(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Lin,

unless u got kid already wearing XL, else I will pass them down - my gal still at L only, dun think will reach XXL bah..

Irma,

the jabs esp BCG is taken first or second day I rem whilst at hospital. I din take hep b then..

Piglet,

still must buy diapers lah - those leftover fr hospital only enuf to last a few days

For the Strep B test, they will just use a long cutip to swab your vaginal cavity (inside) and around your perineum and anus area. And yes, was told that if results are StrepB +ve, mother will need to undergo drip during the birth of baby and I believe baby will also need immediate monitoring and likely medication if positive.

For the infant diaper, we are just bringing our pack as NUH charges for the use of the diapers otherwise.

elise - is the pjs whole piece type? which part of hougang mall? cos i was lookin everywhere for a pjs as i dun wana wear the tops + bottoms...cos i cant imagine juz gif birth nid to open leg n wear shorts..i cant imagine the pain

koaru - ani suggestion wad brand to buy ? or should i c hospital gif wad brand den go buy?

Suelynn - is it painful? ya, i heard if positive nid to undergo antibio but not sure is when..

piglet: oh no.. yeah. just read it.. didnt noe its that bad to affect bb hor.. yeah, shd ask gynae next coming appt.

yala, actually i also havent buy the diapers, anyway, my plc downstairs got NTUC.. kekeke~

but still i think just buy atleast one pack.

irma - i c NTUC oni haf small size n oso for some brand oni...for newborn i din manage to get a chance to c..yeah after readin from the web den i got to knw tat its kinda serious..so its better to ask gynae...

suelynn: fr the way you describe, like pap smear like that lei, right?

piglet: dun think painful la, u eve do vaginal scan? if hv, i think sth like that la.. right other mummies?

really ah? ok, ltr i try c what the NTUC at my plc have. if not, have to source out some other plc.

koaru: thx. so the BCG compulsory to take, b4 discharge fr hosp? aiyo, money again! oops! aha!

Lin, huggies cutting is smaller.. Yes it does fit

my son mickey mouse soft toy nicely. Haha!

Elise, my hb will be happy to hear that. He has been thinking to but for a very long time.

Irma,

we hv to incur money for PD n all those tests for bb, I rem I did hearing test, then blood test.. And if bb got jaundice which is very common, phototherapy.. all need $$!

Piglet,

it depends on budget n preference, the cheaper ones will be huggies, drypers, fitti, etc.. More ex will be mamy poko and pampers which I am using.

koaru: yeah.. can we not do it on day of discharge or during the stay in hosp?

i remembered last time,if not wrong la, can do when we're out of hosp right? no need to do immed?

Kelly, Feng Jie is taking up another job in June, but she said if i want, can intro her friend..

i spoke to auntie siew zhen, she said her friend is 50plus, ask me don't worry.. in case she still engaged in the May mummy, she will send her friend temp for a week. she will take over immediately once she completed her previous assignment. i saw the May mummy updates, likelihood 99% she will have deliver tis week. keeping my finger crossed only tat my bb don't pop so early.. God bless!

Hi just to share, for coconuts, we are supposed to drink those green big ones that are usually not as sweet as the small Thai ones. So far, I managed to find it at Adams Rd mkt and Great World City food court...

Elise, ok.. shall let my hubby know n see he wants to get the device anot.

Piglet, there is a small area opp of harvey norman (next to escalator to 3rd floor) at hougang mall selling PJs.

okay Piglet, the PJs are sold on the 2nd floor, if my memory never failed me...the same level with URS. near to the escalator, u wouldn't miss it. its not a shop, just a very small store. but then its a 2 pc set leh, with pants. but they also have 1 pc type, comfortable with reasonable pricing. u can go check it out!

Yes bluberi, if u ever need the phone no, tell me. my hubby say call the no, and the pple will send the blue box device to your house, even teach you how to use it. very easy. no need messy installation

Back from my gynae visit!

34 weeks 6 days.. Weight still maintain at 47.9kg. No weight gain for the past 2 weeks. Baby is now 2.4kg..

Gynae thinks he is growing very well despite me not puttig on any weight..

Next visit will be 2 weeks later and will be my last visit to the gynae.

Even request if I can don't do the empty bowel procedure when I admit and he is fine with it.. Cuz I hate the feeling of the procedure..

So happy that he is flexible with it! Another happy thing is I'm still in my 10kg range and yet hit 50kg... So I still can allow myself to put on another 3kg for the next 3 weeks..

Hopefully after delivery I'll be left with 1-2kg to shed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Nursing Bra

Mummy, u all buy de is cloth material? as in can see nipple if nv put breast pad or the type we normally wear??

Going week 37 today! so fast.. feeling anxious!!

TigerBaby, azureoct is carrying twins that y she is having c-sect early..

Bliss, u are so slim.. envy~

wah bliss, you are so slim, and i'm so big as compared to you. oh my god, oh did you do it? did you eat a lot and didn't gain much weight?

Bliss - Wow..I thought I was the only odd one that gain less than 10kg, but you did not even hit the 5xkg mark!!

Ya..my gynae is also not too concerned abt my weight gain..so long as the weight gain is gradual n the baby is gaining weight, he is not complaining. I am also hoping to leave only 2-3kg to shed after delivery. The problem is the saggy tummy..After #1 and #2, i was thinner than before..but the excess tummy fat stuck to me...

Raleign

- bowel removal process is when the nurses will insert a liquid medication into yr a--h--- ..then within min you will have the sudden urge to go to the loo to clear out yr bowel.

Personally I am okay with this process as I doubt I have the courage to visit the loo 2-3 days after delivery..for I am afraid of tearing my stitches if I use too much strength to clear the bowel.

For me, I hate the process of checking the cervix dilation process, the midwives will use their finger to stretch the vaginal hole..very very painful..so far my gynae had never done any cervix dilation checking for me..dunno if I can make the same request to the midwives during labour..

bebe75

that makes me the odd one out too cos I gain less than 10kg [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] at first thought it was bad cos never gain any weight for like 2-3mth then when suddenly gained 1 kg I was jumping for joy haha.. wah gain so little still got tummy fat to shed arh.. hmmmm

If anyone is interested to order confinement rice wine for cooking your food, please PM me.

This confinement rice wine is also known as red (glutinous) rice wine or Hong Zhao Jiu. It is different from the white rice wine (or Shao Xing Jiu). Note that this red rice wine cannot be drunk and is meant to be used for cooking food.

The next batch will be ready on 5th June. The price is $10 per bottle (300ml) and one bottle is sufficient to cook 3 chickens. A recipe will be provided to teach you how to cook the food with the red rice wine. I will provide free delivery for orders of 5 bottles or more.

sberry,

My colleague jus told me in the mrng tat she rem. her CL was helping April mommy for 2 mths...so now it is up to u to decide...if u still tink siew zhen is gd...then might as well stick w her n let her fren temp for a wk...i tink a wk is still acceptable...but i hv a question...she has no prb in the spore extension meh? thought they hv to go bak to msia after 28 days...u may like to clarify w her...but if u r not comfortable w the 1 wk temp then might as well chng but u may forfeit the deposit?? I am nt sure though...

Morning all! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HELP! The movements/kicks of bb in me are as if he is doing some somersaut stunts, making me really painful. I am having on and off cramps too.

Bliss,

U have such good weight gain! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Most imptly is bb gain weight, mummy remains the same/weight slightly, that's really ideal. How did you manage to do that?

Can u imagine I have that weight gain of 13kgs on me and it's as of now?

Ju'us/bebe75,

Both you another POWER ones... Manage to keep such good weight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Less work needed after delivery. *envy*

anyone heard of cannt eat bread during confinement??? my MIL told me cannt eat bread ?!?!?! even breakfast gotta eat mee sua??? zzzz

doobom,

what kind of cramps? menstrual types?

bliss,

so envious that you haven't hit 50kg mark! i already past 70kg liao, already gained 13kg! sobs~~~ 50kg i think was my sch days weight? hahaha.

anyway just to update my 35weeks visit:

bb's estimated weight is about 2.5kg, last mth visit was about 2.1kg. i was like wao when gynae said that. he said his growth is quite good. head is down but still not engaged. -.-"

am on a weekly consultation base, so will see him next wed. but the bad news is gynae will be going to spain for some biz meeting from 25th may to 3rd june. before that, he will see me again before he go overseas & another time will be once he return from his trip. hopefully, i can 'last' till he returns. i just only want my gynae to deliver my bb.

it so happened to be a coincidence as gynae also went for biz trip during almost the end of my #1 pregnancy.

another bad news: might not be shifting to parents' place after all during confinement. i think i better start thinking how to sneak showers when everyone is @ work. =p

sort of expecting this anyway.

zinc,

i had lots of bread during confinement. bread with half-boiled eggs! else no energy to look after son back then.

why your mil forbid that?

Within 2 weeks I suddenly gain another 6 kgs.

My gynae suspects is water retention that cause me put on weight such a sudden, as my legs has been swelling quite badly (all the way from my feet to tigh) Last evening I went to visit my gynae he mentioned, that is common. haizz.. seem like my gynae only know how to say this (THIS IS COMMON) but I rather he said this than anything else.

I'm quite envious of your minimal weight gain, and Bliss is a real light weight man! Was wondering if I read your weight wrongly at first. I've put on 15.5kg so far, scary yah?

Piglet,

For the StrepB test, it's not really painful, they do not use the clear clamp to open you up like in a pap smear, they just stick the cutip in to swab. Think I was just dry so it was not comfortable. Must condition myself to relax and not freeze up with these procedures, think it will only make it more uncomfortable.

Otherwise, I'm going to request for minimal VEs as well. The nurses/midwives sticking their fingers in roughly only introduces phobia of discomfort - the last thing a natural delivery mother needs.

sandy,

i also have water retention, right ankle can't be seen @ all! left leg still not so bad. just have to lift up your legs whenever you can. i think putting your legs on a pillow when you sleep does help. mine seems to subside a little. my gynae also told me this is common. -.-" he even asked me whether i walk alot & commented my face have water retention. but how to avoid walking when you are working? some mummies here recommended drinking barley water & winter melon soup helps too.

bebe75,

me too! so scared of the checking of cervix dilation though mine is checked my gynae.....but still PAINFUL lor. i even teared. can imagine on that D day he checked a few times. zzzz.

re: diapers

just bought a huggies nb diapers from ntuc xtra - i think got promotion $6.45 a pack. price so different from pampers nb which is about $10+! but then again, i guess i will still buy pampers eventually. hee.

zinc,

During confinement for #1, I had bread too. Luv it when it goes so well with Milo Kosong. Did you ask MIL why cun eat?

hmm... Some elders have thinking that bread is not nutrious enough, especially if doing breastfeeding. It's not true though.

For a simple brekkie, I find the Milk Toast or Hi-Fibre white bread really good! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Too much mee suay can be abit... imagine having it for brekkie, lunchie or even dinner.

missbluey,

I am not sure abt the cramps. The cramps are slight pulling kind, though not very bad. Just feel uncomfy abt it. The pain from the 'somersaut stunts' are more severe. I do have concerns if bb is having enough space coz my #1 had clubbed feet due to space constraints last time round.

SandyLee,

From what I know, sudden weight gain can cause swelling in feet. Perhaps you can watch your diet and cut down on carbo. Try to elevate your feet whenever possible (eg rest & elevate feet to reduce the swelling after back from work, find a box to raise your feet while working in the day, etc.)

zinc,

i had bread aso leh....ya lor, y cannot uh?? But remember dun eat those bread with yam....tink will cause wound to itch or something...

i think it's hearsay lor.. she also dunno e reason.. coz my SIL delivered in march and her MIL say cannt eat.. so now my MIL thinks that confinement cannt eat bread.. coz i m used to taking light breakfast like u, doobom.. aiyah.. i think i'll just secretly eat since im staying in my own place.. hahah

koaru,

I will keep the XXL for bb future usage.

Bliss,

Agree with u cos I tried to take one of my small mickey mouse soft toy and the Huggies NB fit well.. OMG!!!!!!!! Imagine I bought 4 packets of NB.

Missbluey,

I will either buy Pampers, nepia or other brand except Dryper and Huggies

zinc,

since you are staying in your own place, heck care lah! =DD

ya agree with doobom, too much of mee sua will make you go eeeeeeeeewwww.

lin,

drypers sucks. hate the velcro (too sticky, must use extra force to open) & my son got red marks on both thighs there after wearing drypers.

XXL - fyi, my son now about 12-13kg is wearing XL pull-ups.

doobom,

could it be braxton hicks?

is your checkup coming soon? let your gynae know about your worries.

sometimes i do get the somersault feelings too, @ my right ribs as bb's legs are there. pain sia.

Hi Mummies, read your posts on your swelling feet. Ironically i have been suffering from this for the past few months... Once i couldnt even go to work as both feet were terrible.

Try wearing socks at night before u got to bed. Your swelling will subside and also the leg cramps :eek:)

Raleigh, The procedure is to insert one bottle of liquid into anus and suppose to old for at least 10 mins before going to the toliet release. But I don't like it and find it very painful..

Rainelle, I can't be slim with a tummy lar...

I also look so balloon now!

Elise & doobom, I eat as normal. But avoid junk.

My first pregnancy I gain 20kg! I eat bread, mac, one whole big bar of chocolate everyday and treat milk as water!

I ended up having a very tiring pregnancy maybe cuz weight put on too fast and I have very bad backache and painful legs.. Once I deliver I shed off 10kg and I'm left with 10kg on my body!

This time round I control my diet abit.. Try not to eat junk to keep within 10kg weight gain. It does help. Till today I don't have much backache and feet is not as tiring as before too...

But it depends on body too..

I am eating 2 double cheeseburger for dinner almost everynight for the past 2 weeks :p

bebe75, yes there will be tummy left. Even I'm back to re pregnancy weight after delivering but till got tummy.. Lazy to do sit up...

13-15 kg weight gain still ok! Don't try hitting 20kg! Very depressing after delivering!

Lin, I bought 2 pack of NB too! I will avoid many Poko! Seems like quality is not that good anymore. Recently my son diaper will leak at night or in the morning and I have this problem with huggies dry comfort...

re: Naforye Doughnuts Relief Packs

quoted from website -

"When you welcome the arrival of a newborn, are you also troubled by breast pain or uneven milk secretion during lactation? Please use a cold or warm press to ease your discomfort.

Our "Doughnuts Relief Packs" is the solution to your problem. It has been designed to bring your immediate and effective warming and cooling relief."

any mummies getting these? or have tried these before?

Doobom, I check with gynae re pulling pain yesterday. He said is due to uterus moving up.. Not much of a

concern only if there is regular contraction [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

*Envious* Im also gaining alot of weight almost hit 80kg zzzzzzzz coz of every night taking Mac for supper....

Is it a must to clear bowels when gng delivery? For my no.1 & no.2 never do that at all?

Bliss, at least is just the stomach not else where ah.. so i'm envying.. my thigh look like elephant legs.. lol.. think i'm having water retention too.. slipper are getting tighter.. =.=

Bliss, then wat brand to get for diaper?

doobom: i think im experiencing the same. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] very uncomfrtable & @ times slightly painful too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i think its braxton hicks la.

weight gain:

thus far i've gained 16kg. tsk tsk

diapers: yala, NTUC doesnt have much NBs diapers.. i saw huggies, pampers and theres another one. (terrible memory)

elaine

not sure if its a must to clear bowel. which is only for natural delivery..

but at least when you push the baby out, you won't also end up pushing out our own poo[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yup Gitz but how come they never ask me to clear bowel when i give birth to natural for no.1 & 2 hahahaha.... im also very worry that i push out my own poo....

I get Pampers for NB.

elaine,

i also never clear bowels for #1. but the feeling of poo-ing was so strong when i pushed, luckily no poo came out. lol.

rainelle,

ya lor. but don't worry, our legs will be back to normal after we pop.

Missbluey & Domboo,

I have cut down alot on salt and carbo le.. but it not helping much lor..

and yeah.. we working one mah.. how not to walk around leh..

I did get a box to rest my feet.. but my feet seem so heavy. Whenever I rested on it I get numb soon after that haizz... soon soon.. soon going to over. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]