(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Little lamb,

hope Nat's fever is gone and doesn't come back. Eh, you are back for the whole month! lucky you!

TYL,

Haven't brought her for playdates in Dubai. Actually I don't bring her out that much. Maybe she's naturally sociable. I think she's bored (of me) lah.

Cocomama,

YX is thirsty, looking at Coco's bowl! Haha. I agree, the forbidden fruit is sweet! Sometimes i also just let Renee touch and then tell her "yeah, so that's that. nothing too interesting right?" or "it's plastic. You have tasted that before already right?" haha.

On discipline,

What is it about "going back"? I didn't read that... sounds like you moved out and will be moving back?

littlelamb: Oh, okok, i will try potatoes cake one of the day! Thanks! I did try to put small tiny bread into her hands, but it seems she dunnoe how to put into her mouth.

Oh, hope Nat is getting well now.

Bryest: Maybe he is uncomfortable with the stomach, as he has not poo for 6 days. How about let him drink more water or try griping water?

Bryest,

Estovan constipated again uh. Maybe he didn't eat much so nothing much to poo poo? Give him avocado? low allergen and good for fighting constipation. More water and tummy massage also.

yuki: yup, the cane is for strict NOs, those trivial ones i'll distract/direct her attention to something else and praise her for doing so.

The cane will end and timeout begins (the naughty chair) when we can reason with them, which, in my case would be around 4-5 years old. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It's never easy to cane your own child, who would want to deliberately inflict pain on them? But I'd rather do so and keep her safe while I'm not looking/paying attention than for something to happen. Call me old-fashioned, for I believe "spare the rod, spoil the child".

tamL: how did ryan nap yesterday? Hope he slept well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin: Mattias is such a darling! Cant wait to see him soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway...

Went to gymboree earlier, and I signed up for the mix and match package where we can participate in either the play and learn or music classes.

Went to marketplace after class and bought free-range eggs, white potatoes, cheese and cabbage. Gonna make Emma some "rosti" from lamb's recipe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bryest>oh dear. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] give him more water? maybe bring him to the PD for some immediate relief then load his food with fibre and water for the next few days?

BTW, not sure if anyone is giving their bb Hyland's Teething tablets. If you are, please consider stopping. The FDA has recalled the product due to toxins in it.

http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ConsumerUpdates/ucm230762.htm

c yang - *sigh* Unfortunately, late this evening, Nat's fever came back, low-grade though. I know that there hasn't been any medical evidence to support this but I'm kinda suspecting she's having fever due to teething. When the last tooth erupted, she was having diarrhea and fever for 1 nite. I am not sure if it's related coz' she's been drooling quite a bit and also sticking her thumb to rub her gums a lot. Yeah, back for a whole month and this time round, mommy will go back with me. Hehhee.

andie,

Did Emma enjoy the class earlier? Which class did you go for? Play & Learn or music class? I sent nat for Play & Learn. It's to let me experience what it's like before deciding to join for SH's gymboree. Anyway, I signed up for membership to entitle me 2 free class in SH's gymboree since it's only S$10.

I lurrrrrrve Tanglin Marketplace. It simply has so many things compared to Parkway Parade Coldstorage that I go to. Although Parkway Parade cold storage is considered really well stocked and they have 4 seasons organic shop there. I'm glad I managed to find my organic gala apples at marketplace yesterday (after searching a few places) coz' I prefer gala as they're softer and I also saw the organic meat of which you were talking about. But too expensive for me to indulge. Hhehehe. :p My mom still believes wet market sells meat that is the freshest.

All the best to your 'rosti' and do take pictures to show us, k?

bryest : do u wat to try probiotics drops for bb ? I gv my bb this morning & she poo total 3 times....;p....yes, drink more water also helps....;p

Bbin> hee, can add mi [email protected]. Realized when we got back tt no group photo was taken. :p

Andie> I thinking of bringing mattias to some music based sessions coz realize tt recently he responds to music. But heard tt kindermusik is better aft I yo. Gymboree activities are suitable for them now?

U still gg peek-a-boo next thu?

Bigfoot> Hope u get well soon. join us next thu lah. Hee.

mattias' not quite a darling here, snatching emma's ball. :p

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4666086.jpg]

Hi, i have 1 Bird Park Admission Ticket with Panorail Ride (Adult) and

3 ZOO Admission Ticket with Tram Ride (Adult)

for sale cheap.. expiry 26 Jan'2011.

Selling $for 3 ZOO tickets and $18 for the Bird Park Ticket.

c.yang> mattias’ good. Also just learnt to clap hands. And now learning to stand. Life’s getting more and more exciting.

Last week, he started to have stranger anxiety? Wont let strangers carry liaoz. Can play, will reach out to them but wont let them carry. Esp female, males still ok. :p

Hope renee stays sociable. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] makes life so much easier.

Jessie> glad tt arwen’s back to her cheerful self. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Saying ‘NO’> I also read tt shouldn’t say too often. But sometimes really cant help it. :p.

Like bigfoot mention, they tend to hear the last bit and do just tt. :p. so have to talk in positive terms with them.

San shu gon mee sua> saw san shu gong at t3 today. But didn’t go in to see if they carry the mee sua.

jessie> i always massage clockwise leh. when facing baby.

bryest> hope estovan poos soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple,

I'll always let him drink water during and after his meals. Pd ask me to give him ridwind and stop giving him gripe water.

Cyang,

I'll go get avocado from ntuc tomolo. He loves avocado.

Tyl,

I called the pd and he says as long as the poo is not very hard, it's ok. I've been giving him prune everyday.

Jessie,

Has baby arwen fully recovered? Hope she's back to her bubbly self. I'll massage his tummy everyday after his bath. He poo a bit yesterday evening and the poo quite hard. I see him try to poo till face very red and he cried. Think the poo difficult to come out.

Mstan,

My boy is already on probotics.

C Yang:

Thanks for the suggestion on teaching the LO to come down safely from elevated surfaces. Tried that on Aly before but must admit i havent been conscientious enuf to teach her all the time. She has managed to get herself down legs first by fluke at times. Now that she at least pauses and sits by the edge instead of diving, i feel somewat a bit more relieved but definitely wont b complacent abt it. Dun wanna take chances.

Tam:

I am trying to teach Aly self-feeding at the moment so i do guide her to use the spoon whenever it's feeding time but of cuz, she definitely cant hold the spoon on her own and get the food into the mouth. Most of the time, ends up she flinging the food onto the floor instead. So that's why i suggested to Lamb to just line the floor with newspapers so that there's less cleaning up to do. So for those more oily food like the fish pie, i dun allow her to use her hand cuz i dun fancy having fish all over her face if she ends up rubbing her face with her hands during feeding time. I am one who cant stand mess but learning to let go now if i want self-feeding to b successful.

CocoMama:

I totally agree with you...marriage is about 2 families! I like your method of teaching the LO on forbidden things. It's so true...once the LO's curiosity is satisfied, they automatically not so interested in them anymore. Like my flower pot incident, after Aly has successfully pulled down the plant, she no longer ventures into that area, same with the wires.

Andie:

Interestingly, i share the same philosophy as you on the CANE! "Spare the rod & spoil the child". That said, i would not use the rod unless i really have to and i hope to NOT use it before she hits the terrible twos.

Cyang,

Are you still total breastfeeding Renee? Is she taking her semi-solid well?

My boy used to take his semi-solid very well. He can eat 1 bowl of cereal each for his breakfast and dinner. Lunch can eat 1 more bowl of porridge. However, he has been refusing to eat his cereal since last month and only eat a bit of porridge. I'm worried he does not eat enough and he will not drink milk if I'm not around. I'll be starting work in mid nov.

bryest>if pd say ok, then should b alright bah. Don't worry too much, ya? hugs

maybe estovan is tired of cereals and wants food with more texture?

xin>wah, clever mattias knows how to clap le? I should really bring ayden out more often.

callalilly>I thought Ayden how to come down safely from elevated surfaces several times but he still doesn't quite get it. :p

Xin,

What time are you gals going to peekaboo next thurs? I'll try to join you gals next week.

My boy poos last evening but not a lot and is quite hard. He has stranger anxiety since he was 5mths old till now. He'll play and reach out to anyone, including strangers but will only allow me and my hubby to carry him. He keeps smiling at everyone in japan and they thought he's a Japanese baby. Tourists even ask whether can take his photos. He prefers females than males though.

When he's in japan, he can sit in his stroller the whole day and fall asleep himself in the stroller. He will smile at everyone and even gets very excited when he sees babies or kids. But I realise when we come back to Singapore, he doesn't want to sit in his stroller at all. Keeps wanting me to carry him instead. And he's not as smiley and excited when he sees people, babies or kids. My hubby says he's back to his own country cos I found out I was pregnant with him when we came back from our japan trip last year. Haha

Tyl,

He doesn't want to eat his porridge which is more textured. I don't know what other food I can give him that I can mix with milk cos he doesn't drink enough milk when I'm nog around. So I have to add milk into his semi-solid.

Jessie,

I also massage clock wise direction when I'm facing him. I thought anti-clock wise is to prevent diarrhea. Correct me if I'm wrong. Hee

LSnTYL:

Hehe, that's why i say Aly only manages to get herself down from elevated surfaces by fluke...not that i think she actually knows how to do it or what it means to do that. I have also taught her a few times but since it's not quite getting into her, i have been lazy abt it too. Rather just leave her on the floor and since she hasn't yet master the art of climbing onto sofas though attempting to, i just leave things as they r for the time being.

Check with you, u mention u feed Ayden wholemeal bread, which brand of bread did u feed him with? I realise most of the wholemeal bread actually contains honey! So far, i have only used the Sunshine softmeal bread as breadcrumbs in cooking but cuz the granulated sugar which it contains is so little and since i used so little breadcrumbs in cooking, i can overlook it. But now that i intend to feed her bread as part of breakfast, i am just a little concerned. Any advice?

Andie,

**high 5** We are a strong believer of 'spare the rod, spoil the child' too. But of course we will not abuse the bb, too much beating/caning will lose its effects too. If talk doesn't work, then its 'show time'. Heeheee

Lamb,

no lah, I meant max 3 caning in a lifetime, not 3x a day. I got a strong feeling the 1st caning will be v soon next yr. Chris is really stubborn like ox, always test his daddy's limit. But he also loves his daddy's companion. Yesterday kept calling for him while daddy had his shower. Mummy jealous!

How's Nat today? Yah, could be teething. Keep her indoor these few days coz HFMD is on the rise again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bryest,

suggest u add veg in Estovan's porridge and give him a serving of fruits daily. I always make sure the porridge has 1 meat and 1 veg. Hubby grows his own sprouts and Chris loves them. Truely organic!

TYL & SP,

Chris dun bother abt coming down safely fr sofa. He continues to venture to the edge, hold tightly n bend down to see the floor. Haizzz...

Andie: Ryan napped for 2 hrs after the session on tues. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] he must be super tired.. he started napping on the train n continued even after he placed him in the cot when we got home..

Callalily: Ic.. Ryan likes to hold the spoon whenever I feed him so i would let him hold while i guide his hand n position the spoon.. like u, i also don't fancy having him rubbing his hands with food all over his face so haven't tried letting him use his fingers for wetter food. Only let him use fingers for dried stuff, so less messy.. But i guess shld let him try picking up fruit pieces soon.. Btw, how did Aly lose interest in the wires? anything u did? nw i'll sit near the wires n hide them so he doesn't see them n doesn't go to them..

yuki,

Hmmm, Nat's fever spiked up to 38.6 last nite, gave her paracetamol and after that hardly slept. This morning, I felt a bit of hardness on her gums so I'm guessing teeth about to erupt but I'm also not ruling out the fact that fever might be due to other reasons. Otherwise, she's as active as a monkey. I really dunno what's going on also and wished I knew. That's the thing when your babies get sick, they can't voice out discomfort and you won't know where is the actual pain. Can only keep guessing.

I just gave her cooling plaster. Am hoping that it'll bring the temperature down coz' I really am not very fond of giving too much paracetamol. It only treats the symptoms, doesn't treat the ailment.

Bryest>I donno leh. I think as long as he's taking more solids, he should be ok? Although its important that he gets his milk too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Maybe your PD can advice?

For ayden, we make sure his porridge/rice has at least 1 veg and he's also given fruits as dessert after each meal. Cereals we will mix with prune and peach puree. We also give him as much water as he wants. So far, he normally poos every 2 days.

callalilly>my mom buys the NTUC wholemeal bread. Its in a green wrapper. aiyoh, this bad mummy never looked at the ingredients. >< Just gave him once and since he liked it, we gave him more.

yuki>Chris is clever lor

TYL, huh Chris clever? He is super naughty & lazy loh. Like yesterday I bought a Walk & Ride toy for him. I taught him to use his legs to push the floor to move the toy. After I walked off, this lazy fellow put his legs on the top of the toy and called my mum to push him round the hse. So lazy!

Lamb, this reminded me when Chris was down with viral fever in July. He started with fever hovering ard 38deg. We thought it was teeting, then after 36hrs, the fever shot up to 39.5deg. Paracetamol and sponging didn't work n we rushed him to Mt E A&E. After all the blood tests, PD said was viral fever and got admitted. That week was nightmare to hubby n me. We hardly slept, took turns to carry him. PD said most imptly is keep bb hydrated during fever. Let her take more milk or water. Suggest u monitor and use the motherly instinct to tell u when to bring her see PD. Hope she recovers soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh, abt cooling plaster, when PD saw the cooling plaster on Chris's forehead the last time, he said it doesn't work. Jus some marketing gimmick. Sponging and more water work much better. So since then, I save $ n stop buying them.

yuki,

Thanks for sharing your experience. Yah, cooling plaster doesn't work for a monkey like her. It'll end up stuck on some cot bumper or part of her cot! So can I ask how does viral fever get treated? Or let it run its own course? How long did Chris take to get it over?

Yeah, been trying to give Nat more water these days to keep her hydrated. Think maybe today I'll give mee sua again. Can I ask if your walk and ride is from FP? I've been looking around for a walk and ride for Nat.

Lamb, PD did a series of blood tests to exclude possibilty of bacteria infection. The results were negative and from the trending of his fever, PD concluded to be viral fever. He gave symptomatic treatment, that is administer paracetamol every 6hrly and let Chris sleep on a cooling gel bed. Viral fever will last abt 5 days. Goes really high (39.5), then dip and up again. You know he is getting better when the spike (temp) gets lower. I plotted a temp chart myself using graph paper during the 5 days and still keep it as my reference.

I got the Playskool Walk & Ride from Isetan at $39.90. The handle to hold on while pushing the toy is very weak and I am bringing back later for an exchange. Dunno if it is a defect or jus like that. If that is the standard, I will ask for a refund coz it is simply not safe. FP has 2 model, one is $79.90 and the other is $99.90. Maybe I shld jus top up and get FP. Cheapskate mummy!

Tam:

I tried "no" mtd, followed by explanation the 1st time but Aly din seem to get it. Then i tried Cocomama's method, which is to let her hold the wires and play with her (with main power switch off of cuz)and then tell her cannot play with wires cuz they r dangerous and she can get electrocuted and die.And when she dies, she will not be able to see daddy, mummy or PACIFIER. After a while, she's kind of not into wires anymore. But could also b she has lost interest in them and moving on to other stuff like she's into throwing her dad's precious collection of CDs onto the floor from the CD rack etc. So ytd, we had to go and shop for shelves with doors and had to make sure that the doors are safe and the door handles out of her reach. ARGH!!!

TYL:

Thanks.will check out the NTUC wholemeal bread[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

c.yang> luckily he's not thirsty. he just likes to tap water. but there was once, i refused to feed him the puffs. i put the puffs in a bowl and offered it to him. he has refused to touch the puffs since his failed attempt to feed himself. so he resorted to trying to lick the puffs off the bowl instead. wondered whether he learnt it from observing my dog.

oh! we had a misunderstand with MIL and cancelled plans to visit, but she has since cleared the air and we will be visiting afterall.

sp_callalily> Yongxian can hold a spoon and guide it into his mouth, but by the time the spoon gets into his mouth, it's already empty.

our philosophy in raising Yongxian is that we are here to teach him how to take care of himself. afterall, we can't shield him from everything forever. so, we would prewarn him but still allow him to experience with things in a controlled environment and then explain the consequences to him.

i'm going to try the fish pie this week. i've been tempted to make pies for him since i love pies. hope it will turn out well.

lamb> do you stay near PP? PP is the nearest shopping place for me too. but i prefer NTUC Finest at Marine Parade over Cold Storage in PP simply because NTUC Finest is more spacious and I don't keep knocking into things with the stroller.

and speedy recovery to Nat.

cocomama> so u're also an east mummy. join us at gatherings leh. would love to meet yx. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tyl> clapping he learnt on his own. hee. but crawling on fours learnt aft seeing emma and lucas. :p. think they all progress diffly ba. think ayden more social. til now mattias still like donno how to watch time and anticipate daddy coming hm leh. :p

bryest> should be around 230pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. just nice not so crowded. and when the crowd comes in ard 4pm. it's time for us to leave. hope to see estovan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin> yes yes.. i am an east mummy. i am usually alone on weekdays unless i decide to give Yongxian's nanny half a day off... ha..ha.. i am tempted to bring him to a playdate too.

re: saying no

For me, i like kids to explore, as they have a natural curosity, provided you keep the place safe. So I let my LO wander off and taste grass, paper, touch wire, taste eraser, going down step etc to satisfy their curosity and learn. I will just ask her what it is like and she will smile back, and talk to her why it is good or not good to do so.

When older, I let them get sand on the body, getting paint all over the body and floor, or playing in the rain, which my older kids do all the time. To me, that's what childhood is about.

Furby> yeah, guess kids these days are too stressed up with all the extra curriculum classes parents enrolled them.. and guess thats where they are losing out on all the childhood fun...

Met this candidate this morning and she was sharing with me that she will like her kids to be naughty.. yes! Naughty! cause that allows them to tap on their creativity and allow them to voice out as and when required... She felt that kids in our era (70s and probably some 80s) are too discipline.. whatever parents/teachers say is definitely right and we dun even question or voice out when we feel that its not right etc.. Come to think of it, pretty true hoh!

xin>hee, clever mattias. looking forward to the next playdate.

BTW, Happy birthday!

cocomama>come lah, will be fun to have new playmate at the playdates.

furby>I like your concept. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fresh milk vs formula milk>2 people have recently told me that as long as bb is not lactose intolerant, can just give them fresh milk rather than formula milk as nutrient level is actually the same. Just wondering what the mommies here think. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Little lamb: Hope Nat's fever goes off soon.. u take care too.

Callalily: quite true abt letting them explore n once they get to it n play with it for a while, they'll lose interest in it.. About bread, maybe u can check out bread from Five loaves. Can be found at bigger fairprice branches..

Tyl: I've read that can give fresh milk after 1 yr old.. n if ur child's eating well n getting nutrients from other food sources, dun need formula milk.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cocomama: PP's fairprice's also my fav haunt during the weekends! haha.. maybe we've walked past each other but never realised.. agree with u abt the spacious alleys. these days, Ryan loves to brush his hands past the shelves when he's in the trolley so we gotta always keep a certain distance from the shelves. haha..

Yuki,

I'm giving him 1 veg and 1 meat/fish in his porridge everyday. I usually give either carrot or potatoes. Unless i manage to buy baby spinach. What vegetables do you give besides the homegrown truly organic sprouts? Hee I've been giving him prune for the last few days but he only took 5 spoonfuls cos very sour.

Tyl,

How much prune do you add in his cereal? Is it very sour? I steam and blend the prune. It become like prune juice but very sour. He still needs to drink at least 600mls of milk for his age. So I've to find different ways to feed him the milk like adding into cereal and feed him. If not, he will wait for me to come back after work and latch. Most probably just drink 200ml. But now, he refuse to eat cereal so have to find other food where I can mix with milk to feed him. Sigh

Happy Birthday Xin! Lil Mattias gives mummy a big hug n kiss! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AFann,

He's allergic to apple. So can't give him the puree. Do they have just peach puree? I'll go check it out at supermarkets later.

I let him try this japanese brand bottled carrot puree in osaka and he likes it very much. Thought Tokyo might have and wanna buy more back but can't find any in Tokyo.

Tyl,

I think I've a friend who gives fresh milk to her son when he's 1 yr old cos he doesn't want to drink fm. I'll check with pd this sat.

yuki,

Thanks for sharing! Okay ... will bear that in mind. Actually I also heard about the spike getting lower thing but Nat's kinda went up. But yesterday, her temps were ok until middle of the nite and this morning, still low grade fever despite paracetamol last nite. Oh no .... So Indiana Chris had to be hospitalized? You guys must've been really worried.

Can I ask how often did you take his temps? Every hrly? I brought Nat to see paed earlier, ruled out UTI after taking test. So now gotta see if fever persists on. If it does, might have to take blood test. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] The thought of poking her to take blood I very heartache.

So I'm praying hard it'll go off soon. Yeah, I am also thinking of getting the FP one for Nat when back in SH. But when they use it, we gotta constantly watch them right?

cocomama,

Thanks ... I also pray that Nat will get well. I dun live very near PP but I enjoy shopping around there. The supermarket choices I have near me aren't very good so I prefer to go there. There's a finest at Marine Parade? Near where? But I won't be surprised.

In fact I was puzzled that there wasn't any NTUC at PP. Plus a lot of rather well to do folks live in that area, not forgetting expats as well. Reading about your post on YX and licking the bowl. You may be right that he has observed coco (i presume that's the name of your dog?) and had learnt. Kids pick things up from what they observe around them so i won't be surprised.

tam L - Thanks for your well wishes ... i truly hope that Nat's fever will go off soon. Then I can ascertain it's viral fever and not something more serious. I'd really hate for her to have to do blood test! Meanwhile, just gotta give her paracetamol if the temps go up.

Bryest>my mom said Ayden refused to take the prune puree recently so I got her to mix it with the peach puree I made. He likes it better now. Each time, we give him about 30ml of the puree. Prepared like you, steamed then blended.

I also gave him fresh prunes, cut into pieces. He likes it too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]