(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

I having sore/swollen nipples. Got milk inside but cant really pump out/empty becos sore nipples so pump got a little pain althou using middle/low suction (using ameda dual).
How ? Engorged / breats full but pump got a little pain. Btw, bb dun wat 2 latch me anymore.
How to pump ?

Roxy, I finally logged into facebook and saw all your pics. Wa, you are really a young hot babe mummy. Love all the pics. Trying to convince hubby to go for another photoshoot soon.

MsTan, I advised you at Jan10 thread just now. Not sure if you read it yet. I also got blockage recently, cannot pump, must hand express then milk can come out. I think when the outlets are blocked due to swelling, it's like that. :p

ainsley : my aunt gaf me food hamper for reyes' one month.. -.-" haha.. so i got cereal, pear juice blah blah.. for 4 mths onwards.. dunno when to let him try leh.. he will look at us eat like v greedy like that.. i spoon feed him water he will still use the tongue to "suck" so dunno if he is that ready..

ice : stingray mercury level too high.. preg that time not advisable.. so bf that time oso better dun.. mackeral as well.. i miss sambal stingray!! v long never go chomp chomp le.. sigh!!

WAH!! the gathering at calamari's place sooo nice!! the babies super cute lo!!! later i go see one by one!! haha.. so many mummies n babies!

mstan : me too!!! my nehneh zeng lo! like got tennis ball inside.. v dulan.. called up mdm rokiah.. but she go JB then only mon can go down her shop.. no choice i got tmc LC to come my house.. press until i wan to cry.. baby dun wan to latch so he boey song the flow oso.. sigh.. mdm lockiah.. u got special consultation anot.. =(

wohooo.. saw the pics on FB... so many mummies and bb lor...so cute...

erm, monday gatherin cfm onz bor? i maybe can attend, is lileen place ya? punggol? pls PM me ur addy and ur hp can?
any hubbies gg ? can jus bf there openly ? no need bring nursin shawl??? whahahaha...

luwen, if your bb knows how to swallow from spoon, you can feed solids le..

ivy, solids refer to congee right? i give le. initially my boy is 5 feeds of FM per day. now i change the routine.

testing stage
first, i cook porridge and spoon feed a few grains to see if he can swallow anot. and he did.

first day, i cook brown rice w/ normal rice congee with ikan billis powder n dried scallops. so i scoop a few spoons(4 tablespoon) for him to eat then top up with FM.

second day, i add in more congee(8 tablespoon) and top up with FM.

third day, i replace FM entirely with congee. ard 12 tablespoon. as he finishes, i add in till 15 tablespoon the next day. i guess that's the max for him. if he cries, i give water.

now, i replace one of his noon feed with congee lo. i tot that i can replace one noon feed with congee, which means he'll only get 4FM a day. who knows, now he bigger liao, nv sleep for long hrs straight, he still managed to have 5 feeds of FM a day. so total 5FM + one congee.

after feeding congee, i'll play and nap him. 3 hrs later give FM.

pls take note of bb's poop after intro congee. check if the poo poo is still the same or not.

Mstan ur one is nipple sore due to what ar?? bad latch?? Like tat only hand express. Put lanisoh gel.

Luwen if ur nipple not sore u can try compress in hot shower but water better to be running from behind ur neck to the breast then u compress. Once u see manage to spray means u manage to push out the blockage, then u can try pumping n press the lump if doesn't seems to pump out. Most lumps are cause by plugged ducts. The milk in ducts solidify n become a blockage. So got to be push out. If push up to surface n u see it - usually a tiny white dot , u can expedite the removal by using needles if u dare to remove it like removing a splinter like tat.

ivy, mine is not cereal. its congee leh. i guess it works the same? for the testing stage, i give in between milk. when he's not full or hungry.

then slowly, i feed during feeding time. initially he keep crying cuz i feed slow and he gets impatient. so battle for 5mins then ok liao.

for first few days, try to stand by the milk by the side. chances are we gotta top with their feed. cannot one shot change one feed to cereal. gotta get them adjust to it.

btw, if u wanna feed cereal, i suppose u meant those cereal itself, not those mix inside milk wan right?

Fed Bb at 11pm after putting no. 1 to bed n she woke up at 515am for feed. Why she cannot sleep through no matter how late I feed huh? Sian...

Ivy, forgot to tell u. Thurs night I so sian over blocked duct but tmc parentcraft closed for appt. End up I use needle to prick, really got fore milk flowing from one duct. But after that I still not sure, prick another 2 more then see blood. Ouch! :p

roxy, I rented an exersaucer for raelynn n a tricycle for no. 1. Hope Bb will like it, it's so big. Haha.

ivy : think maybe nipple sore due to long pumping ? Yes nite I shower, my left breast got 1 hole spray out milk & my right breast got milk dripping.....;p....so after bathing & doing some stuff, do some pumping (1 hr of pump & hand press), got some milk come out....left breast seems soft but not right breast....still hard & dun really come out much. But left breast below & right edge still pain when press.

Btw, I dun dare use needles to prink becos scared prink wrongly & I very scared of pain....;p
Btw, can I pm u my hp & I sms u for advise instead? Thks !

pauline : was thinking of going to mdm rokiah or tmc lc to clear blocked ducts again on min.....oh shit, I juz went tmc less than 2wks ago only.....

Always kana blocked, y like this ?
Wan to stop bf liao.....so troublesome....

How to stop without causing blocked ducts?
Sure engorged if dun pump wat ?

Oh yes, my ameda pump motor something wrong for some time, so sent for service on fri aftn. Got a loan motor so maybe it's my breast problem lor....;p

luwen : I always kana blocked easily wan becos bb dun wat latch anymore & my flow always very slow & short....

Jeanie, wow. U r fast. Isn't it too early to replace milk with solid nw?

Miu, Tristan woke up for feed last nite? He din play with nn long enuff in lala land leh.. Lol

calamari,
thks for having us.
we had fun

mummies @calamari's hse,
nice meeting all of u

Lileen,
hv pm u my email address le.

morning mummies! so cute the picture.. hope can join your guys in the next gathering.. my girl give me great surprise today.. put her on my bed.. she urine the whole bed.. dont know whether is it my diaper changing skill terrible.. she using mamy poko leh..

need to change whole bedsheet!

hi mummies, who else coming on mon? So far only augleo pm me le. The rest still on not? Pls pm me by this late noon so that can cfm attendance. Augleo, if less than 4 mummies coming, u still on or off? Guess many return to wk liao. Mtdt u cfm on already rite? Luwen wat abt u?

ainsley - no leh.. he officially zz thru the nite!! not even water..
he zz from 1130pm to 645am...
mi onli woke up once to pump!!
wat time nn wake up??

faith - wahaha.. mayb one this time neber wear properly... or isit the size not rite??

mstan - we shd drag the interval longer.. like now mi pump every 6 hrs.. if mi wanna stop.. will drag to every 8 hrs.. but still hav to pump finish... so that there wun be blocked ducts.. then a few days later.. drag longer until the ss drop drastically...
it will take at least 2 weeks i tink.. not immediate oki??

miumui : I now sore nipples so difficult to pump-use low suction & hand express so take a long long time (1.5hrs)....;p
Me also pump every 6hrs....;p
But when u pump, still pump until empty ?

babyjosh : I now pump 15mins then massage for 15mins then pump 15mins the massage 15mins & it continue until 1.5hrs....;p
My flow very very slow & short. How abt u ? Btw wat pump u use ?
Mummies, any advise on how to pump effectively ?

babyjosh - mi pump abt 20 mins.. 30 mins like beli long.. or u use a lower suction so wun be sore??

mstan - mi still bf.. so if i stop will use the said method.. ya.. mi still pump until empty..or else will have blocked ducts..
u got use nipple cream?? apply after every pump and put breast pads.. will feel better..

miumiu : yes, I apply nipple cream & use breast pad if not my bra will be wet....;p
u pump 20mins can empty ? I cant even on normal days.....;p

mstan - mayb my ss not a lot.. so 20 mins will empty liao.. how much u pump per session?? mine is abt 200ml onli.. so quite fast for mi..

Lileen,
i'm on, coz aldy apply "leave" from hb. u are the host u decide

bbjosh,
tmr meet up is at punggol 2pm to 5pm.

Faith,
that is one of the reason for not changing my mattress now.

miumiu : 200ml per pump both sides alot as compared to me liao.
My flow very very slow & short wan....;p
Maybe my reservoir very small so always feel full easily....;p
My ss varies - noon/aftn the least only abt 80-130ml only.....eary morn the most abt 200+ml....these few days sore nipples like not much....;p

mstan & mui: last time i pump 20 mins can yield average 240 every 4 hours.. now pump 30 mins only 200 or less every 6 hours. Sigh.. gonna try fenugreek n nursing tea liao. do you take these?

mstan: wah 1.5 hrs is really quite long... i'm using medela pisa. maybe you can try roxy's method: handexpress for 5 mins for let down then pump. or massage b4 pump.. or massage during pump?

babyjosh : I use ameda....it seems medela pisa better ? Do u pump continously for 30mins ? I cant seem to hv let down so fast....must pump 15-20mins then let down & even so, very slow & short....;p....I sore nipples so pump 15mins then rest/massage 15mins then continue the cycle lor....but cant seem to empty....;p
I FTWM. U ?
I also try to pump 4X a day but only abt 550-650ml....;p....these 2days ss went down becos sore nipples....;p

mstan, u can pm me.

By right pump 15-20mins can liao. Adjust the strength to the pt that u feel bit pain, then lower it a little till comfortable. 15mins or so should have let down. Pump 1hr is bit long leh, no wonder will sore lah. If u pump 15 to 20mins no let down, either pump strength is not right, too strong also will not have let down, its suppose to stimulate the nipples till let down and not suck hard hard. If 16mins or so no let down, start to use the other hand compress.

I pump each 15 mins, 2 breast at most 150 every 4 hrs, 6hrs sometimes maybe 250 to 300?? Now ss drop liao.

Pauline, dun anyhow prick leh, tat time i desperate also prick till bleed. By right after we pump finish or feed baby finish, shld only left with hindmilk (opaque milk color) when we hand compress. When u compress ur lumps, see which duct got transparent/translucent foremilk. If in hot shower, just hand compress it empty, dun bother to go out pump out so the milk wont be wasted. Its at hot shower that the ducts open tat can press out easier, and the plug (solidified milk clot) that can be push out. One the plug surfaced, that u can see with ur eye, then u use needle to remove it. Sometimes i dun see it, i use not so sharp needle to push around the duct that got the foremilk, try to open it up to see if the plug is inside.

I would prefer mdm rokiah then LC, cos LC press it so hard, cos we dun dare to press so hard ourselves mah. Whereas mdm rokiah use hot compress, i find it comfortable.

ms tan, my left breast pump liao feel empty, my right breast pump liao always feel full still, i think fats haha. As long as no painful lumps its ok.

Miu, this is the more natural way to stop breastfeeding. Eg. last time u pump 15mins every 6hrs, do that for 3 days. Next 3 days, pump 10mins every 6hrs. Next 3 days 5 mins every 6 hrs, next 3 days 3min, then 2mins.. then 1 min. So u dun extend to 8hrs, which might make u engorge. The idea is to remove milk to prevent engorge but tell ur breast ur baby dun need so much milk liao.

mstan - mi pump 4x per day.. so total abt 800ml.. oso FTWM.. sigh.. so will stop at 6 mths.. using the medela mini.. use freestyle before but tink not suitable for mi.. the yield is less than usual.. so i gave up and continue using mini electric plus..

babyjosh - no le.. mi dun take all the supplements.. cuz onli left 1 and half mths for mi.. and itz still eunf for my boi.. so juz maintain can liao...

As usual, i'm trying to catch up on all the posts..

lileen, i can really feel for u.. i was also sick last week as well n had to still take care of #1 n #2 n cant take MC even though i was given MC cos haf been super busy since i return back to work... when i came back from work, really feel like dying but of cos i force my hubby to help me out..

hubby needs to be trained... i also trained him to help me to sterilise the bottles since #1 time as he dun need to feed them or wake up to take care of them.. at first abit tough but slowly he will get used to it n help to sterlise everyday... but of cos, at times he will still forget n i will wash at the wee hours of the morning..

men sometimes u haf to get soft to get things done... i do cry at times, then my hubby will get stress n help me out more.. it's our secret weapon... hope it helps..

ivy - reali? but shorten the timing does not empty the breasts and will have blocked ducts eventually.. no meh??

ivy : if I pump 20mins, maybe 1 letdown but slow too & only last abt 10sec only.....not much milk out.
Somemore 20mins pump cant empty my breast.
My 1hr incl 15min pump then rest 15mins then pump 15mins then rest 15mins so total 1hr.....;p
Btw, I using middle suction for my ameda pump.
U using medela pisa ?

Re: pumping
I am pumping exclusively. I pump every 5 hours, 5 x a day. Sometimes I pump every 6 hours, then it'll be 4x a day. Every pump is 15 to 20 min. Yield about 1.2 to 1.3 litres per day. Am using Medela PIS Advanced. My boy drinks about 900ml a day, so the rest I freeze.

Mstan: if u ask yiqi about ameda pumps, she will hv a lot to complain about haha!

Mstan I also ftwm, now tough to pump cos busy n office shophouse, open space -.-

I use medela Pisa, only prob is I can't double pump, my right breast need bigger strength, if I double pump, push strength up for right breast left breast can't have let down.

Ice agree IFC too many things happening so my girl hard to nap also, she super distracted sometimes dun wanna eat too. The head teacher headache cos she worry but I tell her dun worry haha.

Calamari, thanks for opening up your place eh....it was a successful event!

Ice, ic... Thought tat my boy @ IFC didn't manage to rest well. Being a FTWM really not ez...been discussing with hubby can b SAHM he gave me a "No" answer. He was saying no money for shopping, no pedicure, no restaurant etc... U ok meh.... haizzz...tat's part n parcel of life....

like really weekday like didn't spend much time with my boy so weekends like really "tanking up" kekeke....

Miu, supposedly by reducing pump time we pump out the milk enuff to reduce engorgement, leaving some milk behind tat tells the body these are unwanted milk n apparently our body will absorb the milk.

So when u reduce the duration bit by bit won't engorge but leaving our full breast longer will cause block ducts.

augleo, sabby, will email u guys by tonite to see if still on not. Unless u both r ok wif juz 2 of u. Haha. I'm surely at hm. So does not matter. But juz afraid cos no mummies n babies, so defeat the purpose of meeting. Will see if anymore cfm by end of tonite. If less than 4 mummies, then we cancel . If hv 4 then we proceed ok.

ainsley, yah. replace with one feed liao. since he's taking it well, i continue lor. plus FM is phlegmy.. and with congee, i can give him a mixture of nutrients in addition to milk. im gonna skip cereal cuz cereal is sweet. i dunwan him to take too sweet stuffs as FM is sweet already.

hey lileen, sorry tmr cant go liao. hb just told me my inlaws coming over... *bleahz*

calamari: wah your ss so good!

mstan: Ya i pump continuously for 30mins so maybe tts why sore nipples. I'm a SAHM who dun dare to latch. Think bb also wun want cuz on ebm bottle since long long ago. only latch him for 1st week.. no milk so he was so frustrated. me too.

Are you taking nursing supplements?