(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

Irma & other mummies,

some say can make love til 2 weeks before EDD but it seem unsafe hor just in case it trigger the delivery

lin - mayb those gentle type... i remember i did try...den baby seems to be disturbed n squeeze me @ 1 corner...so cute..as i heard tat sex durin 3rd Tri can help in delivery...so i do gif it a try but of cos not everyday =P..

Maternity Pad

Has anione start buyin? ystrday i went CK department they do sell the maternity pad...there's 2 kind..1 is got string @ the side another one is normal but 28cm long..but i saw another brand SOFY they got 35cm so i bought 2 pack.. does it sounds like tooo long ?? lolx

jolene: oh.. so tear meh? scary lei. erm.. ya, to think still got mood and energy right..? haha.. oops!

lin: they were saying if we're overdua then can make love right.. haha. read somewhere la..

missbluey: you booked bed alr or not at KK?

For Breech Babies:

Some of the other things we learned in the birthing class include placing pack of frozen peas on the top section of your tummy (baby will move away from the cold), play music down under (baby will gravitate towards music). There is this manouvre doctor can perform as well to try to help your baby turn - do ask your doc about it.

piglet,

i already bought mine, those pureen brand de. i think sofy pad got longer than 35cm right? get longer ones better, you feel safer. heh.

irma,

not yet. maybe will ask during my next checkup.

missbluey: oh..ur edd 15 jun hor.. ya, try asking gynae. i abit frustrated.. then again..i duno.. maybe it hormones..

Called KK to ask if i can make 2 separate payments when i do my bed booking. they say can make partial payment. but the balance of the partial payment have to be made b4 i get admitted to the hosp, coz the payment which i've made will be "burnt"..

i noe its 2 separate and different hosp, to think TMC dont need to make payment for deposit, but KK have to.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hmm.. until typo error..

its supposed to be if i happen to not make the bal payment and *touchwood* if bb decides to come out earlier, then the initial deposit will be "burnt"

hi ladies..

Irma, i tink KKH somehow like more exp than TMC.. just checked with my hubby's fren, the wife just gave birth at TMC last mth. 4-bedded oni paid deposit 1k upon booking, and free upgrade to 2 bedded lor. they got back $200+ after medisave for c-sec delivery.

bluberi: precisely!!!! urgh!!! to think they're gov hosp lei... i wonder why.. isit becoz "many" ppl give birth at KK so they "up" the price and also being inflexible?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Irma, dats y i tell my fren, KKH is a supposedly to be cheap but not cheap at all hospital. so far my consultation, scan and medication, etc.. coming to $1.3k liao.. for tis price, i can see a gynea in private practice liao, tink might even have some $ leftover.

did you all buy may issue of mother & baby? inside have a guide to hospital delivery costs (but estimated for the period of 1 may 09 to 28 feb 10. from what i see the chart, seemed like kkh is cheaper than tmc.

but then again, may not be 100% accurate now since by the time we pop will be june liao ma.

and also, there is a guide on bb expenses (from ages the day bb is born till he goes to uni). very useful!

Irma, not booked yet.. tml is my gynea appt, will ask him abt it. but i told my hubby better to book by wk34, i scared bb arrive early.

piglet:

will try the "wheel" thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/wink.gif]

i haven book my bed yet. is Mt A cheaper?

cos i deliver my #1 in raffles.. like the environment.

but seems like the price went up abt 300bucks for each item... as compared to 3yrs ago when i deliver my #1

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_sad2.gif]

missbluey, even if the delivery charges at KKH is cheaper.. tink after paying those antenatal charges at KKH-TPS and add the delivery charges, might even cost more than TMC + pte gynea antenatal package.

momo: ya.. i saw on the net too taht SGH the cheapest..

bluberi: suddenly i dun feel like giving birth in kk.. haha.. still cant get over it. that they're not flexible with the payment. if ppl alr book and payment partial payment, wonder why they still wont take it as confirm..

I am new here and i have been reading your posts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am also expecting my first child and am due on 12th June 2010. Its pleasure to here!

:0)

bluberi,

hmmm..maybe bah. if i feel that the service is good, nurses & gynae are good, i don't mind paying more.

so far, to me, still ok lah.

irma,

its actually just a rough guide but @ least you know where your $$ go ma.

see if i can scan in the pc anot.

Hi Irma, Bluberi & momoworld, I have been going to KK hospital since my 4th month and was very disappointed after attending the admission session. They seem to be more expensive than TMC after a did a calculation.

Initially I wanted to book one-bedded and there have no 2 bedded rooms. KK also told me that they always overbooked / crowded for one-bedded rooms.

Now i have switched to TMC for delivery. I am relieved for now as i am not willing to take any risk with KK, smemore expect us to pay $2080 deposit before delivery.

Irma, now abit too late la.. when i wanted to switched to thomson womens clinic at 20wks after my previous gynea left, my hubby dun allowed coz he said very troublesome to transfer the records over (bullshit la!). told mi to stick with KKH even though it's not really cheap. tell mi to wait for bb #2 den go over to TMC. Grrrr!

missbluey, the gyneas are good, but some nurse like got attitude one la.. still remembered one nurse told me off for not telling her i'm seeing gynea for pregnant case n dats y she issued me a walk-in queue no., i merely asked her why dat appt no need to do routine test. pls lor, if not pregnant case, i wouldn't have the pink booklet also. super pissed off!!

Shalini, yup.. KKH dun have 2 bedded package. tink will have student nurse there also right since it's a govt hospital.

Piglet,

I got both sofy 35cm n 40.5cm liao..

Irma,

no wonder I was wondering why need to pay deposit when book a room, cos I hv booked mine weeks ago n was not asked to pay anything at TMC.

Bluberi,

I scared if really stuck at 4-bedder n wif so many visitors, think I will go mad. So I rather pay more for some sanity - see if during admission hubby wanna upgrade me further?

Enjoy yr dinner tmr! Me also gotta rest at home, tho miraculously the cough seems to be under control n I hvnt go see doc yet..

bluberi: goodness me.. im still wondering, why a pte hosp dont require a deposit and its cheaper than gov hosp.. haha..

*inhale..exhale*

bluberi,

ya b'cuz of some black sheeps nurses, made kkh reputation going down. i too encountered some naughty nurses.

im sticking to kkh cuz im too lazy to source for another gynae, haha.

re: tracking bb movements

is it 10 movements? i can't remember its to count by an hour or per day.

koaru: EXACTLY! hohoho.. i was actually refering to your case lor.. remember that time i was asking you right..? haiyo.. ahaha.

sorry mummies..i think im venting too much.. anyway, with bad day at work.. tried to calm down also doesnt help..

irma,

its ok. i also feel good today, perhaps not enough sleep (when i chose to sleep late, lol) & pain everywhere.

left leg pain, vagina sore, tailbone there also pain. sibei sian. pain until i don't feel like moving @ all.

Irma, Bluberi: Yes thats what exactly got me wondering and $2080 is far expensive and TMC only requires admission on admission day. My gyae is at KK private suite, Prof John Tee.

My sister gave birth at TMC and thanks to her for providing me the costing so that i can do a comparison.

bluberi, does ur friend's deposit of 1k include gynae's professional fee?

kkh is only cheap if u take subsidized rates. if u go to TPS, expect to pay private fees. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

By the way mummies, i am feeling exactly the same... I am feeling way too heavy and its painful at the vagina area..like muscle pull.

Sigh..!! My next appt is on 3rd May. Can't Wait!!!

hi, are you seen by dr peter chew. he's very careful, will let you hand a counter on your neck. you need to press whenever you sense bb kick you hard and record in the record book by. then, compare the movements of today vs yesterday. if less than 50%, cause for worry.

i have the manual counter, if you want to buy from me at a token price. sell collect at my home, punggol

Hi Tigerbaby, thats true. TPS is private fees but if compare apple to apple. Its better to choose another Private Hospital gynae than KK TPS.

bb movements:

instruction by my gynae.

im calculating my movement base on morning, afternoon and night.

time start of 1st movement count to 10th movements. total how many mins.

koaru, i tink if u see gynea under thomson womens clinic, most of the time is auto upgrade one. i was told even if u book 2-bedded, can get upgraded to single-bedded lor. but i tink if pte gynea clinic at TMC, u get what u book ba.. my hubby's fren wife said even 2 bedded is not guarantee peaceful one.

Irma, i also dunno y leh.. normally shd be upon admission den pay deposit mah.

it's 10 movements per day? coz i read fm some website they indicated 10 movements/hour or even 10 movements/2hrs.. i was shocked coz very seldom can really get 10 movements in an hr unless it's night time when my gal is more active.

Shalini, i'm seeing Prof John Tee too. so now u still with him at The Private Suite or u already switched to another gynea at TMC?

tigerbaby: im fine with being expensive (not that i have too much money to splurge la) but then to compare a pte hosp and gov hosp, a pte hosp is more flexible in payment/ deposit rather than gov hosp lor.

best thing, my qn wasnt even answered when i posed a qn to the lady. -.-

Irma,

Relax lah... Anyway we also hv to pay juz that a bit later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Missbluey,

I sure get grouchy w/o sufficient sleep - speaking abt vaginal soreness, I juz had it! Ouch! Think it's little one pressing down there.. Aiyo

for me, going to TPS is cheaper b'cos i wanted a female gynae and the previous private gynae i saw charges $1.8k for professional fee, which is double of wat i am paying now for my TPS gynae at 900+. as for hospital package, actually kkh is only 100-200 cheaper than TMC and Mt A for a 4-bedder. but think the difference is larger for a 1-bedder.

i do not mind paying the deposit now since it's a sooner or later thing and in fact it may not be a bad thing as then i do not have to think abt payment during delivery. but i actually wonder if those on subsidized rates need to pay deposit or not?

Hi Blueberi, How may weeks are you now? Sadly i have decided to switch to TMC from my next appt onwards.

Irma: I was also very annoyed of the service at the admission counter. She was explaining things at train speed and even despite asking her to slow down, she kept rushing through the details. I was super mad and later on called the admission hotline who was more friendly and patiently answered all my questions.

She even told me that if i want cheaper packages then it would NOT be a Fixed Gynae delivering me. It could be any Gynae. The deposit is to secure the Gynae for the delivery.

Sigh, i want my first experience to be a good one, didnt wish to take the risk.

missbluey: thank you.

koaru: thank you too..

no la.. maybe this aint me talking, must be the hormones.. haha..

my back painful... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Irma: Also like to share with you that i switched to TMC cause i couldnt fork out so much cash in time for KK and am only able to do so towards delivery, this is solely why i switched over. It after all all boils down to finance. Its very expensive to have a baby and Medisave shouldnt be limited. IT should allow to do to a FULL claim.

shalini/koaru,

just hope its our bb pressing down there as its really making me walk awkwardly lor. now with my pained left leg, i feel like as if im crippled. sighhhh.

Maternity Pad

Got 40.5cm ?? serious? i bought the paper panties oso...i tink the pad is longer than the panties wor..duno the panties will tear anot...m i tinkin too much cos i never wear b4 for paper panties & long pad..muahaha

Hospital

my frenz got a private gynae who is under TMC her package is less than $600 wich is more cheaper than KKH as wad bluberi have share wif us...so nxt child we knw who to approach le ^^ KKH bill $2080 serious ? MT A 1 bedded for natural birth + epidural oni $2313..KKH is far too much expensive oreadi

Momoworld :

i chose Mt A cos its abit more cheaper than raffles for Sec C...bcos durin 20 week check up..was told tat my placenta is slightly low might go for Sec-C if the placenta dun move up..den durin 28weeks scan...placenta got move up but baby in breech position...so have to examine..so my husband n i calculated den Mt A is much more cheaper...cos raffles hospital charge seperately for epidural..when is ur next check up? mine is 3rd May (nxt monday)

Baby Movement

12 hour got 10 count...but constantly movement oni consider as 1 count...