(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Kelly, Bluberi,

I on aircon like 24/7 plus not only 1 room, basically everwhere I go.. And bb also sleep in aircon wif CL in another room. Also, a lot of cooking, brewing, n washing (and dryer of course) the whole mth.

Straw81,

mine is an old model fr ariston - which is a washer cum dryer cos I hv not much space in my kitchen. So far service once in the past 8 yrs, so I guess it's a gd buy for us. Downside is clothes get more crumpled so need a gd iron.

Bliss,

will it be better if u lie down? Earlier I also hv acute pain but it's lower tummy so I think mine is juz the little one stretching or smtg, I dun think he will engage so fast bah.. At least I can tahan till sat to see gynae.. After which I shld be seeing him wkly liao.. U take care!

I had irregular contractions last nite, this time i feel abit painful, quite scary...

on aircon AND fan already....still very hot....perspire the whole face and body....awaiting anxiously for the arrival of fresh coconut in the morning. gonna add ice cubesssss in the coconut drink. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bliss, are you okie...? yes, if you go straight to hospital,they call your gynae in, they lll charge you from $350 onwards....

i guess it's quite common to have pain here and there...but if it's too painful, you really got to seek your gynae's advice....when i was in 2nd trimester, my whole back pain until i couldn't move and cold sweat came out. only then my gynae told me not to worry, wont affect baby, it's your bone problem...but now i dun feel it anymore, for a long long time. but touch wood huh.....

Bliss, ur hb family live all good men.. not pantang is good enuff.. still can wash for ur sil!! aiyo.. better take note of ur pain.. maybe it's contraction?

Kelly, i only pre-soak those clothes hubby perspire during exercise? cos it stink even after machine wash if nv per-soak.. others just dump in and wash..

Wow... didn't know about the high charges about going straight to hospital and engaging Gynae to check on us in the middle of the nite. So ex.... If that is the case, isn't going to KK 24hr clinic better? I went there once when I have pain and the charges is less than $100....

Bliss, do take care of yourself and keep us posted on your cond. U have this on-off pain for quite a while, best to have it check...

if you are civil servant, KK 24 hr clinic is free for you... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but of course, dun expect much....

TMC after 8 plus charge $350 onwards if they help to call in your gynae.but i must comment that my gynae Dr. Lawrence Ang is really a nice doc who doesn't see money 1st....a few times i called him outside office hours, as early as 6am, he entertained my call and managed to calm me down. even when i told him i was at KK, he advised me what to do....and actually told me to stay there for treatment.

kaoru

thanks for the dryer info! One service in 8 yrs is worth the $ liao

Bliss

Is the pain still there? But today Friday, think Woo is at SK branch in the morning rt?

I dint know that emerg charges are so exp. Btw, TMC has a 24hrs family clinic too. I wonder if there's a gynae on duty there? So that we dun have to incur the high charge from calling in our gynae mah

bliss,

hope you are ok. it sounded quite serious.

btw, your medium wetbag is approx how big as in measurements?

re: gynae's emergency no. after OH

how do you mummies get this no.? is it their personal hp no.?

re: water retention

yesterday just realised my feet look like pig trotters/elephants legs liao! sobs~~~~ can't even find my ankles. told maid to help me massage, she said i didn't drink enough water. hais. anything to ease water retention besides propping pillows @ night?

mummies!!! i'm dying ><"

Been feeling damn giddy throught-out the entire aft my discharge frm hosp.

Y is dis so ar?! Cannot tahan lehx..

Talkin abt wetbag, wat's the price like?

I'm alright! Got on off pulling feeling! But mine is not at the lower tummy. Is at upper left near to the center. Quite painful. But it doesn't seems like mens cramp to me also.

My next appt is on wed. Will see if I can tahan till then.

I didn't want to go downount alvernia cuz i went during my week 38 for my first pregnancy. Did CTG test and nothing else. If I want to see my gynae meaning I have to

pay. So abit waste of money and I can't get to

see my gynae.

Sometimes is just small things so I'm not willing to

pay so much for gynae to come down and yet I want to talk to him.

So is better to call directly to gynae and talk to

him which I did a few times when he is around in the clinic.

I don't think dr woo goes to

SK anymore...

Sandy thanks for the no. Will note it down in case the pulling comes again.

Missbluey, my medium is the same size is the icky bag.

Bliss, I hope you are feeling better now. Pls take good care and rest well.

baby_tigger, enjoy your icy coconut drink [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] When can we start to have coconut drink?

lin and kelly or other mummies having the Medela Freestyle, there's ony 1 version rite? and the box looks like this?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3948468.jpg]

coz i intending to ask my cousin to buy in US then help me bring over... just worried there's more than 1 version/model of Freestyle then buy wrongly...

Missbluey, got to drink more water to ease the water retention.

Massage your feet by pushing it upwards to your thigh. On strokes method and not pressing type.

Lift up your feet whenever you can.

Saw ur pic last night... Must be very painful right?

Sheryl, the wetbag price depends on how u want to make it. Normal ones without personalise is the price stated there. Just x 1.48 and is in sgd.

Bliss,

Hope u r feeling ok....

Koaru,

No wonder yr bill shoot so high....whole hse 24/7..gosh...hehehehe....

Rainelle,

I more fussy...i hv to pre-soak all cos i tink cleaner tat way...my son aso pre-soak...hehe..

Jojo,

yup...mine looks exactly the same as u post here...freestyle only 1 version as of now la..prb u can ask yr cousin to buy the spares aso since it is cheaper ... :eek:)

bliss,

better monitor your pain. twisting kind of pain?

i only drink more water when im @ work. @ home kind of lazy. yea, quite painful when i press. >.<

kelly, so this box comes with all the standard things u got ya? what spares will i be needing? very last min decision to ask them to get for me so no time to research much.. thanks much ya..

Missbluey, just when I think is getting serious the pain lessen.. When I ignore the pain get more and more intense. Haha.. Is like pulling from inside. Abit like twisting pain but I didn't feel baby moving at the same time.

Hope is just some painful braxton hicks but is really the first time that bring me close to tears when the pain comes..

Jojo,

I bought extras for the breastshields (2 types - personalfit or softfit (the pump tat u purhcase cmes 1 std - size M set of softfit breastshield), the replacement pump parts, extra set of tubing aso...if i will nd extras whn i m bak to wrk...

Bliss - Glad that you are better now..

Sheryl - Same here leh.. I am still breatheless and giddy on and off.. Last night couldn't lie down and sleep, cos' whenever I lie down I tend to cough and get breatheless... so, I get my husbang to push our armchair into my room to sleep. Surprisingly, I able to sleep 4 hours without much pain or discomfort.. Thanks God~

Sandy, still feeling breathless? I'm still relying cough syrup to sleep. Day time ok. But once I lie down will start coughing. So I take medicine before I cough or else end up wheezing again

Bliss, yeah lor.. I get breatheless when I sleep..Think is baby "floating" up to my chest causes blockage uh.. I got to breathe in hard hard then ok.. that happen when I lie down or sleep. but when I sit upright ok leh.

Hello Mummies

Been busy coping with my kids' exam, also busy settling some finance issue before I am stuck at home doing confinement (dreadful)..

Remedy for water retention

I saw this winter melon soup recipe on MIM website..Missbluey, you can try out and see if it helps..

For me, I have been taking barley weekly to prevent retention..I think it helps me to some extent..

WINTER MELON SOUP

(Good for helping to relieve water retention during the advanced stages of pregnancy)

½ winter melon, cut into cubes

200g chicken fillet, diced

5 Chinese Mushrooms, soaked & sliced

1 carrot, cut into cubes

10g medlar seeds ("kei chee"), rinsed

10g snow fungus, soaked, trimmed, and torn into florets

2 slices old ginger

Put all ingredients into a Crockpot. Fill ¾ full with HOT water. Boil for 3 hours.

Weather

The hot spell is really killing these few days..I turn on my aircon at home the whole day...otherwise I am a sweatpot..

Cramp and pulling strain..

I cannot differentiate if I am experiencing cramp or pulling strain near the pelvic area..but these few days, I have to slow down my movements. Getting more frequent braxton hicks..really uncomfortable..can;t wait to offload

Hosp bag

I am in the midst of packing..doing up the list and getting the items ready..baby clothes are more or less washed..I did not get too many clothes..juz enough for first 2 mths..will see how big is the baby before I commit more shopping trips..

The other major stuff is to sterilise the bottles and pump..prob will do it around 37-8 weeks.

bliss,

i hope your pain will go away soon.

bebe75,

thanks for the receipe! is it dong gua tang? sometimes my mil do cook that. as for barley water, oops, i haven't been drinking lately. shall drink it during lunch later.

weather is damn humid these days. can even perspire while waiting for bus. -.-"

Sandy,

its a very bad feeling. Esp at night u feel very drain and tired yet cannot slp.

Haix.. i reali wonder hw we mummies can overcome and endure thru all this 9mths of ups & downs.

For all mummies experiencing early contractions:

Try to bedrest as much as possible.

It does helps.

Esp when my doc order those blood circulation socks for mi during bedrest..

Lessen my leg cramps at night, able to slp nicely.

As for heartburn, i owaz wake up in the nite for a pee, den take a sip of cold milk. Jus to prevent any discomfort aft waking up.

I bought gaivson (the tv adv) for heartburn and stomach acid. Havent try on it yet but hope that it prove to be useful. Same for pregnant and breast-feeding ladies.

Finally got a chance to log in

Been really busy... Mood has been up and down.. Yesterday was really down and today I feel elated.. Funny rite.. Sighz...

Sheryl

Hope U are feeling better

Jia You to all mummies..

We are almost there... The last strtech liao

I had a real funny dream

I dreamt that I met up with u mummies for lunch.. And all of us had huge tummies.. And walkinh around like humpty dumpty !! hahaha... It was a real weird dream manz !!

Ya...winter melon is the green Dong Gua..good soup for hot weather too...

coconut drinks..

These few days I am not able to find those green husk coconut in NTUC..hiaz..prob gotta go hawker centre and drink...with these kinda hot weather..dun even feel like stepping out of the house...

Full month celebration

I told hubby I do not wanna hold any full mth party..cos find it meaningless since we are not really that close to our relatives..and it was a hassle to invite relatives esp some may not even RSVP..perhaps a dinner together with the immediate family and cake vouchers for some relatives/frens/colleagues.

sheryl, same here...i have not been feeling quite well after discharge from hospital too. I am currently on PUPPP skin problem medication. after taking medicine, i feel like sleeping. wake up already, i feel giddy....not much strength to do houseworks or cooking.

enduring, enduring, enduring.....till delivery.....

Sandy same here... once lie down will start mild coughing then i'll be very paranoid cause it will suddenly get worse and start wheezing. and my medication need to eat very full to take. sometimes midnight very hard to find food.

When i sit upright also feel okay..

missbluey, i'm much better today liao. Hopefully the pain don't come again.

So how's the wetbag ?

Now got order of 3 blankets ....

Bliss do take care. If anything, must call your gynae to ask. Sometimes, Gynae will not ask you to go down to hospital immediately but will give u some advise over the phone.

ya Sheryl, it is real chore now to walk around. Sit - Backache. Stand, pelvic pain. Aiyoh... i felt like i am whining and whining. Esp with the horrid cough, felt even worse.

hmm kelly, but my cousin guy wor.. hard to ask him to get the small small parts like breastshield and tubing... haha..! >.< how much these parts usually cost? US how much cheaper? maybe i'll buy myself or from SMH sprees when needed, then just ask him to get the standard box set for me..

Bliss, Dianajs and Cath..

work hard towards the birth of ur little one.

That's the motivation that let us endure thru all these pain and craps =x

hahaha!!

Oh.. so I am not the only one like that lor..

Really hope that, after give birth already will not have the same problem. For now, only can endure lor.. 4 weeks to go.

taking pain..

i've been having neck and shoulder pain these few days..

very aching and sore feeling!

can we use medicated plaster? =X

Sheryl, I ever have this problem too.. I asked gynae he said is ok.. as long you dun plaste at your stomach area is ok..

ya!!!! those pain/aches really irritates me. but until now i have yet to use medicated plasters cuz don't know can use anot. haha.

bebe75

i doubt NTUC sells green coconut

can try Food Junction's food court drink stall. one for $3.20

bliss, do take care and must see gynae if u still feeling unwell.

jojo,

Freestyle same as mine

Sheryl,

I also experience the pain in neck and shoulder pain. kind of needle poking sensation.

To mummies experiencing early contractions:

Yes, please rest well and have more bed rest if possible

Jojo,

oic....oh well...bt since he is willing to buy for u...then u r already saving alot aldy...hahahaha....i forgot exactly how much cheaper liao....hehehe..ya, another alternative is u can order fm the spree lor...bt gota wait lor....

for those mummies who have went thru c-sect before can share their experience like..

(1) will the wound be painful?

(2) how to manage it?

(3) how long does it take to recover?

(4) what are the special things to look out for?

cos for my coming #2, i may need to have a c-sect due to bb breech..

TIA [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]