(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

my workplace is havg a special discount on New Moon Birds Nest - only $15 per 6 bottles pack, instead of $43 or $46. The only downside is that expiry is in Oct this year. Thought of sharing this news with you all and if you like, i don mind to help to buy some. But must collect from my workplace area - Alexandra The Comtech. I will be placing orders on 3 May afternoon around 12noon. But collection is on 6 & 7 May. Let me know if any of you are interested.

Genice, yes I get what u meant. But some gynae charge rather high for csect.. I didn't check mine leh.. No point checking since I have to do csect so must prepare to pay for the opt.

End of the day, is not cheap having a baby!! Why baby bonus doesn't come before delivery.. I'm headache about delivery cost too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

went to gynae today... I only put on 400gm where bb put in 800gm.. Seems like he is growing better than me! Not sure if is those antibiotics! Now I'm in 32 weeks but my edd was push forward to nearly 2 weeks. He weighs about 1.9kg which my gynae thinks he is abit overweight.

Finally my urine test pass today! Gynae gave me 2 chances as I didn't want to take to blood test. Thank god everything is ok. If my urine test did not pass, my gynae confirm not happy with it plus he think bb abit over weight.

Didn't want to waste money doing GD test since i'm delivering in 5 weeks time...

Bought some baby clothings today! Super happy about the price! It was 5 for $10!! and is tollyjoy brand.. Grab some long sleeve and cover footed pants.. Have start washing bb clothings as my mom keep nagging at me..

Will have to start spring cleaning the house in may and prepare baby room!

jasmini, genice & Lin, i've email/PM-ed ur on the rice wine contact.

update on my gynea visit, my weight increased 1.1kg, so total weight gain now is ard 6.6kg. bb is now estimated 2.1kg, up 1kg compared to 4wks ago. gynea said bb is of good weight. :p bb head also has turned down, hope she stay in this position. next appt is 3wks later, dunno y isn't it 2wks later. didn't book the hospital bed yet coz my appt finished before 6pm, so will book during my wk35 appt.

Re: Gathering

Me too!! Hope we have more mummies to join in the gathering next time.

Btw, I have uploaded the pic in FB.

Bliss.. ur bb wt ok leh.. y gynae says overweight, is it because of ur sugar level prob. Congrats for passing the test ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Is there any reason y u have to go c sect? cant remember whether u have posted it. Hope u dun mind me asking.

BTW, my edd 1 wk earlier than u but bb is 2.3 kg , erm i think more overweight.. hehe

Where u got ur tollyjoy baby clothes, gd bargain!!

Bluberi, aiyoh only 6.6 kg..y all of u gain so little?I forgot to ask gynae whther baby turned.. must remember to ask 2 wks later.

Thanks for the contacts.

Raleigh, saw the picture, thanks for uploading!

Cath, thanks for the offer, haha, haven finish those in my fridge, quite bo chup with bird nest this time round.

Medela Breastpump

Hi Jojo>> i'm also considering getting the Freestyle, i tot the set that was sold at 1st years (KKH) cost abt nearly $700+ with 1 yr warranty..

Hi Kelly & Lin >> is it safe to buy from US spree? I'm still having doubt on the warranty.. how to get them repair for you if u buy from US? Will the local distributor honour the warranty?

Zonked out too early last nite wif my gal (in fact been sleeping at 9pm+) for the past few nites liao... super awake now!

Raleigh,

we can meet up again during ML wif our bb lor :p

Irma,

mine is for gynae's delivery deposit - not to confuse other mommies with the hospital bed deposit that KKH requires in order to secure a room... juz that i see some mommies pay a few hundred only, somemore my gynae has no package this time, so it has been pay n pay also for us.

Bliss,

i hv indicated my preferred PD too.. and the nurse @ my TMC clinic very helpful, also help to staple worth of > $450 receipts to my little booklet so we wont forget to claim for medisave during admission. I realise my gynae's delivery charges ex also.. starting from $1500 for natural liao, and i was abt to fill in the baby bonus forms since everything is abt $$$!

I have since washed 2 loads of bb clothes, mittens, booties, towels, etc.. next will be all the cot bumper/bedsheets..

Since u consider on the petite side, too big bb not easy for u - else yr ribcage cant tahan further, hee.. Glad to hear u dun hv to do GD test.. last lap liao woh.

Jojo,

I am one who will rather pay more to get warranty.. but the headache now is do i want to use back PIS or get a new Avent dual.. will see if Expo got any good deal for Avent then decide. If its $700+ selling at 1st few yrs, then its quite a deal, since i bought my previous PIS here at abt that price too in Nov 2007. My hubby is urging me to standby a breast pump now cos he was summoned to buy one when i hv prob latching my gal then..

Joelle the freestyle original price is 900 plus.,. Even with departmental disc is only 15 percent so first few years still cheaper...

Went for my 33wks checkup ytd. Bb only 1.7kg slightly below average. Gynae want me to drink 2 glasses of milk daily until next visit.

Hi Kelly & Lin,

Thanks for sharing the info about the breast pumps.I will check out the link.

Have a nice day.

Missbluey waiting to see doc now will tell her abt my piles prob. How was the gathering yest ladies pity can't join u ladies

genice/raleigh,

wah, you 2 still can play internet so late? i already concussed about 11+ liao, nearly couldn't wake up this morning.

also, nice chatting with you all~ very full last night. =ppp

thanks raleigh for the pic!

bliss,

i also think your bb's weight is ok. maybe its your pettie size? good for you that you passed the test!

if bb is overweight, i think mine. keke. mine last checkup was estimated about 2.1kg. haha.

Joelle,

i tink there is risks as long as u buy in any sprees....bt so far i got quite a number of things fm her...so far so gd...if touch wood reali gt prb...then we hv to arrange to send the pump back to U.S at our own cost...else can purchase another from u.s again lor...bt so far...hvnt hear fm any mommy tat bouoght fm u.s gt prb...anyway, my personal opinion is 1 yr warranty period is too short la...most of the electronics items will gif probs after few yrs...

Genice, I think maybe due to my sugar level. Fail for the last two months but I keep telling him to give me chance. Yesterday everything back to normal.

Am going for csect cuz #1 also csect due to bb too big for me but only 3.1kg. So most likely it will happen the same thing again this time but able to try natural. But my hb thinks is better to go for csect then having the risk of baby too big to be deliver when labour.

I got the tollyjoy clothing at tom and stephanie. At tiong bahru outlet. Got 2 pjs for hospital at 12.90 each. Quality not bad. Most important design not obiang. Haha!

Koaru, the nurses at my gynae is also quite nice. They will prepare the receipt and everything before I go for my delivery.

My previous gynae clinic simply hack care!

Some Gynar charge quite high. My first gybae charge around 1500-1700 for csect. This one I think is 2000+ as he just give me the whole package price 5500-6500 for the total cost.

Actually I'm thinking to wash the clothings in may. My mom kept nagging at me and say bb might not come on the date I choosen. End up she move all my bb clothing back home to wash. But I yet clear baby wardrobe! Full of things inside. Now my study room is in a mess... One corner full of baby things another corner full of toys!

Yet get changing table too.. Recommended for mummies cuz in really suffer from backache during confinement while changing bb even is near waist level.

Actually baby will be sleeping there for one month with CL only. So I still got to rearrange my own room.. Nowadays room is so small! How to accomdate a wardrobe, one king size bed, one toddler bed and one baby cot! Already hardly have space to walk now....

Yes carrying a big baby not easy.. I was hoping he won't hit 3 kg during delivery. Head is confirm down and his leg is confirm at my rib cage... Still having sore from all the kicks..

Re baby weight, I think the bb weight is not actual weight. Just estimate only. My first gynae measure the head and the whole body to estimate baby weight. This gynae measure tummy to estimate baby weight.

Alot of gynae comment that is not accurate. So no need to worry too much on the weight.

I also feel my bb weight ok. But the ultrasound scan reflect mr edd go forward 2 weeks due to the weight. Funny right!

And for the past 2 visit the ultrasound reflect my edd is push backwards for a few days. Then out of sudden early by 2 weeks.

Joelle,

I tried the breastpump last night and the machine works alright. As what Kelly mentioned that there always risks when buy in any spree. I agree that so far no complaint from other mummies who bought the breastpump.

I also intend to get the parts from Leng Leng. She is good and prompt in her reply and advise.

local distributor will not honour the warranty.

mezzo,

gathering was full of chatting! hehe.

perhaps next time gathering will be full of babies?? =pp

bliss,

ya, my bedroom is also very small! that time after i put the cot, i ended up climbing over my bed just to get to my table. -.-"

not sure whether its sore or numbness @ my right ribs. till now, i still feel a little numb every now & then. hope its nothing wrong, hope its bb merely 'tickling' my ribs?

i also hope my bb will not be a big bb else difficult to push. i think 3kg is a good weight.

raleigh,

cannot find the pics that u upload in fb leh...or my eyes playing tricks on me uh??? u r adeline right??

lin,

i bought 2nd time the parts from leng leng again...cos i kia su...lazy to wait again and since after ML, will cont pumping in office..might as well get few mores for less hassle in office for washing...so u decide to buy the softfit or the personal fit breastshields?

Missbluey, now my room hardly have space to walk liao...

My SIL is tall and she manage to push out a 3.95kg bb! I was amazed by that. She told me her gynae all along didn't want to tell her the weight of bb. Just told her average baby is 3.2-3.5kg. So she never thought bb will be that big and just push out! If she knows the bb weight she will not want to try. Best thing she only got slight tear that requires 1-2 stitches.

When will all of u start setting up the baby cot? If set up too early will collect dust right?

yalo breast pump thing very headache lei.. i cant decide.. will go expo fair this wkend to take a look.. but if buy from SG with warranty, i tink cheapest for freestyle will be $700+, wun be as cheap as the spree's $400+... then between freestyle and PISA, other than weight wat are the major distinguishing factors?

bliss,

wah!! 3.95kg very big leh. so li hai. your sil's gynae very clever hor. my son was only 3.15kg, i already had sitches liao lor. sigh.

i think for me maybe 1 week before i pop then set up bb cot bah. still way too early. take up space & collect dust, no point.

Missbluey, yes my newphew very big size lor. He is already over 5kg at 6 weeks old. At 7 weeks he is wearing 3-6 mths clothing. Not forgetting outgrown newborn size at 2 weeks old!

Quite scary.. I won't want to have such a big bb.. Must be very tiring for her during pregnancy!

genice, 6.6kg to me is alot leh.. minus of bb weight, i have to lose at least 4-4.5kg lor. but confirm will be more weight to lose la.. coz nw still got abt 8wks more to EDD.

looks like i missed out alot fm the gathering.. tink we shd really have another one before we pop.

Hi to all mummies!!!

After following this thread for sometime I have decided to join in the fun.

My details are as follow. Many thanks!

Name: mijun

Edd: 16 Jun 2010

Gynae: Dr HK Ho

Hospital: Mt A

Baby Gender: Boy

Expecting No: 1

Working Status: SAHM

Just finish my doc appt baby nottie suppose to b head down Liao now move up again doc say normal for 2nd time mummies cos loosen Liao she say sound horribke abt loosen but cos nt as tight as 1st time mums. Hope Bb be gd boy at nx visit n turn his headn dnt move again. Hope can join mummies at the nx gathering

mezzo,

oic. hope my bb is still in engaged position. *fingers crossed*

what did gynae say about your piles?

welcome mijun~

Missbluey she ask me to drink prune juice n lotsa of water gave me medi to eat to loosen my stools also n suppository to insert Cos my piles is inside

Morning Mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The dinner gathering must be FUn ya?

Yes, if there is one before we pop, would hope to join...

re: breast pump

Not to be a wet blanket...

It's tough to make a decision whether to get a good pump (that will be ex) coz not sure if milk supply can be well-established. If cun, then the pump will be a waste. so how? It's kinda contradicting...

For me, I am not looking @ investing in a very good one. If supply is good this time round, then I will consider a good one. Will live with the manual one to start off.

Depends very much on own preference.

bluberi,

6.6kg quite good already. Me too, approx. 8 more weeks to go. Imagine I have almost 13KGs on me since being preggie. Dun noe how to shed off after delivery. I am worrying about it coz I engage CL this time round, so will work less hard in taking care of bb. Hopefully can really go back to pre-preggie weight thereafter...

Bliss,

Your SIL really POWER, can deliver a 3.95kg bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Normally, a good weight for natural delivery is 3-3.2kg. More than that, mummy is really POWER already.

re: BB weight

For my #1, the estimated weight was 2.2kg @ week 32. However, his weight was 2.96kg when delivered. It's more of slowing down on weight gain during the last tri.

Not to worry so much, coz there's lots more to catch up @ the last tri. If worrying about too much weight gain, then focus more on the QUALITY of food intake and cut down on carbo.

missbluey,

today brought her to my MIL's place - so she can interact with her filipina helpers, then she not be bored. warned her not to talk to the neighbors' filipinas cos i'm very sure my MIL will not like it. and told her not to talk non-stop when my MIL is ard... hope she'll enjoy herself today nonetheless.

hehe...she's like a baby sometimes (even though she's 10+ yrs older than me), i get very stressed cos of her behavior... So now i need to get home early, she'll sulk if i get home 7+pm. and she needs to switch on the lights to sleep.

my baby also seem to be very low.. i can feel his movemnt at the end of my abdomen, near my legs. so uncomfy and wierd

gynae also say after #1.. our cervix or womb loose oredi.. so hopefully can hv shorter labour

Mummies using MEdala pump..

i understand from the First Few years shop in KKH that we can acually use Lasinoh bottles to attach to our Medala Pump

not sure if is true anot.. as Lasinoh bottlse are much cheaper then Medala bottles

i rmbr that time i use Pigeon white plastic bottles with my PIS

mezzo,

your piles are inside meaning? didn't pop out? i thought once outside is outside? i also have suppository but haven't use it yet. still using those chinese medicated cream meant for hemmeroids though gynae said this cream isn't very effective. but the cream can be carried along in my bag while suppository needs to be put inside the fridge.

hope your piles will recover soon. they really sucks lor.

jasmini,

haha. you made it sounds like as if you & your maid switched roles, lol.

i also tell my maid not mind my mil's words as she can be super direct. initially when my maid arrived, she wasn't used to it, cried saying me, sir (hubby) & ah gong (fil) good. never mentioned mil! hahahaa!!!

missbluey,

ya man - i literally spend most of my time at home cos of her! cos her 1st time overseas and she also scared to be alone. hope she can get used to it and be more independent soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my MIL will not scold her, but if she's not happy my hubby will get it - she may ask him to fire her. (eg. if she sees her talking to neighbor's maid and then the things in her house went missing) that'll give me probs cos i'm delivering soon. so i hope she not so talkative [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

constipation & water retention:

now i can't move my bowels everyday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] even when i'm gorging myself with fibre. SIGH. but prune juice really helps! water retention also kicks in - my feet gets puffy at night - but after stretching and massage (by hubby) it gets better by morning. one more month to go!!

Jasmini,

you must drink more water and cut down on salt/ msg. It helps. As for constipation, I must agree that prune juice is really helpful. Also eat more dragonfruit and drink fluid as fluid helps to move the bowels. I read that ppl who eats a lot of fibre rich food but dun drink enuff water will also be hit by constipation.

gitz

yeh i think can use any bottles with Medela, except Avent. if you buy the Medela bottles @ the US spree, it's much cheaper than after 20% robinsons sale, i realised.

medela should be much more exp than lansinoh - i think the place of manufacture also very diff that's why [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby Position:

A fren in LDN taught me to use torch light to guide baby to engaged position as by 30 weeks, the baby should be able to see already. Initially while I was in overseas, the gynae advised that my baby is positioned too low and run a risk of premature birth at wk 28. I used this method by shining the torch higher at my tummy and it works! Maybe u can try. It seems very logical to me as the baby tend to follow the light source. =)

thanks mijun,

yup i tried to drink more water- but i gotta go toilet so often! so inconvenient if i'm outside and always urgent [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] it's very uncomfortable when the bb's head is resting on my bladder....sob.

thanks, later i go buy dragonfruit! din know that helps - i've been gorging on Guavas cos i thought it has high vit C...kekeke.

maybe i should cut down on fibre intake also - so i get less constipation....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lin,

myself bought both softfit and personalfit, and personalfit, i bought L size instead...i am ok with personalfit cos prev. whn i use the mini electric the breastshields material is kinda same...bt i bought extra softfit as well as i heard it is more comfortable bt isnt as durable as personalfit....so was tinking tat do a switch between so tat softfit will kinda lasts longer?? hehehe...

doobom, yes she is very power! if is me i rather die! But she didn't know the weight so she jsut keep pushing cuz she don't want csect. she took epidural cause the pain is too unbearable. But can understand since bb is so big!

Blueberi, i put on about 7kg till today. actually this weight gain is very good. baby is around 2kg but don't forget about water and placenta. after u deliver just nice liao.

i used to put on 20kg for my first pregnancy. right after birth 10kg is gone. so got to shed off another 10kg. luckily i did that in 4 months time!

Jasmini,

I also keep gog to toilet. Haha, but no choice, I think this helps in my constipation and water retention greatly.

You gals put on so little. I already pile on 13kg at week 33.

kelly,

oic.. I also intend to purchase the personalfit. Agree with u that the softfit is not as durable. I tried the softfit on my breast last night for less than 1 min... It very soft..

Blu_beri, don't forget still got alot of water in your body. it takes about 1-2 months to shed off all the water. not forgetting if u are breastfeeding. but breastfeeding really speed up the losing weight part.

jasmini,

then you must keep reminding your maid. =)

try to prop up your legs with pillow when you are sleeping. i also have water retention. some people say drinking lots of water helps too.

mijun,

i already put on 10kg liao. currently 33weeks. think on my 35weeks, i might have pile on another 2kg? haha. don't want to think. just have to console myself after i pop, some kgs will be lost.