(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Xin, i learn in class that got cases maid rock with yaolan till bb died too, cos bb cry more, maid swing more.... So i m so scared when mil n fil let Ayden slp in that. I use the suction to pick his nose wax b4 but nostril so small tat time, very hard to use. I use tissue or cotton bud nowadays. For ears Ayden on is wet de so i use cotton bud. Can't slp in mil hse.... Tho I stayed here a mth b4 rite after wedding

Little lamb: thanks! I'll ask hubby help me get the pi pa gao then!

Chameleon: Thanks for the link; unfortunately, the baby cubes are out of stock [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] it looks very useful. Do u know where else I can buy this it?

Cheerieheart:

I bought mine from www.babyetstars.com. Cheaper than BP cuz BP must order 2 trays then can get this price. They look like bigger individual ice cubes. Yup, comes with cover & BPA free. Some mummy mentioned b4 that Daiso sells them but i doubt for $2, they r BPA free though

Lamb:

Sounds like u had a real tiring day. Now i am not sure if i am looking fwd to weaning my gal. Having mixed feelings cuz on one hand, i am sure i would be overjoyed (hopefully!) to see her eating solids but on the other hand, when i think abt the disruption to her routine, i feel apprehensive!

My supply did drop after my mastitis episode but i am trying to stop bfg by next wk so i am not too bothered abt maintaining the supply anymore. Kinda relieved that i am going to say goodbye to my pump soon. No longer have that guilt feeling as opposed to previous times when i feel like giving up bfg[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin:

Which kk pd did u see who suspected that yr boy has milk protein allergy? And u going to seek 3rd opinion this sat with which consultant? Also in KKH?

OMG : my bb wake up at 4am again & dun wat to sleep until abt 5.30am.....drink only 70ml....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jessie, transferred this morning at 7:15am.

To Account POSB Savings

112-19501-7

Amount S$153.6

Transaction Reference 9404

Thanks again!

Early morning, LO down with fever. Panicked.

Rushed to nearby hospital. Was advice to give lots of fluid..but i'm have low supply of BM now.

Will try giving her fruits later.

Hi, liverpool11.

As 1st time parents, we do not know what to do.

And it was 3am !

Her fever was 39C. We consulted the hospital and they mentioned we bring her in.

Meanwhile, also put fever patch on her and sponge her.

chameleon>where to get this probiotic drops? watson/guardian have?

xin>yes, the bb carrier shop is at novena. bring mattias when he's in a good mood to try b4 buying so you know what he likes and what you find most comfy. If you want to try ergo, I think mothercare got sell.

hope mattias gets better soon too. we always rock ayden to sleep at nite. otherwise, he refuses to sleep.

that father must have been v violent when he rock his daughter. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ayden has nosewax too but we always wait for him to sneeze them out. or take them out when they're near his nostrils.

firipy>how is ayden09?

Pauline>yep, flying to HK this Fri. Hope he'll be better! Don't mind him drinking some water now lah.

cheerieheart>think ET is selling 1 of her bb cubes. Or can check the bps.

panda>hope your gal gets better!

my bb wake up at 2:30am this morning..after change diaper & drink milk, eye big big liao.. @faint@

after pacify for 30mins, then manage to go back sleep.. she can sleep out of the pillow now.. wonder if the pillow is too small for her.. =p

u gals hv such pblm?

mstan888:

Fret not! My gal went thru that phase! But at least now, she doesnt wake up at 4-5am to play anymore! Still having milk fussiness on & off but better than last wk already.Used to drink 900ml/day but now at best abt 720ml/day. Our target for her is 600ml/day. So as long as she reaches her day's quota & peeing well, we leave her alone

Hello mummies n any daddies here? I'm new to this thread.. My son was born 20th jan n I hope I can join u guys on more discussions on our babies' progress.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The article on the father rocking the baby to death incident.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_552823.html

Panda07, its always good to have common medication like cough, cold, fever, diarrhoea etc at home. But you must know the amount to administer to toddles. My wife is a "part-time doctor" at home, at bit of any symptoms and the "doctor" get to work.

As for nosewax, you gals might wanna get this, Sinomarin mini from pharmacy. Been using this for Torres. You can read more about it here.

http://www.sinomarin.net/about.htm

xin,

Not sure if this is your case...My boy makes alot of piggie grunting sounds especially when he was 2-5 mths. I realised that he couldn't breathe properly due to the mucus blocking the airways.

My pd gave us this nasal spray to use and then, when the mucus is softened, I use the nuk sucker to suck the mucus out. I also have Safety First sucker. Personally I prefer the Nuk one. It's quite hard to suck the mucus out alone and it's best if someone helps you. In my case, my boy squirms, kicks, cries whenever we try to suck it. So 心痛 to hear that. To help things, we bought a humidifier in the room and now, I'm not sure if it's because he outgrown this stage but he doesn't get nose blocks too much nowadays.

As for ear wax, perhaps you could ask your pd to clear it for him. I asked my pd to do that too cos I also don't dare to do it. She uses a long stick to scrape the ear wax and if it is too hard, we would put ear drops in his ear and then on the next visit 1 wk later, it would be sufficiently softened to scrape it out.

I would not even try the nose sucker but that was out of desperation...he had nose blocks every night.

Hi Melissa, welcome. I joined this thread last week. I'm a first time mom and have learnt alot from the mommies here. :)

Liverpool:

Is yr wife a doctor?

Melissa:

Welcome! I am actually a Feb mummy. My gal born in 2nd Feb. The Jan mummies & daddies are a very happening bunch. I have learnt a lot from them![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Jessie,

Think you may have missed out my post on my payment to you on 12 July so i'm copying it to you now :

Amount S$84.30

Transaction Reference 2995203432

IB Nick: cynthiachua

I am tompanging wendy's side under batch 1....cyn = cynthia chua. Thanks!

Sp_callalily, yes she is. "SELF DECLARE Doctor!!!" LOL!!! Of course not, after you have 2 kids, you have the experience, the doctor normally give the same type of medication and amount. So unless its persistence after 3~4 days still no sign of improvement, then we bring to PD. But normally we manage to "kill it" before anything get serious.

Sinomarin mini is one of such nasal spray.

welcome Melissa! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning mommies & daddy...

heard the news abt d 2mth old from hubby too... feel so sad for d family. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

welcome melissa

cherriehearts...hope u get well soon! as for purees i buy those small round containers fm daiso..those containers comes wt cover...i think 4 containers for $2...

liverpool:

I see. I thought she's a real doctor! We also stock all kinds of medicine in the house including injections & IV drips!U r absolutely right! Gd to stock some basic medicine at home[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

liverpool

wahaha...we also 'doctor' our kids when they fall sick, more or less know what medicine to give. If don't recover after a few days, then go see doc in case anything serious lor...we often just buy prescription medicine over the clinic counter from our usual GP, saves a lot!

Recently the whole family plus maid (total 6 of us) take turns to fall sick, saw doc 8 times, on top of self medicate.

Xin

Wow, mattias' photo really got 'mood' ...

Welcome Melissa [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TYL -- I know unity pharmacy sells probiotics in powder form which you have to mix with water for baby to drink. Not expensive. But they do not sell the BioGaia probiotic drops I am using which I find easier to administer because my twins do not like to drink water (and I'm not sure how the water will taste after adding the probiotic powder). For the BioGaia probiotic drops, all I need to do is add 5 teeny weeny drops into their milk or spoonfeed directly. The downside is the cost. One small bottle costs about $40 and if you use it everyday it finishes rather quickly. Most pds should sell the drops. I know KKH pharmacy also sells this (you can just walk in and purchase). Not sure if our nearest hospital Changi General, sells this tho.

Panda -- Hope your girl will get better soon. I know how worrying it is when our LOs fall sick.

Good morning all...

Cheerieheart, u can check with ET, she has a tray brand new in box to let go...

If u need me to pass to u, let me know. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin, for a moment with Mattias's pic, the angle look like Macho Ashton... hahahah...

I agree with Chameleon that it's touching looking at the photo. Very artisitc too...

Regarding ear wax, I only help Shayne with those at the entrance of the ears...

Smalldream, your AIfah power lah...

She's fast. The only ting I see my Shayne trying to leopard crawl. turning 360 degree.

but sometimes, he moves a little bit...

these 2 days, he develop new pattern to slp.

want me to carry instead of rocking...

cannot tahan...

Welcome Melissa...

We are here to learn from one and another too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lin, can check with you, how many cubes can be filled with one avocado huh?

Morning all...Jessie, i hv transferred $1.20 to yo. Ref # 2998937135 (Michelle)...

Can we swing our LO high high anot? My hubby likes to swing/carry him very high up...dunno if his heart will "drop" anot?

But during his last 6-in-1 jab, the PD also carried him high up and even throw him up abit..i think to test his reflexes....

Tyl,feeding him his medication is a challenge. Runny nose ok but like got cough nw..... Dun like milk. Doc say he is abit on heavy side but nt overweight so got storage fats to burn

Manunited, if your PD is doing it, there is seriously no harm in doing it. I often do that to my no.1 Let me guess, is your LO name rooney, giggs, ronaldo?

TYL, Hope Adyen10 get well soon and can enjoy his first overseas trip...

Lin, one more question, do you put a little bit of water when u blend the avocado or you put in BM?

manunited, I always swing my son too... hehhe...

Liverpool:

U r right again! Both of us are! Tat's y u know why we r not too worried abt her poo, milk strike etc. I have to admit though i am frustrated with her milk fussiness cuz it's juz taking up too much of my time to feed her. Now u also know why i am so "yim chim"...occupational hazard!

Febie

I used VIA cups leh.. only fill 1/5 of it so I don't waste the rest since Terilyn eats so little. So I would suppose 1 full cup = 1 avocado?

For puree, I add 1 to 2 drops of lemon so the avocado don't turn yellow before I freeze it.

When serving the puree, I add FM and blend it before feeding Terilyn so the texture is smooth & easy to swallow...

director coming in... logging off for now!!! :p

sp_callalily : oh, how yr bb forgo the 4am wake ? Do u train her or wat ?

My bb yest nite drank total of 185ml of milk fr 8.30pm-9.45pm then go to sleep at abt 10+pm. My HB dreamfeed her at 12.30am & she drank 90ml but then she start to move ard 3+am & then 4am eyes big big so feed her with milk but later dun wat to sleep....was turning/flipping, making noise & talking etc....;p

If dun dreamfeed her, she will still wake up ard 1-1.30am for milk....OMG....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Really dunno how to train her to sleep thruout the nite....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]...everyday go work like so tired & sleepy....my panda eyes also became darker....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi mstan8888,

i have the same pblm as u.. wonder how to cope with this.. she only start to wake up this week...

she still wake up ard 5-7 hrs at nite for feeding.. dreamfeeding thou.. but oni recently.. she start to eye big big.. then dun wan to go back sleep... need us to pacify her for 30-60mins, then willing to guaiguai gg back..

babytots : yr bb at least after pacify for 30-60mins then go to sleep, mine can stay awake for at least 1.5hrs....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mstan888:

If yr bb drinking enough in the daytime, actually at this stage they dun really need feeding in the middle of the night. The problem is if u keep offering milk everytime they wake up in the middle of the night, it can become a habit. But of cuz, if u think that it's genuine hunger cuz yr bb not drinking enough in the day, then no choice gotta feed. For the 1 wk that she was having night awakenings, i juz give her the pacifier. For the 1st 3 nites, she will spit out pacifier & continue doing her flips, talking to herself etc so we left her alone. After that, she stopped doing those stunts, and juz make noise like "eh eh". Again i juz pop pacifier & she went back to sleep. Then i told hb i cant b doing that forever cuz i value my beauty sleep. so for the past 2 night, we juz ignore & i think she realised we bochap her and so now, she's sleeping thru again[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baby tots & mstan8888:

If yr LOs are not crying & juz playing by themselves in the middle of the night, juz leave them alone. After a while, they will b tired of playing & once they realised no one to "chap" them, they will go back to sleep on their own. At least, that was what happened to my gal

baby tots & mstan8888:

If yr LOs are not crying & juz playing by themselves in the middle of the night, juz leave them alone. After a while, they will b tired of playing & once they realised no one to "chap" them, they will go back to sleep on their own. At least, that was what happened to my gal

sp_callalily : well, think my bb dun drink enough during the day.....;p....she drink little each time but more frequently like every 2-3hrs but in the middle of the nite if she drinks 60-90ml each feed, do u think she is hungry becos that's wat she drink during the day leh ?

If 'bochap' her at nite, she can make so much noise, flipping & turning & get suck in her cot, gv her pacifier can drop & make noise until no need to sleep liao as both of us r light sleepers....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sp_callalily,

I hope I didn't scare you off. My tiring day's not much to do with Nat starting on her solids. More so of her irregular sleeping hours these few days. Well, they have good and bad days. You know, I kinda misunderstood. I thought morning naps would be pushed to 9.30am now, but it isn't till they're 9 mths actually.

So by right, morning naps should still be at 9am. I think eventually, I'll need to push her morning baths to evening baths. I prefer her to bathe in the mornings coz' she can freshen up for the day and then come evening, I'll wash her up. But if I have to latch, prepare breakkie and then bathe her, I doubt I can finish all these for her before 9am. Will see how it pans out. I hope I didn't scare you with sharing my experience.

Unlike other moms here, I've NEVER looked forward to solid stage. Don't get me wrong, I totally enjoy watching her lap up her meals but I do not enjoy the bit where I have to prepare. Personally, I find that the first month of weaning most complex. Coz' there's different purees to try and to add chicken stock etc. I imagine my freezer to be full of stuff man! Subsequently, when she turns 7 months, I hope it's gonna be better coz' I might prepare the food fresh.

As for my SS, it kinda got affected after I flew over here. Not sure if it's because I started taking lesser fish (I find ngor fish back home is very good for milk SS). My mom used to make the ngor fish bone soup for me every few days and it was very effective for me. Fenugreek doesn't seem to work as well. Now that I'm slowly moving her to solids, I think I am not gonna bother much with my milk SS. Plus I intend to slowly introduce FM to her.

You know, Similac Stage 2 is actually quite sweet, as opposed to Stage 1. Not sure if it's a good thing after all.

chameleon>thanks. will look out for the drops. Heard from my mom that not much pooping today so maybe better le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

firipy>ya, I know what you meant. Was so hard to feed ayden10 when he was sick too. so lucky, he got storage fats. ayden10 is thin thin, nothing to spare. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] wish I can feed him as chubby as ayden09. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

manunited>hubby likes to swing ayden too. think its ok bah.

febie>thanks. but weather forecast for HK is rain on all the days we are there. there goes the sightseeing. But positive side means I can shop till I drop in the shopping centers although inlaws likely to be bored. :p

oh ya, you still want me to help you look for the thermal swimwear?

Hi mummies, haven't been able to read and respond on the forum. Just back at work and can't cope with work and family life...

Took a quick browse. I must be the laziest mummy around. I carry my baby and just bathe him while he's on my shoulder. Terrible right?! My rationale is that they are not very dirty and I can save water also. But dunno how long I can continue to carry my 'sack of rice' and bathe at the same time.

Weaning: I've tried cereal, pear, carrot, broccoli, corn, squash so far. The only one which my LO didn't like is apple. It was too sour for him, his whole face scrunched up. so funnee!! I also steam and puree everything on Sunday. Put baby at my parents place and then husband and I have a few hours to do housework and prepare food to freeze for the week.

I'm so losing my mind!! Dunno if any other mummies are experiencing the same thing. A few days ago, I made a cheese sandwich for my DH. I wanted to make another one, but simply couldn't find where I put the cheese. Had to ask hubby to help... He found it in the utensils drawer! can you imagine that!

Then the very next night, I was holding french fries in one hand, and an allan key (for my husband to lower the cot bed). He asked me to feed him, I stared at my hands and tried to figure out if I should be feeding him the fries or the allan key. We both had a good laugh, but I'm worried that I'm going crazy!

Any idea if there are supplements to take to boost memory and brain power?

Liverpool - all the names u guessed are wrong! He is called Matthias...hahaha..same name as Xin's LO.

I think its ok to swing LO high up after seeing so many of you also doing that. But whenever my hubby does this, i will ask him to stop after a few times cos LO will laugh till like no sound...(something like he is grasping his breathe like that)....

Wow many of u in health industries huh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

On Their Own

1) Panda - PAID SHIPPING 14/7

2) 3AS / PAID/ SHIPPED 13/7

3) Chameleon / PAID/ SHIPPED 13/7 ( Sorry 1 day delay cause yesterday post office ran out the shipping forms!)

Location A ) CY PLACE SENGKANG LIST - 8 PERSON

1)CY - PAID

2)FATBABE

3)YUKI - PAID

4)AG - PAID

5)YEOCOUPLE

6) Bluey - PAID

7) Nana - PAID

8) ling27

Location B) TAM L PLACE LIST 5 PERSON SHIPPING 14/7

1)TAM L - PAID

2) APPLEGAL - PAID

3) MEGAN -PAID

4) LIN -PAID

5) SMALLDREAM -PAID

Location C) AFANN PLACE LIST 4 PERSON SHIPPING 14/7

1) AFANN - PAID

2) PANGPANG - PAID

3) 2005 - PAID

4) KOONIE - PAID

Location D) LUVBABE PLACE LIST 5 PERSON

1) LUVBABE - PAID

2) MSTAN - PAID

3) MANUNITED

4) LSNTYL - PAID

5) MELODY

Location E) FIRIPY PLACE LIST 3 PERSON SHIPPING 14/7

1) FIRIPY - PAID

2) DISNEY - PAID

3) SHOAN - PAID

Location F) BRYEST PLACE 4 PERSON

1) BRYEST

2) FEBIE - PAID

3) ET - PAID

4) BUBBLE- PAID

Location G ) WENDY PLACE 11 PERSON

First Batch ( 7 Person)

1 ) Cyn - PAID

2) Pauline - PAID

3) Vanillaberry - PAID

4) Melissa

5) SH Lamb - PAID

6) Kacey_2010

7) Bigfoot - PAID

Second Batch

1) Wendy - PAID

2) ShaDing

3) MEL

4) XIN

Sueann, u r not alone. I have been leaving my keys at my my gate after opening the door. Always need to check where is my key and go back to my car to check if got lock. Super jia lak! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My lil Chris has been v naughty since turning 6m last week. Fuss in the nite. Gave him milk n refuse to sleep long. Wake up every other hr. Haizz.. is this the 6m pattern? Hubby had a MAN talk with him this morning n did not allow me to talk to him in the car while driving to my mum's place. Wanted him to 'mian bi si guo'. The lil rascal actually talked and sang to himself thru out the car ride n was so funny! Give up!

Can I ask the mummies a stupid question? Do we need to steam the fruits, such as apples and pears if we want to puree and freeze them? My brain too tired to think le...

Sueann tink you gotta relax alittle...

Are u too stress coping with work, family and your lil one?

Liverpool & Manunited, think more teams must come up... hahahha... let's see when Arsenal & Chelsea join our thread... hahaha