(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Jessie,

My friend also recently shared with me that her daughter who is 3 yrs old now actually remembers things that happened to her when she was 18mths old. Ever since she knows how to talk when she was 2 yrs old, she started telling her mum what she has done before in her playskol when she was 18mths old.

We were very amazed as we always thought babies won't remember till they reaches at least 2 yrs and above but they do.

Any mummies know where to get light n compact stroller ? The current capella stroller tat i hv is quite heavy n bulky n thinking of getting a light one...

Anyone can give me some advise n tips on wat to get n also where to get it. Thanks ;-)

Jessie,

Will you just be going Tokyo? We recently brought my boy to Japan. We went Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Nara and Yokohama. We brought him to Nara to feed the deers and he was so happy. There are a lot of babies and kids feeding the deers who are roaming freely in the park.

We stayed in Hotel Sunroute in Shinagawa and it's within walking distance to Takashimaya and the big shopping centres. There's a flea market in Ueno which you can buy a lot of local products at reasonable prices.

Will you be bringing Arwen to Disneyland? We went Disneyland and find it a waste of money. We had to spend hours of queuing just to take a 10mins ride and all the fast passes were out by the time we reach there at 10am. I think you can consider Disneysea instead. We went Disneysea last year and the queue were not so bad.

Try to stay at Lake Kawaguchi for at least 1 night if you can. Though it is a very small town, we like the surroundings very much. There's a premium outlets with a lot of shops at discounted prices which you can shop. There's buses you can take from Hakone.

I will try to upload some photos on my facebook today. You can take a look at them. If you need more information, can pm me. Hope you will enjoy your trip.

kokamee7,

Think quite a few mummies are using the Mclauren strollers which is light and convenient cos it can be kept like an umbrella and carried around.

The other brand with lighter strollers is combi. They have a model which is only 4.5kg.

I just went to the warehouse sale yesterday at Chai Chee and they have some strollers on sale but I think today is the last day of the sale.

jessie> thks for your sharing. just curious, did your friend continue to hide her feelings from her mother?

this may be just an anedoctal example. but this is what i'm fearful of. tt my son will shut himself from me if i ignore him. :p.

like you say, they'll only need us for a short period of their lives. less than 5% if they live til 80 yo. and sometimes i'll think about how i'll want him to treat me when i'm old and senile. and treat him the same way too. :p.

hb also always talk abt how fast he grew. and it really make me appreciate every moment with him. feel sad when i think tt he's gg to grow up and not want me anymore. :p

i feel that parenting is a very individual thing, largely dependant on parents' and child's temperaments. cant just follow what the books say blindly. most important is to respect the baby as an individual.

that's why there's so many many different parenting books. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ultimately, we have to find something tt we ourselves are comfortable with. it's a long process. and i think things will just get more and more complex as they grow older. sighz.

or should i say, there's more exciting times ahead. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bryest : Yah, just Tokyo, never been a fan of Disney so won't take her there. Thanks for the tips on shops! Will jot it down ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

smalldream : Ok, will Mt.Fuji then!

Lsntyl : Thanks for the tips on the hotel, I will let my friend know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

heehee, can't wait but I also need to make sure the hotel is near a hospital incase Arwen's got wheezing again!

andie (andie) : I dilike the Ergo at first cos heavy and cumbersome but really it is good for bigger babies and I use in indoors alot cos we like to Ergo Arwen and let her watch us do our chores , of cos we can't do alot but like watering the plants, looking at books, drying the dishes or putting grocery in the fridge , she likes that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin : She did of cos, she later accused her mother for not being there and she told her she remember it . Of cos as she grow she don't hold grudges lah, she still has a good relationship with the mother now but she now make sure she is always attentive to her own kids .

Looking at the babies here in this forum, I doubt any babies are neglected and I think this forum, all the mothers are really very loving . It is just that personally for me ,like what liverpool always say, the loudest sound in the house should be laughter, not cries. I felt that was such a good thing to remember. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Anyway where is he ah ? So long never come in liao!

jessie> ya, i agree. but sometimes i have to let mattias cry awhile coz i'm alone at hm. guess i can put him in the carrier. but in this aspect i dont want to build the habit. not sure if i'm being inconsistent. :p.

the worse thing we can do to our kid is to be inconsistent. it'll be so confusing. :p

i'm sure all the babies here are well-loved. if you dont care abt ur child, you wont bother to come in forum to see how you can parent the child better right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi bryest,

Wah.. U make me feel like gg japan too ! Haven't been to japan but will surely go there one day. The tour packages so ex will cost a big hole in pocket ! Haha... But I really want to visit japan one day...

Thanks for the tips on the strollers, I'll start looking on the two brands u mentioned.

thanks !

so many posts! I simply no time to read....Need to rant abit...

Jessie, enjoy urself k!I din bring my boy to any theme park for my hkg trip cos we got no energy to do that with a rice sack.

I brought my boy to some trial class n prior to that my relatives were saying like I am kiasu mummy, my boy so young n I made him go class... Its only gym n some playing class, damn pissed. My boy really enjoyed himself n he learnt to dance (sway)n clap almost immediately after the class. My parents r quite supportive cos they were so surprised to see bb repeat something he learn in class.

I totally got no time nowadays cos the King of the hse have learn many things since the day he was born n I m amazed at the rate babies learn nowadays. I dun remember my cousins being able to do this at this age! Dunno whether to cry or laugh at the things he did....

He loves to climb in and out of the ball pit, nvm he is short, he swing himself till the ballpit tilt to a side n he crawls out! Almost bang into the tv console. And he knows where we keep the things, he cant talk but he can manipulate his grandpa to the spot where we keep his lantern n make the old folk bring him downstairs for a walk. My parents plc uses fingerprint access n while I was carrying him, he nudge n push himself forward n put 1 finger in to try to access like us. He saw my hb picking his nose n he tried to poke his own nose after tat, we were so shocked n my hb was laughing....making him tinks that its funny to dig his nose lo! My hb curse n swear while watching soccer and I am so worried my boy mite just pick tat up.

Really buay tahan staying at hm to look after him ald, thank god for my mum n mil, I tink I suck at being a SAHM. He scream so loud in the mall tat my hb could hear me fr the fitting rm!

Nites everyone, super tired after his PS n my back is aching till tdy. Old ald

kokamee, I got both the combi(2nd hand) and Maclaren, my boy prefers the combi cos he can put his leg on the handle or hold on to it.....I like both cos light weight but cos I always hang my bag , it topples when my boy is removed fr the stroller.

xin, u want the strap for? my boy always attempt to climb out of his high chair nowadays so I have to keep positioning him. My boy sure scream like mad if I use such strap, he hates to be tied up, nt sure if Matt will be fussy in this or nt.

firipy> i dunno if he'll be upset leh. i want to strap him so that he wont fall out lor. and seems like can use on other chairs also. abit like the totseat? though not so versatile ba.

ayden seems to be growing v well frm ur post. enjoy ur time with him. u gg bk to work soon?

xin>ayden will scream murder if I try to use a vest like that too. he hates being confined.

I finally went kiddy palace yesterday to get the tricycle I wanted for so long. He loved being in it, until you stop pushing it. He gave hubby and I a scare when he wriggled out from the tricycle at the taxi stand and he has since repeated it several times at home. really cannot b confined.

jessie>donno where got hospital nearby the hotel. But if that's a factor, maybe you want to try house ikebukuro where the taiwanese landlady can at least direct you? Chinese no probs for you, ya?

the market near ueno that Bryest refers to is called ameyoko and the factory outlet near hakone/kawaguchiko is called gotemba. got bus going there from shinjuku.

you need to tell us what u want to get then we can direct u to more shopping mah. :p

bryest>i want to see your japan photos too! hubby and I really loved kawaguchiko too. am i on your fb list? :p

btw, jessie can't access fb cos its blocked in china

andie>you got a carrier in the end?

jessie,

for pureed meat, u gave beef, pork & chicken oredi?

andie,

i'm using bjorn n found it not very gd coz its making my back n shoulder ache... somemore got the 'top' range which supposedly give more support to the back...

nvr tot of trying the bjorn @ home when SA acts up... will try tat n see if it helps...

sp,

nw my gal rejects 180ml milk most of the time... but when she's @ my MIL's, she can finish 180ml... dono hw MIL manage to get her to finish... so like tat, i hv no confidence in giving her meals in such short intervals...

kokamee,

am using combi n definitely its one of the lightest stroller... the down side is wat firipy mention... if bb not in stroller, cant hang heavy stuff on the stroller...

xin,

don tink mattias will 甘心 let u trap him in the seat.... haha...

Tyl- u got e Disney ones? 100 plus rite?

They can't be still hor. Hb n I tried to watch frm afar n saw he can get out in 3seconds effortlessly. Immediately lowered e high chair liao. At least won't fall so badly. :p.

xin>we got the mickey tricycle for $95. the pooh and assorted disney characters tricycle is 100+ but can double as a rocker. but we figure ayden doesn't need that plus we like the mickey tricycle better

firipy>ya lor. really must watch all the time. my ayden is really like a bull too. v stubborn and will just bash his way through everything

Hi, mummies

I have desitin creamy 4oz for sale $9. Exp 2012. Self collection at Sengkang or local postage at $1.

hi, i seldom post but i've got a ignorant question. If i wanna feed my girl other grains like millet or barley or any other grains, do i cook them like when i use white and brown rice to make porridge, add fish and vege? If not, how can i serve them and make them yummy? Thanks in advance. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

andie, I bought a manduca and it's great.. I can carry him to walk for like 2 hours and he always fall asleep inside.. no regrets on buying it.. but the downside is, now he wants to be carried then to be inside the stroller..

tyl. tt's nice. ayden must enjoy his tricycle alot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

talking abt bashing through. just now hb thought he built a v strong fortress but he managed to find a hole to squeeze through. quite feline i feel. :p

ET> i tried the manduca too. but like abit heavy. bought the boba instead. coz it feels teh lightest and coolest. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kacey> think can just add veg and stuff as usual. millet and quinoa are quite small. so usu i mix with some rice for bulk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tyl, tink they all same name, thats y they acted like what they are being named after....fiery saint! My boy can scream so loud till u jus give up cos really piercing!

xin/andie,u gals going to meetup at peekaboo thurs? I wanna bring my boy there b4 he overgrows the foc age, hee!

rer-rer: yup, peekaboo on thurs at 2.30pm onwards [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] See you there.

Thank you all mommies for your opinions! Guess at our LOs age and weight BBjorn is really not the way to go.

yl: the pikkolo was the most comfy among all that I've tried in-store, I think it has to do with the cross-back straps. But after wearing Emma in it for approx 10mins within the store I could feel the dampness at the back of her head. If we were ever outdoors with the carrier I think Emma and I would be drenched in sweat. When we make our move to UK I'm pretty sure I'll get one for my next kid.

Honestly, I went into the store wanting to get a Beco Butterfly 2, but the lady said the Beco distributor in SG hasn't brought in any for the last 9 months! Gosh.

Anyho, we chose the Patapum in the end. Clean European design and comfortable enough for both DH and I to carry her in, considering I'm 1.6m while DH is 1.8m.

ET: what I like about the manduca is the padding at the thigh area, but the padding does make it heavier than the other brands. The lady was all praise for this carrier, but DH felt it was too padded.

jessie: never had the chance to try Ergo, mainly cuz I didn't know where to look for it in SG. Till I made the carrier purchase. Heh. But all's good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The carrier would probably just for home use, I still prefer the stroller outdoors. Unless I'm taking a cab [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

just to share...

The other day I took a cab from tanglin mall, who would expect a gray-haired, skinny 60+ yr old taxi uncle to get out of the driver seat and lugged my 10kg stroller into the boot. Then the back tyres were too big and was sticking out of the trunk. Worse still, he was so so so nice and tried his best to assist! I was so embarrassed, but couldn't help him cuz was carrying Emma. So I paid him extra $5 for the trouble. If he had hurt his back that amount would cover peanuts.

xin>hee, the children quite clever these days lor.

firipy>looks like we gave them the rite name. :p

andie>ya, hubby prefers the cross bac straps of pikkolo. He feels its more secure. Eh, Ayden isn't that hot in the pikkolo. But then, we've been pampering him too much and been carrying him rather than putting him in the carrier.

we were deciding between pikkolo and manduca. ended up choosing pikkolo cos of the straps. We didn't get to try patapum cos Ayden was too small for it then.

aiyoh, the taxi uncle so sweet.

Thanks firipy n bbin2010 for the advice on stroller, will check out combi.

On confining baby...my boy can perform 'magic' ! He was stripped in the stroller n he can simply turn n twist his body to stand up in the stroller n free himself from being stripped !!! He was so quick n I was so worried tat he will fall out ! Juz cannot keep my eyes off him !

I think we all are facing the same problems of trying to retain them in an area ! But then no choice we can't stop them fr exploring the world ! :)

Kokame, u r most welcome, some combi only has waist strap. If ur boy can wriggle n stand, u mite need 5 pt harness which my boy hates! My boy ever tries to fiddle with the combi belts till they came loose b4 by accident. I almost flip!

morning all, long long time no log in here, how's everyone? anyway, happy to say that i'll be a june bunny mtb, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif], will talk more when i'm feeling bttr and ready, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning mummies!!

andie,

cab drivers nwadays rarely leave their seat to help in loading... tis uncle very gd liao... then again, if u're alone wif the gal, he cant expect u to be able to play 'stunt' by loading while carrying emma oso... haha...

kokamee,

u didn use the 5point lock isit? if only 3point to strap him, sure able to wiggle himself out... haha...

Linda> congrats!! always wanted to have a rabbit bb but guess bo chance liao, cause wanna change job so guess better dun get preggy first.. enjoy ya pregnancy!

Any mummies off on wed? taking leave so can have a mini play group at home hahah

Congrats to '3'Js Linda!

Sherry, I also hope to have a bunny girl, but Chris is simply too active and demand lots of attention from us now. Doubt I can handle a baby and pregnancy simultaneously. Most prob will plan for a dragon girl le...

Aiyah, I got meeting on Wed morning. Playdate morning or afternoon?

Yuki> ya think mine will be dragon or snake ba.. but gotta pray hard that i get a job first hahaha.. anyway, guess with a 2-3 years gap.. it will probably be easier for my helper hohoho.. and of course time to 'refill' my pockets..

Playgroup in the afternoon..

Morning mummies...

Wow, Linda! Congrats!!! Salute you for having no. 3!!!

kokamee> I also had a Capella and then bought a Maclaren Volo recently at the Taka Baby Fair.

Jessie> Am sure you will love Japan! Enjoy your trip! Let me know if you need my itinerary and I can send them to you.

Sherry> Playdate sounds good....Let me see if I can take half day leave on Wed.

Sherry, I v scared the longer I delay having #2, the more dreadful to go through the 'sufferings' again. So plan to have a dragon baby and then close shop. Hahaaa, hubby busy refilling pockets and mummy busy emptying it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Same same, I try to take half day leave and bring my Indiana Chris for the play date yah. Pass u your loot too.

congrats linda. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. i also feel like having another one soon. esp aft i see my friend's nb yest. so huai nian lor. but also abit dread gg bk to those days. esp with a young toddler ard the house. better not think too much hor.

sherry> hope to join ur playdate. but then mattias still abit ill. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].

firipy> if mattias still sniffing then cant go peek-a-boo too. enjoy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cab drivers> so far those i met all will auto come down and help. sometimes even with hb ard, they also help. :p. maybe we look v clumsy n frail. haha.

I am back in SH! It was a crazily busy weekend for me due to meeting family, packing, weddings and having to fly. Thus, didn't have time to come in and catch up. I do have some posts to reply to of which I'll do it later. Since I touched down yesterday till now, it has also been crazy coz' of all the logistics. Poor Nat has to take nothing but cereals and milk yesterday.

She must've been wondering where's her usual yummy lunches. Hhahah. Okay ... flight in itself was ok. No prob with flight attendants nor the flight. But it sure felt like the longest flight of my life! Whoever who read about what difficult travellers our babies are in this stage, you're so right!!!!!

Okay ... to be fair, maybe not all babies are like Nat. Basically, she had to wake up really early to catch the flight. And needless to say, on the way to airport and all the way to boarding the plane, she didn't catch any winks coz' too busy kaypo-ing. Got onto the plane, took her milk ad breakkie and then decide to drift off a bit and my a bit was like 30 mins! Then stayed wide awake for rest of the flight. She simply hates the bassinet now.

Cannot sleep in it! Previously, she would still play around in it, sit up and people watch. Now put her in bassinet, she cries. Needless to say, with the lack of sleep, she was super cranky! So fussed whenever she had to sit down. I had to carry her and stand up most of the time!!!

At that point in time, there was no way I could just let her cry herself to sleep in the bassinet or I'll soon receive dagger stares from all those around us. So I had to give in to her. But the moment we touched down and reached home, I told her ... "No such nonsense as in having to carry you all the time. When it's time to sleep, you have to sleep already." Oh boy ... I think it's only my daughter that can be so cranky during flights. Guess you other mommies should have better luck! Been crazily busy since touching down having to unpack, settle her and then head to supermarket to shop for food for the rest of the week.

Super glad that my mom is here that I can have a bit of break and go on date nites with DH!!!

hi mummies, wow it has been a while since i last came in tis thread, still moving as fast as our LOs...

Congrats to Linda!

Kokomee,

If you can, do free and easy for japan. I find the tour agency priced the japan packages too high. Let us know where you wanna go and we can direct you. Me and my hubby love japan and wanna go there every year.

Tyl,

Forgot Jessie can't view facebook. I haven't got time go post the photos up yet. Not sure whether you are in my facebook, what's you email add? I go and check.

You are a big fan of japan too yeh. Can remember all the names of the places. I rely on my hubby to remember. Hee

Andie,

I can't join you gals at peekaboo on this thurs cos hubby on leave. Will not have any chance to join you gals anymore cos starting work next Monday. Super sianz. Sigh 

I might be bringing estovan to polliwogs tomolo if weather not good. If weather is good, will bring him for a swim at my friend's condo. We brought him to marina barrage on Sunday and he doesn't seem to like the cold water.

Xin/firipy,

My boy will scream too if I confine him to the seat. He likes to lean forward when he's in his high chair and rocker chair. Strap himalso useless cos he will struggle himself out.

Yeh, the things they learnt are amazingly fast. Everyday also got something new. He just learnt how to wave bye-bye. He'll wave bye-bye to everyone except me and my hubby. When my hubby ask him to wave bye-bye to me, he'll cry cos he knows bye-bye means we'll leave him.

wow wow, busy with work recently...

And come in got surprise today...

Linda, congrats on the 3rd one...

Let us know boy or girl ok??

Tot you dreadful of having 2?

still miss having newborn ah??

Guess Van And Vin brought you lots of joy... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sherry babe, sorry cant join u on wed...

cos tmr take leave liao, wed cant...

Xin, hope Mattias get well soon...

Yuki, see you tmr...

ET, Andie,Xin,

at least your babies still love carrier...

mine prefer sling and i have to spend another $100 on the baba sling... luckily it's a gift from his grandmother... otherwise i really broke...

Lamb,

thanks for sharing. You really prepared me...

Shayne also can't sit quietly lor.

He wants to be walked ard...

I'm more or less prepared for my flight now...

left packings...

will need more updates from you and jessie abt the weather nearer to the date...

Mamad,

how are you?

long time no hear...

any updates on your LO? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bryest, glad that Estovan enjoyed his trip... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Juz finding out if any of u use cloth diapers for yr bb ? Those cloth diapers with buttons & microfiber inserts ?

Any comments ? Gd & easy to use ? Troublesome to wash especially when bb poo ?

My bb always seems to hv nappy rash rather frequently & also body rash.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bbin2010 : my bb went to see the PD last sat & her weight finally hit the 8kg point.....;p....hope she can grow & put on more weight.....;p

Re : carrier

Heee....I was recently also thinking of getting a gd carrier that can last bb until ard 3yrs old....;p....bb really getting heavier to hand-carry & she dun like to sit on stroller for too long now....;p

So, Beco & Ergo gd har ?

Think I must really go ard & tried the various carrier....;p

Lamb: Welcome back! Yes.. one thing I dislike travelling is when I come back and have to settle into the routine here again. Take it easy and I am sure in no time, Nat will have yummy food again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I told DH maybe I need to get an airticket , an actual seat for Arwen when I am going back SG next Jan, she is so so figgetive and I know there is no way I can carry her and walk to and fro in the craft esp the SH to SG route so much turbulence somemore. Going to be broke again! CNY tickets crazily expensive!

Iluvbabe : OOoooooooH... an itinery sounds good! Please email me at [email protected] !

I also noted the very good suggestions you girls give! i was initially very sian about the trip cos I quite tire of travelling but the places you girls mentions sound really good. I want to buy ANYTHING! So long never go nuts spending liao.

mstan: I think Ergo seems to be the only one that can really sustain a 3 year old and above leh. I got 3 other carriers, no use one..

Febie : Will be cold hor.. so just pack alot of warm clothes! Looking forward to have a playdate here with you and Shayne!

Joy : CONGRATS!!!! Wah! Sibei brave, 3rd kid! I am still slowly mentally preparing myself for a 2nd. I wish to have a big family too but the idea of living in France with 3 or 4 kids alone.. not possible..