(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

gal: sorry missed out on your question. Definition of play is talk to bb lor. If you have a rocker can just leave the bb there to talk to him or her to avoid reliance of being carrying around. In my case, my CL leaves her on sofa and sheets loves to stare at balcony (apparently bbs love light) and self entertain

share with you all the conversation I has with my MIL yesterday over phone.
MIL: how are you?
Me: I'm Ok..quite tired
Mil: how's baby?
Me: sleeping now...
Mil: she got drink milk
Me: yes
Mil: breastmilk or formula milk?
Me: breastmilk
Mil: oh got milk lah
Me: ya come liao..
Awkward silence before I asked her when she is coming etc...
Sigh... She darn worried that I will starve her grand-daughter who happen to be my daughter...im just counting my blessing that u din take up her offer to do my confinement.. Now even my CL and mum do not pressure me although my mum still ask abt my milk flow...

Annette: dun think I will insist on papaya soup yet... cos so far whatever I have been drinking is working...my left breast is leaking but dunno why right breast like no response.

Re: lump
Forgot who asked abt lump. I actually hv a big lump at my left armpit. called up breastfeeding.org to ask. Its a lymph nodes related to milk production. hv or not dps on individual. But it Shld soften or reduce with more bf.

astro >> what a story! "could you do something?" hehehe...we always have a fave liner in moments like this...how's yr vocal chords after all that practice? take care, rest all you can!

tien: i realise these folks love to ask us if there's milk.. actually i also dunno.. when bb drinks milk she just moves her mouth lor. how am i supposed to know if she got drink anything or just sucking. haha.. anyway, i just say "ya.. got milk.. slightly more than yesterday.." hahaha...

xoxo: astro wants to clear her throat, but don't dare to cough too hard.. hehe..

tien/loke>>ya i think older generation very averse to the idea of breastfeeding?!? think we will starve their grandkids. that's the last thing we want to do!!! my MIL always ask me that too. and gives me the "Are you sure?" look ..sigh

cjdg: haha talk abt tt my hair dye has been waiting fro me for 9mths:p

PY: no idea wats tt wo

Siangjiao: ya Loke is right,let ur mum handle the bb lor. u shd be glad tt ur mum wanna take care wo.im now like still thinking who to take care of my bb after 4mths.Either mum quit her job n i pay her 1K a mth or i quit my job. Hubby keep wanting me to quit my job but then i just find taking care of Matthias so tiring:p

Tien/Loke: u 2 conversation msgs damn funny just make me laugh,i must be too bored at home hehe.thinking of sneaking out ahha to go hunt for balloons to deco bb fullmth fucntion rm:p

Re: PD PD anyone have gd PD in Wast to recommend???:p n do u all opt for 5in1 or 6in1 jab?

Hi All, think most of u all hv pop...share with u all the pic of my princess...

3170883.jpg

joanne: ooo.. chubby!! haha.. my baby's is just getting a little more chubby.. she didnt look as cute on the 2nd day compared to when she was just born. hehe.. she got very small face..

Angie, thanks for the receipe will ask my mil to cook for me.

Annette, my bb seeing the PD at Mt A cos can use the baby bonus to deduct if take the package for the 5in1 jab.

Cjdg, haha i also cant wait to go dye and rebond my hair.

Joanne: ya your bb is do chubby sooooooooo cute! Mine is the tall n lanky type! Headache how to make her more chubby!

Haha just finished my 1.5 hr feeding, poking, playing , feeding marathon. Now leaving her on the bed to play on her own. Hopefully she will just fall asleep.

loke and annette: problem is, my mum is also looking after another 5 grandkids now (so if mine join in, it'll be a 6:1 ratio)... ranging from 2 years to 9 years and she has a very rich social life. She's like the end of the supply chain, everytime a grandkid comes, will pass to her. She's 68 this year already, so it does gets tiring for her and she gets frustrated. But she insist she can still do it. One reason why i couldn't do my confinement properly was also due to 5 noisy kids at home amused and excited with the new 'di di'. headache man, this child care thing.

Anette: Astro recommended me this PD at Bukit Timah Plaza. Dorothy's baby and child clinic. I went once (another Dr sat in as Dr Dorothy was on leave), but i was very comfortable with the clinic. Baby's umbilical cord had pus and the dr prescribed some powder. Total cost was $52 (consultation only $45).

Aiyo... very tired these 2 days... my 2 kids are sick.... both of them are running high fever....
Afraid they will spread the virus to the baby, so tried to separate them. But my girls cried and they insist they have to see didi every day and give him a good night kiss and big big hugs... ***faint***

Hi PY,
I have stored all my breastmilk in the freezer as I am thinking of stocking up the supply. Cos I may need to travel in Dec for 2 weeks so need to store them in freezer to allow my baby still have ebm even when I am travelling....

siangjiao : Your mum and my mil same same. My MIL looking after 6 grandkids now. Another one will be born in Jan next year. So, there is no way i can leave my 2 with her. She totally got no time and normally by afternoon, she's exhausted le. When i go down for lunch everyday, she will quickly go take a nap and i take over the shouting after kids for her. Haiz...

Joyce: icic I also have some in freezer cos too much Liao haha ..

Anyway those who using bottle feeding with ebm, how are we gg to bring the ebm out? I dun mind nursing in public in the nursing room but provided bb is willing to latch. Cos sometimes she really gets frustrated either cannot find the nip or dunno what la. Then end up cryingg.. I dun wish to hppen outside

PY: i went guardian to look for infacol, was told quite some time nv sell liao. so i bought Ridwind instead.

Astro: amusing birth story :p funny lah you!

Joanne: Ooh you lil girl so cute!

Annette: it's to help to cure colic one. Hb colleague recommend him to get this.. Cos now bb still cannot drunk the gripe water.. But I dunno where can I get this.. V hard to find man

tien/loke/vodkarib : ya lor..older generation never fail to ask me got milk question. :S

haii.. i oso have own set of disagreement w my mum. e.g. e water thing, talcum thing, bm storage thing, post natal massage thing, etc. now i just let it be. n let her do what she want during this 1 mth.. v tired. think conserve energy on bf-ing and resting rather than 'sharing' w her.

but man.. u duno how much i love her when she replied to my inlaws when they ask got enough milk to feed their grandkid or not. she replied "got... got excess some more in the fridge" (though she and me know the amount is not much).

So all, if pple ask u got enuff milk. Just tell them "Got. Got excess somemore in fridge". hehe... ;)

Tien : thanks
hehe. ya got talk to bb and set bb in rocker. ;)

No need to envy, very fast everyone will be celebrating the full month.

I am cater from Eatzi Gourmet http://www.eatzi.com.sg/. Alway use them for my company function. They food quite nice and I am familiar with the gal so she waive off the transport for me and throw in more food for me.

How come you mum got so much milk to store at the Freezer me barely enough to give to my boy. Sigh.

Tien,

I got the lump which you mention, so I was like pumping every hour to get rid of it. Cos my friends say it will get infection if nv pump more to remove the lump

sweetzinc : During Glynnis' time, i pumped exclusively.

I will bring the EBM out using cooler bag. You know those Fridge to go those type? I have those cheaper type of cooler bag as well and i will throw in 1 or 2 ice bricks.

Depending on the no of hours i will be out, will decide how many bottles to bring. Then need to bring a thermo out for hot water to warm up EBM.

oh man~ i thought i was the only one where the in laws kept asking if got enuff milk for the bb or not... somemore, mine is the FIL kept on asking everyday! feel like boxing him the next time he ask me liao.

anyone experience post natal blues? i had some quite serious one last weekend. i was crying most of the time becos of the stress i am facing from my MIL and FIL. plus my hubby not helping me..

i am staying with my in laws, so my confinement i am also doing there, but i so damn regret man! there are a few times i was crying and i wanna pack my everthing and leave the place! i also dun understand why their relatives are so gan cheong wanna come see the bb.. come family by family is ok.. cos they do come over and sit for a while only.. but on last sun, my MIL's siblings (her mother has total 10 children) all come together at one go, machiam chinese new yr gathering like tat. plus they bring their kids so noisy and make my bb so scare.. my bb only 10 days old u noe! i was so upset! and they stayed for like 6 hours!!!!

end up my bb couldn't slp properly in the nite for a few days straight. he will cry and cry and cry alot of times. and it made me so miserable and upset.

Hi i have qns abt frozen EBM.

Understand that when we need to thaw, we bring the EBM from freezer to the fridge... let say i have 100ml.. and baby only drink 80ml.. how long can i keep the remaining 20ml in the fridge before consumption?

TIA :D

hi ting

poor u... wow, they nvr c bb b4 meh? some ppl in fact dun allow visitors to visit them durin confinement period...

i feel tt i had some post natal blues. as during tis confinement period, i m at mom place, old n no hygiene place. but hubby place is clean n with hygiene, i face stress from hubby about my family hygiene problem n etc...

n oso mayb mind nt balance ba, i just dun like others to carry my bb, especially if they insist to carry, i get very angry abt it, my face turn very black.

as this is my first pregnancy, first few nites, bb keep crying n waking me up, i oso cry too cos bb dun wan fall asleep when i hug him, i feel very sad n jealous tt he fall asleep when others carry him...

btw, i went over to hubby place last wkend, my FIl went heard bb crying, will knock on the door n take out his hands, telling me to pass bb to him, get so angry abt it.. y old folks all lidat de... especially ILs, seldom heard ppl say gt nice de

just hate ppl giving comments bt not helping, although i may not need their help, den pls gif me peace...

hope u r feeling ok le

hi vodkarib (vodkarib)

conflict w mum:

i m having it too, especially on foods tt i wan to eat bt she everything cant n etc..... long story

i thought onli i hv conflicts w mum lei

annette,
Yes, my elder gal is seeing Dr Heng at Jurong East Kidslink. He is a careful PD, medication wise, he will only give what is necessary (as compared to the PD at Choa Chu Kang Kidslink - whom we visited when Dr Heng was on leave).

He is patient in answering our questions... e.g. we asked about poo colour.. he will tell us what colours are sure no no ... we asked many many questions... he patiently answered. But sometimes can tell he quite stressed when his clinic is full of patients waiting.

His first time consultation is $55 I think... 2nd time onwards is $40...

hi all, my girl is having a lot of small boils all over her face and neck. Looks like heat boils... my Dr appointment is only on saturday. Have to wait till then. Any of your babies having this?

sweetzinc : Ya. Very troublesome.

Thawed milk - 24 hour.

sunnyling : I was pumping exclusively during my first pregnancy. My freezer not enough to store loh. I even parked my milk @ my mum & mil's place. You must pump very diligently.

vin >> i just spoke with the bb's PD on the phone. these spots/boils/pimples etc are a result of hormones in the bb's body which was taken from ours (yes, our fault!)..so we just gotta ensure bb don't scratch them and they should clear by mth 3. nothing to worry abt

dreamygal> now i shifted the frozen EBM to the fridge.. so when should i start counting the 24 hours? when i open the bag?? lol sry ah i ask so detailed hehehe

so for your first preg u only pump w/o latching?

any1 using avent milk bottles? mine always leak no matter which angle i close the bottle..

any special way to close it?

bt it didnt happen when i use tap water to try ...

boi910 >> are u using the BPA free bottle?? and did you mix the BPA free and Non BPA free together?

I had this problem and the CL keep saying that the cap sizes are not the same for their different sizes of bottles. So my hb dun believe that avent is so stupid to design their cap in this manner..

and we found out the the BPA free bottle gotta go with its own cap. If you look closely, the BPA free cap, the colour is different from the normal Non BPA free bottle. It's whiter. and the thread on its bottle is different from the normal bottle.. one has 3 lines, the other one has 2 lines. hahaha hope it helps.

Not sure if ur situation is the same as mine hehe.

shucks man, today i just feel down. Baby has been crying a lot of the past 2 days. Doesn't want to sleep. Now my mother says he has white patch on his tongue. If it is still there tomorrow, I think I have to bring him to the doctor.

Even thinking about his chinese name is tough. Just got back some choices from the fengshui master.

glass : white patch on tongue is not just milk? when we bathe bb and attempt to clean tongue, i can only clean half...can reach the right at the back part.

i didnt clean the tongue leh. mrs wong say it's not necessary.. but if some old folks insist on cleaning, then she say use a dental gauze to clean

gal, xoxo: thanks. Such a relief to hear that its normal. Was worried if she is having any allergy cos of something which I'm eating..

Regarding massage after c-sec: I got it done 7 days after the op. my Dr said its ok to do massage as long as not touching the wound area. I found the massage very relaxing. Infact the cloth binder used by massage lady was much better than the binder given by Dr.

Its 1 month that I have delivered but I still feel numb arnd my stitches. others with c-sec also feeling the same?

Sunnyling>> I pumped exclusively when I had my first child as she couldnt latch at all. Supply was ok leh... initial pumping sessions (in first week) will not yield much but as I perservered, supply increased gradually and I was getting about 150ml or more each session. On good days, I could even manage 200ml.

Vin>> Think it's normal. Both my elder kids had this. I got some cream from my PD and apply, they will disappear within a few days. My PD said it's baby's skin adjusting to environment outside the womb.

abt milk :
EBM fr freezer to fridge to thaw -> 24 hrs
How about if EBM fr freezer to milk warmer..i.e. i am warming the milk. if bb kenot finish the warmed milk during e feed how long can it be kept in room temperature (since kenot refreeze right?)

heart pain, 30ml will be wasted coz' he no like seringe feed. i no skill. think night time around this time i like no milk. he v man-chang. duno what to do
feel like intro bottle liew but concern the nipple/teat confusion.

PY : my mum use cotton wool soaked w cool-down boiled water ; wrapped around finger. then we try to clean though bb will suck v hard. v concern the cotton wool get sucked in by him.

PY : er.. think tmc teacher showed us to use cotton gauze swab. couple more days... to go . . . .till end of confinement......close two eyes.....

boi910,
I'm also using BPA free AVENT bottles. Yes, they do leak.
One solution which worked 90% of the time for me:
a) remove the plastic cover.
b) tighten the teat cap (the cap which the teat is attached to), then
c) replace the cap. Test for leakage (i.e. invert the bottle over the sink gently a few times to test).

That's what I did.

good morning ladies,
I'm a bit upset this morning. maybe post natal blues coming back.

Upset that my BM supply is still low. about 40-50ml per 3 hour express sesstion (mostly day time). And CL is not give much BM to baby... keeps giving formula....

And I am so tired at night, I can't wake up even tho I set the alarm, for expressing.

Just a couple of days ago, I thought I got over this issue already... but when I saw yesterday's milk yeild dropped a bit and suddenly got upset again.

Just to release some emotions here....

ewe : my friend was telling me got someting called 'mum's milk tea'. she drank 4 days and her milk supply got boost up. sold in great world city and millenia walk (the organic shop). maybe can try?

um how come your CL no give ur EBM?

ewe:

thanks, i shall try that.

you must jiayou hor. as i am not wking at the moment, i m not using my Avent Manual Pump, cos by the time the milk is out, i am half dead,, i tried b4.

hubby express 45mins with abit of around 60ml onli, although hapi that we are able to xpress, bt the strength n time n effort is very tiring, hard to describe...

so, i decide to let bb latch on n drink formula milk at nite, cos if he latch on at nite, i can dont slp le
he always fall asleep while sucking. bt if i feel he still hungry for the day, i gif him some FM in the morning too.

mix and match

u must jiayou n dun be too sad hor