(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

diana: awe.. u take care too... yeah sometimes i will break out in cold sweat too for no reason. sometimes feeling dizzy out of the sudden..

i also no mood to do anything, like very tired.. still got many things to wash for bb's things.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jus'us: ok, i'll try look out for the juice. thank you.

Elise,

i am using baby bag.. will need another bag if i am bringing pump along.. its not really a lot of stuffs actually since skincare pdt is sample size type, and bringing a few pads only cos i rem hospital ones cant even finish n i hate the loop bulky types. This time since i am taking 2-bedder, think a bit pai seh if wear PJ n walk around the ward bah..

Cath,

i am also looking for a postnatal massage lady cos the one fren recommend me keeps ignoring my msg.. sian. So tempted to juz sign up for rustic nirvana's package but then again really muz get a reliable therapist else $$ wasted.

My weekly gynae checkup begins... but chances r i still hv another 2-3 wks to go..

kaoru, i signed up for rustic nirvana's package too...paid almost $900. very expensive. but they "looked" professional in handling postnatal massage. anyway, although it's expensive, we can request to change massage lady if not suitable. better than freelance. and thier ppl are all certified. will hv peace of mind.....

any mummies know how often can we drink coconut...? I feel like drinking every now and then....weather super hot.

Dizzy:

Have checked with gynae, we shd not be standing, seating or walking for more than 30 mins or we will experience sudden weakness. Yesterday, I blackout while 'Q'ing for payment... Breakout in cold sweat and suddenly everything just turn black. Lucky hubby was with me and he just grabbed me very tightly to prevent me from falling. Scary experience so ladies do take good care hor.

ML:

I'm not taking it earlier as my office is within walking distance to TMC. Also want to spend longer time with my precious baby... Agreed with Sandy that this 4-5 weeks are the longest n slowest period of my life....

Babyroom:

So far only hubby is busy the one cleaning and preparing it as I'm really too tired doing it. As my baby stuff is mostly hands-me-down, hubby has been washing and washing almost every week...

Friends

Thanks for sharing abt the dizzy issue.. Really panicked and din undersatnd why I was breaking out in cold sweat.. Phew

Hi Mummy,

I'm letting go a JJ cole body support (pink colour) to be used in prams and car seat. Suitable for newborns. I have used it less than 10 times cause my baby simply refused to sit in the pram. Selling price is $45, am willing to let go at $20. Interested parties please email me at [email protected].

http://jjcolecollections.com/body-support

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3962239.jpg]

Hi ladies.. mi too busy teaching the temp staff on my job + auditors in the office kept mi away fm the thread!! hate it!! counting down to end of May, have less than 3wks to handover my work. last nite dreamt that i couldn't handover my work coz i gave birth early. hope tis nitemare wun come true. *fingers crossed*

Irma, i have book the bed yet. will book it next wed before i go for my appt. u booked urs?

friends: yes2.. i had that "black" out twice last time. that was b4 married la.. in MRT station somemore.. my check (forgot whether its left or right) blu-black.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bluberi: oh havent also ah? same here. heh~ anyway the financial counselling can be done in TPS itself. i believe they will "remind" you when you making the payment. but hor, tell you that time when i went, the lady (quite elderly) took her own sweet time to explain to the lady before me. till my hubby got so fedup.. we left. at last, we went the next day, coz i had tummy pains, and dropped by the Admission Centre.

im going next sat though for my appt and also have to book by then..

Re: Dizzy Spell

Breaking out in cold sweat as well as nearly blackout when cutting my hair last thursday.. kind of suffocating to be wrap round the neck.. lucky the girl was understanding and wasn't mad at me for pausing twice throughout.. but kind of sad cos the hairdresser cut much shorter than wat i expected? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] oh well.. wat's done cnt be undo.. i just got to accept it..

Re: Hospital Bag

Yet to pack.. feeling too tired/lazy to do anything..

Re: Sick

down with nose block and sore thoart.. sian..

HAs been quite a while since I logged in. My #1 sick again so bz wif him.

Hospital Bag

Everyone seems to start packin le, mi haben even prepare, forgotten wat to prepare le. Last time TMC gt gib booklet on wat to bring bt now dun haf leh.

Daphne- U can drink coconut on weekly basis. For mi, I drink lyk 2-3 times a wk. Juz make sure its fresh can le.

Kelly,

Oh no! I booked my CL with PEM. Can I know who the CL they assigned to you was? Hope it is not the same one that they assign to me. But if it is, at least I know her patter right from the start, and can preempt.

Nursery - I'm still in the process of moving things out of my study to make room for the baby. I really managed to accumulate a lot of things lor... sigh. Hope to finish by the end of this week.

Hospital bag - still haven't packed. Got to buy some things too. Like front opening nightgown.

Baby clothes - expecting a hand-me-downs, but still have not seen any. I guess I will ask about them after the nursery is done.

Still so many things to do. Sigh.

Mummies who are not feeling well - take care of yourselves!

Irma, still have to go thru financial counselling prior to booking the bed? wonder how long does it takes, my appt is 5pm so i intend to go to the admission office at 4pm.

Jolene, u r not the oni one, mi also haven pack hospital bag yet. still got disposable panties haven buy.

think i'm very laid back!

I'm in 34wk +.. other than washing baby clothes.. and dismantling #1 old playpen to make way for new pen

i hv not done much ! not even bot basic stuffs like mittens and booties and new playpen

not even pack my hosp bag except that i bot a few pack of disp panties fm Guardian

was thinking if i shd wear nursing top during hosp stay? don't know if shd buy button front pj anot coz i norm don't wear them at home

anyone drinking Raspbery tea?

i just order mine from the Birth Shop.. i think is a affilated company of MIM.

supp to help soften the cervix for a shorter labour.

not sure if its really so true.. but i did drank that when i was preg with #1.. and labour was abt 5 hrs and it was induced

Read abt many mummies drink bf tea to increase suppy, but have check with my doc and she too advise not to take any tea when we are still bf as she say is not gd for our bb as their tummy will have more colic. Even my massage lady advise the same. Read from other mummy that since she drank the tea her bb is more fussy and when she visit her doc was advise to stop taking the tea as her bb tummy got to much wind inside. Check with your doc 1st before consuming the tea.

Rainelle, there r still a few weeks to delivery so by that time, the hair length wld be just nice and swee swee....

Seems like many mummies also kenan the sudden dizzy spell, do drink more water and rest more....

morning!

missed out in this thread. have to read them slowly. hehe.

been feeling pain/sore down there. when i walk/sit/lift up my legs, pain. especially when i get up from bed, pain. >.<

no problem with this pain for my #1.

last few weeks seems so draggy.

re: dizziness

i ever had this nearly blackout incident while standing on the bus for #1. suddenly broke out in cold sweat & vision sort of totally black, i quickly ate my wu hua guo (some preserved stuff). felt slightly better but was so paiseh cuz i perspired like hell. after that, i was back to "normal" & still able to meet my cousin. haha. 2nd time (#2) was when i was waiting to collect my med (was down with flu & abit of fever), i had difficulty breathing, could feel my vision getting blur. got my med & rushed to the nearest kopitiam & rested. took a sweet drink (sugarcane), felt better.

i was alone during all these 2 incidents. luckily, i never fainted. pheww~~

re: hospital bag

sort of start packing liao. hehe.

re: weather/perspiration

haiyo, i immediately perspired once i stepped out from my room. so humid!!!!! even though after it rained. -.-" that sat night went to helix bridge, hubby & i were machiam like in "who perspire the most" competition.

missbluey, me too feel pain 'below' coz baby head is there.. esp sit/lift up my legs/ & turning when sleeping.

Raining also wont help.... everytime after bath also feel warm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dizzy spell

- prob due to the pressure and weight that affect the blood flood..avoid staying in a position for too long..try to move around for better blood circularisation

coconut

- I got those young coconuts from NTUC..not the small round one..trying to drink at least once a week since week 34..very freshing and cooling..

chipped tooth

I just chipped off one of my molar tooth..dunno how come like that. Now the sharp edge is really a nuisance as it tends to cut my tongue. Do you think I can visit the dentist to do filling at this stage of pregnancy?

Hosp bag

For mummy

- 1 nursing bra; my sis said you can choose to go bra-less if you are breastfeeding..but I scared later got visitors...very malu

- a pack of disposable panties

- 4 sanitary pads..prob will use them as a base for the hosp pads..double protection

- 1 front opening nightgown

- 1 sweater

- 1 set of clothing for discharge

- simple toiletries set

- admission letters + reports from my gynae

- NRIC (incl hubby's)

- Marriage cert

For baby

- 2 set of clothings (incl mitten/booties) for discharge; incase one of them get soiled while changing

- 1 swaddling blanket with hood

Optional

- breastpump, extra disposable panties and sanitarypad, shoes for mummies (my feet shrunk immediately after birth for #1)

I will not be bringing the breastpump to hosp cos based on previous experiences, my milk supply came in 4-5 days after delivery.

I will "educate" hubby where to locate the abv items if I need to stay longer in the hosp (touch wood

Update on 35th prenatal visit

- weight: Baby is approx 2.6kg while mummy is 58kg (hope I will not hit the 6Xkg). Doc commented that my amniotic fluid level is still looking good..so he thinks baby can still stay inside my tummy for another 4 weeks ARRRGGGGHHHH.... I was hoping that the baby can come out in 2 weeks time. He estimated that baby will be around 3.3kg at birth..we did a close up scan on the feature..can see his chubby cheeks.

Labor process

Lately, I have been reading up more on labor and delivery process...starting to get worried, dunno if I can pull thru the contraction pain...on one hand, I can't wait to get the baby out, on the other hand, I am scared of the delivery process..hiaz

Missbluey

Ya...I bought laurier 30cm sanitary nightguard..intend to put the maternity pad on top..cos I think those supplied by hosp is around 26cm?? I rem I stained on my night gown for #1..the loop maternity pad supplied by hosp was not secured leh..heard that now they have changed to adhesive type..but I am not taking any chances..

Also depending how's the labour sign..for #1..my waterbag was leaking...so I brought a changing mat and wore extra thick pad on the way to hosp. For #2, it was one of those pinky discharge..so I just put on one night pad before admitting to hosp.

wow bebe, you are very petite ya? I hv long passed the 6Xkg mark and now approaching 7Xkg mark... argh.. can't believe how much i have put on.

i am also bringing my sanitary pads rather than maternity.

bebe

did you get green coconut fm NTUC? i always see white small ones leh.. nvr seen green ones b4

which NTUC did you go? the ones at Food Junction cost $3.20 for a cup. (they will chop and pour out the juice into a cup) so expensive

Checkup:

i juz came back.. now 34w 5D. baby 2.5kg..

but Gynae say my blood pressure seem to be escalating [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] now abt 131.. max to hit is 140.

anyone knows what causes high blood? issit bcoz my #1 makes me loose temper to often.. but when i took my pressure.. i was ok leh.. nvr flare up

mi worse la, confirm next wk appt my weight will hit 8Xkg mark liao.

i also didn't buy any maternity pads, oni gotten the Sofy 35cm sanitary pads. hope this is sufficient.

jolene, thanks for the info...i am so happy to know that we can drink 2-3 coconut drinks per week....I always crave for the drink...so thirsty...perspiring all the time....

bebe75,

i thought hospital provide is pureen type? hmmm...i can't remember what kkh gave me which type then.

but there is this very long pad 40.5cm right? what brand?

Anyone knows where to get the front opening PJ for confinement and nursing? Those i got for my previous preg is very "tu", from market ones.

Trying to see if there is any BP for them but can't find.

koaru, the massage lady i used last time charges $400 for consecutive 7 days - good la but she massaged so hard that i can cry.

My friend recommended one chinese lady - Ann said she is super good. But very expensive. Around $950 for 7 sessions.

Re pjs, toa payoh central and tiong bahru plaza is selling. Not obiang type but cute type. To me at least nicer than flowery type. One for 13.90 only. Much cheaper than karmy brand.

Am so tired today.. Slept at 3plus last time.. Son woke up and vomit at 4am... Bath him and change the sheets.. By the time went back to sleep is 5am but I'm so wide awake man... I'm so tired but body seems like can't go into resting mode..

Now I'm so afraid to wake up at night.. Once I'm awake is so hard to go back to sleep!

hello gers,

So tired cause i stayed up till 3pm to play with hubby hp.. haha.. think i am gonna go for a nap again.

Re: 35th wk checkup

Forgot to ask doc baby engaged or not but i think haven lah.. he also never say abt baby breech so i guess baby turned. Forgot what to ask him also. Baby is quite big at abt 2.8 kg when he measured the tummy, gynae asked me whther i have been eating a lot? He told me to prepare for baby to comeat end may.. call him if baby doesnt move more than 10 times a day.

Actually i dun think my bb will come early, my #1 was induced at 39 wk and 2 days..

Will do more squats when it comes to 38th/39th wk... someone mentioned abt mixing egg with milo right.. whats that for??

RE: pyjamas

cath, i also need to find pyjamas!! Missybluey, sorella have meh? i also scared tu tu, how much is the pyjams?? i need to buy nursing bras too.. where u all got ur nursing bras?

Yup Missbluey, baby head is there thats y i feel pain 'below' [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Cath & Genice, if u all 1 2 find pj.... can try Spring maternity $40+ or Moms'R'Us $30+ at united square.... if not sorella at Metro or BHG $50-$60(2nd piece 60%)

Yeah Irma, I think I ever saw it at NTUC. Last time I bought was from Cold Storage. The big bottle one. I drank the whole bottle within a day, and my UTI got better. That's time I really cried out loud cos' I peed with blood clot too.. Most important is you must keep yourself alway hydrated with water.. especially now, we are pregnant! Last lap... few more weeks to go.. All the best to all mummies~

Sanitary pad..

Missbluey - I realise I had bought the 35cm, not the 30cm Lauier nightguard..

The one supplied by Mt A (7 yrs ago when I had #2) was the kotex brand ..with loops one...which I dun like.

WeightCath - ya, I am quite petite..I gained abt 12kg for my previous pregnancies..hitting 62kg. For this one, I dunno why I do not gain as fast as before..but so long the baby is okay, I do not mind. Most ppl thought that my tummy is small, they cannot believe that I am going to due soon.

Coconut

Gitz - The coconut I get from NTUC is like this. http://diabetesdietdialogue.files.wordpress.com/2007/10/coconut-young-green-open-and-closed-answers.jpg. I bought the "De-skinned" version - without the green skin layer. I got it from TPY HDB Hub NTUC, but the supply is not regular..only buy when there is stock.

They do have another type..smaller and round - my mum said not to take those.

PJ

I only got one front opening PJ..think I got from those valueshops at Kovan (was it CK??) - very cheap $8.90 and not so "tu-tu". I think I will only wear PJ in the hosp..back home..I prefer to wear T-shirt and shorts..or maybe I shd get 1 or 2 piece proper PJs to please my MIL who is doing my confinement??

I find that the karmy brand PJ very thick leh...I sweat and stink like hell when I wore them during my previous confmenements.

UTI

Another remedy for UTI - drink barley water or eat more yoghurt. My gals tend to get UTI when young (PD said their body is inclined to those bacteria). They do not take in cranberry too well cos of the sourish taste..so I gave them barley water and yoghurt regularly..

Hosp bag

Forget to add that - I prob gotta prepare some biscuits/snacks and drinks for hubby. I remember he was famished the next morning as he stayed up throughout the night in the labor ward. The canteen was not opened and the vending machine was a distance away from my ward.

Thanks Missbluey, Bebe, elaine and Bliss. I think i will go check out the more affordable ones first - Kovan CK and tiong bahru for the PJs. need at least 2 sets more cos of the perspiration during confinement. I remembered i changed at least 3 sets / day the last time.

RA, I have just called up my previous malay massage lady. She is Aziza. She does 45 mins every session, 7 consecutive sessions for $450. Very conscientious and reliable, will not like last min say can't come the next day. But one thing is that sometimes she will be late for 15 - 20mins. you can pm me if you need her contacts. Eh, but hor, my pain threshold very low, so i can't take it when she use too much strength to massage for me. I will tell her and she is the type who is ok to listen to feedback. And i don't like to massage head, cos i cant bath in the first 5 days at least, so i don't want to have my hair oily. All these i will tell Aziza my preferences.

I remembered there is another mummy here who has a good contacts for postnatal massages. you may want to ask around somemore.

Re: PJ

Those front-opening ones seem rather difficult to find. I couldn't find in Robinsons. Finally got from Marks & Spencer ($59). Thot of joining spree to get another set from Victoria's Secret (US$30).

Re: Nursing bras

Can get from Spring Maternity ($30+) or Mothercare / Marks & Spencer (fr $50+ per piece - with design / $80+ for 2 - plain). Try to get the non-wired one. I just realised the one I got from OIO Maternity ($40+) is wired one.

bluberi: actually no need to go the financial counselling prior to the booking of bed. just happened we were at KK coz of my UTI on Sat. thats y decided to "ask" further b4 booking the bed. shdnt tke long la the "talk", unless the couple has many clarifications to make. pretty much straitforward and they will tell you whats included and whats not.

as my gynae is senior consultant, got 2 choices only, B1 and the 1 bedder (suddenly i forget what is it called, A1?) haha...

Sandy: thx.. i'll take a look at NTUC. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] scary ah you peed blood!! OMG!

Welcome catherine!!!

Think hosp bag - Bebe has listed quite a good one in this thread, you can browse through.

Tiger baby, ya agree to get the nursing bra unwired. I got mine from PerfectMum, but must not mind the design. Quite obiang but very comfy.

Irma, i see.. my gynea also a senior consultant. actually as long as u are seeing gynea in TPS, we have to book the premier hospitalisation package which is either B1 (4 bedded) or A1 (single bedded).

cath,

ah yes, the pjs i bought is karmy brand like what bliss said. slightly more ex than her recommendations. but in the end, i didn't used it. =p

tigerbaby, actually whats the difference btw nursing bras and normal bras, i cannot see the difference leh.....sua ku me...haha, care to explain? i was thinking of saving $, and not to buy leh

All start to pack the bags lioa ah..

Me just jotted down the list and will be getting the stuff tonight.. Want to get as many things settled as possible before hubby goes off for his training..

Coconut

Me still having slight cough.. Is it advisable to drink the coconut or should i wait till I recover ah .. Coz mum was saying that the coconut very cooling and not good for the cough..

Pyjamas

The pyjamas that u gals are talking abt is it the gown type or those that are pants and blouse kind??

TMC Birth registration

Have not gone to TMC yet.. My first appointment with Dr Tham is only next week so have not really got orientated with the place yet..

Just a question

Can I do the birth registration at TMC and where??

Abt the application of the Baby Bonus..??

bluerbi: aiya.. aft reading my post, im like dun understand what i typed.

what i meant is, i believe when you're there to do the booking, there'll still be financial counselling (in a sense), coz basically, they'll still explain to you what the package includes.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]