(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

Manu
Yup!

Have you started on reno? When do you intend to move?

hi mummies/daddies,
baby Faith wake up liao. Din cry, smiles at me. Lower lips still swollen, eyes a bit (so she will rub her eyes), no more phelgm, hive (rashes) on her neck gone. Thank God!
I searched the net, i think she is allergic to milk powder.
Have sent an email to Dumex to get some advice by Monday.
Will keep her progress in view, i hope to see her symptoms will slowly fade.

1xmummy, yup u monitor baby faith's condition yah... Sometimes bb allergic to milk powder also no choice, don't feel bad or guilty yah...

Manunited, thanks for recommending... In the end we went to xian de lai steamboat at bugis...

anyone got problem introducing formula to ur breastfed baby? my girl taste the formula immediately she zip her mouth -.- shit man.

I change to breastmilk, immediately she suck... how ar... i try mixing a little formula.. i dunno whether it will work...

1xmummy, oh no. Think u better stop the fm for nw 1st.. Hope faith faith faster gt well.

Akk, expo fair selling the monitor u wan n cheap! $200+ only. Can see fr pc n even phones. For iPhone, they hv an app for it n jus access it then can see where the camera is.

smalldreams - not yet...looking ard for ID...have u gotten ID already?

we intend to move by end of the year or early next yr if possible...so not very hurry to reno...

Weiting,
so did u manage to find a good zi char pl? There's a good thai zi char (I think called Little Thai Village or something) used to be at Sembawang Shopping Center but moved to a non aircon place liao.

1xmummy,
I heard that babies who are sensitive to milk powder might have to go for soy bean powder. might need to check with your PD.

Ainsley,
Thanks! wow! that's a stone with many kill if it has all those function. I'm going for a bday party tmr, might not be able to go down to the expo. do u still recall what brand is that monitor?

hi mummies & daddies out here,
my son is currently 25 weeks and he kept biting on his lower gums and grind them. Are these signs of teething? Cos this has been coupled with drooling but till now no sign of any teeth yet.
Can anyone advise?

Rhyea, thanks, today got a aunty at NTUC just approached my baby and touched her face when she was in the stroller. Maid was pushing her then cos I was looking for something on the shelf. Duh, never even ask for permission, how I know whether her hands got germs or not, I think it's rude lor. :p

hehe, I also don't know why she cross fingers leh. But not effective leh cos Mummy never strike 4d today leh. ;P

Ainsley, sometimes I resist checking my iphone or I'll end up even more awake. :p

1xMummy, oh dear, hope Faith is ok now. Different babies got different reactions to FM. Yours definitely sound like allergy, the last time my no. 1 also had hives when she took a particular cough syrup. :p As for FM, my no.1 is ok with Friso but she LS with GainIQ. Also good lar, cos Friso was so much cheaper than GainIQ.

My lil moomoo started scratching my arm while nursing!! Hurts like hell n left scratches on my arm. I beat her hand when she does it but it din stop her.

Anyone also encountering the same problem. Any tips to stop bb from doing it?
Dunno is it milk too little, she buay song and showing her displeasure by scratching me

L_L, yup, my hubby glared at the back of her neck when he came back. He walked away to buy something for no. 1. Don't know whether the aunty felt the heat of his glare though. haha. :p

1xmummy, hope faith faith is alright now!
Think she may be allergic to FM...you may have to switch her to soy milk.
If not, try other brands and see how.

Pooh- yes should be teething, my gal also drool n wana biting since last mth n tada her tooth come out last week when she reach 6th mths!!! So no more a " Bo gay" now
n now she enjoy munching all kinds of biscuits, bread n apple....

The night b4 I insomia, last nite nn's turn. Wake dr darkness till nw bright bright! =_=' y is she nt a gd sleeper?!

Akk, I forgt the brand alr. They hv 2 kinds of cameras. One can hv all view which cost $300+. (looks like those survillence camera in shopping centre). The other is one one view at one angle at $200+. (looks like bigger version of webcam) both gt audio n video. It's gd cos its simple. Jus plug n play. Dun need hook to this n tat. U just go ther and grab b4 or after ur bd party lor. It's at the Farlin counter. They only accept cash.

gd mummies...
have a very busy week till no time to catch up on the posts... finally finish reading all...

i'm on for the lunch at novena on 14 jun...

Ivy: not to scare u lah, but last time when I intro fm to my daughter at 11 months old, it was a nightmare. Started with Enfa, then Friso, Mamil, etc etc, before finally succeeded with Similac. I had to mix bm n fm for 2 days, then slowly reduce ratio of the bm portion slowly before fully replacing with fm. Then after she gets used to the fm taste, then we alternate some feeds tbm, some feeds tfm.

ivy, when i switched my boy to FM, i slowly intro FM by replacing 1 FBM feed with FM for 3 days, then 2 FBM feed with FM for another 3 days and so on...

recently Dr Ong said my boy suffer from eczema.. I'm thinking if wanna switch from Similac to Nan HA.. but dun think his eczema triggered by Similac lehz.. sighz.. dunno if shld switch or not..

Ha Pauline, shld do it in front of her. But seriously I don't like ppl to pinch my boy's cheeks too cos hands actually have alot germs. Somemore my boy also has eczema, so best is not touch the face.

But cayenne, will fm cause eczema? My boy also drinking similac.

Sigh cayenne I replace 1 feed with formula, she dun want at all.

Calamari, ya then I tried mixing 150 ml n 30ml formula, she then unwillingly drink... Nite mare really. 1 challenge after another.

cayenne : my pd also said my bb hv eczema & she drinking similac now (chged fr nan pro).....also dunno is it becos of fm or similac ?

I also thinking of chging to nan ha but scared she dun like as heard nan ha a little bitter. Nan ha 1 dun hv small tin & my bb going to be 6mths end of this mth....her fm going to finish soon (abt 1wk or so)....so was thinking to get her nan pro 1 1st then after 6mths then try small tin of nan ha 2 on her ?

Btw, besides nan hv HA milk, which brand hv HA stage 1 & 2 milk & in small tin ? Anyone knows ?
Thks !

ivy ya like wat calamari says mix bm wif fm. my boy super sensitive to the taste coz i oni intro fm after 12 mths. so at first is like 95%bm with 5%fm. then slowly increase fm and decrease bm till he is totally ok wif 100%fm. the first few tries may be rejected totally. but don give up. juz keep on trying. one of the days ur kid will take it.

1xmummy u may wanna try soy milk. ivan will have red rashes around the mouth area when he drinks cow milk. he sensitive to cow milk. so he had soy milk up to 24 mths then i try cow milk and he was ok.

L L - no leh.. no disc i tink...

ivy - or u try other brands... my method is the same as cayenne... intro 1 feed for 3 days.. then 2 feeds for another 3 days..

cayenne - dun tink ezcema is caused by fm.. wat else dr ong say???
how did u wean off pumpin totally? mi now pumping twice a day - 12 hours each.. dunno how to prolong to one pump... how u do??

heading to Tampines Ikea...anyone going ? Enyu is officially 6 mths old today :p

Later we do live reporting if Giant got sales.

Hi ..

Ivy.. I did the same way as per cayenne..

Replace one BM feeding with FM.. for at least 3days.. then another feed for another 3days.. till all completely change over..

Cannot intro all straight away.. do it slowly..

So far, my bb is adapting well.. can recognise bottle le.. whenever is time for feeding and she saw the bottle.. she will cry for it.. lolx..

hihi...

mstann: my boy on NAN HA since birth, nt bitter at all lei, i always taste before feeding bb... me so far so gd... maybe since bb, i always give ebm, latch or even fbm, he take it all well.. until 2mths +, i officially intro FM and he also drink lei, nw he is 5mths,me since 3mths+, start to go bk to jus latch day time or ebm day time , night time 1 feed of FM, he also take it....

ivy: maybe u try slowly lor.. now bb older liao, more picky ma..hahha.. she stil prefer mama milk milk... anyway, can intro solid liao ma, maybe u mixed with FM n let her have a taste of it more freq lor...

anyway, my PD mentioned tt only chg to stage 2 FM when bb is 7mths cos dun rush into it, cos when 6mths, intro cereal, its already a diff taste liao... so must slowly see.. see if got any reaction or allergy...

hey.. all mummies... when can we let bb zz on pillow??
also those like heinz fruity apple or pear.. do we nid to warm it? how do we warm it? or we need to add into cereal or jus feed like that??
damn confused...

Manunited: let me check when in office on Monday, can't remember if i've made any lunch appt on 14th.

1mummy: sounds like bb faith is having allegery. Best is to check with doc.

Mummies: who's checking for 2 packs of pampers for 25.50 @gaints? There're a lot at gaints turf club! Bought 4 boxes size l last weekend, and just bought another 4 boxes (2 l & 2 xl) today! I've stocked up close to 30packs at home! Super kiasu! :p

Mui: I put the whole bottle in a cup of warm water to hit it up. Tried feeding my bb with Heinz carrot, potato purée last week, but he simply hates it! Tried Heinz banana porridge today and he spits it out today! Looks like he doesn't like Heinz at all! He loves nestle brown rice cereal, and apple cranberry cereal.

thks canopyhaze, u bou so many!!!wanna sell me 2 boxes to me?? when is the offer till?? duno got time to go there anot now...

Miu ur boy no reject ar? I intro only at 3rd feed, not switching all suddenly, am not so kan cheong. But tat 1 feed even if I only mix in 1/3 fm she also dun take. Looks like she has a sensitive tongue or fussy eater... Sigh

pauline, so rude of the aunty to just touch her without asking for permission! Maybe need a sign like this one =]
4072047.jpg

Pauline, last time I had similar experience as u for Phoebe. It was during SARS period somemore. I showed that lady an unhappy face n she scolded me bk lor! Said me 'wat kind of mother is this!' =_='

nummies, order nepia b4 30th gt discount. $14 per pack.

vivi, dunno if FM will trigger eczema.. but cos was thinking prob HA (hypoallergy) milk may help to prevent triggering the eczema..

ivy, tt time Dr Ong and Dr Koh (both from ICAC) told me not to mix FM with EBM/FBM.. said like tt the nutrients in EBM/FBM will be destroyed. Dr Ong even told me off for saying my bb is a fussy eater. He said when they hungry, they will surely drink. So tell me DUN mixed the milk...

mstan, the nurse at ICAC mentioned that enfa oso got HA FM.. but she said NAN better.. actually all the HA milk the same.. but enfa do more advertising, so pricier.. whereas nestle old brand, no need much advertising, thus cheaper.. so NAN HA will do.

miumiu, Dr Ong asked me to moisturise my boy more often.. which i told him i did.. i used BUDS everyday cream on my boy daily.. then he see liaoz say no need so complicated moisturizer (containing vit E, etc).. said as simple as possible will do.. so i asked izzit those J&J pink colour kind will do, but he prescribed me this moisturizer call 'Physiogel'..

btw, i took quite long to wean off pumping.. after 12 hours, try to drag to 14hrs.. then keep dragging until one day once.. then prob 28hrs once... and slowly no more liaoz.. muz bear the pain for the 1st time u try to drag the hours..

Ivy- no reject at all.. N ya actually bm shd not mix wif fm.. But if bb dun wan then no choice but to mix n let bb try..

Canopyhaze- whole bottle? So hav to finish or throw away??

last nite we shifted our boy into his own room... cuz he's now 6mth+

At what age do mummies let their kids have own rooms?

I thought what we did is common.. but after checking with some friends today, I don't know any who have done so.. and some of my friends' kids are toddlers already...

is what we did so "weird"?

by the way, our doors are still wide open.. and we checked on him 4 times last nite..cuz it's his first nite "away" from us

oops, looks like it's not ez to intro fm?
my boy is still on bm, giving him ebm for at 4-5 feeds & fbm for 2 feeds a day.
as there r still abt 100 pkts of fbm in the freezer, dun foresee introducing fm in the near future.
but think tis would mean he would b more accustomed to bm by the time i wanna intro fm...
oh no, means gonna face more 'resistance'.

my boy is going for his 3rd 5-in-1 jab tmr.
keeping my fingers crossed tt he wont hve any side-effects.
but given the experience frm the 2 past jabs, think probably he'll be feverish.

nevertheless, i m still praying hard.

L_L, Ainsley, I wanted to tell her off but she saw me looking at her and went 'Oh, your baby is SOOOO CUTE!' Then I paiseh to openly scold her lor. Said 'thank you' somemore though I secretly 'buay song'. :p

Rhyea, the sign is SOOOO CUTE!!! Wish I can get one. But I think that Aunty doesn't even understand English. -_-

Hello hello mummies!!!!

Mstan8888, I'm using nuk size 2M. Started with size 1M, took bb 8 mins to finish and gotta constantly twist and turn as he sucks very hard. Tried 1L, flow is very fast, some choking, finish within 4mins, gave up. like rhyea said, With 2M, flow is bit faster then 1M, still took him 8 mins to finish but because the size is bigger, he won't suck till flatten the teats. Can't imagine 2L..

1xmummy, how's bb faith now?

Sharon, bb Daphne so fast teeth come out Liao? Mine drooling n biting for past two months plus bit swollen gums but still no teeth leh...

Pooh, mine also likes to grind lower gum, I suppose it's teething..

Manunited, I did ask doctor whether fever is signs of teething, he said yes but nt all babies will have it. Signs of diarrhea or more frequent poop may linked to teething..

Anyway my boy did had more poop then usual(this two weeks) n sometimes his temp will go up to 37.1 but still no teeth.. Heard teething may be a long process for some..

hi, mummies.

wanna get a playmat for my boy.
nd some 'enlightenment' on the types of playmat available?
wat's the diff btw the lg & parklon ones?
which is better?
& how abt those sold in mini toons outlets?
sorry for being such a 'mountain tortoise'. :p

Skinneybeanie, you are not weird!! Me also thought of letting my boy to sleep on his own but too bad I haven't got a place of my own yet.. This practice is mostly use by Caucasian cuz they train their children to be independent since young. So not widely use here. Once my flat is ready, I'll train my boy to sleep on his own.

Ainsley, thank you for your invite to carol's open house! And thank you to carol for organising! But I'm unable to attend it
hope to see you'll next time! Enjoy mummies!!!