(2009/12) December 2009 MTBs

May I know what is the feeding interval of your babies and qty per feed? Not sure if my baby is taking enuff... she sometimes need to feed by 2.5hrs while i am hoping to stretch to 4hrs. hahahaha.. I'm giving her 120ml now

terence, it doesnt matter, cos nite time i'm also the onli one taking care.. so whether pat to sleep or suckle to sleep, it's still me doing the job... haha...

Eunice, r u on tbm? Or fm? If bm, 2.5-3 hrs is gd. 4 hrs is too long alr for day feed. I m Total Latch n nw feeding 2.5-3 hrs interval also.

Morning Mummies.. and daddies..

I KO myself past 2days.. with bb hehehe.. too tired running ard.. visiting.. and playing MJ.. hahaha.... hb and me takes turn to take care of all our kids..

BB seems to be drinking lesser nei.. anyone experience that? Now she loves her thumb... sometimes.. she can juz suck her thumb.. and won't cry for milk..faintz..

Ainsley, yes, TBM. ok... when then do they stretch till 4hrs? is 120ml too little? I am going back to work so I am training bottle feeding now and increasing the number of bottle feeds gradually... will continue to latch at nite.

sandy, my boy experienced growth reduction in his 9th wk... then i slowly increase again.. now taking abt 110 - 120ml per feed..

and my boy loves his hands too! will push away the pacifier and suck his hand... "-_- dunno if i shld stop him from doing it or not...

smalldreams, thanks. he finally poo-poo last evening.

wah, ivy, terence, envy leh... ur gal is such a darling...

simplyhellokitty, i intro pacifier and yaolan during my darling's first and third week respectively. i use nuk cuz i feel the design easier to suck. i only give when he's falling asleep. once he's asleep, he'll auto spit it out. sometimes when he's too tired, he can sleep without it.

i nv use auto yao lan. i use manual. cuz when he's younger, i put put him inside and nv yao too much to strat with. now, we just yao for awhile then he sleep liao.

sandy, my boy's intake also decreases last week. but after few days, resume back to normal liao. now he's taking partial FM. avg 160ml every 2.5-3hrs.. your MJ makes me envy.. i dun even got time to step out of my house.

aiyoh, i think my house weighing machine spoilt. last time weigh my boy ard 6+-7kg, ytd bring him to GP and he's 6.3kg nia. anyway, my boy has flu n cough! sads! GP only gave nasal drops.

hi ivy.. i email u liao.. i wil post out the diaper today? u wana try pureen also? if so, i give u 1 pureen and 1 sealer? or u want 2 sealer? u let me knw asap ya, me gg out soon... tks!

oh btw, i ordered the nan ha 1 from heidi ydae, her service is really gd lei, cos i wana self collect today actually cos discovered my tin is almost finishing, cannot wait for her delivery on fri.. she jus called me to say she can deliver to me at night lor! tats so nice of her!

Eunice.. suck her wrist.. hahaha.. so cute..

cayenne.. oh.. so also got growth reduction?? Wow.. something new to me nei.. thought their intake will always be increasing..?? I only know only when they are growing teeth.. or sick.. then will decrease..

Ling Lee.. & Jeanie.. aiyah.. don't envy la.. cos my #1 and #2.. can walk and talk le.. juz let them play themselves lor.. then I played when bb is sleeping.. hb's turn.. when I need to bf... hehehe...

Hi mummies, what is sealer? what is it used for?

Terrance, i asked my PD before about coughing cos my boy cough during feeding and sometimes during the day but PD said it is ok cos they choke on saliva, milk then will cough, it is normal so no need worry, if it is real cough, he would cough throughout the day very frequently.

Manunited, you around? don't see you much in the discussion. I checked the prices at west plaza for you already. Huggies L size is 15.30 for dry comfort (60pcs) and 14.90 for dry (68 pcs). mamy poko is 14.20 for L size for 38 pcs. then frisco is from netherlands, selling at $30.50.

my boy also got 3 days never poo then when he poo the stools not watery but more like a paste and seems sticky... covered his entire ass and little brother.. surprisingly he dun seem comfortable, seem to be enjoying his poo mask... ahaha...

for babies that suck their own fingers/fist is good cos they clever, know how to self comfort... but there are different schools of thoughts cos when my relatives saw my boy sucking his fingers, asked me why dun give pacifier cos suck fingers then fingers won't grow nicely and later on very difficult to get him to stop sucking his fingers... pacifier can remove from baby to stop him from sucking... anyway, i just listen with pinch of salt...

Tried to drag my baby's last feed timing till 11pm. It helped that no. 1 was making a lot of noise so she can't sleep. End up she woke up at 430am. Only 1 hr later than usual. :p

Today, I keep disturbing her sleep so that she won't sleep so much in the day. HOpe that it will help her sleep longer at night.

Celeste, my mum said the same thing. But I think sucking fingers is a phase, after a while, no. 1 stopped doing it. She didn't like pacifier or teether so I don't have a choice. :p

Terence - tks will keep on practising holding his pacifier, lolx.

Ainsley - He will scream the whole house down if I dun give him pacifier. Most of the time he cannot sleep himself w/o it unless he super duper tired lor. Dun wana to let bb cry too long as living w inlaw and also dotter sleeping same room: dun want to wake everyone up

Jeanie - My son farnie, if I put him inside yaolan w/o Yao-ing he will cry and keep flipping inside. Before I got the auto motor I will do it manually till my hand numb arh. If I stop, he will open his eyes big big and ek ek ek. The reason I decided to get the auto one cos I used to carry him to sleep in my arm after his wee hrs feeding till morning. Very tiring and i only can sleep by sitting up. Another reason is when my dotter is bk fm cc, I need to cook & feed her so throw son into auto yao.

Haiz think my son weird kinda, stop Yao-ing he will wake up. Right now am carrying him in my arm sleeping. Got both the mim & pupasilk pouch, but it depends on his mood to be slinged. Days like today I cannot do anything except ko-ing w him.

Shokel - You live in Jurong arh? Cos Heidi lives there if u doing self collection wor. Ya she a nice lady,
my also running low and originally delivering this weekend. But she squeeze in for me and get it delivered yesterday

My bb also starts sucking his fingers, fist or wrist area lek. I always ask my son it is delicious cos hor he make alot of noise sucking it, lolx.

celeste and pauline.. ya.. sucking finger is a phrase.. but I agree that it is difficult to stop this habit.. cos it happened to #1.. he sucked till the skin peeled off.. We bandaged his thumb.. cos he was running a fever..he can removed.. and continued... took about 2weeks+.. for him to kick off the habit.. and he cried and cried..not ez.. hope this bb.. won't be like this..

haha now my boy also like to suck his thumb but he only suck his right hand... i think he doesnt know he has left hand also

Shaine,
u bought 900gm of Friso1 for bb D?
how long does bb D take to finish that tin? i read best for 3wks after opening.
i bought 400gm similac, open 5 wks le...still hv left abit. oki, to keep that long huh???

i wanted to give Friso1 to my bb too but dun hv small packing like similac.

SimplyHelloKitty,
I use pacifier and auto yaolan. I use auto yaolan during the day but we don't use it at night, ironically the auto yaolan rock slower during the day and it'll rock faster at night so at night I manually rock her. I don't know why the speed is different though we switch to the same slowest speed. The only reason I can think of is that during the day the wind reduce the speed whereas at night we switch on air-con so it can rock faster. As for the pacifier, she did reject it cos she prefer latch to sleep. But I am going back to workforce soon so she have to get use to pacifier and my hubby always push pacifier to her.... there's improvement now she can sleep with pacifier, once she fall asleep she'll spit it out and we don't give it back to her again.

Cayenne,
Try not to let your boy get use to suckle his hand, pacifier is still better than hand cos for hand it's hard to stop this bad habit. And few months down the road when he start learning to crawl, imagine he crawl already then put his hand in the mouth meaning he's eating the dirt on the floor might cos stomachache or something worse lei.....

Shokel - You live in Jurong arh? Cos Heidi lives there if u doing self collection wor. Ya she a nice lady,
my also running low and originally delivering this weekend. But she squeeze in for me and get it delivered yesterday

My bb also starts sucking his fingers, fist or wrist area lek. I always ask my son it is delicious cos hor he make alot of noise sucking it, lolx.

Hey MTMs

Hope you all have enjoyed the New Year and are doing fine

Anybody using iPhone?? I have this website to recommend.. Selling iPhone accessories at reasonable prices.. Can visit http://theipaplace.blogspot.com for more info..

Here's wishing all of you good health & wealth in this TIGER year and most importantly give birth to a healthy & cheerful "baby tiger"!!! HUAT AH!!

LittleTiger

ivy, alicia, i dunno how to PM..
anyway its nothing confidential =p

sleep training...

the aim is baby can go to sleep by himself in his own bed with minimum help from you.

e.g. if we carry baby to sleep then put him down, many of us exp that baby will just suddenly wake up when we put him down or the baby may just wake up after 10 mins despite a humongous effort from us patting/rocking/carryign baby to sleep for half hour hour.

so how do u do this? i read in a book.. use minimum soothers like going to the baby crying the bed.. use your voice soft and gentle and boring.. or pat the head, stroke the head, tummy, but never never carry the baby out of the bed. after the baby calms down when you do this, leave the room. u may need to repeat this a few times before the baby will give up crying out for you and go to sleep.

the gist is to let the baby know there's no incentive in calling out for u (no cuddles, rocking, etc) but to soothe the baby (though a soft gentle boring voice, or just patting). go to the baby every 5 mins if he keeps calling for u.. or soothe and pat pat until he becomes calm.. but never never let the baby's bottom leave the bed (means no carrying) this method will work assuming the baby had been fed/not hungry/ sick etc. within 4-5 days you will see the baby will get used to it and fall asleep by himself with minimum help from you.

also once u think the baby looks tired, put the baby in the bed. the baby must be relaxed enough yet sleepy to fall asleep himself, but not overtired.

if you think abt it it really mkes sense. say you usually go to bed at 11 pm. dun u find that once u missed this timing by quite a bit (e.g. 2 am late night movie) u have more difficulty falling asleep? same thing with baby..

for the past 2 weeks i have been able to take shower while my baby entertains himelf/ tries to fall asleep/ sleeps.. it is a big improvement since i've been showering to his cries ever since he was born..

skinneybeenie, well done. ok looks like i still got to wait till next mth, cos baby sick is not a good factor to do sleep training.. her colic is serious for now, tat day throw up somemore.

shokel u got FM from who? heidi from where???? can pass me contact?

SimplyHelloKitty
Did you get the MP diapers? It seems that the S sized was said to be similar to newborn sized ones so I didn't dare buy. I bought M instead. Is anyone here using S sized Mamy poko for a baby who's above 4 kg? How's the fitting like?

Ling Lee
You've must been estatic when he pooped. haha! Good to hear that. nothing to worry rite? As long as not in pain etc, we should relax. Enough things to worry abt babyhood already.

skinneybeenie (skinneybeenie)
I've known that method of putting baby to sleep since I had #1 but somehow didn't get around to applying it. I guess I'm soft hearted and just can't imagine letting baby cry. Plus afraid of wind too! So I just do the same old thing I've been doing, and just hope when baby's a bit older she'll somehow find her own method of sleeping :p

Ivy - Dumex All In One 900g $22.15, Dumex Dugro 1 & 2 1.6kg $22.80, Dumex Mamex 1 1.5kg $55.45, Dumex Mamex Gold soy 900g $23.25, Dumex Mamil 2 1.5kg $50.45, Dumex Mamil 3 1.5kg $40.90, Dumex Mamil 4 1.5kg $35.35, Enfagrow 1.8kg $50.35, Enfakid 1.8kg $44.95 ,Enfalac 900g $38.40 ,Enfalac A+ AR 900g $34.45, Enfalac A+ Soy 900g $30.90 ,Enfalac HA 900g $42.90, Enfapro 900g $35.40 ,Friso 1 900g $31.00, Friso 2 1.8kg $50.00 ,Friso 3 1.8kg $45.50, Friso 4 1.8kg $40.50 ,Gain IQ 3 1.8kg $49.80 ,Gain IQ Kids 4 1.8kg $45.05, Goat Milk 12Mth + (Kari Home) 900g $44.00, Goat Milk Pre Sch (Kari Home) 900g $44.00 ,Grow 3 1.8kg $34.15, Grow 6 1.8kg $33.25, Isomil Advance 1 900g $34.00, Isomil Advance 2 900g $32.90, Lactogen 1 1.8kg $23.15, Lactogen 2 1.8kg $23.15 ,Nan HA 1 900g $33.95 ,Nan HA 2 900g $32.55, Nan HA 3 900g $32.50, Nan Pro 1 900g $28.90 ,Nan Pro 2 900g $26.45, Nan Pro 3 900g $24.00 ,Pediasure 1.l8kg $56.25 ,Progress Gold 3 900g $21.55, Progress Gold 4 900g $19.15, Promil Gold 2 900g $28.25, S26 Step 1 900g $30.55 ,Similac 1 900g $37.45 ,Similac 2 (New Advance) 1.8kg $66.95 .

Milk are not imitation but from the original country of origin.Free Delivery.
You may try out and check if in doubt.
Any Enquiry Kindly Cal Me At 92362517, Heidi

skinneybeenie - I read this somewhere also but i think really depends on bb character. Plus i tender to give in due to wind, pil, daughther factors. Will try it out during daytime where house only left with mil and see whether work on my super duper fussy son bo

Smalldreams - My fatty bon bon son hor already wearing M size since 3rd weeks onwards le. S Size at that time cut into his fat thigh wor.Now M size is ok juz that i find the thigh area abit tight for him

Hi All Mummies,

I chanced upon this thread somewhere in this forum by other mummy. If you all have the time maybe can search for dr harvey karp at youtube and view his clips.

Hi mummies, do you know if we have to change milk bottles after 2-3 months? I saw a discussion doing on about this but not sure if we really need to do so. Btw, anyone has avent BOA free bottles? Does yours leak? mine will leak about 10ml when i invert it then after that no more leak...... compared it to the normal bottle then realised the thread is different.

talk about sucking fingers...... my mil said 4-5 months that time, they would suck their toes instead..... freak out my hubby but i think it is ok right? since they dun walk around so feet not dirty right?

Celeste,
There r some defect batch for Avent BPA bottles. IF you bottle are X/Y/Z batch, you can get it replace at Phillips. You can find the code e.g X4 or Y23 or Z3 around the thread. I got mine replaced.

anyone of you file your bb's nails? where to get bb nail filer? I cut them already but it still feels sharp and he will scratch himself.

hi skinneybeenie, great that you have taken the first step to attempt this.. i also feel like trying leh, but the moment he cries i will be so tempted to carry him out of the bed & to coax him, cos he will cry till very jialad.. it's like a habit, plus like you mentioned, he already knows that the moment he cries someone will come and 'save' him.. sigh!

shokel, my baby is 2mths tmr but still havent go for 6 in 1 ...tot of bringing her for the jab when she is 2.5mths when my hubby is back from oversea..wonder if it is too late.
i had applied for CDA and my PD can use too but had yet to receive the card yet so cant use...
is rotavirus compulsory or optional? i scare give baby too much dunoo can take it or not

simplyhellokitty, is rotavirus and pneumococcal jab compuslory? i read that pneumoccoccal contain 7 virus and cause a lot bb to be sick after the jab so quite worrying

Ainsley: my boy is on tbm and drinks 150ml every 3.5 to 4 hours in the day. At night, his last feed is around 11pm, and wakes up at 7am. At first i was also worried how come he is not hungry one. According to my pd, it's ok for babies to drag longer hours at this age esp at night even though on full bm. My boy is 6.2kg at 2 months 1 week old.

Eunice, my baby taking 100-120ml every 2.5 - 3hrs....i am hoping to stretch to 4hrs too but PD advise to wait until 3mths.

btw i read that some of your baby on tbf but did not poo for days ...but mine still poo a lot at 2mths ...is it coz not absorbing well?

Celeste: I've changed my bb's bottles to longer ones because the small ones can only contain up to 120ml of milk n he is drinking 150 to 160ml. If u r using bpa free bottles, can change every 6 months or so. If non-bpa, change more often like 2 to 3 months as the plastic is of inferior quality n really bad for longterm use esp when we sterilize them. I'm using Dr Browns anti-colic bpa free bottles btw.

smalldreams, i am using MP diapers for my baby until now 2mths ...her weight at 6 weeks is 4.3kg...so far quite ok.

Sandy, my bb also same case...seem to reduce milk intake and nowaday prefer to suck her thumb or fist then to drink milk.

Previously i brought a can of Smilac but only used twice then on tbf ..can the can be kept until a few mth later?

Thks Celeste! Me a silent reader most of the time....
Will go pasir ris to get the pampers one day....whats the shop name in west plaza?

yuki... ya.. lor.. seem like thumb taste better than my bm.. 'shame'... lolx..

Don't think onc opened can keep for so long.. will be contaminated..

sandy, yap ...i always ask my baby is the thumb so nice ...haha
oic so shld not used ... quite wasted as i only used twice

wah mummies.. my bb like to suck thumb liao man... dunno how to help him kick the habit.. sigh..

finally mi back to maternity liao... yeah!!

terence, i checked my bottle but it is 3f batch... wonder what is wrong with that bottle. i got it with my philip pump. i think will give them a call to check. thanks for the info.