(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

missbluey,

While I was getting the boxes, I was worrying if they will come to use this time round. But din bother coz scared later not enough, then got to go and buy. Last time round, I still go around and search for it. End up kinda hassle.

Ya, if cun utilise all, then give away/sell it.

bluberi,

i will be going for OCBC CDA too. Will be making enquiry when i have the time to visit the branch coz kinda confused with the benefits of having it. There is also the mighty savers and smartparent account that's somehow linked with it. Will check it out soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

OCBC is easily accessible as compared to Stan Chart? But heard Stan Chart does provide good services if 'lucky'...

missbluey, i read fm the thread is normal free postage, oni pay if u want to go by registered post leh. dunno my hubby want to sponsor mi anot, hahaha.. i buy alot of bb items out of my own pocket liao leh.

doobom, not sure abt StanChart CDA account, but seems like OCBC is the more popular one.

doobom,

ic. then perhaps i should get somemore. all these pads i bought online, too lazy to source outside.

bluberi,

you tell him if he don't want pay, you complain to bb. keke.

i always used to tell him last time, now no effect on him liao. hubby told me i better make this #2 my army, cuz #1 will stand on his side. -.-"

missbluey,

Previously I am the only one who MAN the whole show, hence got to run around during ML to get the breast pads. HB knows nuts about it.

But if you can get help to stock up later on, then can do it later. Save $$.

The price of it @ Kiddy Palace is kinda reasonable. I think less than $10/box (36pcs).

oops... looks like i am the only one considering standard chartered for CDA... one reason is tat it has free insurance coverage, though the sum insured is very low... another cos it gives 1% interest rate to our savings account too...

pigletkoh,

If I am not wrong, if the wine is used during cooking, it's fine coz there is no more of alcohol content. However, there are concerns about drinking DOM during breastfeeding as it's direct consumption of alcohol. Unless DOM is used during cooking too.

missbluey, i tink my gal likes my hubby more leh.. wait next time stick to daddy and not me!! last nite i told him i ordered rice wine $72 for 6 bottles and haven paid yet, he oni said ok. maybe i ask my mum pay first, den claim fm him. coz he said to ask my mum buy all those confinement stuff first and claim one time fm him.

piglet, my mum can still breastfeed bb, but must be 1-2hrs later.

good morning mommies...

tigerbaby: oh.. ok, so its included.. ok thank you for clarifying.

joelle: :D thank you too.. im feeling much better now.. and yeah, dropping by to KK still tmrw, i think if hubby not lazy.. hehe..

CDA: prob i'll be taking OCBC too.. my plc downstairs got OCBC, so easier..

as my mum plannin to use dom for my confinement..den she juz told me tat her frenz say breastfeed cannot drink...but lets say she cook soup or wad put abit inside still can?

CDA Account

Seems like OCBC more realiable.

Rice Wine

My inlaw know how to do, so she stand by for me abt 12 btls.

breast pads.

Anyone use before the washahble breast pad? Still thinking want to buy washahble or disposble breast pads.

Was reading all the postings on hospital bills,etc and I begin to ponder my decision for switching hospital.

I switched from MT.E to KK after my 24th gynae visit at Mt.E mainly b'cos of

1. I was worried of traffic jam around cairnhill area if I have to rush to hospital near peak hour

2. I hated the parking at Mt.E, so few parking lots and damn expensive

3. I tot KK is cheaper than Mt.E

4. If complication arise, patient still hv to be referred to KK (so far so gd for my preg, hope everything will be smooth)

5. My sis delivery experience at KK is good

6. KK seem a much popular choice for Singaporean comparing to Mt.E and I think probably the gynae at KK shd hv more experience since they deliver more babies

Joelle : is it true that KK is cheaper than Mt.E, considering a 1-bedder? I am referring to the actual costing, not the deposit. Actually it may be true that Mt.E is cheaper, cos my gynae visit at Mt.E is $55+ while KK is $70+, same services.

My sis give birth in KK in Jan this yr - natural w/o epi (but assisted) and her bill is $5K++, statying at 1 bedder. This seem to be similar to the bill charged by Mt.E (I did not check Mt.E charges but looking at the bronchures from KK comparing all the diff pricing for various hopsitals it seem that it is also $5K++). I also checked with KK counter and they told me that there is a revision in fee as from 1 April so I am also not sure whether the deposit at KK is still $2080, it may be higher now???

Gynae services - think the gynae at Mt.E is more patient and explained more details as compared to current Gynae at KK. The baby pics given is also much clearer than those in KK, the ones at KK is so blurr. I also hv to "forgo" my bb's 3D scan as I am doing my 32th wk bb growth with KK (if stayed with Mt.E, the gynae will definitely do one for me as she tried doing it at my wk 20 when I do the detailed scan but unfortunately unsuccessful then cos of bb position.) But I think the gynae at KK delivered more babies per month so shd hv more experience.

I will hv to make my booking for hospital rm next week (my 32th wk) during gynae visit at KK, sometimes cannot help but still thinking where should I deliver?? Sighh ....

re: gathering

are we meeting @ manhattan itself when we reach there?

evangelyn,

i bought 2 pairs washable breast pads. first time using.

Amy in that case just go ahead with what you feel is best for you and bb.

erm.. i forgot wh mummy did a dep for 1bed and yes paid 2080 for it..

you may also visit the admission counter and enquire with the staff and also make comparison with Mt E.

piglet, according to the talks i attended, it's okay to take wine, but make sure it's double-boiled.

amy, in my opinion labour is something we cannot predict which route we will ultimately take, unless up-front u go for c-sect. previously when i was seeing a private gynae, her nurse told me for normal delivery, mt a, tmc and glen e cost abt the same (and which we now know also kkh tps cost abt the same too). however, if complication arises during labor and u go for emer c-sect, tat's where all the hidden costs come for glen e. believe it shd be the same for mt e as both are under parkway.

at the end of the day, it's really where u feel comfortable. and yes, deposit for 1-bedder at kkh is still 2080. one thing i like abt kkh is tat they are quite clear on the pricing, as in they include gynae fee in as well, which prob minimises the hidden costs.

Tiger baby, u r right about the transparency of kk bill regarding emer csect. And that's the reason y I kept hesitating to transfer to TMC. My hubby's colleague gave birth in Tmc last dec and her bill is almost 10k! Deduct medisave still need to come out 4k Plus cash. This is when all the hidden charges came in. So if u guys r thinking of switching hospital only due to lower deposit, I think it's best to remain in kk. Cos we will never know the final bill until we give birth.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

thank you mummies for the eye-opener on the costs of kk.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

agreed with Irma, it is enlighening, thank u gals.

Tiger baby, I will also be opening the CDA a/c with standard chartered as my hubby already got a/C there, the services is good and I think with internet banking it should save a lot of inconvenience.

Re: Hospital Deposit

I think it's pro and con conditions for KKH as compare to other hospital.. but after all, we still need to pay up the whole sum.. it's just a matter of time..

Missbluey,

nope she has no off days - i wouldn't get one with off days - had many bad experiences with my mum's maid [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sadly, my new maid seems to be kinda talkative - she'll strike a conversation with any filipinas she sees! when i first brought her home, on the way up in the lift, she started to strike a conversation with my neighbor's maid - can see that my neighbor is not very happy about it.

then when we are out anywhere she'll talk to any filipinas she sees on the streets, food centre, shopping mall etc.

i did tell her right at the start not to talk to strangers, esp since she's quite gullible. she says she knows - and still like that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

BluBeri,

How's the White rice wine sampling? Good a not? Can you share with me the contact also? THANKS!

( pls email to [email protected] )

Joelle,

Yes i'm going for pilates and fitball everyweek - since i have many sessions left with them. If you go to the House of Balinese, ask them to use the baby oil ( the instructor from Inspiremom says Lemongrass may not be suitable...so just in case...)

Any one of you having piles? Today went toilet and pooed and alot of blood came out was in panic mode tot the blood cming from wrong place. Anyone taking anything from doc to soften the stools etc?

As for CDA account think i also opt for oCBC cos branches are readily available.

Have paid deposit for my doc fees only. The balance she will deduct from there. heard Medisave claim is up to 2.1k only

Amy, my cousin deliver in Mt E via csect GA and her cash is only about 2000+. This depends on how your gybae charge actually. Her gynae charge 900 from 5th month onwards. Csect cost 2000 plus and when she deliver, the gynae $900 package is offset from her delivery cost. Meaning she is mainly paying her 1 bedded and baby hospital bill.

Re: Gathering

Missy bluey.. we just meet there at 7 pm k. I make a reservation for 7, they say must have abt 4-5 pp then can go in and sit down. So i think if u reach earlier u might wnat to walk around or sit ard (if you are tired) cause i am not sure what time the rest will come.

Lets drop each other an sms when we reach k. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: TMC bill

wish i can contribute more but seriously i forgot how much i paid previously.

Some other things i remember:

Thomson women's clinic gynae:

My gynae is considered cheap and good thats y i sticked to him. His package starts from as early as when u conceived.. prob abt wk2-3 when u discover, only abt $600 ( includes all folic acid/ multivits/tummy ache med for general purpose/ coughsyrup have to pay/ fish oil $32 per 30 caps)

I normally see him if i am not feeling well, gor general purpose also can can can get MC + dun need extra consultaion charge. The bane is the location ( either at SK/CCK)

Hos free upgrade:

I got free upgrade from 4 bedder to 2 bedder as well.

Deposit:

$800 upon admission for TMC , no other deposit for gynae fees.

Final bill:

Cant remember but i think i topped up another $900 cash So total shld be $800+$900+ medisave claims abt $1700?=$3400 ( for 4 bedder, exact amt i am not sure cause i forgot how much was the medisave portion 2 yrs ago)

This time round i am choosing Mt A single so bill size should be abt $2313 ( w epidural) + doc fees ($1200)+ pd fees ( estimate $500)= $4013- $2100 ( medisave claims) = $1913 ( cash)

I think may be slightly more cash output cause i have not include baby's bill but from what i noe, baby's bill should be included in the package as well.

Deposit = $2313 ( upon admission for single room)

mezzo: me.. gynae gave me ointment and Lactouse Syrup (nice) haha... mine is outside.. as in the piles.. when the pharmacist pass me the medications, she said to drink lotsa liquid and fruit juices.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bliss, i think cause medisave claims for C sect with GA is very high, can claim up to $3950 as compared to normal delivery w epi can only claim $2150 thats y e difference in cash component.

That time , another lady from feb thread also admitted to tmc under same doc but she went for C-sect in the end still got back refund from the $800 deposit. Imagine how much she cliames from medisave.. i was a bit pyschologically unbalanced when i heard that.. :p they should allow same /more claims for everyone from medisave.

bluberri, can pm me the contacts as well for the white rice wine?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: KKH vs others

Like most other mummies,KKH does have a lot of pros espeecially *touchwood when we need emergency treatments for our babies , i will still go kk if my kids need to be hospitalised.

So at the end of the day, most impt is feel comfortable with what you have chosen, if i noe that my pregnancy may be full os ups and downs , i may choose to go KKH instead cause their fees are still lower if i chose B1. from what i noe, if u trf from pte to KKH, u will be asked to pay pte ward fees evn if there are no beds for A1 cause you are a trf patient. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm going to deliver at Mt E but didn't take the antenatal classes there. Would like to know if I need to book the hospital room in advance? I already paid a deposit to the gynae. Appreciate your advice, thanks!

jasmini,

wao, that is abit way too friendly liao right? i thought you are saying your maid is talkative as if wanting to talk to you. sometimes my maid keep talking to me when she is massaging me, i already in relax mode liao lor.

no off days is good, especially for first-timer maids. my maid told me if she has off day, she don't know where to go. lol.

mezzo,

im having piles every now & then. must push back everytime they pop else very uncomfortable. think you may have pushed too hard during poo poo time.

did your gynae know?

Pooja.

i bought it ard $490 as I got it via express shipment (14 working days). Got the pump from the same person which Kelly has provided you the link = )

Tigerbaby,

i hv both OCBC n Stanchart accounts but will also opt for OCBC for CDA (also opening a mighty savers account for my #2 juz like #1) cos there is one branch near my place.

Piglet,

i dun drink the wine directly, once its cooked, the alcohol will hv evaporated so its fine.

Irma,

i already paid $1275 for gynae's deposit at wk 32.. lucky its hubby who foot the bill, ha. I will juz bear the medisave portion :p

piglet:

so your package is with MtA C-sect with epidural??

One-bedder?

Im still considering.. to take Raffles or MtA.. but I do notice there is quite a gap in pricing... but hubby say most imptly is that I shld be comfortable with the hospital stay...hmmm

my next appt is 10th may.. i guess will not be able to "bump" into you le...kakak

I know this was asked by another mummy previously but not sure if there were answers:

For Confinement Lady charges ($2,000 for 28 days):

a) how much is the standard for first day angpow

b) how much is the standard for last day angpow

I understand as well that we need to pay for their transportation to/from Malaysia

What are the common tasks CL will undertake?

a) Baby will be sleeping in our room from day 1 so it means we will take care of night feed too

hi mummies how about TMC deposit... thot it was $1800 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Genice, how much it cost for natural? My package for csect with GA for 1 bedded at Mt Alvernia is 5000+.

Even after max claim from medisave also have to pay 2000+.

For natural the cash is much lesser right??

Anyone arrange for baby PD already?

considering getting the medela freestly or PISA.. mummies who used these pumps before, whats the advantages and disadvantages of each ar? also, mummies who bought from Leng Leng's US spree, u not worried abt the warranty part? what if the pump got problem when we collect it? i cant decide whether or not to get it lei.. need some advice..

Selling 2 Pigeon 200ml and 2 Avent 125ml. All 4 bottles for $15. PM if keen. Pick up at Bt Panj or somerset MRT

Jojo... me too... can't decide.. but i will get it only after delivery.. cos I think I might not have the patience to bf and also depend if I have bm too... My hubby also thinking of the warranty issue when getting US set.. First few years in KK selling freestyle at a cheaper price with 1 year warranty but I can't remember the price.

bliss.. i just checked the px.. for Mt A csect with GA single room is $3276 excluding gynae fees ( i mean just room package at MtA, max medisave claim is $3950 meaning u have abt $700 extra that u can claim for gynae fees using medisave.

For MT A normal with epidural, single is $2313 and max claim is only $2100 meaning up front i still need to top up abt $200 before adding gynae charges. So i may actually end up paying more in cash assuming our gynae fees only differ by 100-200 bucks since yours is c sect.

I hope u understand what i am saying. Thats y the other mother who had the same package as me but had C-section ended up paying less cash than me lor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piglet.. u booked room right? U mean u already confirm what kind of delivery u will be going? i only book Mt A single.. hope i dun need epi or assisted delivery. #1 i used epi and forceps..

Re:gathering

Nice chatting with peck, dot , raleigh and missybluey!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: disposable panties

Bought 1 pkt from guardian, the quality seems gd $3.95 for 5 cotton ones.. like can reuse kind.. haha

Breast Pads

I have gotten the washable ones mainly. i insist on NUK brand - affordable and comfortable, esp after a few washes. I will keep around 5 - 7 pairs of washable ones cos one day can use up to 5 pairs during heavy days. But i have kept a box of disposable cos disposable ones are good when you are out of the house. i stand by disposable pigeon ones too.

But i have gotten breast shields to contain any leakage when i bf on one side.