(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

shalini - my frenz shared her experience wif me if we did not haf a fixed gynae...tis happen few years bak tat my frenz did not get a fixed gynae tat causes the gynae dun understand her health well enuf n she was vomitin while gifin birth due to the medication n worst still is the Gynae is very FIERCE + after birth she wan milo the nurse ask her to take herself..omg..i cannot imagine after birth nid to walk n take ownself..so she told me utter lot of time to find a fixed gynae

Hi Piglet: Yes you are right, thats I do not want to take the risk at KK. I went back to inital Gynae at TMC whom i was seeing the first 3 months of my pregnancy. Thank god he was soo nice to take me back.

tigerbaby: no la..dun think so the subsidized rates need to pay deposit.. i understand where you're coming from. i feel better now aft venting haha... true with what you said abt the paying later is the same as paying now.. so to speak.

shalini: sorry to know abt your situation.

i'm very sure i'll take epidural..lolx...

epidural overall charges will hit up to $700 cos nid to pay the epidural + anesticis (duno hw to spell)

shalini: thats my point there.. what if the couple doesnt have enough cash to fork out during the booking of bed.. very limited la the amt they give for claims. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

piglet: wah..so serious until like that ah your fren's case..

Shalini, i'm coming to wk32 in 2 days time. u switching over fm next appt, liddat abit strange rite, shd have switched earlier. how many weeks are u along nw? i also nt sure if my hubby got enough savings to fork out for the deposit anot though i koe he got pte savings la. tink the most we sign credit card n owe the bank more $$. we spent alot on medical the past 2 yrs due to 3 failed pregnancies n tests, spent almost $3k. still serving renovation loans also. btw, bb fair is at expo, starts fm fri n ending on sun.

piglet, sofy got 40.5cm pads.. but very small packets one. y u not get the disposable cotton panties, tink oni slightly more exp than the disposable paper panties.. but more durable mah.

thanks for the info on bb movement count.

Many thanks Raleigh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irma: I will be sending an emaiil to Medisave CPF board on the medisave claim. Trying my luck only. At least i can get them to hear me out.

Bleberi: Im now 33 weeks. I only knew about the package details in my last appointment on 10th April. Sorry to hear about your past failures and am very happy for you and we will be delivering around the same time.

By the way, the lady over the phone told me that we can pay like one week before due date if we cant pay one month prior. See if you can call the hotline and enquire more details. Credit Cards can be a KILLER!!!

Shalini, my last peek at my hubby's pte acct bankbook, got more enough for deposit.. unless he spent it liao *cross fingers*. nw when we see gynea, we also pay by cash, oni really when cannot then we go for credit card payment. it's a KILLER indeed!!

shalini: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] no harm trying.

chu chu: not too sure abt the disposable pads but i bought tollyjoy one. disposable.. maybe the other ladies will know..?

calling calling for other mummies, got any idea which breast pads better? to me, all same. haha

Re: Hospital Deposit

Mt A deposit for 2 Bedded for Normal Delivery is $700 upon admission.. meaning w/o epi or assisted delivery.. which i think paying much lesser compare to KKH?

Welcome Shalini

BluBeri: Glad to hear that. The credit card companies can drive me & my hubby crazy!! Good news about the deposit is that the actual bill could be lesser if you go natural and they will refund you the balance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Breast Pad

I wanted to get Avent's but after reading not-so-good reviews, I bought Pigeon's instead.

Re: Hospital Deposit

if i am not wrong, TMC and Mt A only collect deposits on the hospital fees. Professional fees are excluded as hospitals are not liable for gynae's income (moreover, different gynaes charge different rates).

as for kkh, deposit includes professional fees. i suppose why they require us to pay up-front is b'cos majority of their patients are probably on subsidies and in order to give us priority, we need to give them some security also, i.e. the deposit.

rainelle: see.. $700 only!!! hahaha.. i dun want to be so bitter.. so im laughing it out.

& yes, pay by credit card 0%... erm..Joelle was saying..

Didn't know KKH need such a huge amt of deposit!

For my first pregnancy I wanted to go KKH cuz I thought will be cheaper but my gynae told mr if I'm a ptv patient cost is more than ptv hospital. Kkh is good if u have complicated pregnancy or ur bb needs immediate medical attention right after birth.

This tine round I'm sticking with mount alvernia as the price is quite reasonable even csect.

I still remember I was admitted to kkh a few months back. In was in the middle of the night n they refused to give me a bed unless I put a deposit! But OCBC is not open in the middle of the night and they don't even allow me to place deposit in the morning. End up my hb got to drive back in laws place to get the money then I can have a bed to rest at 5am! Never forget this incident and never I will go back to kkh. Even mount alvernia doesn't need such an amt for deposit for admission for 24 hour clinic.

I've book my bed last mth. I did not put a deposit too. I guess is done during admission.

Rainelle, Mt A oni $700 deposit for 2 bedded if natural delivery? liddat seems like KKH is the most exp on deposit wor.

Shalini, yes.. there shd be leftover cash returned when we discharged, provided no complications la..

Tiger Baby, normally deposits are for delivery package, excluded the professional fees charged by gynea i tink.

my sis gave birth in KKH 7yrs ago n condemn it liao, but still tell mi go KKH deliver.. just in case of complications arising. though she was seeing a fixed gynea at clinic B, she booked 6-bedded and this does not guarantee her gynea will deliver her bb.. she had a houseman delivering for her lor, burst her waterbag too early, bb want to come out but cannot coz cervix not dilated enough, ended up bb's heartbeat dropped n had to went for emergency C-sec. bb come out the head mis-shapen like banana in pyjamas lor.. lucky bb ok. her gynea oni came to see her aft she delivered!!!

Evening Mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am back from follow up with gynae this morning. Weight gain from pre-preggie till to-date is 12.8KGs (OMG![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif])

Scheduled for a detailed growth scan 3 weeks later and most probably will be scheduling for c-sect 17JUn to 25JUn, yet fix the date.

re: KKH vs private hospi

Personally, I am not a FAN of KKH for obstetric & gynaecology (O&G) coz I had a very bad experience previously and hence switch over to SGH O&G specialist centre.

However, in terms of kids, I would think that KKH has the most equipped facilities to handle kids' problems. Hence I normally go to KKH Private CHildren's Clinic for my boy when he is not well.

re: hospi bills

It's very much dependent on the cost of the seniority of your gynae, as well the amount of care you required and also neonatal care for bb @ the nursery. Of coz, there are hidden costs here and there, hence it's necessary to clarify the TOTAL bill (preferably getting the itemised bill from the hospi) in order to understand the charges.

For my 1st delivery, I rejected all bb items (e.g. receiving blanket, set of bb's clothes, etc) given by the hospi becoz of personal reasons and hence got them to make sure all these chargeables are deducted accordingly from my bill.

Irma,

If I am not wrong, you may like to clarify your doubts when it comes to the financial counselling session for delivery addmission. I just did mine 2day @ SGH, and it was very detailed.

Perhaps you may like to check with them?

re: Breast Pad

Yes, I agree that Pigeon Breast Pads are better as compared to Avent. During my previous use, the Avent ones always get overly 'soaked' and the feeling is kinda yucky as compared to Pigeon ones.

I stock up quite a few boxes during the recent bb Taka fair as it's a good deal. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@ least 3-4 times change a day hence requires quite a fair amount of the breast pads.

Tiger Baby is right...hospital bills & Gynae bills is paid seperately..Shalini ur total charges is it include gynae? cos i know gynae charges oni need to pay after birth becos they got 1 more charges is ATTENDANCE fees (which is suspect if they come on time to deliver ur baby), so which means if ur baby decide to come out with only the midwifes help..we can save tis amount ($300-500) i forget hw much oreadi..so i tink u nid to check properly...

Charges are all seperately like mine

Hospital Bill ($2313)- SIngle Bedded (b4 deduct medisave $1650)

Gynae ($1200 + $300 (attendance) + $150 daily examination after birth)

Baby Doc - $150 daily to check on baby

(optional)

Epidural (Mt A include in the hospital charges) if not other hospital charge $300 - $500

Anesticis (only if u got epidural) - $300 (around tis price)

tigerbaby: like what bluberi has mentioned, yup, gynae's charges are separate.. no included in the packge.

doobom: thx.. yeah, aft so much venting earlier in here, i felt better and my hubby also decides to drop by KK this thu to seek financial counselling and clarify whatever doubts we have.. tq..

bluberi: tmrw ur appt what time? who knows if yours is early can drop by the admission service counter to enquire too..

mummies want to ask for suggestion.. just had a talk with hubby.

how would the arrangement be shd i want to switch gynae fr another hosp?

I wld very much want to deliver in KK if not for my gynae's resignation. Will be switching to TMC in my 35 weeks! Gynae's last day in KK is on 15 May...Sigh... I have never stepped into TMC before... cos friends either delivered in KK, Mt Alvernia or Mt E... Also never hear of good reviews of TMC from friends before... So it's a big move and decision to me... Took mths to make the decision...

friends: awe..

bluberi: no la..that time aft my gynae appt waiting to make payment. the staff say can go enquire at the admission counter.. -.-

bluberi, irma, the 1278 deposit i paid to kkh includes gynae fee. for tmc and mt a, as mentioned by piglet, the deposit does not include gynae fee and thus is lower.

ur gynae's assistant will stick a sticker on ur appt book and u can proceed to the admission counter to book the package.

Ladies, don't forget you get help from the government.

Children Development Co-Savings (Baby Bonus) Scheme

Children bring joy to the family. The Baby Bonus Scheme supports parents’ decision to have more children by helping to lighten the financial costs of raising children. It was introduced on 1 April 2001 and enhanced on 1 August 2004. The latest enhancements on 17 August 2008 extended increased benefits to the first and second child and benefits to Singapore citizen children beyond the fourth child.

You will get a cash gift of up to $4,000 each for your 1st and 2nd child and $6,000 each for your 3rd and 4th child. All your children born on or after 17 August 2008 will also enjoy Government contributions in the form of a dollar-for-dollar matching for the amount of savings you contribute to your child’s Children Development Account (CDA). If your child is born before 17 August 2008, he or she will enjoy the Government matching contributions in the CDA if he or she is your second to fourth child.

The CDA is a special savings account that you open at any OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered Bank branch for your child who is eligible for CDA. You can save in the CDA any time until 31 December in the year your child turns 6 years of age. The savings will be matched up to the cap of $6,000 each for the 1st and 2nd child, $12,000 each for the 3rd and 4th child and $18,000 each for the fifth and subsequent child. The Government will match your savings in the following month.

The savings in the CDA may be used to pay fees for all your children who are attending Approved Institutions registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme. These include child care centres, kindergartens & special education schools registered with the Ministry of Education, and early intervention programmes registered with the National Council of Social Service (NCSS) or the Centre for Enabled Living (CEL). The CDA savings can also be used to purchase MediShield or Medisave-approved private integrated plans for all your children and pay for all your children’s medical-related expenses. These would include consultation fees, treatment fees and prescription costs incurred at healthcare institutions.

Baby Bonus One-Stop Service

To make it more convenient for you to join the Baby Bonus Scheme, a one-stop service is available at the birth registration counters at the hospitals and the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA). The hospitals are East Shore Hospital, Gleneagles Hospital, KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital, Mount Alvernia Hospital, Mount Elizabeth Hospital, National University Hospital, Raffles Hospital, Singapore General Hospital and Thomson Medical Centre.

Changing Address

Update your official address with ICA to ensure that you receive all Baby Bonus correspondences from MCYS. If you are moving overseas and choose to retain your local address or use the address of your one of your family members or friends, please ensure that the mailbox is checked regularly and our correspondences can be relayed to you promptly.

For more information on Baby Bonus, click here -> FAQ.

hiya, anyone know where and from whom I can get the white rice wine from?

FRIENDS, thanks for the tip on evening wear. I found Mother En Vogue in Centrepoint! They have very trendy and nice clothes, nicest I think for simple evening and day events for mothers and it's those that dont make you feel frumpy and yet look quite sexy too! The best part is that most of the tops are versatile and can be use for breast feeding! Reasonably price. Ladies, check it out if you ever have a sudden event to attend, highly recommend it. It's on first floor of Centrepoint, opposite Mothercare.

PatL, i just placed order fm someone in the forum, but forget which thread liao.. if u want, u can PM me for the email, can take sample n try first before u decide whether to order anot. i collected the sample last fri n my mum said it's good. it's $12/bottle.

I also booked my bed at TMC and also paid a $400 deposit for my Gynae fee

Epi

i confirm sure ask for epi once contractions start.. though my #2 labour may be shorter but i cannot imagine going through 1-2hr labour without epi

Breast Pad

i used Pigeon and i think its one of the popular ones.

Pigeon wipes

anyone using Pigeon wipes.. i been using that for past 3 yrs.. and i realise recently their quality do not seem that good as before as sometimes i can pull out 2-3 pcs of wipes at same time.. which nvr happen when i started using on my #1.

maybe gonna try Angel wipes

KKH delivery deposit> Total agreed with u gals..

I also did a quick calculation.. if I have stick on to my Mt E private gynae, it would be cheaper for all the consulations cos got package mah.... in fact I already spend near to $1.6K for all my consultation, scan and medication.. haiz…

But of cos if i use my previous pte gynae, I have to opt to give birth at Mt E or Glen E.. becos most pte gynae whom have clinics at the affiliated pte hospital will have to pay more if they operate their patients at the govt hospitals.. so normally these pte gynae will ask u to book the pte hospital next to their clinics.. of cos it is also nearer to their clinic mah.. so in case u are in delivering during the day time on wkday, they just drop by very fast and can check on u now and then.. if the gynae's clinic is far, then when the mid-wife alert the doc, he/she will have to travel and u may just pop or the midwives will ask u to hold on.. so quite ridiculous rite...

Anyway..the delivery package @ Mt.E/ Glen E. will certainly cost me almost 5K for 1 bedder with natural.. so I guess it is left pocket right pocket cost to me…

Seriously I dun feel it is a difference if u pay the partial payment for deposit now or full.. anyway still have to pay mah.. no difference u pay now or later..and for B1 it is a lot cheaper.. $1.3k +.. I think the hospital want us to free our minds from the bill payment after we deliver.. like the TPS fast scheme, they dun need u to settle the payment after the checkup.. just deduct from the fund/deposit we have given initially..Imagine u receive the full bills at the end of the delivery, then have to feel heartpain that u burn a hole in the pocket.. so better pay now to rest ur mind if you have the cash..

I wish I can also switch to TMC.. but my gynae is HOD for KKH.. can’t deliver elsewhere..$2080 is already very cheap for 1 bedder.. I shant’ tell how much I place as deposit… btw, this deposit already included the professional fees.. so it is deposit for the bed + the gynae delivery fees + neonatal charges + the anaesthetist fees.. only the epidural drug is excluded in the deposit.. So it is not tat expensive la… and like wat koaru said.. we better pay more for sanity.. and also privacy.. and please don’t expect to get urself upgrade for the beds last min in KKH, cos they are very full hse.. so if u can get wat u have booked, u are very lucky..

BluBerri>> For TPS patients we will not be attended by student nurses.. so we are very safe with the nurses.. how come u so unlucky.. my visits @ TPS have been a breeze.. although the waiting is a Killer.. me and hubby always fall asleep on the couches.. the nurses so far have been very friendly to us..mayb my hubby very talkative.. so he click very well with the nurses.. young and old.. all races… haaahaha..

Rainelle>> yeah.. the interest free on using the Credit card payment for the deposit.. this is wat KKH counter staff @ admission told me.. can verify again at the info counter at the admission.. I heard pte hosp like TMC also have the same offer… btw, The deposit u place at Mt A is only for the bedder deposit… it excludes other fees.. so it looks cheaper.. for the deposit..

Anyway, it is quite right to say that if u have special medical condition or bb have any complications, better to stick to KKH.. cos my cousin whom had a twin bb gal.. she itchy backside and went to change the gynae from KKH to pte.. so she choose to give birth at Mt A.. then complication when the twin bb was born.. 1 is mal-nutritional and the other 1 broke a slight veins in the brain.. so both ICU.. they wanted to transfer to KKH but for some reason Not allowed to transfer.. the mal-nutritional one stayed like almost 2.5wk in Mt A in ICU and the other stayed like more than 30 days in ICU also.. their bill came up to $60K.. don’t know how they settle the bill la..sigh.. so it is purely ur luck la..

For me, I’m already a high expectancy mum for #1, dun want to take the risk la..

Bliss>> Sorry to hear ur bad experience at the KKh Women's emergency clinic... but y didn’t they allow u to use NETS for the deposit?

Anyway, the minimum limit for NETS is $2k…. and so if u gals want to use NETS for hospital payment, please up ur limit for NETS as well withdrawal. DBS/POSB can up the limit to $3K per day…

BB Bonus> i'm going to opt for OCBC for the CDA account.. Hubby has the OCBC personal acc.. so easy to transfer the money and less paperwork la..

White Rice Wine>> BluBeri, i only know someone is selling the Red Rice wine.. actually we can use Shao Xing wine as the white rice wine for cooking right?

Shower gel and ginger cream>> Blue Beri, i bought the Lemonglass shower gel and the ginger cream from this BP.. actually the items are sold by Rebecca who is the founder for Origins Jamu Massage. They specialised in home service for Jamu postnatal message la..The pdts are from Taiwan.. her website is www.orginsjamumassage.com

I tried the showergel, very strong scent when u are showering with it.. after that not so, but it is a bit dry on my skin for me.. 700ml very big bottle can surely use throughout 2-3 mths during confinement..

As for the ginger cream, quite watery in content, the smell of ginger is strong la.. if just apply like tt, u will not have any heating effect.. u need to massage like 10mins or so, then u will feel the warm/hot feeling on the skin.. good when u have cramps in the middle of the night.. i use on my calves now and then..

The tube is like 80ml so very fast use finish if u use like alternate days.. dun noe whether got any slimming effect or not la.. can't tell now of cos..

Hi Bluberi, cant PM you, it says you dont accept PM? my email [email protected] if you can email me the details? If can try sample first will be good. Think I need to order some as my mom wont be around to get it for me as she will be on holiday and come back only on 2nd day after I give birth! SO I need to teach my maid what to do.

i am now into 34 weeks and still very busy at work. working in school, exams coming, kids not behaving. fed up with them...... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

any mummies from the forum having itchy tummy? mine is terrible and full of rashes....

Morning Mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Daphne,

If I am not wrong, the itch feel from the tummy is due to the stretching of the skin as bb grows. It helps if you apply moisturizer/stretch mark cream on it regularly to minimise the itch and rashes may subside thereafter.

Mummies going for 2nite's gathering

Sorie, I cun make it as my boy is in school today. Needs to pick him up later after work and send him home.

Hope to join you mummies next time round.

Enjoy your dinner date. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just went for my gynae visit ytd.. baby weigh 1.8kg at 31w4d.. i tot abit small lei but gynae say ok weight, although it was plotted as below median on the trending chart.. coz she say if baby too big it'll be hard for me to deliver naturally.. paid $400 for gynae delivery fees and booked TMC bed already (didnt require any deposit)..

mummies going for 2nite's gathering, enjoy urselves... ^^

re: breast pads

i bought pigeon brand. tried avent but the adhesive not so good, keep dropping. also bought washable ones.

but how many pads is considered enough??

re: epi

i most likely will be taking epi. low pain tolerance. =p

bluberi,

i bought the shower gel but have yet to use it. intend to use during confinement. like joelle, i bought from rebecca. will be doing my postnatal massage from origins too.

missbluey,

I am not sure how many pads is considered enough. I stock up about 4 boxes (72pcs/box) coz I remembered when the milk supply is well established, one side can really leak as you latch/express on the other side. I change 3-4 times a day, everytime I express (6-hrly expressing intervals). So it's like 6-8pcs daily. Maybe 1 box (72pcs) last for abt 2 weeks...

doobom,

oic, thanks. but that time my milk supply is like 0.00000ml, so i didn't used many. in the end, all the excess i have bought given away.

Joelle, so far i oni suay suay kenna one time a bad attitude nurse. so far no more liao.

mi also choosing OCBC for bb bonus-CDA account.

for confinement, normally is use either red or white rice wine rite? my mum prefers white rice wine.

prob will go ahead n order the shower gel, ginger cream and shampoo. it's free postage rite or can we choose to self-collect?

PatL, i've sent u an email for the rice wine contact.

bluberi,

hmmm...i think have to add in the postage fee leh. that time i bought from rebecca, the postage fee was $2.55.

you can opt for self-collect, depends on the locations given.