(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

Shokel,
Thx for the info.

Does your boy turn around a lot while standing inside the LP activity center or just kept still at the same spot to play the same thing?

Is he standing or sitting most of the time?

Ainsley : happy birthday!!! : )
Happymummy: i'm still pumpin at work and at home. My baby already reject my nipple since 4 months. : (

Happymummy: my boy still on tbm
not latching, I'm exclusively pumping 4x a day.

for the around we go activity, will the bb get bored with those activities easily? i scared my boy will lose interest playing after a while...

ever let him try the exersaucer at the bb expo fair, but his head not that strong then, like his head banging down on the surface leh....

happymummy, i m still giving my boy breastmilk.
but nowadays, he's like not into latching on le...

so, giving him fbm & ebm...

manunited,
ya, we got to wait for our baby's neck to be strong first. for the Leap Frog Activity Center, I have read a note that it should only be used when the baby's neck is strong to support his/her head.

veronica,
I am using one of those bumper playmat. Mine is the Parklon brand, Yellow Bus.
Got 2 minor design "problem" (it's more of like my own pickiness. I didn't feedback to SSW because it didn't bother me). This is not meant to "criticise" that product, just my observation to share around.
1. The picture of the sheep had a callout of "Moo"...
2. The number 6 is missing. 0 to 9 is there, but not 6.

Overall I am very satisfied because we can really leave our baby playing without worrying of him knocking his own head on the floor. But we need to keep a close watch when he starts to do fast flipover.
In addition to that, it can be quite warm after a while of usage. It is either our baby sweat easilty or because of the PVC material.

At some stage later, we intend to use this as a floor mat in his room.

maunited,
yes got smell, but no choice leh, its on the floor for my girl future room, she roll and link it. Suppose to be safe color dye lah, so i just try to use a cloth when she lie down, but she roll out of the cloth and link then bo bian... Without cloth, she sleep there also face will have the marks. Once she roll until out of the mat... buay tahan. I on air con so dunno is it warm or not.

Angkuku, 9 don ba lak is 6 lor. i find the mat hard leh, dunno my girl head pain or not.. i try to bang on it before.. hard leh...

akk: erm, cos my boy only comin 5mths, so i let him sit in the LP station... he can kick and kick , cos i adjust n let his feet touch the ground.. he will turn ard but nt as fast n rd n rd la.. cos he nt so strong ma.. erm, cos the gap in the middle of the seatin is very huge, i stuff a pillow infront of him so tt it fills up the hole so he will nt lean forward and hit the front.. duno if u knw wat i mean? erm, and also, best is wait for his neck n head to be slightly stronger... mine stil ok la.. wont fall flat front ...

erm, i also gd the ssw , mine is parklon too... so far so gd, i guess can be use long term lor.. as wat akk say, next time can place on the floor beneath their bed.. or as a play area when they older..
it stated tt its safe, non toxic lei.. no smell if u air it always ba...

ivy, so the smell is normal...its something like a bit rubberish smell rite? my hands also can smell that smell if i leave them on the mat for long....ivy, what photo # are u huh? i duno your face leh, so haven vote yet...how abt luwen? let me know then i will go in to vote for u gals..

WT, robinson or toys dept have such toys (can pronunce the words also etc )for kids leh....

happy birthday ainsley,

enjoy ur steamboat.

guys, i dun mind sacrificing my place if u all wana gather hehee....or meet for hi tea or coffee.

ang ku ku, if u point out the error to ssw,dey may change a new mat for u. another mummy once posted that her mat had spelling error,and dey changed it for her. forgot who liao. mayb u try?

shokel,
thx! I could understand wht u r trying to say. thx for sharing.

ivy,
ya lor, and I kept thinking why 6 is missing, probably a unlucky number for Korean? :D

manunited,
ya, our playmat also got very strong plastic smell after opening.
we aired it for a few days before using. No smell after that.
alamak, I forgot to test that with our hands. For us, we will use baby wipe to clean after a few usage, hope that will clear away the odour.
Our angkuku also began his licking expedition on this playmat. Dunno why he "refused" to lick the grape picture but anywhere else. =D

carol,
thx, it's ok to me. I think I will leave it as it is. Can also play with our angkuku when he grow up, to spot the "mistakes".

wei ting,
I bought iTeddy for my niece before. It has a media player for her to load music, video, picutres to watch while holding the Teddy bear.

It can be found at Toyrus.

Here's the iteddy website.
http://www.iteddy.com/

ang kuku cos baby roll here roll there, so print 9 enough they roll to other side is 6.

Manunited, i think hor, we sure lose, luwen say got 1 got 200 plus votes liao.... scary... mine is photo no 22.

Manunited. initially when i bought the playmat hv the smell but after wiping with damp cloth now ok le, no more smell. i bought it also the reason that it is stated safe even for bb to lick, no chemical.

the smell seems to reduce after a while.. i think must wipe and air it. The lady from SSW is very nice, i ask her how to clean, she reply me tat will post me a cleaning sticker. But basically is wipe lah tats all haha.

thks all..i will air it for a few day..

usu after use, will roll and keep inside the box again...but i rem the 1st time i used, like no smell leh...dunno why now use got smell...anyway i seldom use also...once in a while then take out to use...hehehhee

Thanks for all the reviews! Looks like you all are ahead of me I just got to know this product!
I also heard that there is a smell but the seller mentioned to open it up and leave it for a week then there will be no smell. I have placed my order, think they having sale at Expo in June, there is also sale in BP forum but I did not get it there cos I only like the Pooh design but not on sale
At first I am really hesitating on buying cos of the price but I guess in the long run it will be worth it and moreover I am going to have 2nd baby in future, hahaha...I heard some mummy use it for toilet training stage i.e. when bb is not wearing diaper anymore they should go potty themselves but if accidently do it on the mat, still can clean not like mattress so messy...

wei ting,
I forgot to add that the media player on that iteddy is not a fantastic type.

It is quite low-end and the small little screen is very pixel type. You'll know what I mean by pixel screen if you have owned Nokia 6610 before.
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_6610-334.php

I loaded some stuff before giving it as a present. That's when I found out the quality.

But I feel that it is still ok for a small kid.

My intention is to get her exposed to Media player, linking to computer and transferring stuff. This little niece of mine is very techie, that's why I chose this present.

Have fun shopping.

anyone know of any dentist for children.... that won't 'ka' yo for $$.. hehe..

Let me know...

My #1.. got a decay molar tooth... siaoz liao.. too much sweet le..

Any mummy who send bb to infant care centre faces any problem? like bb more prone to diaper rash...feeding time screw up...nap time screw up?....etc etc

no problem akk, i will go take a look.. not very good quality its ok lah, after some time the kid will also get tired of it already..

Terence, my comments: agree tat bb r more prone to diaper rash. Solution is u gotta keep on remindin the care giver to keep on changing the diaper. For Jaylen initially he starts to poo often so got rash then I gotta keep on remindin the caregiver to change. nw it is better duno is it bcos he poo lesser...

As for feedin time n nap time it's as per normal for me. No screw up for me

<font color="119911"><u>Free Clothes Hanger</u></font>

I am clearing one of my rooms to convert it to a children room. Needless to say, it is my convenient storeroom to store my barang barang.

While clearing the "treasure", I have uncovered these hangers that I have been keeping for ages.

It was never used before. It came free with a motorized clothes hanger which we had it installed a couple of years back.

The design of these hanger was for outdoor use as it has a catch to hold it.

Below are the pics of it.

4026269.jpg

4026270.jpg

I was about to dump it away but thought of asking here in case it became someone else's treasure.

Does anyone want it? Self-collection at Marina Sq, North or East area, please. Interested ppl, please PM me and I will give u my contact number to arrange for meetup.

Genesis,
they only sometimes cock up on the time to feed, but her naps they do not coax her to sleep if she wake up early. So sometimes she us awake fir almost 2hrs Liao then hit her next feed time thus she either overtired n cranky or nurse to sleep.

hello kitty, no worries.. if min buy 6 pkts very xiong le.. haha..

i think huggies also $19.95, but i forget how many pieces there are.

wa.. calamari, you pump 4 times only supply still there ah? I also pump 4 times a day. ever since i go back to work, supply has been dropping..feel like stopping. but then heard that baby will less likely to fall sick if we cont to bf, so abit hesitant..

yesterday here still talking about walker and the disadvantages, i went home and saw a walker right in front of me! grandpa has bought it for bb and said for her to learn walking *faint* I also paiseh to tell him i dun want, anyway it stated for 7mtn onwards i will just keep in storeroom first and use only to 'show' him that i got used it or put it in his house since bb seldom at grandparent house, sometimes he never ask just buy and he even bought a toilet bowl brush at pasar malam for $1 which I dun need it at all! lol

veron,
I also find old folks a challenge.

Sometimes they tend to do/buy things in advance. To them, I can understand that it is out of good intention but certain things do not work in the modern world today.
At times I will also "dream" if I will do the same for our angkuku's kids and wonder how this angkuku of ours will look/react to us.

I'm also caught in such situation and am trying to strike a balance in it.

Sandy - ur no1 how old? if u want cheap, can go National Dental Centre. They hv a service for Kids below 7yo. only $20 per visit. call tis no: 64353782 - Sch dental services.

"The School Dental Centre provides basic dental treatment for all preschoolers. You can call 64353782 to make a dental appointment. On the day of appointment, you will need to bring his birth certificate (for Singaporeans) and passport/ entry permit (for permanent residents and foreigners) for verification. Dental treatment fees are chargeable according to residential status and type of treatment rendered. "

Otherwise u can try just any clinic in ur neighbourhood.. just dun go to those GPA etc. :p

Sandy - GPA is the brand mah. or u just walk in n ask agar how much loh. NTUC Dental service? wondering if they wld be cheap or not :p

Terence / ivy -

hmm.. ever occur to you that the IFC u choosen is "not tat gd"? just like CC, hv diff standards etc.

btw ur IFC - how many babies are in IFC?
in times when CC lack of manpower, wld the trs in IFC be called to helpout outside?