(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

elise, nursing bra is where you can unclip and fold down the front to breastfeed...

dianajs, you can also register birth at ICA... should be much cheaper if you do there cos hospital will charge extra for admin work... if i'm not wrong, bb bonus also done at the same time and place

Thanks for your well wishes - I passed my exam this morning, phew!

Irma, do take care of yourself, hope you found your cranberry juice. And the other mummy is right, barley helps too. The other thing you can snack on or add to your cereal is the dried cranberry - can get these at Giant/Carrefour/Taka basement/Cold Storage etc

Diana, hope you are feeling better too. I know how it feels when your hubby breaks the news that he has to travel when you are near your due date. Was feeling the same at first when hubby had to travel at the end of the month. Then was telling myself to condition my mind and get prepared with regards to what one would need to do when contractions came. Best is that your hubby can reschedule his trip or location, otherwise hope you can have a close family member with you. Be strong, when the time comes for you to give birth your strength will come from within.

Re Hospital Bag:

Good idea about the snacks and drinks. Didn't think about the food court not being open late at night or at wee hours in the morning. I really need to not procrastinate too and finish packing my hospital bag (and order the diaper bag organizer) this weekend.

Re Other Preparations:

Need to go get a haircut next weekend too, cut a few inches off to prepare for possibly not having time to get a haircut in the first month. My hair's so unruly at the moment - eeks!

Re Coconut Drink:

I have been looking around for coconut but not able to find in Giant or NTUC. Not in the tze char food places we have gone to as well, they only have canned coconut drink! Hope I can find it soon, staying in the east.

Re NB jabs:

I understand that the 3 which will be given include Vit K (for blood clotting), BCG (for polio) and Hepatitis B. Are all the mummies going for all three? Heard some not so nice stories about the Hepatitis B side effects, but not sure since we are sending our baby to infant care.

I think im very kiasu hahahaha.... i get both dress type & pants/blouse type for the pjs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]....

I feel so lazy to pack my bag.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pjs: I think mine is the super obiang one. I bought 2 sets of those hello kitty and bear bear designs from pasar malam. Only $6 per set, long sleeves top with pants...

I cant find any pasar malam & i dont think i can fit those anymore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] coz i buy one & i think is the boss say i can wear in the end i cannot wear zzzzz waste $6....

suelynn: thank you for the concern. oh dried cranberries also can ah?

wah, very sleepy now at work. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hosp bag: i havent even find a bag to use for the hosp bag. haha! and the things? i think i only have the breastpad to put in. hoho!

see how, if not lazy, this coming mth end, took whole week off, to finish up washing bb's stuffs and also clear up my room (if not lazy) sigh.. now talkiing abt it, im dreading.. -.-

pads: just now during lunch survey2 at Watsons, theres one brand which is 35cm long. aiya! forget whats the brand!

dot,

i forgot the exact name of the CL wor but i tink her name got a mei or smthing....she appears in mag (pic is so small) tat she showed me on her 1st day....so i thought she shld be gd...bt haiz....maybe u hv better luck than me tat your CL wld be better from PEM....

Birth registration

I know for Mt A - it is free..no need to pay for registration fee..and shorter queue..

coconut

Diana : if you are coughing, you better avoid it..the drink is quite cooling.

Suelynn : You can try buying the coconut drink from Changi village food centre..I used to buy from there when I was staying at Pasir Ris.

PJ

I bought the gown type..easier to wear esp for the first 1-2 days when the wound may still be sore..I am scared of lifting up my legs and tear away the stitches.

bebe75

thanks for the link! i din know that NTUC does sell de-skin coconut.. i might hv seen them before. coz i tot they are white skin so cannot drink

PJ

i know TPY's shops in central sell PJ as well as those baby clothes ..

and also saw a make shift stall outside NTUC, HDB hub sell nicer looking PJ but i think shd be abit more expensive

Gown type is easier as our Gynae may needs to check our wound down south so no need to pull down the pants.. so troublesome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Washing

for those who have not started washing baby's stuff, think better to start soon...

initially i thot to wash only on the last week of may as i'll be on leave for the whole week. then i realised that there are actually alot of things to wash... not just clothes, but also towels, bedding, etc... esp for my case, i've limited drying area so i've to do it in batches and if follow instructions, suppose to wash on low spin, meaning longer to dry.

Re: Maternity leave

i've sort of decided to start my maternity leave on 7 jun if i've not given birth by then. calculated and it seems tat whether i go on leave on 7, 8 or 9 Jun, i still return to work on the same day cos of wkends in between. maybe mummies who are working want to start planning ur leave and also clarify with ur HR on company policies.

Hi again mummies,

With regards to spending money on PJs, may want to check with hospital what kind of gown they are providing. For example NUH provides those with flaps which allow you to breastfeed without having to take the gown off.

I'm really lazy with regards to extra washing so going to wear the hospital gowns they provide all the way.

Then again, I did tell everyone as well not to visit me at the hospital hahahhaha..... so I guess that is something you would need to consider, if you are having many visitors and would like to dress nicely.

Thanks ladies..

I know ICA got birth registration.. But wanted it all to be done at TMC itself if possible as hubby might not be around to do it after at ICA..

Sighz..

Maternity Leave

Me also will mot be taking my maternity leave. .. Will just go to hospital when I have the contraction or signs of labour la.. Rather spend the maternity leave with my babies..

Suelynn

How I wish TMC would also provide hospital gowns manz!! Then I dunhave to crack my head on where to buy the gowns and also worry abt the gowns getting stained.. But unfortunately they do not provide hospital gowns....

Suelynn, mount alvernia does provide hospital gown if I can remember. If there is I won't be bring too.

Last time I just wore tee shirt during my stay there..

tigerbaby: any more updates on the due date lists? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi, can try my massage lady frm traditional & holistic postnatal centre at kovan. Now so many massage lady around and not sure if they're really qualified as with short courses out there as my off fren told me. I make so many enquires before I engaged their service as since saw many mummies have use their service. They are reg company and all therapists trained by their company lady boss who've got many yrs experience .Just want to be safe as my hubby and mil also advise to engaged them after read gd comment of the company service. Their website jamumassage.com. You may just call for more info. Gd luck

Hi Cath,

frm what i know frm my massage lady, postnatal should not be painful as for mine I really enjoy my sessions. Your massage lady should know leh as even my gynae advise to start my massage atleast 1 week after my delivery and told me she also really enjoy her postnatal sessions.You should inform her that her pressure is too hard for you. Mayb you can try my therapist frm malay heritage jamu massage.

Hi Jovina

i am not used to massages, so maybe i felt painful. But this massage lady is open to feedback and will reduce the strength she had used on me. Eh, my sil used her and say she really enjoy, but i don't. So i guess it is quite individual. But hor, will let off some wind from the massage. *embarassed* - don't know if it is good / not but feel like the massage helps to get rid of wind.

Hi cath, yes, I m doing a spree for the gap.

But the promo code I got is only 20%.

The promo code is different depending on

the code sent by gap. It varies fm 10-40%..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

do pm me yr order if u r interested..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cath, oh ya, the discount is applicable on sales

items too this time..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sberry, how to know what is the disc Gap is giving? does it apply to old navy as well? the baby clothes is so nice.

my code i receive is D6DRBYXGH4PJ

Cath,

thanks for the recommendation, will consider it.

Bliss,

the front button pj I get fr TPY central is too short, so can only wear at night but in the day still need another set. But agree they do hv some cheap n cutesy design..

Dianajs,

the next time u go TMC, go to the Cust Svc for admission at level 1 and ask for the bb bonus package fr mcys. In it hv info n forms for u on birth registration n cda account, etc.. If u choose to do the birth registration there, they will charge add'l $21.40 admin fee on top of $18 fee to be paid to ICA. I guess it's worth it since dun hv to make a separate trip to ICA.

Bebe75,

can't get my coconut fr ntuc AMK hub today, previously manage to get fr century sq, only $1..

Hi cath, we must do a sample check-out with the code,

then it will reveal the actual discount..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my sis code is 10% only. Yes, old navy currently 20% off also but on promo

ends earlier on 12 may n gap on 13 may.

Cath, checked yr code.. It's 20% off too..

But I realised the code does not applies to

new arrivals..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] fyr..

I tried to test out the disc too but somehow couldn't get to the promo code. But .. aiya only 20%... i was very hopeful that it was 40%... perhaps will miss this round.

Thanks sberry for helping.

for PJ, i'm just bring an old set of mine which i bought fm Hkg few yrs back.. it's long sleeve with long pants in pekkle duck design, gd when in aircon room coz it's thicker than the type we have here in SG. i got another in snoopy design, already packed with bb clothes n sent to my sis place. my mum will be washing bb clothes this week. i still have some bb clothes at my side, tink will wash next wk coz tis weekend very busy liao.

btw, anyone seen a great increase in power supply bill. due to the super hot weather, my power supply bill has gone fm $80+ (aircon on oni once a week) to $90+, the lastest one is almost $130 liao coz nw everynite i on aircon to sleep.

Bluberi, My PS bill has increased from $130 to $160 hor... Sometime I wonder why my bill so high as only two people staying and we are usually only at home after 7pm. Sigh....

Actually I also thot of getting PJ in the gown type.. not two pcs; top & bottom that I have bought. But my SIL said I need to wear long pants with socks to prevent 'wind' from getting into our body and hospital can be quite cold. So mummies who have given birth, may i check if it's okie to wear the gown type? I also scared of lifting up my legs and tear away the stitches.

Cath, no problem at all.. btw, u can consider ON though, coz its fixed at 20% off, at least same for all.. haah.. will u be using yr GAP code? if not, can i have it? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bliss, kelly

i contacted frogprincess, but she told me tat there is a slight possibility tat i need to pay for the CL permit $170? coz CL fm malaysia can only stay in singapore 60 days? her CL is currently doing confinement for another mummy, ended 2 Jun..

discussed wif my hubby, he said how come got to pay $170 more? in dilemma leh.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Doobom, not too many ~15days left bah after i been taking one day off every week since 3rd tri.. :p most likely, i won't get the full maternity leave oso, will go back office earlier..

Cath, the chinese massage lady charges so high huh?

for the front-button pyjamas, i got mine from taobao, love it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. will try it out to post it here after findin out how to post picture.. haha..

FRIENDS, same lor.. we oni at home aft 9pm, earliest also 8.30pm.. but bill still so high. tink next time need to change my aircon to inverter type liao. when we first shifted in, we on aircon every nite so the bill was always $130-$150, then we changed to oni switching aircon to sleep once a week, then the bill drop to $80-$90. nw we are back to square 1 due to the freaking hot weather!!!

i'm gg for my matetnity shoot tis sun, getting a lil excited!! tml gg to trim my hair coz dun wan to look too ugly in the shoot. my hubby saw the F8 angels matetnity shoots n asked if i'm going to bare it all.. lolx, no figure how to bare it all, the most i oni wear bra + panties. :p gonna bring a dress n heels along for the shoot.

Friends, Bluberi,

mine only $120+ leh despite even on during daytime at times and every nite. But mine is inverter... supposedly more energy saving. Can't survive w/o aircon nowadays.

bluberi, u heard of an blue colour box energy saving device or not? i on my aircon everynight, so the PUB is around $110.00. still quite okay bah?

My hubby says its very useful, can buy at Sim Lim square.

koaru, nw i really regretted save that 1k odd n not getting inverter.. see the bill really can faint lor!!

Elise, wat blue colour box energy saing device? u mean the device that caculate our energy usage? i saw at home fix before.

Sberry, no worries, i won't need it. You go ahead to use the code. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Koaru, the ones u bought got sizes?

Sberry, the $170 is levy.. U may want to discuss with her to share the levy since u take over her CL.

If the CL job is too close permit is needed. Also for your benefit if custom refused to let her enter SG cuz she stayed too long here might end up having problems.

PJ with front buttons, I got mine from Bangkok wholesales market with Doremon design. I have 1 set long sleeve and another 1 short sleeve. Still don't know how many sets should I bring. I will be on C-Sect, so will be staying for 3 days. But I don't feel like bringing so much thing leh..

Nursing Bra

triumph sells nursing bra...limited designs...i bought 2 for $70 plus.

baby seldom moves these two days...abit paranoid now....

Bliss,

free sizes leh.. Somemore got slits by the side, so wif my big tummy now, it's super short.. Front button types sizes like not as big compared to those w/o buttons.. But then again I bought some mths back so maybe they got new supply now.

Suelynn,

u were asking abt those jabs rite? I dun recall the vit k one, but BCG is compulsory isn't it? And we found out then that TMC will inject at the buttock whilst KKH injects the arm.. hubby keeps commenting now my gal buttock imperfect liao.. I rebutt him isn't arm even more unsightly?? Oops.. Coming back, we took up the PD advice n go for 6-in-1 jab so gal din hv to take heb b separately when born then. At that time can claim fr company so we din mind the cost, will see how it goes for #2..

I had nuts n canned coconut juice as supper, sinful but shiok!

Daphne,

din know triumph got sell nursing bra too.. I juz bought mine fr spring maternity yesterday, Heng got $10 voucher fr dumex.. think I signed up some newsletter or freebie previously, so bought 2, also limited designs for $56. Think price ok..

I am at wk 37, so bb movements feel more jerky, like nudges.. daytime maybe u r too busy at work that u din notice? I notice mine most active after a meal, juz continue to monitor closely.