(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

blue7mist,

it's not a must to latch during takeoffs n landing but apparently they help. don't stress yourself up over that. during Renee's first flight, i was so stressed, trying to time the taxiing, take off n also descend. After 3 flights with her... not so stressed up already. Remember: suckle, swallow can help discomfort but it's not a must. it's not like they will get a medical condition if we failed to latch or feed. heh.

If you can, latch or give a bottle of milk/water. if really cannot, don't be too anxious, give pacifier or even your finger, just to encourage suckling. ;)

lamb,

renee's taking her porridge at 3pm. 11am.. cannot uh... how to prepare her porridge so early. I'm alone leh. Cereal or puree can lah... so far, i'm still not very good at cooking porridge. Taking hours to simmer till it's soft.

lamb

Thanks..was abit worried abt their delicate ear drums and all! Aaron's like that too. He drinks really little (weight is 25% percentile now) and don't make noise..for quite some time, my mom keeps bugging me that my bm is insufficient, not fattening enough and blah blah blah. Anywayz, as long as he's pooing and sleeping well (waking up multiple times aside ;p) I'm not too bothered.

blue7mist, dun stress yourself...

just take it as it comes...

Think it's better for the baby to suckle something.

If baby is hungry, you can feed otherwise, I think pacifier helps too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh gosh little lamb, i just fed Shayne 2 evenings ago... planning to do one later too...

so far, he has only one lunch and one dinner on plain rice cereal...

c yang - I totally know what you mean by cooking porridge so early. I already thought about it. Coz' I'll wake up early in the morning to latch her. So maybe when I wake up, I'll start blending the rice grains and then cooking porridge and then let it simmer in the slow cooker. If not, I'll let her take porridge at her dinner time and then lunch maybe do puree. Coz when she grows bigger like 7 mths, I might wanna introduce her to meat puree and probably tofu as well. And these are pretty simple to prepare. And then I'll leave porridge for nite time.

blue7mist - Ha! We're in the same boat. Except I dun get constant nagging from the old folks over here in SH.

Lamb:

Hahaha! We are really similar! Even the gramps are similar! My in-laws also oblige those spoilt brats! That's why i keep telling my hb i very reluctant to let MIL look after if i choose to return to work and mine u, i only intend to work PT but even then, i dunno how much damage there will be!I even entertained sending my gal to IFC but hb dead against the idea. So now, i will have to discuss with hb again that i may have to take 1 whole year off. cuz as u mention rightly, if my gal grows up being a brat, at least i only have myself to blame. Financially, we are more than ok. it's more for my own intellectual stimulation + i really love my job that i dun wanna give up my job forever or even for too long cuz after that may not b in touch anymore & b up to date with the latest development & guidelines. wat i do now to enrich myself is to go for courses while my hb babysits. Haha!

When yr gal decides to go on milk strike & when u experience how frustrating it can b, u will have that courage. The other way of looking at it is u dun wanna force feed and end up with obese kid with many more health problems in the future & milk phobia...

Anyway, along with the milk strike, my gal is also waking up earlier, around 5+/6+am to play, talk & sing to herself!

Blue7mist:

Just have to let yr LO suck the pacifier for that 30mins. dun have to feed. the idea is to just get them to swallow. Enjoy yr trip!

febie - Dun panick. Every mom has different styles. Be it feeding evening or day, whichever is more comfortable for you.

Pauline,

Yup he is using nuk teats.

Faintz....yesterday nite bb cried at 2pm. I so sleepy so just latch him. Fell askeep and Woke up at 4am and found him still latched on!!!

Firiby,

U so powerful. Bring bb to cinema? Haha now I dun dare cos he is a curious fella now

Bryest,

Yes I can't wait to start cereals. I hope he like it. :)

Thanks for all the advice. My helper just told me bb seems to like FM more than BM. Dunno if I shld be happy or not. ;p

Smalldreams,

he's so excited abt it...

but i'm only doin it twice a week starting this week...

last week was a trial... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Lil Lamb...

I tot it's a must for lunch to start with...

SH > At least you found your LO still latched on. For me, I fell asleep so many times and by time I woke up, Bryan kind of roll of my arms and onto the bed all the time. I can never get my eyes open enough to make milk and he has no patience waiting for his milk to warm up.

Re: Travelling

I am very keen to bring Bryan overseas, but my colleagues kept telling me not to now, but wait till he is older. They kept giving me 1001 scenarios... Sianz....

Cyn > I did my full month cake from Sweetest Moments. The end products were quite ok, but I have a little problem with their service cos I wanted to put my LO's pix on the card and when they didn't receive the pix, they didn't tell me till like super last minute and I had to scramble to on my lappy, sent them the things, call again and again to check.

big foot,

from what hub and i have observed, the babies are quite well-behaved onboard. Toddlers are harder to handle, sometimes. They are the ones making so much noise and refusing to sit still. hehe.

But i think meal-wise, it's easier to travel with toddlers or babies who are not on solids yet.

cyn and bigfoot,

i also ordered from Sweetest Moments. No problem at all for me, very smooth. Good feedback on the selection and quality.

My cousin got from them too but he didn't get the full box of 16 items, in the end, the box was presented with the empty column 'covered' with the company's promo flyer. Aunties and uncles felt that the box was incomplete like someone eaten 4 pieces and then pass the box to them.

C.Yang > I have the same sentiments, but my LO is due to start solids (coming to 6 months in a few days time). So my collg said to ask me things like where r u going to get hot water to make milk when you travel, r u going to use mineral water for his milk or water, there is no place to cook porridge, air very polluted (for certain countries)... and lots more...

I really want to try Bryan's flight worthiness for short trips, b4 we venture further when he is older.

blue7mist,

my boy does that too...keeps waking up to latch. Not sure if he is hungry or not coz he doesn't drink much during the day when i am out.

I tried one night not to latch him...he cried so hard till my heart nearly wanna break :-(

Dunno how to wean him off latching like dat...i think it will be like breaking him from opium addiction

big foot,

yeah, serviced apt or suite room with a kitchenette will definitely help but i think we just not as cool about bring babies for vacations. i know of a brit couple who brought a 3 month old to new york for holiday last dec. It was freeezing cold then leh! And i know one Emirati couple who took their 5 month old to Tokyo last month for 4 weeks. And they are cool about it.

We really think too much into parenting. These locals and ang mohs like bring up their children so chin chye-ly.

Wei, worried about coordination?? Have you seen gerrard?? That monkey is so active daily. I think you should worry more about her wanting to walk and putting her hands up asking you to assist. Super backache that time when I had to assist gerrard to walk/run around the house.

C.yang, I suggest you better lower the cot. Prevention better than cure. But amaze that she can stand already. Torres can't even sit on his own yet.

Cyang- Esther seldom sleeps in her cot so didnt lower it. Nowadays she just sleeps with me on the bed. Renee is so fair n pretty. She also has very good standing posture. Esther is 8.2kg now but not very tall. Only 65cm.

Big foot,

That too. He roll off my arms to zzz so many times but this is the 2nd time I found him still latched after so long. Hee and I fall asleep all the time now.

C yang,

How true! My #1 was the nightmare while #2 just either zzz or look at his screaming kor kor.

Liverpool, ok, shall stop procrastinating. prevention is indeed better than cure. Renee amazes us with the strength of... an ox! Ha! Ox year baby mah. She's weeks older... born on 27 Dec mah.

Wei, thanks. I think Renee also not very tall. Well, her parents also not very tall. haha.

Thanks all,my MUM is very proud of her masterpiece costume. Real busy tdy cos Charlie brown very notti, on milk strike. Doesnt want to keep still for me to clean up his poop! Gotta work tmr, enjoy ur weekends!

Okie, don't mean to make you guys spend but hor the Crocs and Adidas sneaker etc not bad leh! I got these

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=6159351104 and I love it! Comes with a Crocs bag somemore.

How much is a pair in stores ah? I never am a fan but was in need of a navy blue shoes so got this.

You guys want or not? I am ordering a few more for myself. I know I know spree closed but this is really good deal lah.

Jessie : ok so it's lace ? I also trying to get cotton for my gal too....;p....if u do come across any nice cheap cotton headband, let me know ? Thks !

Cyn> I also got my full month cakes from Sweetest Moments too for all my relatives and close friends - think 24 boxes in all. In addition, I also got their mini cupcakes and all the children who cake simply love them.

Jessie> Wow, that Croc looks good leh, what other colors do they have? I also like. How much will it cost together with shipping to SG?

luvbabe : Think additional SGD 4.50 per pair liao. It is not very heavy but bulky!

Crocs here :

http://shop34143302.taobao.com/search-cat-34143302-200424991-Y3JvY3PPtcHQ.htm?checkedRange=true

The colors must stroll down and see. Size becareful hor, more for kids and adults than babies.

Seller advise me not to go for the cheap RMB25 to RMB 30 ones as they are fakes. Those like 58 RMB onwards are the extra stocks from factory ones.

I dun know if she said it to make me buy the more expensive range but my Ayi told me the RMB25 is really fake looking ones ( she got some!).

Anyway I am ordering more Crocs tomorrow night so give me your answers then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SH, haha, your baby doesn't give up hor. Mine also, she tends to fall asleep still latched on. Scold her she bo chap me. Continue to sleep. :p

Jessie, wa, tempting but I already got 3 pairs of crocs. Cannot buy liao. :p

Hi Jessie.. i want to join in the shopping spree.. but cannot find the thread with all the shops to shop.. is it anyshop?

can u send the list of shops again?

Mindy, so sorry but I placed orders for the other stores liao and I am running a tight schedule. I plan to do one in mid or end Sept . But because my neighbours want the crocs so I need to order again and just ask you guys if you want. There are also sneakers too , if you want, I can help you order shoes from this store.

Need some advice. Yesterday my bb suddenly poo 4 to 5 times. Poo turn watery and darker colour. This is the 2nd day of introducing 1 feed of FM? Does that mean that FM is not suitable for him?

Or could it be he is teething?

Anyone hv Similac 2 to exchange ?

I hv 2 tins Nan HA 2, 1 tin Nan Pro 2, 1 tin S26 Promil Gold (all 400g).

Meet up at Tg Pagar or Redhill. Thks !

Okie, noted for both of you. Sorry today abit busy, I will reply all emails later !

90% of the stuff arrived and packed liao. I still waiting for some stuff today. So sorry hor.. abit late but some suppliers take 3 days to deliver . DUHZ

Jesisie, sorry i may have missed your post... should we pay u already?? lemme noe yah! I think i have missed out the bank details too.... THANKS again for the spree!!!

BTW, can i ask a reallie dumb question? Can we put puree in cereal and feed baby? I was thinking of feeding baby cereal (third attempt) and wondering if i can add some apple puree to make it less 'heaty'... Or will mixing it make him diarrhoea? *blush.. i noe nuts abt startimg solids*

YeoCouple:

Can mix puree & cereal tog. Hope u have better luck with this combi[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]