(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Brenda,

Initially i also got nothing much to pump.. then my CL very strict with me.. make me rest a lot dun let me take my painkillers (she say will lower ss) and drink ALOT of liquids then the amount increase... now not that i want to pump so diligently.. i find it quite a pain actually.... but no choice... becos i become engorged every 2.5 to 3 hours... super painful...will automatically wake up from sleep

mrs heng: i hv bad piles too. I am taking euvin to reduce swelling and insert suppositories. The ointment is useless for me. U can ask gynae to prescribe euvin for u. Works for me but takes at least 2 weeks for swelling to go down..

Mrs Teo, seems like your BM supply good lei, cos other than bottles, u still need milk bags. Would like to build up a good stash, can share what is your TBF or EBM schedule like?

Little Tiger - Euvin is in tablet form? I'm taking daflon n applying ointment..both finishing soon. Was wondering issit ok to consult medication fr norm GP?...Going bck to gynae is so ex =(

Congrats Smak and Coke!

Anyone can advise how to access the SMH May MTB group in facebook? such as wat is the next step after log on to facebook.

Any tbf mummies gave pacifier to their baby already? My baby still cries for milk despite feeding her for whole 50mins on one side, when she unlatch herself there were still mouthful of milk unswallowed so I'm sure she had enough. After burping her I put her down to sleep. Less than 5 mins she screamed for milk again with her mouth open. I brought her to the other breast and started sucking again for 5 mins then unlatch herself. A few seconds later she puke out all the fresh milk.

I was sure she was not hungry already, she just need to suckle for comfort, so is it ok to give her pacifier instead of taking in unnecessary milk? Need advice...

edie,

could be wind in the stomach. Check by using 2 fingers to tap her stomach gently. If you hear a hollow sound, then it is wind.

I use the ruyi oil, apply 2 drops to my hand to rub until warm then I place my hand on bb's tummy for 1/2 min. I then use a tummy wrap on top of bb's clothing to keep tummy warm.

After a while of fussing can hear him pass wind.

I don't give or use the pacifier...could make it worse

ktsc - orh ok tks! ^^

I would like to know the ans for lucasmummy's qs too. Also, if we bring out the warmed up EBM, how long can it last b4 going stale?

bbf: thanks. So I guess it can last longer if we put them in cooler bag?

Mrs Heng: I did my research but there are no answer to my qn. Am still searching...

KTSC: you can use this link to access the SMH fb page. http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=350087206026

edie: i dun give pacifier either. most of the time when i carry bb, she will turn her head towards my boobsand open her mouth. she does this every time i carry her, so can't be she's always hungry. i just turn her head away from my boobs, carry her facing outwards, after some fussing she will calm down. i only give in to her comfort suckling requests at night before bedtime. let her suckle longer after her feed, so that she can fall asleep comfortably. she doesn't need this all the time, so for me it's still ok.

i can sorta tell when she cries if she's hungry or just needs attention, so can still minimize the comfort suckling...

alternative... which i think is bad, is let her suckle her hand! my mother and mil taught her how to do that... =_+

Thanks, Edie. Can access the group liao...

Have given pacifier too, especially when wanna calm crying BB or when coax him to sleep. But he would reject it too sometimes.

Thanks for the link, Blue turtle

Last nite after feed, BB also gave the eh sound, then he start burping. Amazing baby language

lucasmummy, Mrsheng, if you warm it up and leave it at room temp, ebm turns sour within an hour or so.

If u go out and want to bring ebm, u need to keep it in the cooler bag then warm it up when bb is ready to drink.

How long can EBM keep fresh in cooler bag? If eventually the brought out cold EBM did not use, can put it back to fridge?

Questions about BF:-

1. My girl latches on for total of 20 - 30 mins (either 1 breast or both breasts).

2. EBM she takes 80-100ml each time.

3. When I express BM for total of 20 - 30 mins, I don't get 80-100ml.

So does it mean baby is not getting enough milk when she latches since she probably won't get 80-100ml from latching (using my EBM as a guide)?

BB Hon, Jerbunny

I also do tao mao bi for my #1 3 years ago. Would be doing for my #2. What is the market rate now?

Ktsc,

I pump every 3hr... Have been taking fenugreek pills for 1.5weeks though. Each pump Is only about 75ml to 90ml - which is what bb is drinking per feed. So very stressed. Like fire fighting. Cannot latch on vow she dozed off after 10min and I can't determine how much she drank.

But if I skip one pump schedule and then feel the engorgement, I can pump about 200ml to 300ml (it's freaking painful though)

My baby has Ben

En passing green stool leh... For the past 1.5day. Am worried. Read from the Internet that it's the fore milk and hind milk imbalance... Means baby taking too much fore milk (more lactose, less calories) dunno how. But CL says green poo means she had a scare..

I called PD, he says monitor for one more day... It's noy unusual. Sny mummies with bb with green stool (2weeks old). , bb was passing yellowish (mustard) kinda poo before (which is the normal poo)

Shuyan, ear thermometer she be accurate when bb ear canal is bigger leh. And I heard is the most accurate. For now, I Stick to the armpit one lor since the skin thermometer failed me...

Keeping u in my prayer, dun cry too much okie

I probably will try to build up ebm ss in freezer before I head back to work.

But now with the green stool issue I m not sure how to pump

1. Only pump one side for about 25min each pump session, the pump the next side the next session...?

2. Pump both sides regardless... Until there is nothing coming out (this is watt I hv been doing! Not sure if it's the wrong method.)

EBM:

Found this info on the web

An easy rule to remember is that milk can be "downgraded," but never "upgraded." In simpler terms, if milk is in the freezer, it can be downgraded and placed in the refrigerator, and if it's in the refrigerator, it can come out to the counter. But milk cannot be upgraded from the refrigerator to the freezer, or from the counter (after it has been out for a while) to the refrigerator.

Can read here for more: http://breastfeeding.about.com/od/lactation/a/handling.htm

KTSC: I called parentcraft. They say EBM took out from the fridge has to be consumed within 1 hour.

However, they are not so sure how long will it last with a cooler bag cos the temperature may varies. Then again, the lady I spoke to does not seem to know what is a cooler bag.. or should I just tell her insulator bag?

BBf,

I m using brestfriend... Quite easy for me to lie against a pillow on my back (sitting position)

But after I put on the pillow, I need someone to carry the bb on the pillow.

Then also one disadvantage, I dunno how to latch bb on if I do not have the pillow (eg; when I m outside)

Ktsc, because of the humidity and irritating May weather, I only leave ebm in room temp for max 40min...

Foe ebm stored in fridge - consumed within max2days

Ebm in freezer - store for max 2mth

Bbf: oh my god, she was really gassy! She unlatch after only 10 mins and I burped and put her on my breast again, after sucking for a while she unlatch herself, tried to burp her but started fussing, I tap her tummy and there's hollow sound, I put ruyi oil and soon enough I heard her pass wind and she pooped then she vomited milk again. I passed her to my cl who changed her while she was still wailing, cl applied more ruyi oil on her and she gave loud fart and stop crying, now it's peaceful. Gosh, all along I thought she's hungry. So if she suckle for 10 mins and unlatch herself can I assume she's full or should I put her back the same side or switch side after burping?

KTSC,

I think you can try to put it back to the fridge but no point freezing it. You can smell it it turns sour after warming it up. If it turns bad or sour, bbs are smart, they won't drink it.

MrsTeo,

My son has the passed green stool at one point last week too, just need to monitor if the yellow stools returns. Try to monitor your diet also to see if anything is causing the color change. Like sometimes when I take certain foods like the stool changes color a bit too.

KTSC - I called Tai mo bi. They told me their price starts from $38 - $288. It depend on what material you uses. The saleperson told me to go down and chose so that she can better give me a quote... But I enquire about their collection series 1(consist of 2 mo bi, 1 cord stamp and 1 ink pad) and it cost $708.

blue_turtle7 - thanks for the link. Its helpful.

Mrs Teo - My PD told me yellow or green stool is normal. My bb also has green stool lately and she feel feverish this morn. And today whole day hadnt poo at all... =( Do your think I shd bring bb go see doc?

Would like to check with your. Does your bb cry and the face turn red everytime he/she stretch?

Blue turtle, she always turns her head towards my boob also. So I always assume she's hungry. I think it's better for them to sucle their hand/thumb than pacifier right? That's what I read.

mrs heng: euvin tablets prescribed by gynae, need to finish the whole course. But i tink ok to ask gp for it, so long as they kno u r breastfeeding. The pain doesn't go away immediately tho. It can peak after a week, so i had to take painkiller on top of it. But after a while, shld be ok..

hey ladies..

Baby language- Yup.. i watched the video twice to kinda rmb the sounds.. the 'Neh' and 'eh' works for me.. still mastering the 'heh' sound.. Cant figure out the 'owh' and 'Eair' yet.. hehehe

Mrs Teo- the FM tin or box will have the instructions on how much water for each scoop (usually scoop is provided) Mine is mamex gold- 1scoop per oz or 30ml..

Today am giving my baby FM in the day time too.. am guilty of depriving him BM.. but my breasts have been aching since last ngt.. so have been expressing the milk and feeding him FM..

My baby's reflux is pretty bad.. am so worried.. he vomits alot.. PD prescribed some wind drops.. not much of help.. he is not putting on enuff wgt too.. Any other moms facing similar situation? I dun think my bb has wind problem bec he wud raise his legs on his own and farts alot.. only burping him is a real challenge..sometimes it takes a long time to burp him..

Where can i get this ru yi oil? I got one sample oil..its for baby... but it says eucalaptus oil.. is it the same?

Sorrie gals for the late reply, Mr Zou 周公 suddenly come and look for me. Wanna reply posts but can't lift up my eye lids. Fell asleep till now. Get out of bedroom then discover mom and maid has brought BB out for sun bathing. Hopefully jaundice would reduce. Tomorrow bring him to polyclinic for the check.

Mrs Teo, wow 95ml and 300ml is a lotz under the circumstances of exclusive EBM (no latch on) Think I must try the fenugreek too to build up the stash.

If you feel pain using the pump, u can try hand express instead, less painful. Which brand of pump are u using?

EBM session, I hand express both sides, changing sides when milk flow slows down on either side. Each breast express around twice.

edie,

I won't limit or count the time on each side for latching. Read the cue from your bb, burp her and see if she takes the same breast. You can check if she reached the hind milk by squeezing your aerola to check the milk texture. Offer her the other if she is not satisfied.

Mrsteo,

Thanks for the feedback on the brestfriend pillow. I think it won't help me coz I don't always have someone to pass me the baby...seems like I have to rely on tiger balm plaster for my breaking back instead.

AR, can get the oil from chinese medicine halls, like Hock Hua. I vaguely remember that watson / guardian may also sell it. looks like this

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4016934.jpg]

lucasmummy,

If you need to buy one, Pigeon sells a good fridge-to-go variation of breastmilk cooler bag. I bought mine for transporting ebm from work and it can keep ebm cool for abt 8hrs.

Though it claims it can keep cool to 12 hrs but I don't like to try my luck and stretch it that far.

bbf: Can i check, is the foremilk milky or clear? When i squeeze it will be clear the then white liquid will flow out to mix with the clear liquid.

I think my baby is sucking for comfort again. She'll fall asleep and i'll unlatch her easily, i'll burp her and she'll be awake again and wants to suck. after putting her back to my boob she'll suck real hard for the first couple of time then the suck will dwindle, when i unlatch her, there's still milk in her mouth.

Is she really hungry?

The whole cycle starts again, I've nursed her for almost 2 hours, now then she fell asleep.

Lucasmummy and Mrs Teo, thanks for the info on storage of EBM.

If that's the case, it would be best to finish the brought out EBM within the trip. Time to consume it as short as possible. If like BBF mention the EBM can be kept cool for 8 hours in the cooler bag. Bring 2 bottles of the expected quantity when go out, BB sould be able to finish them within the 8 hours (considering the time interval for each feed is about 3 hours)

BBF, yup noted. Thanks, would not freeze the brought out EBM. Intend to finish it for the next feed after reach home.

Edie, my boy has no problem latch on after pacifier. Actualli most of the time he reject pacifier instead.

But every BB differs. My #1 need pacifier to sleep.

If u let them suckle thumb, it would become a habit too and also difficult to kick off.

AR, you can get the ruyi oil from watsons or guardian or any chinese medical store. you should be able to find the ruyi oil at the section where you find the gripe water @ watsons or guardian.

remember to put a few drops on your palm, rub your palms together until your palms are warm, then place your palm on the baby's abdomen area. my MIL also puts her palm on the baby's head... slightly above the forehead... dunno for what purpose. haha...

hmm... maybe you wanna change another kinda teat for your bb's feeding bottle? or check if the hole on the teat is too big? i heard that the shape of the teat, and the size of the hole might affect the amount of air the bb swallows during each feed.

baby language: I just got the "owh" too! hehe...

edie: definitely bb's hand better than my poor boobs! already getting a little sore cos she doesn't always latch in the perfect position, so minimum comfort suckling is appreciated.

Thank you bbf & blue turtle, will ask hubby to buy.. i cant leave the house mah! :p

i am using the smallest teat.. i think my breasts squirts faster than the teats.. hahhaha! Just unfortunate that he has this reflux problem.. i heard it shd get better in a month's time.. hopefully by then (which is nez week ) or soon it will get better.. so sad to see my precious milk being vomitted out.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and my poor boy not getting as chubby as he shd be.. but he does resemble Alvin the chipmunk alot! hahhaha! I am serious!

Mummies thanks for all ur prayers.My bb is discharge this afternoon.My bb IVF drip drop again tis morning,then doc wanna relocate again,I told him no,I wan to wait for the senior consultant to tell me all the result first before they poke him again.Then consultant came and say no fever for the past 48hours,then blood culture show negative result,urine test for yesterday show no infection,so can discharge n feed oral antibiotic.Lucky never let them poke him again.But gotta got back 2 weeks later for X-Ray to see whether when bb urine got reflux backward or not,and do a kidney scanning to check kidney got any scarring,so must admit for 1 day again.

The Braun digital ear scan when I buy tat time,the sales told me tat this is the only smallest ear scan which can fit bb ear canal and its clinical approve,so should be accurate ba.

BBf: thanks.

AR: after rubbing ruyi oil on ur palms, you can also cover the bottom of their feet. The folks believe that this will keep them warm and prevent them from catching cold easily.

Braun Ear thermometer: both PD I went to at TMC and Kids Clinic are using it. Maybe they are concern that parents are not so familiar in taking bb's temperature from the ear of a newborn and might affect the readings ba....

When I went to guardian pharmacy, the pharmist also recommended me Braun and told me that it is proven by most doctors it's the most accurate.