(2010/06) June 2010 MTB

RE : Cot/playpen

I have both, 1 cot-convertible to toddler bed w rollers at my place and another playpen at my in law's place since MIL was the main caregiver when I was working then. Both have been very useful for my case cos my gal is trained to sleep on them since young. The playpen is used more like a cotbed than a playpen cos my active ger also likes to move around once she starts to crawl. But the moment my ger starts to flip (~4 mths i think), i move her all the way to sleep on the bottom of the playpen cos wanna avoid accident.

So i really dun hv much things to buy this time, except a wardrobe where i can put #2's clothing, etc.. intend to go IKEA to check it out.

Missbluey,

we are all behind u - stay positive and we believe yr boy will be in God's good hands. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilysnow,

me also just exceed the 60kg mark, sianz! Imagine bb only 600g+ now for me. And i can tell u its gonna be even harder to control the weight when we r in our 3rd tri per my experience. So jia you bah!!

yep i also very 'gian' to buy the white color cot- but worried abt maintenance - wonder if it'll have scratches and discoloration easily. Prices in Baby Kingdom are the same for natural (brown) & white colors though....and pretty cheap as suggested in an earlier post [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hey any advice on BATH TUBS / STANDS?

some highly recommended bath stands to prevent backaches - is that very necessary? any alternatives? i was just thinking it can be used only for a few mths??

Also, are those wire-mesh cradle for Newborns necessary for the bath tub? what brands are good?

jasmini, the cots at OG n Kiddy palace got price difference for white colour cots. i tink a lucky baby savannah cot cost $279 with a mattress. tis can be used up till 4yrs old i tink.

for bathtub, i got tis red cheena tub when i got married during the guo da li. might not be using it though. tinking of getting one with the net strapped to the tub.. so at least not scared bb slip fm hand n fall. not sure if tis is the wire-mesh cradle u toking abt.

jasmini, i also have the face basin, nearly bought the matching potty also. :p alot of guo da li stuff all in kept in the wardrobe un-used. yup, most prob put the tub on the floor n bathe bb. see how ba.. those tub with stand like more exp.

have checked out the cot prices in baby kingdom. actually their white colour cots also more expensive except the Luna model. hopefully the bb festival at expo next mth will have better deals.

Irma,

maybe its me.. haha.. cos i rem putting on almost 1 kg a wk towards my last 1 mth+, as i carry my ger till wk 40! So hopefully being second one, can pop earlier so hopefully weight gain not as bad.

Jasmini,

as i hv confinement lady to help duing first mth, so i dun bathe the baby until the last wk of her services. So i am ok w/o a bath stand. Till today with my tummy, i am still sitting down and bathing my ger.. no fanciful tub, for nb baby, just gotta make sure u hold/support their neck well. I got a free tub fr my cousin as Alvernia give them free 2 yrs back them, not sure abt the practice now.

missbluey, good on you! admire your bravery! God will be with you and your BB and pray for Him to deliver his Gift to you in perfection as He only wants the best for you! Have faith in HIM!

Wow, today is crowded and my phone is buzzing with all your threads every few minute! :)

Lilysnow, good idea to scan it! I only photocopied it, but I think I will go scan it too!

Aven, we should go down to Marine Parade Library to get the pre-birth kit tomorrow! Are foreigners entitled to one? Anyone knows??

Re:Cots/Trays/Bath Tubs

Got a suggestion for bathing baby....I used to do it on the bedroom floor and have the maid bring in the cold and hot water as not much is needed, but having C-Sect is so difficult. Hey, ever thought we can just put it on the dining table too for those who do not have much space for anything else? I also noted that for cots, there are actually solid hard board based changing mats and those can also hold the weight of the bath tub, so in actual fact, those of you who intends to buy cots, can also buy the changing tray (with solid wood bottom) and place your bath tub on top for bathing baby, which was one of my intentions. Or alternatively, if you are buying from IKEA, the clothes/changing cabinet also comes with a table where you can place the bath tub as well. All these options will be at levels just right for bathing baby when standing up! Food for thought!

Hi Rachel,

My first child is diagnose with TGA condition on day 10. He's supposed to be admitted for jaundice n end up with two major heart operation instead. Me n hb world came crashing down as we assume that babies are borned to be normal n this should not be happening to us since we are both healthy. My confinement is spent in kkh icu n stepdown unit. I totally understand how u felt. Its made me understand that health is precious and should not be taken for granted. At the point in time, I was willing to forgo everything I have, including my life to exchange for my dear Jayden life. He is all hooked up with tubes n fed with loads of medicine n I cannot even hear him cry cos his tube is in his mouth. I wanted so much to hold him in my arms. Was in total tears when i'm given the chance to breastfeed him finally n most of all hear his cries which became so precious as it shows he is still alive. Every single heartbeat counts as I monitor the machine.

Enough of my sorrows... Both families are really glad that I got over the ordeal n continue to have my princess 2 and now princess 3.

Hi Missy-bluey

All the mummies will here will pray for u n your darling. Stay strong.

Missbluey, Rachel, you gals are real strong and it is really not easy to go through this. I am sure your babies will be strong fighter. Jia You.

Cyberbabe, glad that your little Jayden has been brave and fought hard at the ops. Did you keep the bravery award? coincidentally, my little son - also named Jayden, has had several ops as well after birth and his first year is always in and out of KKH. We are glad that he has been a strong fighter and now he is almost done with his ops. Probably just another one or two more when he is in his Primary school. Though tired, we are very very glad that we have him. he is such a wonderful darling. So i can totally understand when you said that if possible we could go through for him, instead of him having to go through all.

And, our babies will most of the time surprise us of their strong fighting spirit.

go go mummies... parents are the greatest! Jia you.

Re: Baby Cot

Agree that baby cots are more lasting. my friend pass me her used baby cot and it last me very well for #1 for 2 years and still look very good.

Hi cyberbabe,

Thanks for sharing your ordeal. Ya, it's certainly not easy, it's really a heart pain to see baby in tubes n surgery wounds n can't even hold him. I hope he'll fight it out. ;-)

Stay strong, all mummies...

rachel,

ic. must be tough on you & your hubby, after all, its your first bb & certainly don't expect this. -hugs-

we will be strong & persist on! =)

cyberbabe,

my tears just welled up when you mentioned that you wanted to exchange life with your son cuz i feel the same way too.

thanks, i hope your son will jia you too!

i still feel a little shaky when i thought of how gynae broke the news to me but i guess i will be stronger & positive when the time comes. thanks all for your encouragement! =)

oh btw, any mummies are taking NataBoost fish oil? just want to know how many capsules you take daily? cuz i can't remember what the counter lady told me when i collected my med that day, couldn't absorbed anything after hearing the news. hubby said im jia lat, heh.

hihi i'm a july10 mummy..

i placing order for the baby carrier soon this friday.. my friend also getting one baby bjorn SPIRIT at SGD147 (Save $40) .. I get the baby bjorn ACTIVE at SGD199(Save $50) (price is after discount).. just wanna see any mummies wanna join in also ? i can go collect and we can meet up somewhere...good lobangs must share share

PM me if you wanna join in..^_^

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Brand-New-Baby-Bjorn-ACTIVE-Baby-Carrier-Black-Red_W0QQitemZ260557546964QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_216?hash=item3caa70a5d4

bluberi,

on white series, the Delfin cot is slightly cheaper than Luna. asked my hubby yesterday - he prefers natural wood color - but i told him i prefer white... btw, the froggie tub is cute! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

koaru,

yup me getting a CN too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so maybe i don't buy the stand 1st right?

patl,

i told my hubby the same - we can use dining table or the study table. but he insists that the baby must be bathed in the toilet. hmm, not sure why - maybe he is afraid baby will get a cold? ( since the aircon is on usually)

missbluey,

why not just give them a call to check on the number of pills to take? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] safer.

Re bathing newborn

we do it in the room for the first 2 mths. Shut the window close and quickly dress bb up. Toliet is slippery and cold.. For first time mummy better do it near changing area although is troblesome to bring the tub in..

ok, will give them a call later.

btw, does anyone uses any leave-in hair treatment? wonder which are considered safe to use? my hair is really dry + damaged liao, but i don't feel really safe going to hair salon to do hair treatment.

missbluey, hang in there cos Im sure baby is too!

with technology these days our precious little ones lives are in better hands. I heard of a story about a baby that might not live after birth for long but her parents persisted and like cyberbabe after countless operations and determination that little baby is now a healthy toddler so dont give up so easily.. hang in there!

Hi ladies, I bought few tins of Similac® Mum™ (700g)- (Never open)-

Willing to let go at cheap price of $12. kindly email me at [email protected]

Immunify® Ingredients:

Prebiotic Fructo-oligosaccharides (FOS) nourish the beneficial bacteria in your gut to support a healthy digestive system

Antioxidant Vitamins C and E help protect cells from free radicals that may have escaped the natural processes of our body system

AdvanceShield™

Folate helps support foetus growth and development

Folate, taken before and during pregnancy, helps in the mental and overall development of the foetus/baby

Iron & Zinc- an increased need for iron and zinc during pregnancy

Iron is important to support formation of red blood cells, which carry oxygen to all parts of the body

Zinc helps in physical development and is essential for growth

Choline is an essential nutrient recognized by US Institute of Medicine (IOM). IOM recommends higher dietary requirements during pregnancy and breastfeeding

Calcium & Vitamin D support development of strong bones and teeth

Low in Fat: Supports appropriate weight gain and provides a host of valuable nutrients with less fat

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3662864.jpg]

Friends & Sharky

Thanks alot gals.. Me will go check it out !!

cyberbabe..

I started tearing when I read ur post. Glad that Jayden is doing fine now..

bliss,

if you bathe bb in the room, is it on the floor? will there be water splashes? or very little?

tiger baby,

my baby moves a lot everyday - i notice he'll move esp after meals and around midnight ( i sleep very late) - these movements are very regular.

missbluey,

I am taking Nataboost fish oil. As per gynae instruction, i m taking it one per day. After you had start taking the fish oil, can i ask u if you experience something like plastic smell when u burp? thanks! Stay positive and happy!!

Kelly,

I heard that the taka bb fair is from 10 March to 28 March

Jalgal,

Pls update my bb gender.. girl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasmini,

wat do u mean by CN?

Patl,

btw, tmc single bedded has like 2 types, so the basic one altho equip wif a sofa bed it's really more for sitting than sleeping - i dun think it's comfy to sleep, worse if yr hubby is big size. and even tho I booked my 1 bedded mths ahead, it's still first come first serve when it comes to admission. So I end up wif a 2 bedded room but they will keep the adjacent bed empty and I still gonna pay for 1 bedder price.

CN....confinement nanny [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hey TMC has this premier suites (i think lvl 5) that looks like a luxury hotel...damn nice, and damn expensive-- the charges is $600+ a night i think. absolutely comfy!!

cherriegg,

ok thanks!

am still trying to reach my gynae. perhaps i should stick to 1 capsule per day. gosh, im really hopeless lor. but funny the instructions on the box stated take 2 daily with meals.

hmmm, i have yet to experience the fishy smell when i burp.

Tiger baby,

my baby's movements are quite irregular sometime can be very quiet for half a day then suddenly a lot of movements but like Jasmini, usually a lot of movements esp after meals and around sleeping time.

Hi mommies, I have finished my confinement and wish to let go of the following:

From Little dreamers

Healing bottom spray $16 including postage, original price $15.50

Brand new unopened 120ml bottle Expiry Sep 2011

I had to go for c-sect thus selling this off.

Dry confinement Powder (for hair) $7 including postage, original price $15

3.4oz bottle Expiry Oct 2011

Used 30%. Completed my confinement but unable to finish.

Nursing Bra size 40C (Nude(brown) - 2 pcs and light beige) - $8.50 each including postage

Washed before. Bought wrong size but ribbon in the centre has been removed.

Please visit here for photo

Do PM me if keen. Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tiger baby, sometimes baby move alot, sometimes dun and I get worry when baby doesn't move that much as compare the other days.

Some say it will move alot when using Baby plus system, I didn't buy cos I am currently into 24 weeks & normally ppl start to use it ard 18 week onward.

Tiger bb - my bb movements are thru out the day, but i've yet to established any "regular" timings. sometimes, if i want to feel the movements, i'll gently tap my tummy and bb will sometimes response with a bit of movements. its quite fun.

bb clothes -

i went to the afternoon bazaar during lunch, got a few bb clothes from the roadside vendor. got a Gymboree(6-12mths) and Carter's(3-6mths) sleepsuit for <$4 each, a bodysuit(3-6mths) for abt S$2, some simple cotton tees (white based w cartoon prints, 6-12mths) for abt S$1 each. but the selection is limited for boy, alot for girls....i think quite cheap, right? not sure abt prices in spore.

this weekend, will drag hubby to Platinum to rackie bb clothes...heehee

I am sharing Jayden bravery stories to spur all of you to treasure the health bestowed upon your little angels. There are many mummies out there who are so much more unfortunate than us. At least we are now given the gift to give life to our precious thots.

I also learnt that being able to provide simple pleasures in life is sufficient. Having family time and learning how to love and appreciate each other.

Cheers to Motherhood! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any one taking similac mum? i have 2 satchets to let go FOC cos they mail to me but am nt taking Formula milk.

Kaoru - how much was yr 1 bedder bill at TMC? am considering 1 bedder this round for no 2 so that no 1 has room to roam abt when i deliver.

Kudos to all the brave mommies/MTBs here! Glad to know the little warriors put up a strong fight.

Jasmini,

oh i see.. to me its not a priority item - the method my CN or CL (confinement lady) taught me is safe enuf.

Yar lah.. Zoe Tay was staying at those premier suite (machiam like hotel grading..) during her stay there lor. But this time i am opting for 2-bedder, crossing my fingers my neighbour wont be groaning all nite. (A cousin's wife was saying her neighbour has some infection, and constantly in pain and moaning.. yucks!)

Lilysnow,

its damn cheap!! You can even stock up and resale here in this forum lor.. if got boy boy one, also wanna longbang u to help me buy, kekeke. But hor, try to buy bigger sizes for boy cos they outgrow very fast. That's why i was thinking if i shld go BKK also since can get free stay @ Hyatt..

Glad to know so many brave and strong mummies here!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jiayou every mtb!!

Re: Baby movement

my girl movement is moving every when and then she like.. When there's music or sound, she will react to it.. But no fix timing.. Just quite constant..

Wah.. Lilysnow got such a good deal man.. Jealous.. ><

Jasmini, yes I bath my bb on the floor just next to his bb cot. I put a big towel on the floor below the tub. Actually not much water will splash out. U don't need alot of water as you will use the washcloth to bath bb. I survive bathing my son on the floor after my csect. Also cuz staying with in laws so no place to buy a changing table with tub. Actually that is quite useless too after a few months bb will start splashing water so better to do it in the bathroom and the chaning table with tub will be White elephant Liao. But I will get a ikea changing table instead.. Boys tends to have alot of accident while changig and I always end up changing the bedsheet..

Jasmini, Bliss,

i din even hv a changing table and i dun like to change @ the cot bed cos ever kena accident, and i cant stand the mess! So wat i did was to convert my study table by moving out my laptopt and put a changing mat on it - now that nappy changing is less frequent for my #1, i get my table back.

Mezzo,

unfortunately i misplace my TMC bills.. but i rem hubby saying still gotta fork out like $1.6K+ cash in addn to paying via medisave. (But i stayed for 4 nites cos i admit before their cut-off of dunno 11pm or 12am and mine was normal delivery w epi) Also, they split the baby bills fr the mommy which i pay add'l few hundred after medisave.

re: bath tub

im using the traditional red bath tub to bathe my son since he was born. during my confinement, mil asked close neighbour's maid to help out to bathe my son during daytime on weekdays as mil was working. after that, when i started to learn to bathe my son by myself in the toilet, i was scared that my son would slip & drown, but luckily, no incidents of that have ever happened. *phew* i would use a small stool comfortable to my height when i squat & slowly bathe my son. so i will still continue to use the red bath tub & bathe my #2. but i always ensure the water level is quite low & when bathing son, i make sure his back won't be slippery so that he won't slip out from my grasp. & make sure the shampoo & towel are within my reach.

as for changing mat, i used traditional pink blue bubble mat & placed my son on top of it on my bed. the only disadvantage is that i have to bend my back to change my son, quite a torture. advantage is i don't have to keep everything except roll the bubble mat.

re: bb movements

i have yet to capture the timings of my bb's kicks. sometimes quite strong that i could feel my tummy move, sometimes light kicks. i feel that bb don't like me to sleep on my right cuz he will just continue to kick if i don't change my position. -.- i like to play with him the tapping game, he would respond at times. =p

hey bliss,

haha just when you were mentioning "Boys tends to have alot of accident"...i was thinking WHAT IF MY BOY PEED WHILE I'M BATHING HIM?!?! ( pardon me, this is my 1st bb, and a boy, so i wonder if his pee will shoot out like that). ekkkk, should i bathe him in the toilet instead? is this something i should expect - any of you have such experiences?

koaru,

you should cross your fingers and hope they upgrade you to single bedder for free...if they don't have enough rooms...kekeke... :D

Jasmini, u can bath bb in the toliet too. I do it beside the cot cuz I can wrap my bb properly when he is out of the tub and got to walk to the room. So I do it in the room, lay the towel on the bed.. Once bb is out of the tub I will quickly lay him down and dry.

Actually peeing while bathing is ok.. I am more afraid of pee and poo right after bathing!!

thanks for replying, ladies! my baby seems to be quite inactive... i'm already in my 25th week but i dun feel regular movement, which worries me quite a bit. hopefully tomorrow's gynae visit will give me some assurance.

hi ladies... almost whole day nv come in here coz stuck in meeting. *bleah*

jasmini, my hubby also prefer the natural colour. i tink white looks nicer leh.. will see how ba..

on bb's movement, tis few days my bb will move alot in the morning esp when near to meal times. then late afternoon oni occasionally. nite time bb will bcom active again.

Im so sian... Anyone experience this like me when sneeze too hard somehow urine will leak out haizzzzz...

Missbluey> Jiayou Jiayou!

Elaine, oni sometimes when i want to vomit when brushing teeth den will haf urine leak out. but dat is when i haven pee b4 i brush teeth.