe 1 or 2 pack. the one hosp give will be small one, dun think enough to last for a day at home.hehehe~

wah the thread is moving so fast for me....anyway Bliss and bluberri, yes it works for us. last time when the 2 of us are staying, the PUB bill was around $150! so its a total of about $400 to $500 per year. quite a lot lor. Talking abt PJs, i bought 1 very cute set at Hougang Mall today. its pink and white with pokka dots, at $16.90. so so cute! can't wait to wear it